More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.12

Awesome: 16.91%
Worth A Look24.64%
Average24.64%
Pretty Bad: 21.26%
Total Crap: 12.56%

14 reviews, 123 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


World is Not Enough, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Hey! James Bond was never meant to incite giggles, ever."
2 stars

OK, so everything is in place for the latest James Bond cash cow, right? We have the beautiful women who couldn't act fat if they were pregnant, the increasingly retarded gadgets, the pointless opening sequence, the totally evil villains, and some of the worst sexual puns and double entendrés you'll ever hear. Take Bond back to the drawing board, or do something really ballsy in the next installment and KILL HIM!

Denise Richards has large breasts. It's a plot point made in this movie early and often, so I feel comfortable mentioning it: Denise Richards has large breasts.

So where was I? Oh yeah! A new James Bond movie came out and guess what? It is saddled with the WORST script ever in a Bond picture. (Yes, I've seen Octopussy.) Almost every single scene is over-populated with brain-dead lines like

"I have to reattach the mercury module or this plutomium warhead will obliterate all of Afghanistan"

or

"Hey, this is a door we can enter to avoid the numerous weapons of our enemies"

and

"Wow, that girl has large breasts."

Although I was laughing throughout this movie, most of it was just sad. I'm a big fan of the series, but this one just reeks of paint-by-numbers and going-through-the-motions. Every plot point is telegraphed 20 minutes early. The supporting characters do absolutely nothing. (WHY have Robbie Coltrane, a fat British guy, do a Russian accent??) Director Michael Apted (new to the series) also employs a rather annoying gimmick: The lingering shot. It works like this: Bond enters a room, banal and dull dialogue ensues, then the camera ZOOMS in on a lapel pin or a clock or and it basically TELLS the audience "HEY! This object will soon explode!" Yeah, I guess the element of surprise is overrated in movies, anyway.

Another complaint: In most Bond movies, he manages to escape and avoid death through his wits and gadgets and even good looks. In this movie, he lets everything else do the work for him! He's hanging on a hot-air balloon which explodes, he lets go and falls like 50 feet. He bruises his collarbone. He's chained to a torture-chair-thing and what saves him? Someone stumbling in to the room at the right time. You could rename this Mr. Magoo 2 with all the blind luck that Jimmy B. stumbles through here.

So Sophie Marceau is the main girl here. I don't know what she's being punished for here (perhaps being in Lost and Found?), but she has some of the most laughable dialogue I've heard in a long time. I won't go too much into it, as I get jealous of writing that is funnier than mine. It also doesn't help that this French pastry has the acting skills of a government loan. Pierce Brosnan holds his own again as James Bond, but that's not saying much, since he's got the job, for better or worse. Robert Carlyle is the droopy-eyed villain who wants to kill a bunch of people for some selfish reason. Regarding his character, all I can say is snicker. (Hey, if you want your villain to scare me, could you please try a LITTLE to not make him look exactly like Dr. Evil?) Let me get this straight: He's a lunatic militia guy who was previously shot in the brain, but that didn't kill him. What it DID do was make him super-strong and impervious to pain. Yeah. What is this, He-Man cartoons? Hey, someone please shoot ME in the head. I want super powers!

Did I mention that Denise Richard's breasts AND lips are in this movie? Well, we see no skin, but those babies are EVERYWHERE. This girl makes Lara Croft look like Olive Oyl. If her body were a book, it would be titled "Holy Moley! Look at these boobs!" I predict she gets an Oscar nomination for best-supported actress. (ba dum bum) Oh, and this top-heavy cheerleader is supposed to convince us that she's a NUCLEAR PHYSICIST NAMED CHRISTMAS JONES? Please. Did Mel Brooks touch this script up a bit, or am I on crack?

Oh, and there's a bunch of nonsense about oil and pipelines and plutonium and skiing and submarines and Denise's boobs and Shaken, not Stirred and all that familiar tripe. The end is the best. I especially love when Bond and the evil mutant battle over this giant gold phallus and they keep thrusting it around and jamming it into this tight, wet hole. See the movie if you don't believe me.

Perhaps the weakest entry ever, and all the blame goes on the script. I groaned out loud like 15 times. Granted, 12 of those times it was due to a nice cleavage shot and 2 other times it was because I suddenly realized I was out of Raisenets. Breast jokes aside, this one is a misfire, even for hardcore Bond fans. Trust me. I've seen them all, and if you have too, you'll agree. And WHY name Denise Richard's character named "Christmas Jones" when "Boobie Galore" was just sitting there, waiting for her?

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=717&reviewer=128
originally posted: 11/24/99 18:37:06
[printer] printer-friendly format  
James Bond: For more in the James Bond series, click here.

User Comments

10/11/17 Louise Marceau's accent kept slipping.Not one of the better Bond films. 3 stars
9/13/17 morris campbell kind of dull 2 stars
12/05/15 1800suckmydick Extremely boring in spots, like most Brosnan films. Good villainess. 3 stars
9/03/12 roscoe bette rhangoldeneye and tomorrow never dies 5 stars
8/30/09 Jeff Wilder On a par iwth Tomorrow Never Dies. 4 stars
8/06/09 Simon it's par for the course, a cheesy good time 3 stars
3/01/09 T^3 The WINE suffers from severe Bond Villain Syndrome, even Mi6 succumbs to fatal gullibility. 2 stars
2/02/09 PAUL SHORTT THE SCRIPT IS NOT ENOUGH 2 stars
10/06/08 Mark Gibson Okay as it is, I liked the action sequences a lot and Brosnans bond is great in it 4 stars
10/05/08 Lenny Zane Poor Denise Richards! -- so terribly overtrashed for this, so now we never see her anymore. 5 stars
7/30/08 chris f very under average not very good at all 1 stars
7/22/08 the dork knight Pretty crazy. But the co-stars liven things up quite a bit 4 stars
12/14/07 Jason Elektra King & George Bush, James Bond meets Peak Oil! Great movie.Realistic plot. 5 stars
11/24/07 mrsinister Sophie Marceau elevates this movie a few notches. 4 stars
10/12/07 Charles Denise Richards as a nuclear scientist? Need I say more?? ALMOST left the theatre... 2 stars
9/01/07 johnnyfog Best of the Brosnan Bond films. Robbie Coltrane's back, yay! 4 stars
5/28/07 order valium arthritis pain relief 1 stars
4/24/07 David Risser Lots of action, but it wasn't great. 3 stars
2/16/07 johnnyfog The best Brosnan Bond film. I hated Denise Richards though! 4 stars
2/03/07 Vip Ebriega Great 007 action/adventure film. 4 stars
2/02/07 laboo IT FUCKING RULES 5 stars
1/25/07 Dirk Pitts hair Bogged down by a boring plot and a dodgy villian 2 stars
1/02/07 ProSneakyD Best bond film of the 90's, intelligent story & 1st class action, no one should miss it. 5 stars
6/11/06 Yorkee Marceau not sexy? - MP you must be kidding. Confusing plot and too slow. 3 stars
5/29/06 inty yeyey best bond ever it rules ya 5 stars
5/10/06 omar its ok 3 stars
4/26/06 CUT AWAY It is a great Bond, if u want plot u got it 4 stars
4/02/06 poo it rules 4 stars
3/13/06 date movie sucks great 4 stars
2/11/06 Mack a great one 4 stars
1/03/06 Anthony Feor The best Bond since the 60's 4 stars
11/21/05 chris satisfactory bond movie but nothing special 3 stars
9/28/05 Indrid Cold Interesting attempt at a female arch-villain, but unsatisfying and forgettable. 3 stars
8/26/05 Eden Only awesome in comparison to Die Another Day 3 stars
5/27/05 tony Chris perry needs a lesson in reviewing. Exellent flick with spectacular plot. good action! 4 stars
4/02/05 Alice Colwell typical 007 movie 5 stars
2/06/05 Tom Benton Those it suffers heavily from poor editing, this is a stylish and very cool 007 film ... 4 stars
1/08/05 keithers.. Too much attention on action not enough on plot, bond has come diehard....boooo 3 stars
12/07/04 some guy yeah it's quite good, your reviewer guy is shit. 4 stars
9/23/04 Al Guy Good for a rental.I forgot about it as soon as I cut it off. 3 stars
7/18/04 Daveman Perhaps the most tiresome, boring film in the series... avoid! 1 stars
5/31/04 Nobody They should make a realistic bond movie where he gets an STD 3 stars
5/08/04 Littlepurch. If not for Goldfinger, this would be the best by far. Seed boat chase MUST be a classsic! 5 stars
12/02/03 tatum Benign Bond, but better than Brosnan's first two 3 stars
11/29/03 john Ms Richards is about as believable as a nuclear scientist as my uncle would be as 007 - 1 stars
11/28/03 R.W. Welch Passable Bond flick has everything but the kitchen sink -- and believability. 3 stars
10/22/03 Littlepurch Gr8 film! Boat chase best bond action scene EVER!!! Story better than other brosnan's too!! 5 stars
8/02/03 Stefan Halka This film had good action in it, but the storyline lagged. 3 stars
7/06/03 Paul S. Classic bits: the entire first 20 min., Elektra, torture chair, x-ray casino scene,Q`s exit 5 stars
12/04/02 Jiz So unmemorable I forgot it in less than a year. I remember it sucked though 1 stars
10/27/02 Matt Neopalitano Too much product placement. 3 stars
9/17/02 CVJ Brosnans best bond movie to date 5 stars
8/16/02 scott great 5 stars
7/21/02 Bastard Child of Mother Teresa Denise sucks! Sophie rules! Bond conquers the world! 5 stars
5/15/02 Stud The world is not enough. 4 stars
3/31/02 Zargo the best brosnan so far 5 stars
3/13/02 Stewy Evans The only goog thing about the film was Q's speed boat 3 stars
3/02/02 Alan Smithee The only thing that Denise Richards brought to the table were her great tits. 2 stars
2/27/02 Shrike Shallow and boring, bring back Connery! 2 stars
2/22/02 Ashley Corpening Superb! Denise Richards much better than all the hype has said 5 stars
2/22/02 Julia Cox Good except Sophie Marceau would be more appealing having a good bowel movement. 4 stars
1/16/02 David A. Bond is good but Brosnan is weak. Roger Moore is the REAL Bond! 4 stars
10/01/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Good! but not good as Tommorow never dies, but the plots good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
9/04/01 Butterbean Carlyle's character couldn't feel pain, but nothing cool was done with him. Very dull flick 2 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg Over rated 4 stars
7/10/01 TLsmooth How in the fuck do people sit thru this bullshit? Brosnan is shitty. 1 stars
6/08/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Denise Richards as a genius?? Uh-huh, and I can chew nails & spit out quarters. 3 stars
4/02/01 fifu neat first half but jumps off a cliff when "christmas" come in what a fucking horrible name 3 stars
3/25/01 Monster W. Kung Very mediocre Bond movie. Even Robert Carlyle seems weak in this. 2 stars
2/16/01 James Lackluster and pointless. 2 stars
11/26/00 Connoisseur Pierce Brosnan is good, but this movie sucks! 1 stars
10/24/00 Gremlin Not as good as Goldeneye but Denise Richards makes up for it......oooh...denise.....oooh... 5 stars
7/07/00 Terrie Smith Good looking women; lots of action but I'm going to miss "Q" 4 stars
6/28/00 Naushad Khanji The Bond premise is stale.Brosnan is terrible and makes the worst Bond 2 stars
6/03/00 danilo worst bond movie ever 1 stars
5/29/00 Cooke Bond is awesome. 5 stars
5/20/00 mahone It made me wonder if the series doen't need to be put to rest with dignity. 2 stars
5/20/00 The Bomb 69 richards annoys but the rest was pretty enjoyable 4 stars
5/03/00 cort major Brosnan is a good bond-but the franchise is going downhill faster and faster-FLUFF- 1 stars
2/28/00 Neil Austin Boys will always be boys and bond will always be bond 5 stars
1/24/00 Cibeus This is the best of the three for this Bond. Saw it twice! 5 stars
1/19/00 k.tomkowski Not bad, but instantly forgettable. 3 stars
1/09/00 John Markham Everyone looked lost and confused. 3 stars
1/04/00 Gotham DK The best Bond film in awhile. As much as I love Richards, she isn't convincing as a Nuke Dr 4 stars
1/01/00 LJ Kong Absolutely the best BOND film 5 stars
12/31/99 Janus Just because its bond its a must see but it was not comparable to tomorrow never dies 4 stars
12/30/99 Richard Miller I think Pierce masterbated before every scene, I hated hated hated hated hated this movie!! 1 stars
12/30/99 K. Lackey Yet another Bond film in which mediocrity prevails as bond blows stuff up & gets the girl. 3 stars
12/21/99 saMas when will he die 3 stars
12/19/99 Mr Showbiz So thick with puns and double-entendres it plays liek a Marx Bros routine. 1 stars
12/16/99 Ezra Xenos The movie claims to be nothing more than it is, a fun two hours, at which it is successful. 4 stars
12/15/99 Jason S. Biggest waste of time(Besides Wild Wild West) of the year, toss a crappy Supernova trailer! 1 stars
12/15/99 Heather Bond fans will see this anyway, good, but not as brilliant as Goldeneye, Tomorrow 4 stars
12/15/99 Ara Margossian one of the best bonds in decades 5 stars
12/13/99 voyant Good Escape movie 4 stars
12/12/99 Tyson Stewart Everything I want in a Bond film! It's great! 4 stars
12/08/99 JonnyAngel "Carlyle chewing the scenery"? What movie were you watching? He didn't chew, he just sucked 3 stars
12/06/99 Ryan Mathers Not bad as Bond films go 3 stars
12/02/99 Doug Paulsen WAY to many one liners. 2 stars
12/02/99 Chris It's a good bond film. They should have done more with the bad guy. 4 stars
11/30/99 Ryan Phillipe got hit by a car and it rules I was in awe of all the talent. If it wasn't for end of days Id say best picture right here 1 stars
11/29/99 Mic What a great last line. The old formula still works reasonably. 3 stars
11/28/99 Chet Patel Worse than GoldenEye, Tommorow Never Dies kicked ass compared to this movie. 2 stars
11/27/99 nootch Even Salma Hayek could've played a more convincing nuclear physicist! 2 stars
11/27/99 Kevin Cho - Movie Junkie Broznan's BEST - Great action, well worth the trouble. One of the bes t- Highly recommend. 5 stars
11/27/99 Matthew Smith brosnan has bond written all over him 5 stars
11/26/99 Rachel B. i thought this was another sweet Bond film. In my opinion Pierce Bronsan is the best guy . 5 stars
11/24/99 Jamie It's exactly what you expect from bond. Hot women cool gadgets and bad humor 4 stars
11/23/99 Lianne I thought it was one of the best Bond Movies in a long time. 5 stars
11/23/99 Jason S. Good action movie....shitty James Bond movie 2 stars
11/23/99 john carpenter excellent, first rate 5 stars
11/23/99 Mr. X A waste of Robert Carlyle 2 stars
11/23/99 Zaw Oo Denise Richards Can't act.. she was funny make me laugh everytime she say something. :-). 3 stars
11/22/99 Mr. K The cold-blooded Bond is back. He sleeps with the good girl and the bad, then offs the bad! 5 stars
11/22/99 majawat more breasts, less talking 2 stars
11/22/99 anon Good acting by most, good action, poor script. Denise Richards was not convincing. 4 stars
11/21/99 SJKelley I grew up reading Ian Fleming. I threw up watching this. Way too many "WHAT?" scenes. 2 stars
11/21/99 Jqirish A solid Bond, but nothing knew 4 stars
11/20/99 C.A.T.M. With Brosnan as Bond, Richards' bouncing chest, and the stunts, you can't lose. Great ! 5 stars
11/20/99 Dax It's the 19th Bond movie. You get exactly what you'd expect. 4 stars
11/19/99 Tay It sucked 1 stars
11/14/99 george Oh give me a break, its Bond! Everyone loves bond! 5 stars
9/30/99 the Grinch First Pierce Brosnan, now DENISE RICHARDS? Brosnan's bimbo enough! They're fucking up 007! 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Nov-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Nov-1999




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast