More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.95

Awesome: 32.54%
Worth A Look40.48%
Average: 20.63%
Pretty Bad: 2.38%
Total Crap: 3.97%

11 reviews, 60 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Mighty Wind, A
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Huffing and puffing, and they'll blow your house down."
4 stars

Christopher Guest continues his light, but on-the-sleeve condescension of small-town folk with big-city dreams, in the popular form of his mockumentaries.

The target here are folk music performers, some gathered in their original capacities, while others have seen a facelift to their legacy (it’s now the “(New) Main Street Singers”), in the prospect of paying tribute to a local concept promoter now deceased. In between the time put aside for sitting down for the “interviews” with the music-makers (seemingly reduced more and more since Waiting for Guffman down to Best in Show) is the actual action of the reunions of the three groups (also including Mitch and Mickey, a now estranged couple who formerly swooned together, and The Folksman) and their harried and unprepared rehearsals after years apart. A lot of the delight comes from what can obviously be blamed as Guest’s mean streak — the shaped and wooden caricatures of his characters, making fun in good fun, but not merely using it as a conduit to his humor as he is putting just as much of the rib-tickling on your own hands. It is by no means a surprise now how well his typical troupe of improvisers and comedians perform in this three-ring circus type of atmosphere, but it’s nice to see that Catherine O’Hara can still be a revelation, and that there’s still plenty of good fun to be passed around by Harry Shearer, Bob Balaban, Parker Posey, Ed Begley, Jr., Eugene Levy, Larry Miller, Michael McKean, Guest, and so on, without their wildness becoming repetitious. For all the fun-poking of the type of musicians herein (“New Age-y weirdos”), the music is treated much more seriously, at least as far as being breezily catchy and well-made. I would go as far as to consider buying the soundtrack. With Jennifer Coolidge, Jane Lynch, and Paul Dooley.

[Worth-seeing.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7217&reviewer=172
originally posted: 04/21/04 07:43:27
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 SXSW Film Festival. For more in the 2003 South By Southwest Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

9/11/13 Kymberly Pray Know they've done a few, this group should do *every* movie together. Great chemistry. 5 stars
12/27/11 Jim McLennan "Hilarious"? "Hysterical"? Er... No. 2 stars
5/20/08 PAUL SHORTT SO LOW KEY IT ALMOST PUTS YOU TO SLEEP 1 stars
2/28/07 Clyde One of the best locations I've come across lately!!! Definately a permanent bookmark! Pleas 1 stars
2/08/07 David Pollastrini not great, not terrible 3 stars
1/24/06 Indrid Cold Like Spinal Tap, except for folk music, and with about 1/3 as many jokes. 3 stars
12/10/05 MAttIFUL Is that really supposed to be funny? I dont get it. I feel embarassed for all in this movie 1 stars
11/08/05 blue dolphin a sad commentary of folk music 4 stars
8/13/05 Ben Quinn Not as funny as Best in Show, but still better than Waiting for Guffman 4 stars
12/17/04 Ken Cenerelli Funny but not as good as Best In Show. 4 stars
7/25/04 DM Some funny parts, but it's so whatevery 3 stars
4/26/04 Lord Jiggy A surprise. Funny, even touching, with whackball humor out of nowhere. 4 stars
4/19/04 Ionicera "these were my friends....and they were made out of gin cartons" 4 stars
3/22/04 Goofy Maxwell More heart than previous Guest gigs, just not mighty funny. 4 stars
3/13/04 James Kustes second only to Spinal Tap 5 stars
3/09/04 gerry great really loved it esprcially The Kiss song 4 stars
3/06/04 Snickerdoodle I LOVED THIS MOVIE!! THE MUSIC WAS SO GREAT! 5 stars
2/06/04 john not worse, not better, just different than guest's other stuff. still great! 5 stars
1/23/04 Chloe Brody Ey, what happened?!?!?! A total pisser!!! 4 stars
1/15/04 Betty White Brilliant, superb, hysterically funny mockumentary; O'Hara is outstanding. 5 stars
1/05/04 astra astra omg it was the worst movie i have ever seen in my life 1 stars
11/22/03 ROY L. CAIN,JR. A satirical spin on the folk music craze. EAT AT OES ! 4 stars
11/09/03 b awesome 5 stars
10/25/03 Al Baston Great fot first two thirds lost it at the end but always fun to watch these crazies. 4 stars
10/21/03 Jorchel Smithenstein This is the best movie ever made. 5 stars
10/06/03 BDB Two words: Wha' Happened??? ... BAHAHAHA! 5 stars
9/13/03 Ant A brilliantly acted film, full of laugh-out-loud moments. A pure joy to watch. 5 stars
9/01/03 Marcia Lartz Peculiarly watchable, though I'd never have guessed so from the premise. 4 stars
8/24/03 francis moves on from the 'best of show' concept - very funny if you are the right mood 4 stars
7/28/03 Elendil It's like `Waiting for Guffman', only this time, you've seen it before. 3 stars
7/14/03 skye just plain not funny. and i'm a big fan. could've been great 3 stars
7/02/03 Jacob Simmering Great movie, esp if it was improved 5 stars
6/05/03 LaFontis The best film this summer. Don't waste your time and money with mainsteam movies. 5 stars
6/01/03 Jack Bourbon Not very funny, oddly. Still, Levy was great, and the blonde from "BiS" was smokin' here. 4 stars
5/29/03 Ellwood Erb This movie is definity worth watching.... Very Funny stuff 4 stars
5/28/03 ADAM SHERMAN OWEN ALWAYS LOVED CHILDREN.... FREQUENTLY 5 stars
5/23/03 Karl Mattson Guest's best to date. Hillarity tempered with tenderness. 5 stars
5/20/03 malcolm not as good as 'best...' or 'waiting...' maybe i'm just too used to the formula. 3 stars
5/20/03 the snakes yes, a mighty wind. a mighty broken wind if you catch my drift 1 stars
5/15/03 A film observer This film is about the hilarity and beauty of the moment - not about political messages. 5 stars
5/14/03 Allen Overall, pretty good but some hillarious moments 4 stars
5/13/03 scottyrobotty tries to be funny and fails a lot, a lot of other times it doesn't even try. very let down 2 stars
5/12/03 Warren Norwood A Mighty Miss, this movie misses most of the folk scene as it really was. Falls way short. 2 stars
5/12/03 skye NOT the best of the 3, or even close. 3 stars
5/11/03 Vicious Awsome is too strong, but Eugene Levy was too good to call anything less than great 5 stars
5/07/03 ajay very funny, I laughed out loud *several* times 5 stars
5/06/03 H.E. Brilliant. For those who did not rate it "awesome", I can only say: "Wha' happened?" :) 5 stars
5/01/03 T. Oliver Worst of the three 3 stars
5/01/03 Andrew Carden Hilariously Funny Indie Comedy With Fantastic Performances By Posey, O'Hara, and Levy. 5 stars
4/30/03 Vangela THANK HEAVEN FOR CHRISTOPHER GUEST!!! 5 stars
4/24/03 Desmond Barely tries to be funny, but it's surprisingly touching and dramatic 5 stars
4/23/03 Daddy Phil Pine nut...pastacio nut...macadamia nut 5 stars
4/22/03 jamie one of the more ecletic, yet entertaining films I have see this year. great! 5 stars
4/22/03 Johnny little something Fan Tas Tic. 5 stars
4/20/03 Weezer Christopher Guest is a comic genius. 5 stars
4/20/03 George Jung The funniest movie I've seen since...Best In Show. Keep it up, Guest. 5 stars
4/19/03 Dana Carvey must DIE!!! It is very funny, but more than that it is sometimes moving. And the music rocks (kinda). 5 stars
4/14/03 bluegirl funny!! 5 stars
4/12/03 steve christiansen an outstanding and hilarious film! the best of the three by far. 5 stars
4/09/03 reggie wagstaff BRILLIANT!!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Apr-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 23-Sep-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-Jul-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast