More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.1

Awesome: 3.61%
Worth A Look: 13.86%
Average: 20.48%
Pretty Bad: 12.65%
Total Crap49.4%

5 reviews, 136 user ratings


Latest Reviews

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

Almost Coming, Almost Dying by Jay Seaver

Blade Runner 2049 by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Batman Forever
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"You like strong women. Or do I need skin-tight vinyl and a whip?"
1 stars

Debi Mazar and Drew Barrymore as sex toys to Tommy Lee Jones. I think that may well be reason enough for some to see this movie. And there is nothing wrong with that.

I thought this movie blew bubbles. Because the story sucked. You can't do the stories of four characters any justice if you do them all in one movie. I mean, the Batman movies are not aimed at people who are fans of the comic and thus already would know their origins. So in my mind they tried to do too damned much and it ends up sucking ass. The emphasis is on all of these things: Robin joins Batman. TwoFace terrorizes Gotham, and the Riddler comes into being and joins him. And Bruce Wayne falls in love with Chase Meridian. See a problem here? Me too.

Stupid, stupid writing. Throwaway lines left and right. And really Carrey is the only one who could pull those off, but everyone gets them. Not a laugh out loud movie; a groan, "that was so bad" movie. Val sucks here. He's not a bad Batman. But Batman is basically a suit. As Bruce Wayne, he makes you want to barf. And you want Chase Meridian to laugh in his face. Bruce is supposed to be the impossible to resist millionaire playboy. Not some mental case centering around falling down a hole and seeing bats. Pft.

I was very disappointed with this movie. I give it one spork. I hesitate to do that, because really, Batman and Robin was a much worse movie. However, I cannot bring myself to recommend this one in the least, ever. This is Jim Carrey's worst movie in my mind. Go see "earth girls are easy" before this.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=714&reviewer=6
originally posted: 10/19/98 15:57:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  
DC Characters: For more in the DC Characters series, click here.

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell best of the original 4 4 stars
3/23/15 Jerry Spray Take "Batman", add in pointless action, throw out the story, and you've got this movie. 2 stars
9/02/14 Dude This was awesome... when i was 5 3 stars
8/09/12 Kcaj not as silly as batman and robin. But thats not saying much 3 stars
1/20/10 Stanley Thai A lot more colorful and hyperactive, this sequel still falls short of being good. 3 stars
11/10/09 Jeff Wilder Easily the weakest in the series. Carrey went over the top, 2 stars
7/29/09 dan halberg Carrey is even funnier than Jack in the 1st film. He'd make a decent Joker, too 3 stars
9/02/08 Herbet Only the soundtrack was good with Kiss from a Rose... 1 stars
7/24/08 Shaun Wallner Ugg boring!! 1 stars
7/22/08 the dork knight They should have marketed it as an updated version of the Adam West show 3 stars
6/21/08 David V It's not bad. 3 stars
9/04/07 johnnyfog Kilmer is ok. But what's with Schumacher and his rubber ass-shots? 3 stars
4/29/07 Jackospacko Whoa Nicole Kidman is hot as and the storyline is pretty good. Wake up dumbfuckers! 4 stars
3/06/07 Dude pretty crappy 2 stars
2/19/07 Nick Maday Decent, but not as dark as Batman usually is. 3 stars
2/03/07 Vip Ebriega I like Tim Burton's better. But this is passable. 3 stars
1/10/07 johnnyfog I almost forgot Debi Mazar was alive. What a stone fox! Oh yeah, IT BLOWS 2 stars
9/14/06 Anthony Feor The characters are good, but the movie could be better 3 stars
9/14/06 Patrick Petty I really enjoyed it, won't say it was the best, but a thoughtful reimagining. 4 stars
7/19/06 Michael Jones had a inventive character going, but it wasn't Two-Face he was playing. 4 stars
7/11/06 David Cohen Somebody please stop Schumaker before he directs again! 1 stars
6/24/06 George Val Kilmer did a good Perf, but he isn't Batman 4 stars
6/23/06 The X They took an awesome character like Two-Face and fucked it up, pathetic movie. 1 stars
6/10/06 Jacko The villans were unafective and it got boring at times but it was worth it.6.7 /10 4 stars
6/06/06 ES better than the fourth installment, on par with number two- that's not saying much 2 stars
6/05/06 chris Not as much of a letdown as the 4th 4 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer Clownish and nonsensical. AN EYESORE AT BEST! 2 stars
3/03/06 Anthony Feor Not the best Batman 3 stars
1/18/06 JM Synth Fun but mostly uninvolving, thought the openning scene is great. Best for pre-teens 3 stars
12/29/05 tony Well, not total crap. but still too goofey 3 stars
12/23/05 cody a bad sequel even if val kilmer and chris give good perfomances, pretty bad 2 stars
8/23/05 Eden People who like this film should be sent to prison 1 stars
8/18/05 green gremlin Makes "Batfink and Karate" look sophisticated !!! 1 stars
7/12/05 Andrew underated 3 stars
6/21/05 R schumacher = the satan of cinema. 1 stars
6/20/05 Manu Ginobli Not as bad as the next one, just because it has Jim Carrey 2 stars
6/05/05 Littlepurch I liked it. Overacted and a rushed ending but overall fun. And it looked great! 4 stars
5/17/05 E-FUNK Enter Schumacher... exit all interest in this dead franchise. 1 stars
3/27/05 Jack Sommersby By far the worst of the series. Unbearable and uncouth. 1 stars
3/25/05 indrid cold Schumacher manages to make even a cartoon look silly. 2 stars
3/19/05 Seanboy I thought that this movie was good for what it was, with some surprisingly good performance 4 stars
1/30/05 Jeff Anderson Sad to say, a dull & dumb BATMAN film! Nicole Kidman is the only great EYE CANDY in this! 2 stars
12/10/04 Kristina Williams awesome Batmoblie, but damn the flick was weak 2 stars
11/18/04 chris terrible twoface 3 stars
11/08/04 Dave yawn. id rather watch fabian shave his beared 1 stars
10/04/04 sbpat21 okay 3 stars
9/04/04 T.B. I liked Jim Carrey as the Riddler 3 stars
4/21/04 Daveman More visually impressive than Batman & Robin with a very good performance from Carrey. 2 stars
3/20/04 Jack-pyschO-Lantern At least it's better than, BATMAN & ROBIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/14/04 Helius Could be worse; the cast is excellent, if nothing else. 3 stars
12/22/03 Snickerdoodle Jim Carrey was good but Val Kilmer sucked and acted like he was on Valium. 4 stars
12/10/03 re okay 3 stars
12/05/03 john a convoluted mess - Schumacher is the wrong director for this franchise 1 stars
11/24/03 Samuel Not all that great, but Jim Carrey's in it so it was ok... 3 stars
11/01/03 American Slasher Goddess Downright terrible, although O' Donnell is halfway decent as Robin. 1 stars
10/09/03 Buck Second best, next to the original, despite cheese factor 4 stars
5/28/03 Zach Interesting.......... 2 stars
4/18/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Has possibly the worst direction ever seen on film. 1 stars
2/11/03 Ubu the Ripper This movie sucks harder than a black hole. Val Kilmer should be fined. 1 stars
1/31/03 bullit17 The best thing you can say about it: At least it wasn't "Batman & Robin" 1 stars
1/30/03 Maegs Horrid 1 stars
1/23/03 Pinkline Jones Proves that Megabucks don't necessarily a good film make 1 stars
1/04/03 Jack Sommersby By far the worst of the series. Kilmer is superb; Carrey is catastrophic. 1 stars
10/18/02 Jiz Riddler was played well. The rest? Uh... No. 2 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Movies like this is why Hollywood Bitchslap exists 1 stars
10/03/02 Ron Sanchez Fuck all you assholes , this was the best batman ever 5 stars
8/16/02 Shaun Slightly better than Returns, Jones and Carrey have a blast, its good 4 stars
7/11/02 CVJ NWO good but not at all the best one watch batman returns instead 3 stars
6/03/02 Joel Schumacher and Akiva Goldsman J: I hope you loved my direction. A: My writing in B&R was even better! Both: NEON FOREVER! 1 stars
5/13/02 Phoenix Almost on par with the original. What the fuck is wrong with everybody? 5 stars
4/27/02 maximal01 Paging Val Kilmer.. return to Heat and get the fuck off a Batman set...repeat... 1 stars
4/24/02 Danielle Ophelia An overindulgent sideshow. Wasted Jones and Carrey. Kilmer and O'Donnell suck hose water. 2 stars
3/02/02 Alan Smithee Anyone who like this movie is a complete bastard. 1 stars
12/16/01 Gryphonlady Different feel than 1 & 2, still an impressive performance by VK and TLJ. Stands alone. 4 stars
11/29/01 KMG Boring commercial piece of Keaton castoff Mad Mardigan meets Pasty Cruise Goddess shit! 1 stars
11/16/01 the sugar plum fairy it was complete and utter crap 1 stars
11/04/01 Alecia Kidman as Chase Meridan???? What's wrong wth ths picture??? There's nothing sexual about K 1 stars
10/21/01 Bring Burton Back!!!!!! Holy SHIT, Batman! Get yer dick out of my ass would ya, Joel? Sick bastard. 1 stars
9/26/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The best Batman Yet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/18/01 Butterbean Burton's dark feel is missed, but this was casted wonderfully 3 stars
9/06/01 spaceworm Carrey feels like TV version, Kilmer best of three Batmen, disappear O'Donnell(Hoo-hah!). 2 stars
8/10/01 the scarecrow A big pile of dogshit that used to be pretty good before Schumaker butchered it!! 1 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk I missed Burton immediately, but the size of the cast and the action was a nice substitute. 4 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa Holy kick-ass, Batman! This movie kicks ass! 4 stars
8/02/01 KC Au Should't have killed off the Joker so soon, now we are stuck with two C-grade villians! 1 stars
6/14/01 Gary I felt sorry for Nicole. She looked confused, but who can blame her? 1 stars
6/14/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe What a gyp 1 stars
6/10/01 Turtle Jim Carrey is the ultimate savior of this film. And it's not that bad. 4 stars
5/22/01 mjm103171 I saw this for Chris O'Donnell 3 stars
5/21/01 Ray McCoy Hey look, bat nipples!!! 1 stars
5/04/01 Gracy Lionheart SO much better than Batman and Robin. Overhyped, but I liked Carrey's character. 3 stars
4/13/01 Kel-C Not as bad as B&R but what have they done to Burton's vision and Elfman's theme?! So sad... 1 stars
4/06/01 fifu val is no keaton 3 stars
4/03/01 Mike Dean Bat-butts and bat-nipples=homoerotic garbage. Please return to us Tim and Mike! 1 stars
3/28/01 Jesse L With a killer cast can a movie suck all ass? THIS IS IT! 1 stars
3/18/01 Hobbes I would smile if i saw Shumacher executed. 2 stars
3/09/01 BART everything sucks except for the songs. 2 stars
2/16/01 Joseph Lewis When even star Jim Carrey messes up, you know it's bad. 1 stars
2/16/01 Ray McCoy "Holy rusted metal, Batman!" - Batman Forever, no, really 1 stars
2/15/01 lisa watching that babe kilmer run around in rubber was pretty cool. 3 stars
2/15/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi The Villians made this one stomachable. Val Kilmer as Batman is pretty-boy PUKE!!! 3 stars
1/30/01 rubber FUCKING APPALLING!!! 1 stars
1/14/01 safged weygwe 4 stars
12/26/00 Turtle An okay sequel, but needs some work. 4 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla good action scenes but shitty plot, face it people, most sequels suck shit (prove me wrong) 1 stars
9/16/00 Hal Pokejedservo needs his head examined! That SOB Shitmaker raped the life out of Batman! 1 stars
8/03/00 Terrie Smith Not a bad entry in the series; Jim Carrey is annoying. Special effects are OK. 4 stars
6/29/00 Hal Shumacher MUST die! Bring back Burton and Keaton! 1 stars
5/31/00 danilo very good - BIG improvement over Returns 4 stars
5/28/00 Fred Schumacher and that hack Akiva Goldsman should be taken out and beaten to death! PATHETIC. 1 stars
4/30/00 Matt AHH....VERY PRETTY,VERY EXPENSIVE SHITE! 1 stars
4/16/00 BB-15 Not as good as the first two, but still a great thrill ride. 5 stars
4/10/00 Myself Good movie, but would've been better with Burton, Keaton, and Elfman. 4 stars
4/01/00 malcolm best of the series. Kilmer kills Keaton and Clooney. 4 stars
3/17/00 Lame-Oh What the hell was I thinking?! This movie blows Canadian bacon! 1 stars
2/28/00 Jana Great fun and excitement! This series ROCKS! 5 stars
2/11/00 Kyle Broflovski Tommy Lee & Jim are the only saving graces. Batman & Robin are just plain BORING!!! 3 stars
1/31/00 Hmm... Flashy,but good.Different from one and two sure,but no one would hate it had IT come 1st 3 stars
1/19/00 k.tomkowski Over the top. Flashy, shallow and unnerving 3 stars
1/13/00 Jedi15 This movie sucks and blows! There's so much shit in this movie that you'll choke on it! 1 stars
12/22/99 Deckard Leave it to H'Wood to destroy a good franchise.The most pathetic thing is that it got WORSE 1 stars
12/13/99 Ted Wetzel UGH! This "movie" sucks from start to finish.There isn't one good thing in this shitter. 1 stars
10/26/99 Karahde Khan Lots of children dying by hunger in Africa, and they waste millions in this... 1 stars
7/02/99 Cage It wasn't great, simply entertaining. Any Batman is cool, no matter what. 4 stars
6/28/99 Arkansas Jon Entertaining, but highly disappointing. Speaking of nipples, Nicole is a babe, though. 3 stars
12/13/98 Binky And to think they let Schumacher take another one. Guh. Shitful. 1 stars
12/05/98 grunter um, Batman's not cross-eyed. 1 stars
11/05/98 Bad Kosh Your'e doomed, Fatman. Do the Bartman, dickhead! 1 stars
10/14/98 Alex F. If it wasn't for Jim, this flick woulda sucked more moosecock then a drunken canadian 3 stars
10/07/98 Maegs Val Kilmer? 2 stars
10/05/98 Negative Creep I waited FOREVER to see this. It wasnt Great but it wasnt EVil. 3 stars
9/02/98 J-Guy you've ruined batman. fuckerheads. 1 stars
8/31/98 MikeF not as shity as natman and robin, but shity none the less. 2 stars
8/31/98 Mister Whoopee Shitful. But did they learn? Did they shite. 2 stars
8/30/98 Johny Who needs Neon? 1 stars
8/28/98 Chuck-D Eung, kinda OK, like a good amusement park ride, has nothing on the first movie. Nipples? 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Jun-1995 (R)
  DVD: 18-Oct-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  29-Jun-1995 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast