More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.59

Awesome49.86%
Worth A Look: 10.47%
Average: 11.02%
Pretty Bad: 6.34%
Total Crap: 22.31%

10 reviews, 303 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Birdman by Peter Sobczynski

John Wick by Peter Sobczynski

Blue Room, The by Jay Seaver

Cat and the Canary, The (1927) by Jay Seaver

#Stuck by Jay Seaver

Fury (2014) by Jay Seaver

Book of Life, The (2014) by Jay Seaver

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

Maze Runner, The by Daniel Kelly

Art and Craft by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Cabin Fever
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by David Cornelius

"The cure for this fever? Sadly, it's not more cowbell."
3 stars

I’m guessing the kids in “Cabin Fever” have never seen a horror movie before. If they had, they’d have known that their vacation spot of choice - an isolated cabin in the woods - ranks right up there with abandoned summer camps, out of the way motels, and houses where serial killers used to live on the list of Places Where People Tend To Get Killed. The difference here is that it’s a virus, not a masked psycho, doing the killing, but hey, to a dead kid, does it matter?

It turns out that director/co-writer Eli Roth has seen plenty of horror movies in his day, and with his feature debut, he tosses us a pile of great horror clichés, understanding that they’re clichés and how to twist them to keep them relatively fresh. The movie combines four great horror themes: unstoppable disease, paranoia, isolation, and rednecks. Think of “Cabin Fever” as “Evil Dead” meets “Outbreak” meets “Deliverance,” with a heavy dose of black comedy and an eagerness for gross out visuals. The combo doesn’t always work, but when it does, it makes for some great chills.

The story kicks off with five college kids heading out to a rented cabin for a week’s worth of partying. True to the horror character template, we get two couples, one oversexed, one undersexed, plus a goofy tagalong drunk pal. The oversexed duo is Jeff (Joey Kern) and Marcy (Cerina Vincent); the undersexed are Paul (Rider Strong) and Karen (Jordan Ladd), who are just good friends, although Paul’s trying to make his move. The goofy tagalong is Bert (James DeBello), who, in pure horror tradition, exists merely to make wisecracks, get drunk, and generally be a fifth wheel.

If this were a slasher movie, Bert would be the one to wander off alone, lamenting his lack of a girlfriend, only to get sliced by the killer. Here, however, he merely runs across a crazed hermit (Arie Verveen), who’s covered in lesions and ranting like a maniac. The hermit returns again later, this time confronting the entire group, managing to projectile vomit blood all over their truck before getting set on fire and fleeing into the woods. (It makes more sense than it sounds.)

It’s not long before the kids themselves start getting sick, but Roth and co-writer Randy Pearlstein give us a nice twist, one that ups the suspense. It’s not contact with the sick hermit that infects the kids, although that’s what they think it is. No, it’s the drinking water, which has been contaminated. In a great scene, the filmmakers toy with the audience, letting us squirm for a while as we wait anxiously to see if anyone’ll actually drink that water that they believe to be safe.

Yes, Roth and company overplay some of these moments (do we really need the too-obvious music “sting” to let us know something bad’s just happened?), but they still work. More effective are the freakish bits of gore placed throughout the film, like the leg shaving scene that I wound up watching with my hand over my eyes, which is something I rarely do.

Roth and Pearlstein also make the most of their characters’ growing paranoia. These kids’ behavior turns ugly and fast, with Bert and Jeff choosing to think of themselves first. When one character becomes the first to get sick, that person gets locked away, almost mercilessly, in a nearby shed. Here’s a movie that showcases the worst in people, but with an energy and an honesty that we never find these kids too unlikable to not want to watch.

“Cabin Fever” would’ve worked best had the story been kept simple, dealing only with the five kids. But the filmmakers felt the need to open up the story a bit, and the result is a mixed bag. There’s a lot of oddball moments that feel added just to create a sense of uneasiness and confusion; sometimes these scenes add to the creepiness, sometimes they just come off as weak filler. A subplot involving rednecks down at the local general store, while a bit too broad, still works in upping the tension, as does a disturbing run-in with a pig farmer. But then there’s the bit with a stoner camper, which doesn’t really have much to do with anything. And what to make of the useless, clueless deputy, who’s added for cheap laughs than anything else?

The movie falls apart in its final five minutes, with one scene that’s a bit too anticlimactic, another that’s far too predictable to any horror fan, and another that exists merely to feature one very silly, very unnecessary punchline. This is one of those films that needs to end a few scenes before it actually does.

Despite these stumbles, “Cabin Fever” still works, mainly because it features all those scenes that got me to cover my eyes. What it loses by trying to be a comedy, it makes up by trying to be a showcase for the grotesque. It does what it wants to do, namely, provide immediate scares and disturbing chills. It doesn’t stay with you in a haunting way, but it does produce a genuine gut reaction.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7206&reviewer=392
originally posted: 06/12/07 09:16:41
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Edinburgh Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Edinburgh Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 SXSW Film Festival. For more in the 2003 South By Southwest Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Sydney Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Sydney Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Seattle Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Seattle Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 San Francisco Film Festival. For more in the 2003 San Francisco Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Los Angeles Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Los Angeles Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Brisbane Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Brisbane Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

8/07/14 David Hollingsworth a movie to rival "evil dead" in good, gory hysteria 5 stars
11/13/10 PAUL SHORTT UNORIGINAL GORY LOW-BUDGET HORROR 1 stars
2/21/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess Neither as good nor as bad as most people say. 3 stars
12/26/09 Chad Dillon Cooper "Horror expert" Eli Roth has fashioned a steaming Hostess twinkie of a movie. Steer clear. 1 stars
9/05/09 bronson mejia Where's Scott Weinberg? These critics suck. 3 stars
1/18/09 action movie fan a gory but engrossing shocker-quite good-well worht it 4 stars
10/28/08 Sugarfoot Not-bad zombie film, though Evil Dead is still more enjoyable. The pancake scene is funny. 3 stars
11/20/07 Louise Disappointing 2 stars
10/28/07 Jest Even more moronic crap for the braindead 1 stars
10/17/07 Beau Its not so much horror, its just grotesque haha 3 stars
10/03/07 wall don't see it 1 stars
9/26/07 dude skip it 1 stars
8/22/07 Bitchflaps See Wrong Turn instead... this garbage is the pits. 1 stars
7/17/07 Alexander Very cool and anarchic fun. Loved Pan-Cake Karate-Kid. He's awesome. 4 stars
7/11/07 pete.chesworth Fit women pity about the story 2 stars
5/18/07 movieman hated it 1 stars
4/23/07 Tracey Chambers they will let any half wit make a movie nowdays. 1 stars
4/23/07 David Risser Good gore& hot girls Rock on Cerina Vincent! 5 stars
4/20/07 Dude don't ever want to see it again 1 stars
3/28/07 fools♫gold Nods to those Sam Raimi classics. 5 stars
3/14/07 man dont ever want to see it again 1 stars
11/29/06 Stanley Thai A great concept all smashed into pieces. One of the worst, yet enjoyable, films ever. 1 stars
11/25/06 David Pollastrini good gore. 3 stars
6/16/06 Michele entertaining 4 stars
6/13/06 sam clelland i what rider strong to come to clagary 1 stars
3/01/06 chris f quite a good film gory at parts to well done!!!! 4 stars
1/13/06 Movie_Buff Tolerable except for the deranged Karate Kid - what was the point of having him there? 3 stars
1/07/06 SR If you paid to see it, you wasted your money 1 stars
12/14/05 Steven Lewis It's one of those movies you're just like "why?" and then say "it was ok" so take a look. 3 stars
10/31/05 Savv Im a girl, so i was scared. Id probly rate it a 2 out of 5 though, i didnt really like it 2 stars
10/20/05 Jordan Funniest ending ever. Rest of the movie was average. 3 stars
9/19/05 mung Eli Roth should go back to sucking dicks for a living...so should all people who liked this 1 stars
9/14/05 matt pretty entertaining, kinda silly though 4 stars
8/11/05 ES What! if this shouldn't be the most reviled movie out there than the end is near= terrible 1 stars
6/22/05 Manu Ginobli Not scary, but it's pretty original & entertaining. 4 stars
6/13/05 CJ OK movie. Not so scarey. Good idea. Many things left open. 4 stars
5/14/05 Will not necessarily a great horror movie but a great movie nonetheless 5 stars
5/06/05 Indrid Cold Great characters, relatively scary; really quite good for cheapo horror fare. 4 stars
2/23/05 Rock-Steady holy shit,so boring I had to whip my dick out and entertain myself in the theatre! 1 stars
2/13/05 Joseph Barale I have to agree with you, Jeff. This movie was pretty supid. It was'nt even scary at all 2 stars
2/10/05 jeff are u people drunk??? this movie was horrible. 1 stars
1/02/05 olivier a HORROR MASTERPIECE!!! surely horror fans should not pass by....lights out, speakers up!!! 5 stars
12/10/04 oblong seed LITERALLY scared the crap out of me. i'm NEVER going into forests again. DIS IS SCARY SH!T! 5 stars
11/17/04 Gooey Cabbage Fever was preeeeeety goooood. 5 stars
11/13/04 Larry Brilliant! 5 stars
11/10/04 Misti Not for the faint of heart, or the weak in stomach. Interesting twist on horror movies. 2 stars
11/08/04 Jamie I can tell that Roth is going to be a future big name. 5 stars
10/30/04 Samuel Great direction, Great Cast, Very good and interesting story, a really great horror film! 5 stars
10/29/04 Vince Good gory stuff, with unexpected twists and characters. 4 stars
10/29/04 armo you are so misinformed about the quality of this attept at whorer. The after material on D 2 stars
10/19/04 danny SHIT!!!!!!! 1 stars
10/08/04 olivier a HORROR MASTERPIECE!!! surely horror fans should not pass by....lights out, speakers up!!! 5 stars
10/04/04 ridingthebullet one of the most spectaular horror films i've saw in ages... 5 stars
9/25/04 red blooded killer I can't wait for a sequel, which i heard will be released sometime next year... 5 stars
9/21/04 A genius of my own time Brilliant! 5 stars
9/16/04 Davie a kickass movie 5 stars
9/16/04 Jamie I can tell that Roth is going to be a future big name. 5 stars
9/13/04 Samuel Fucking good. 5 stars
9/13/04 bitchslapper Horrifying. One of the greatest horror films I've ever seen! 5 stars
9/08/04 Matthew One of the best horror films to come out recently. 5 stars
9/06/04 bitchslapper Horrifying. One of the greatest horror films I've ever seen! 5 stars
8/30/04 Gene before viewing CF I read comments on here American Slasher Goddess has made hundreds. sad. 5 stars
8/30/04 Gene Just because "Fever" is set in a cabin doesn't mean its 'The Evil Dead' ASG, is a fool. 5 stars
8/29/04 American Slasher Goddess It's "Evil Dead" without the pizazz 1 stars
8/25/04 A genius of my own time in a word, genus. 5 stars
8/25/04 Davie a kickass movie 5 stars
8/23/04 Benton I can tell that Roth is going to be a future big name. 5 stars
8/20/04 Samuel One of the best horror films to come out recently. 5 stars
8/20/04 bitchslapper Horrifying. One of the greatest horror films I've ever seen! 5 stars
8/19/04 Random Fuck New and Original, but NOT SCARY ENOUGH!!! 4 stars
8/14/04 alice THE CAST WAS GREAT 5 stars
8/10/04 bloodandtitties it had the the gore and the nudity, something horror films have been missing lately 5 stars
8/08/04 A genius of my own time One hell of a great horror movie! 5 stars
8/08/04 Davie a kickass movie 5 stars
8/08/04 Benton I can tell that Roth is going to be a future big name. 5 stars
8/08/04 Samuel Great direction. Great Story. Great Cast. One of the best horror films to come out recently 5 stars
8/08/04 American Slasher Goddess Horrifying. One of the greatest horror films I've ever seen! 5 stars
8/07/04 Jay V What a joke of a movie 1 stars
8/06/04 alice THE CAST WAS FUCKING SPECTACULAR 5 stars
8/06/04 valerie hart I liked it because like all great 70's horror films, it had the the gore and the nudity. 5 stars
8/06/04 Horror Queen Rider Strong could be the new Ash! 5 stars
8/06/04 Stab Wounds It was good 5 stars
8/03/04 Davie a kickass movie 5 stars
8/03/04 Benton I can tell that Roth is going to be a future big name. 5 stars
8/03/04 WGartside Mixes comedy and horror perfectly. 5 stars
8/03/04 American Slasher Goddess Horrifying. One of the greatest horror films I've ever seen! 5 stars
8/03/04 y2mckay 'Cabin Fever' best horror film of 2003 5 stars
8/03/04 Boogerman Eli Roth has done all horror fans a favor and its called 'Cabin Fever' 5 stars
8/03/04 alice THE CAST WAS AWFULL 2 stars
8/01/04 valerie hart it woz a poor performance sickand stupid u guys only liked it coz of the porn 2 stars
7/29/04 Horror Queen sick random and stupid 1 stars
7/27/04 Stab Wounds It was good 5 stars
7/26/04 Benton big** 5 stars
7/26/04 Benton I can tell that Roth is going to be a future bug name 5 stars
7/26/04 WGartside Mixes comedy and horror perfectly. 5 stars
7/26/04 American Slasher Goddess Horrifying. One of the greatest horror films I've ever seen! 5 stars
7/26/04 y2mckay 'Cabin Fever' best horror film of 2003 5 stars
7/26/04 Boogerman Eli Roth had dont us all a favor and its called 'Cabin Fever' 5 stars
7/26/04 989 Best horror film of 2003, even better than Freddy vs Jason 5 stars
7/26/04 silver10 long live hobo's in the woods! i wasn't expecting much, but this rocked! 5 stars
7/26/04 Samuel good actors. good story. great effects. one of the best horror movies to come out recently. 5 stars
7/26/04 Stab Wounds it was good 5 stars
7/26/04 Raymond Lee a bloody feast! 5 stars
7/26/04 carlos r guzman I recognized bits of Blair Witch & Sam Raimi's "Evil Dead", Roth may be a future big name 4 stars
7/26/04 WGartside Mixes comedy and horror perfectly. 5 stars
7/26/04 American Slasher Goddess Horrifying. One of the greatest horror films I've ever seen! 5 stars
7/26/04 y2mckay 'Cabin Fever' best horror film of 2003 5 stars
7/21/04 American Slasher Goddess I did not give this an awesome review, someone changed my review 1 stars
7/12/04 silver10 long live hobo's in the woods! i wasn't expecting much, but this rocked! 5 stars
7/11/04 Samuel good actors. good story. great effects. one of the best horror movies to come out recently. 5 stars
7/07/04 Raymond Lee a bloody feast! 5 stars
7/06/04 Mark Louis Baumgart Eli Roth makes an excellent horror film debut. Cabin Fever Rocks! 5 stars
7/06/04 WGartside Mixes comedy and horror perfectly. 5 stars
7/06/04 American Slasher Goddess Horrifying. One of the greatest horror films I've ever seen! 5 stars
7/06/04 y2mckay 'Cabin Fever' best horror film of 2003 5 stars
7/06/04 jumping joppy good family film. 5 stars
7/06/04 jenna thomas I thought it was grea 5 stars
7/06/04 silver10 long live hobo's in the woods! i wasn't expecting much, but this rocked! 5 stars
7/06/04 Samuel good actors. good story. great effects. one of the best horror movies to come out recently. 5 stars
7/06/04 J fans of horror will love it 5 stars
7/06/04 Raymond Lee a bloody feast! 5 stars
7/06/04 Mark Louis Baumgart Eli Roth makes an excellent horror film debut. Cabin Fever Rocks! 5 stars
7/06/04 WGartside Mixes comedy and horror perfectly. 5 stars
7/06/04 American Slasher Goddess Horrifying. One of the greatest horror films I've ever seen! 5 stars
7/06/04 y2mckay 'Cabin Fever' best horror film of 2003 5 stars
7/06/04 jumping joppy good family film. 5 stars
7/06/04 jenna thomas I thought it was great 5 stars
7/06/04 silver10 long live hobo's in the woods! i wasn't expecting much, but this rocked! 5 stars
7/06/04 Samuel good actors. good story. great effects. one of the best horror movies to come out recently. 5 stars
7/06/04 J fans of horror will love it 5 stars
7/06/04 Raymond Lee a bloody feast! 5 stars
7/06/04 Mark Louis Baumgart Eli Roth makes an excellent horror film debut. Cabin Fever Rocks! 5 stars
7/06/04 WGartside Mixes comedy and horror perfectly. 5 stars
7/06/04 American Slasher Goddess Horrifying. One of the greatest horror films I've ever seen! 5 stars
7/04/04 y2mckay WGartside, why would you watch something you hate SIX FUCKING TIMES? talk about a G for P! 5 stars
7/04/04 jumping joppy good family fun film.. 5 stars
6/25/04 jenna thomas i think its good 4 stars
6/21/04 silver10 long live hobo's in the woods! i wasn't expecting much, but this rocked! 5 stars
6/21/04 Samuel A fucking great horror film. It pays homage to alot of classic horror films. Spectacular. 5 stars
6/19/04 J Ebola for the Redneck Stu 5 stars
6/12/04 Raymond Lee a bloody feast 3 stars
5/26/04 Mark Louis Baumgart Good only to those that have never seen a good horror movie, horribly bad, beyond belief!!! 1 stars
5/21/04 WGartside Sadly, to best review the DVD, I had to watch ALL THE DAMNED EXTRAS! 1 stars
5/21/04 American Slasher Goddess Horrible, copies and pastes from much better horror movies. 1 stars
5/19/04 y2mckay WGartside, why would you watch something you hate SIX FUCKING TIMES? talk about a G for P! 5 stars
5/18/04 Jesus Fucking Christ This Movie Sucks THANK YOU, WGartside, bless you! You're th only sane person in this world. Worst movie ever 1 stars
4/22/04 dannyGH surprisingly good!not scary, but extremely gory and original. good job mr. eli roth! 4 stars
4/20/04 Connie_lyons2002@yahoo.com I loved it. I think they should make Cabin Fever part 2..The smoking scene was cool... 5 stars
4/20/04 LIAM JACKSON very good , although some ofit was quite disturbing 5 stars
4/16/04 Chawna M BEST HORROR FILM OF THE YEAR!!....had fun watching it 5 stars
4/13/04 FEILIDH It was pretty good, not sure i fully understand it though.... 4 stars
4/07/04 davepz cheesy, unoriginal yet still compelling, seen it 3 stars
4/06/04 Gray it was depressing, gross, stupid and I want my time money back bitch!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
4/04/04 guisada complete crap. 1 stars
3/30/04 American Slasher Goddess Roth copies and pastes from other much better horror movies,unlikeable characters,awful. 1 stars
3/30/04 Bonnie THIS IS THE BEST MOVIE EVER 5 stars
3/29/04 true review 1st half is good, 2nd half sucks, there is no ending 2 stars
3/28/04 dan it was pointless 1 stars
3/24/04 Amanda Smith i loved it and i love horror movies and Rider is hot.... 5 stars
3/22/04 HorrorScribbler Redneck ebola. Loved the bit with the rifle. 4 stars
3/21/04 Renee Cantrell (not to fret; relling is overrated) Characters unlikeable; gore is gratuitous & what the fuck's with "Pancakes!"? 1 stars
3/18/04 Brian No scares, no laughs, no good 2 stars
3/12/04 Cooj Made me vomit 3 stars
3/09/04 bsho76 Totally uninteresting 2 stars
2/28/04 Sarah Bartlett It was great 5 stars
2/26/04 Naturezrevenge Was eating pizza when I saw this.Don't make the same mistake.Ebola-riffic. 4 stars
2/22/04 Phyllis Joy Boring, plotless movie! VERY bad, 1 stars
2/18/04 xChaosTheoryx The movie was decent, until the ending... can someone elaborate!?!?! 4 stars
2/13/04 Charles Tatum Roth's love of the genre was contagious 5 stars
2/10/04 Jeremy Evirs A true classic. Its a revolution to horror. 5 stars
2/08/04 tbag This movie sucked 1 stars
2/05/04 irving lamansky Just plausible enough to push the envelop. Sam Raimi would have been proud. 5 stars
2/05/04 Sea Bass Some good creepy parts, but as a whole it 's just okay. 3 stars
2/03/04 ghost I watched this movie twice and I still don't know what its about 1 stars
1/31/04 Nichole Originality of the plot should be lauded. True horror doesn't have to wear a hockey mask! 5 stars
1/30/04 Soulembraced This is by far the worst movie I have ever seen all I can say. 1 stars
1/28/04 American Slasher Goddess Another overrated horror movie. 1 stars
1/27/04 Charles Tatum Roth's love of the genre was contagious 5 stars
1/25/04 Mattie This was an okay movie but, the end was CRAP.It was the most stupidest horror movie!! 1 stars
1/25/04 Paul Damian Worst Horror Film I've Ever Seen!!! 1 stars
1/24/04 mike morehead seen it and love horror film 5 stars
1/24/04 Vinnie I kept thinking "It's Evil Dead with no talent!!!" 1 stars
1/24/04 Amy Rozier 1 stars
1/13/04 Barbara Brilliant, as ever. 5 stars
1/03/04 A F So blantanly disgusting it's good 5 stars
1/01/04 Pancakes Unnnnnghhhh 1 stars
12/25/03 Elspie I'm not a horror fan, but it was scary, hilarious and completely unexpected. Awesome! 5 stars
12/16/03 Nae'blis PAAANNNCCAAKKKEESS! 3 stars
11/27/03 he A GREAT FILM 5 stars
11/25/03 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne What the fuck is with the "Pancakes" ninja? 2 stars
11/12/03 Dark Sephiroth Totally mindless, no common sense at all. 1 stars
10/31/03 Arnholt Swazinegger Shitwankbollockstossdontfuckingwatchit. 5 stars
10/27/03 Phil Cavan where was the plot? where was the ending? pancakes??? total disjointed film with no flow 1 stars
10/27/03 worrapskcaj cabin fever... where do i start! it was the worst movie ever my god it sucked so much balls 1 stars
10/23/03 Mike Hunt & Rosie Rottencrotch This movie was fucking terrible. It was a total piece of shit. 1 stars
10/22/03 Leticia Vasquez It was pointless, so it really sucked! 2 stars
10/19/03 Carina excellent! could watch it time after time 5 stars
10/18/03 EBONY COTTON bAD MOVIE 1 stars
10/17/03 Tanya Litrell it is gory i loved it 5 stars
10/15/03 Jennifer P blech blech blech - so not up to the hype, poor script, bad bad choices 1 stars
10/14/03 The Bail Unscary, unfunny, absolute crap 1 stars
10/14/03 Isabelle McCoy Definitely the worst film I have ever seen...this film makes Gigli look like Oscar material 1 stars
10/13/03 nutnog Fucking horrible pile! Were they trying to act poorly? 1 stars
10/13/03 Paul Byrne this is the worst film Ive seen since Jeepers Creepers, I want my money back! 1 stars
10/13/03 me what certificate is cabin fever 4 stars
10/10/03 charlotte reynolds great movie 4 stars
10/07/03 Erik Van Sant A throwback to Evil Dead and Romero flicks. Balls-to-the-wall horror. 5 stars
10/06/03 Double G Nasty and Good!!! What a movie is all about, Riser Strong did a great job!!! 5 stars
10/05/03 Cock, Balls Quite possibly the worst movie I have ever wasted $9 on. It truly sucked cocks and balls! 1 stars
10/04/03 Deanna It sucked Balls !!! Stupid ass story line ! I'm sorry I even paid money tours that movie!!! 1 stars
10/04/03 michael best movie of the year a must see movie 5 stars
10/04/03 Hung Weil Lo Worst movie I have seen this year. IT SUCKED!!! 1 stars
10/03/03 The Savage I forgot where I was after I saw this movie, as I'd lost my grip on reality. 1 stars
10/03/03 mike best movie 5 stars
10/02/03 snowconehead Hilarious 5 stars
10/02/03 Lizurd-1 horrible!bad acting and scripting mad it even worse.Waste of money! 1 stars
9/30/03 g.i. bleed sucked because freddy cruger and jason were missing, hey wait, that movie sucked too! 1 stars
9/30/03 Autumn It had NO plot 1 stars
9/29/03 ninesoft SUCK ASS 1 stars
9/28/03 k total crap 1 stars
9/28/03 moss Calling this movie crap would be way too nice! 1 stars
9/28/03 Anonymous I loved the movie, but sometimes i didnt know whether to be scared or to laugh 5 stars
9/27/03 terrance Rogers Boring scary movie rider strong is still stuck in the boy meets "world" worsre than gigli 1 stars
9/27/03 Staci This movie is a waste of good money. Eli Roth should quit his day job!!!!!!! 1 stars
9/27/03 ricardo funniest ffreaken horror film ever 4 stars
9/27/03 Megan It sucked! No real plot or story line, a montage of crappy gore. 1 stars
9/26/03 Nova Don't for the love of god see this movie... 1 stars
9/26/03 snowconehead Ddifferent. Took the entire length of the movie to setup the best joke, though 4 stars
9/26/03 B Denn 5 stars
9/26/03 Hannah Feldmann It sucked!! It was so stupid! 2 stars
9/25/03 Sara Hernandez It really is a great movie and when it comes out on video and dvd I definately want to get. 5 stars
9/24/03 Danno the Movie Manno Loved this flick... fav bit. The man choking on the mouth harp. Classic stuff 5 stars
9/23/03 help It's a fact, if you liked this movie you ARE retarded 1 stars
9/23/03 ZF Somewhat entertaining, but neither LOL nor truly frightening 3 stars
9/23/03 AZ Not even worth renting. Total dissapointment. 1 stars
9/23/03 Kristin this movie was ok.But I've seen better 3 stars
9/23/03 Kristin THAT MOVIE WAS TWISTED AND DISCUSTING but surprisingly funny! 4 stars
9/22/03 PL Eli Roth overpraised his film a lot, especially for the gore, which is almost absent!!!!!!! 2 stars
9/21/03 john PANCAKES!!! 5 stars
9/20/03 Jack Bourbon Overated 3 stars
9/20/03 you suck pure shit 1 stars
9/20/03 Jestyr i had to revise my to 10 "this movie sucks ass" list 1 stars
9/19/03 k I cant believe how many retards pretend to like this shit 1 stars
9/19/03 LynX U guys are all GAY, the movie was incredable 5 stars
9/19/03 April Malan Total Crap, not at all scarey, entertaining, I couldn't even find it humourous 1 stars
9/19/03 Stephanie You people need your heads checked. 1 stars
9/18/03 R.T. i want my damn money back 2 stars
9/18/03 LoudChris Fun first act. Painfully slow second act. Bloody last act! 3 stars
9/18/03 Robb The general store joke at the end was the greatest payoff in a LONG TIME! 5 stars
9/18/03 Harris Not as good as 28 Days Later, but still fun. 4 stars
9/17/03 DO SOME HOMEWORK KIDDIES A generic sleepwalk through some of the classics of the late 70's. Not one original moment. 3 stars
9/17/03 Joe Think Friday The 13th only without Jason or any sence of style or humor, just plain stupid 1 stars
9/17/03 Kimberly This is the first "real" horror movie I've seen in years - I loved it! 5 stars
9/16/03 Surrounded by Motherfucking Dumbasses Seriously, you people are fucking retarded assholes - this is standard horror 101. Purecrap 1 stars
9/16/03 KATIE It sucked!!!!!!!! 1 stars
9/16/03 Kyle Pancakes... 5 stars
9/15/03 Michelle Hill this movie puts recent "horror" movies to shame (28 Days Later) 5 stars
9/15/03 sanchita .....not as good as the others it is ever so much like 2 stars
9/15/03 Wishing I'd Stayed Home! Please save your $$$ - it's NOT stylish, NOT campy and NOT scary. 1 stars
9/15/03 Dora Finally! A horror film with a twist that is completly unpredictable! 5 stars
9/15/03 Rachel Good movie, Terrifying to me, held boyfriends hand the entire time. 5 stars
9/14/03 Timothy I was truly horrified. Finally a SCARY horror film! 5 stars
9/14/03 John Total nonsense 1 stars
9/14/03 Ron H Saw it today. Suspenseful...spine tingling! 4 stars
9/14/03 Nutnog HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE! What a joke and that guy choking on his harmonica get real! 1 stars
9/14/03 Tony G It was cool I like the nude scenes alot specially Cerina Vincent! 3 stars
9/14/03 gary great 5 stars
9/14/03 Bradley P. Ellis As a fan of classic horror and b-horror genre, this movie is a giant pile of shit. 1 stars
9/14/03 Lindsey great movie-funny and disgusting 5 stars
9/13/03 Vince Pretty foregettable... doesn't come close to Evil Dead, and 28days later was better. 3 stars
9/13/03 Renegade Bushido Come for the gore, stay for the humor (with some gore as well) 5 stars
9/13/03 elizabeth byron This film was great. It knew exactly what it was made to do, and it did it. 5 stars
9/13/03 Joe Not as funny as Evil Dead, but followed in its tongue-in-cheek, over-the-top footsteps. 4 stars
9/13/03 Superdave I couldn't figure out weather to laugh at it's stupidity or just get up and leave;piss poor 1 stars
9/12/03 Rivka holy shit...was this even a movie? 1 stars
9/12/03 Bullettoothtony Good fun, but certainly not brillant. A nice homage to all the best past horror movies. 4 stars
9/11/03 1IGY The movie is superb, ***1/2 3 stars
9/08/03 Wendy Schapiro Absolutely outsanding! If you love horror, go see "Cabin Fever." 5 stars
9/07/03 Gary One of the best movies ever made 5 stars
9/05/03 perez dude, an aswome movie, sweet ass, sweet horror blood shed awsome 5 stars
9/04/03 Joey Excelent 5 stars
9/03/03 Victor A. Martinez A smart timming issue w/(the villan being a skin curdlling disease)post 9/11terror threats! 5 stars
9/02/03 Teresa Martinez Best Movie of the Year! Skin Crawling Effects!! 5 stars
8/31/03 MEEE great 5 stars
8/24/03 Hank Excelent 5 stars
8/13/03 evil123 FUCKING BRILLIANT!! any horror fan that misses this one is really quite sad. 5 stars
8/12/03 Joey fanfuckingtastic 5 stars
8/07/03 Bob Twine Teens, Woods, Terror - Classic 5 stars
7/31/03 Ash B Fucking awesome, totally gore-tastic and so fucking hilarious. Eli you made me go off man! 5 stars
7/12/03 Joe Best horror movie ever 5 stars
7/10/03 Columbia University Anonymous By far the most daring film to date that lingers on the edge of sheer terror & pure joy 5 stars
5/08/03 Matt S Classic old school horror and gore! 5 stars
5/06/03 richard boone the funest movie i have ever worked on thanks to eli roth 5 stars
5/03/03 Staci Saw this at the Dusk til Dawn Horror Film Fest last October, loved it! 5 stars
5/03/03 Merl Refreshingly funny and quirky; I loved every minute 5 stars
4/27/03 Tony Wait 'til you see Matt "Dennis" Helms! 5 stars
4/24/03 Curtis Huge props to the San Francisco Film Festival for showing this badass flick! 5 stars
4/23/03 Bluto McBlurt This flick should be on 3500 screens - it's SO much fun. 5 stars
4/21/03 Andy Groothuis Get this out now 5 stars
4/14/03 Darla Enlow AWESOME! great horror flick!!!! 5 stars
3/23/03 master.node Awesome? You're kidding right? 3 stars
3/18/03 Mikel Amazing!! 5 stars
3/15/03 Bobby Ross Unbelievably great 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Sep-2003 (R)
  DVD: 20-Jan-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  04-Dec-2003


Directed by
  Eli Roth

Written by
  Eli Roth
  Randy Pearlstein

Cast
  Jordan Ladd
  Rider Strong
  James DeBello
  Cerina Vincent
  Joey Kern
  Arie Verveen



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast