More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.4

Awesome66.67%
Worth A Look: 18.63%
Average: 6.86%
Pretty Bad: 3.92%
Total Crap: 3.92%

27 reviews, 654 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

Maze Runner, The by Daniel Kelly

Art and Craft by Jay Seaver

One Chance by Jay Seaver

St. Vincent by Peter Sobczynski

Wyrmwood by Jay Seaver

Judge, The by Peter Sobczynski

Over Your Dead Body by Jay Seaver

Breakup Buddies by Jay Seaver

Dracula Untold by Daniel Kelly

subscribe to this feed


Matrix, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Vastly overrated, but better than its sequels."
3 stars

Keanu Reeves and Laurence Fishburne get top billing, but the real stars of 'The Matrix' are John Gaeta, Yuen Woo-Ping, and Bill Pope.

Who, who, and who? Well, these three guys -- Gaeta supervising the eye-popping visual effects, Yuen coordinating the whiplash stunts and fighting, and cinematographer Pope showing the flair for kinetic action he displayed in his movies for Sam Raimi (Darkman, Army of Darkness) -- are the heart and soul of The Matrix, which otherwise would lack both, plus a brain.

The Matrix is one of those headache-inducing sci-fi movies some of us need to have explained to us out in the parking lot; once we figure it all out, we realize there's not much there to figure out. This is the first of a string of similar films (preceding The 13th Floor and eXistenZ, which was far better) dealing with virtual reality; is anyone really that nostalgic for The Lawnmower Man?

Here, for instance, we learn that reality as we know it is actually a computer-generated construct (the Matrix), that we all reside in gooey wombs while thinking that we're leading our lives (that means you, reading this review, and me, writing it), and that the machines of the world have set it up this way to siphon off our energy to use to keep themselves going. Are you reaching for the Excedrin yet? Movies like this toss in a lot of complicated mumbo-jumbo so we won't realize we're watching yet another expensive good-vs.-evil comic book. There are two realities at war in The Matrix: the deep movie it pretends to be vs. the shallow popcorn flick it really is.

Keanu Reeves, in monosyllabic superhero mode, is a hacker nicknamed Neo, who is recruited by a band of rebels to aid them in their fight against the tyrannical critters (who manifest themselves mostly as Secret-Service-type agents). Trained by Obi-Wan -- uh, I mean Morpheus (Fishburne), Neo becomes a black-clad hipster warrior out of a Hong Kong actioner, aided by ass-kicking partner Trinity (Carrie-Anne Moss) as he shoots, kicks, punches, and cartwheels his way through a seemingly limitless supply of faceless enemies.

I enjoyed a few of the FX/stuntwork conflagrations, which come close to putting the thrill and spirit of the best adventure comic books on the big screen. But The Matrix goes on far too long, and writers-directors Andy and Larry Wachowski, who wrote the comatose Assassins and made a splash with their spectacularly overrated debut Bound, don't seem to have anything on their hard drive except cleverness. The paranoid details of the premise are thoroughly worked out; the characters and motives, much less so. Of the actors, Fishburne gets by on sheer presence, while Hugo Weaving, one of the queens from The Adventures of Priscilla, keeps himself amused in the role of the head bad-guy agent by working 1,001 variations on a threatening monotone.

Too bad the filmmakers don't have as much variety. The Wachowski brothers are skipping from genre to genre, but unlike other brother duos like the Hugheses and the Coens, they don't transcend genre; they just wallow around in it, whether it's kinky noir or apocalyptic sci-fi, and overload it with so much stuff that some people will no doubt be impressed. The Matrix, I fear, may reach the same sci-fi fans who embraced Dark City -- people so hungry for thoughtful science fiction that they'll project deep meaning onto anything that seems weird enough to be deep.

The marketing whizzes at Warner have constructed their own reality around this hollow eye-candy, and if the fans fall for it, they'll think they're seeing a classic, when in reality they'll be in wombs of wishful thinking, deep inside a Matrix created by a studio desperate for a hit.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=722&reviewer=416
originally posted: 01/06/07 14:31:59
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

9/02/14 Dude Now this is good sci-fi 5 stars
7/31/14 qfbqpbhc USA 3 stars
7/14/14 Roy Hicks One of the best movies I have ever seen had me on the edge of my seat in some parts!!!! 5 stars
11/28/13 Amy Mind-numbingly dull. One of the worst movies that I've ever seen. I almost left early. 2 stars
1/14/13 austin me favorite movie of all-time 5 stars
9/17/12 austin my favorite movie 5 stars
2/12/12 Tony Hogan Best of the series - great action series 5 stars
9/09/11 Scot Dee If you like great, old fashion movies this is not for you 3 stars
9/08/11 Todd Teghtmeyer One of the best Sci-Fi movies ever !!! 5 stars
7/16/11 Rocketeer eleven on a scale of ten 5 stars
9/13/10 David Gresh Worth watching many times 5 stars
3/04/10 dude awesome 5 stars
11/27/09 Micah Love the atmosphere of this. An action version of Dark City. 4 stars
11/06/09 Jeff Wilder's x and can't wait! DEFINATELY OVERRATED!!!! 1 stars
10/23/09 the dork knight best movie ever (lonely geeks save the world, WOOO!") 5 stars
8/20/09 Jeff Wilder Great special effects and action. But missing the one thing needed to make it art: Humanity 4 stars
8/03/09 Rachel Pretty cool movie, but you had to really pay attention. 5 stars
6/09/09 freak great 5 stars
3/26/09 Rhett Perkins ONE oF MY FAVE SERIES 5 stars
3/11/09 Jimmy El mejor. Nada menos 5 stars
1/31/09 suck it awsome 5 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. hard to understand, but once you get it it's really good. and really good action. :D 4 stars
10/10/08 man best movie ever 5 stars
10/10/08 dude best movie ever 5 stars
10/03/08 Anthony E Excellent feature. Great effects. Action with a brain. 5 stars
7/20/08 Shaun Wallner The storyline is well made! 5 stars
5/25/08 Arcane Watched it again after a while...still stupendous 5 stars
5/21/08 PAUL SHORTT ONE OF THE LEAST HUMANE, LEAST RESPONSIBLE, LEAST PARDONABLE FILMS I HAVE YET SEEN 1 stars
4/12/08 Fercho Sci-Fi fans of the world - This is the best movie ever 5 stars
1/26/08 man best movie ever 5 stars
12/27/07 Fercho It's been almost 8 years now and there's NO better movie out yet! 5 stars
11/27/07 dude best movie ever 5 stars
11/17/07 Paul Crutchfield Incredible movie - must see 5 stars
10/03/07 wall flawless 5 stars
9/14/07 dude best movie ever 5 stars
7/22/07 gr117 One of my favorites! 5 stars
5/25/07 ebert blew me away from beginning to end 5 stars
5/17/07 Yamis My favorite movie! 5 stars
4/29/07 Kathleen Devine Great Movie! 4 stars
4/23/07 David Risser Confusing, but ok The crazy motions they did during the fight scenes were annoying. 3 stars
4/07/07 movieman amazing 5 stars
4/05/07 Dave totally mind-bending 5 stars
3/28/07 fools♫gold Iknowyou'veseenitalready + have made up your mind, so I'm just here to bring up the rating 5 stars
3/08/07 man coolest movie ever 5 stars
2/16/07 johnnyfog Great, but avoid the sequels at all costs 5 stars
1/19/07 movieman coolest movie ever 5 stars
1/11/07 David Pollastrini pay attention, it's confusing 3 stars
1/09/07 Drew Galletti Only part of the trilogy I truly enjoyed 5 stars
11/28/06 DJ great 5 stars
11/11/06 Henry best sci fi movie EVER 5 stars
11/10/06 Austin Wertman MY FAVORITE MOVIE OF THE 90'S 5 stars
10/22/06 Darth Vader ze best movie of all time 5 stars
10/12/06 David Stand alone movie for it's era 5 stars
9/22/06 Alyssa Hale I loved it. Great casting 5 stars
9/11/06 pppppppp philip k dick books had nothing like this in them. 5 stars
6/27/06 Doug Nothing needs to be said. 5 stars
6/16/06 Annie it is a good movie! love the fight scenes and action1 5 stars
6/16/06 Rafael just a big rip-off from Philip K. Dick books with lot of special effect 3 stars
6/15/06 drydock54321 need to watch it a few times to understand it. but I liked it 5 stars
5/11/06 Agent Sands First and best. 5 stars
4/08/06 Astrocreep I love this movie. A true cyber-fiction masterpiece 5 stars
4/06/06 Mary Ang the best movie out of the 3 matrix movies! 5 stars
4/03/06 JRE sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo cool!!! 5 stars
4/03/06 Quigley the movie bends the mind like none other. one of the greatest movies ever made 5 stars
3/24/06 Dethbyhashi One of the Most Overrated Movies Ever!!! 1 stars
3/10/06 Dk Slick and original the Matrix should please everyone 4 stars
1/18/06 ronald hell fucking yeah.Matrix rules all 5 stars
1/04/06 WISEMAN This is the only one i liked, the Sequels got me sleeping of Nonsence 5 stars
1/02/06 Gray Classic 5 stars
12/27/05 Tombstone A Classic 5 stars
12/24/05 harry Fuck the entire overrated LOTR series.The Matrix is what filmmaking is all about 5 stars
12/23/05 cody a good visual effect movie with good actors , weird story ,l fell asleep 2 stars
12/06/05 J.D. Pittman III It was just....awsome! But %*$# the sequels! 5 stars
12/03/05 cooler Superb filmmaking,innovative,techno-savvy.Movie for the millenium 5 stars
11/23/05 Quigley as neo bends the spoon, this movie bends the mind. this is a total powerhouse of awesomenes 5 stars
11/17/05 Zack love it 5 stars
11/16/05 Adrian A modern calssic. It will be remembered for decades and for good reason too. 5 stars
11/08/05 Jonathon Holmes Holy shit, this movie kicked ass! 5 stars
11/08/05 cooler best sci fi action movie ever 5 stars
10/20/05 PAG Fantastic. Great movie. 5 stars
10/11/05 Agent Sands The first and by far the best, before the sequels fucked up the point of it all. 4 stars
9/06/05 Zack very intreging, thought provoking and exiting 5 stars
8/29/05 Sydnie Monty This was the best action I ever saw, until 1999 came. 4 stars
8/27/05 Tom Burns This has to be one of the best sci fi/action packed movies ever. 5 stars
8/25/05 Anthony G Good job stealing the plot from dark city wachowskis you stupid jews! 5 stars
8/23/05 Quigley just like neo bends the spoon, this film bends the mind. the dialogue rules! see this film 5 stars
8/16/05 ES Watch this one, but not the sequels and you'll be happier for it 4 stars
8/09/05 kristen excellent 5 stars
8/09/05 Dredd No sci-fi/action has been the same since...that says it all... 5 stars
8/08/05 Chris Redfield Score!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/08/05 Usagi Yojimbo FAR AND AWAY the best of the trilogy...AVOID the crap-quels, RETARDED and REVOLTIONS... 5 stars
8/08/05 Jasper What else can be said? 5 stars
8/05/05 Gallic One of the best sci-fi films of all-time! A Masterpiece! 5 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma The greatest sci-fi flick of all time. Fuck Star Wars! 5 stars
5/19/05 wendy rogers This is a really good movie...the best of the trilogy! 5 stars
5/01/05 Anthony G Not bad, even though its not an original story..... 4 stars
5/01/05 tootie1961 good 4 stars
4/23/05 H Lin coolest film ever made 5 stars
4/23/05 Quigley just like neo bends the spoon, this film bends the mind. totally awesome! 5 stars
4/11/05 Paul Very fake film, I would not see it again. 2 stars
3/23/05 heidi kukta Dazed and confused...too much for me to comprehend I think 3 stars
3/18/05 indrid cold Fantastic and eye-popping. Gets even better with Reloaded, although the novelty wears off. 5 stars
3/09/05 Los Daddy Staple for true SciFi MOVIE fans...Complete Surprise...I'll take the light Green Pill 5 stars
3/01/05 Abbath Nice effects surrounded by boring and redundant "philosphical" ramblings. Yawn. 2 stars
2/26/05 Stephanie very cool! 5 stars
2/23/05 Rock-Steady A rip off of dark city, but it was still a bad ass movie 5 stars
2/20/05 craig varney confusing that's why kneau reeves fits so well 3 stars
2/18/05 Movie Queen Sci Fi at it's finest! 5 stars
2/10/05 Colleen Goldrick Genious 5 stars
2/05/05 Nocturnal_XVIII The Wachowski's simply ripped off other films, not a single original idea that didn't suck. 1 stars
2/02/05 Weeez If you like special effects, being entertained, and arent too critical of acting/plot!! 4 stars
1/31/05 Homer One of the best Sci-Fi movies ever 5 stars
1/17/05 1337 |-|4x0r /\/\0rph3|_|$ 83 1337!!11!1!! /\/30 83 n00b!!!11!!111! 5 stars
1/17/05 t-1000 you must watch this movie!!!!! 5 stars
1/16/05 Naka Unquestionably classic. A brilliant addition to the sci-fi genre. 5 stars
1/14/05 Turtle An amazing sci-fi masterpiece. Thought-provoking, cool, and extremely entertaining. 5 stars
12/27/04 mjoc Why was this crap ever made? Keanu Reeves is a horrible actor! 1 stars
12/02/04 gray best film in years 5 stars
11/06/04 ODH Sci-Fi Action flick with some real imagination 5 stars
10/24/04 lotr proper owns lotr EE DVDs own this,but its still an ownage film(thesequelssuckbigtimelmaoatthemandstarwa 5 stars
10/19/04 TITS TAM NEEDS A LIFE 5 stars
10/14/04 Vince Will definitely remain a landmark in the world of Sci-Fi 5 stars
9/26/04 R.W. Welch Somewhat overblown sci-fi opus with innovative F/X. 4 stars
9/17/04 Funkey Monkey 5 stars
8/30/04 Tam Overrated bollocks. Ripped-off premise & wooden acting at snail's pace 2 stars
8/16/04 ALDO Good story...Good effects....REALLY disappointing sequels 5 stars
8/11/04 Stefan Halka Enjoyable romp -- though the film is no where near as great as people make it out to be. 4 stars
8/05/04 bondjamesbond This is one of my favs. bc stupid ppl dont understand it :) 5 stars
7/20/04 Valerie White how interesting. Love movies that get me thinking! 5 stars
7/08/04 Denise Great movie 5 stars
7/03/04 American Slasher Goddess The most influential Sci-Fi movie since Terminator 2. 5 stars
6/15/04 Daz Great movie! I loved it. :] 4 stars
5/30/04 Frazier Thrilling but confusing as well as predictable elements--great action sequences 4 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot best of the bunch 5 stars
4/18/04 valerie hart amazing movie nothing else like it keanu is so fit 5 stars
4/15/04 J I never seen anything this AWESOME!!! *** 1/2 5 stars
4/15/04 deepan flim of guts 5 stars
4/14/04 slayathon The first film is awesome just works for me 5 stars
4/09/04 kevin watts good but rather long 3 stars
4/08/04 Valarie confusing 4 stars
4/05/04 Charlene Javier Mindless fun! 4 stars
4/05/04 Daveman A film that is absolutely ridden with plagiarism but still works all the same. 5 stars
4/02/04 Jack Sommersby Sensational photography and editing, but the characters and story are for the birds. 2 stars
3/31/04 sansho Outstanding, inventive effects, involving pacy thriller but somehow a missed opportunity. 4 stars
3/31/04 Alex The best movie out of the whole trilogy. Agent Smith is my favorite character. 5 stars
3/26/04 Kimberly Kay Crellin Action at its BEST!! 5 stars
3/24/04 June Hopkins If you can like any of the Matrix trilogy, you must think Trick-or-Treat is an airplane! 1 stars
3/21/04 Constance Swearingen See it for the special effects alone. But some of the plot makes you go "huh?" 4 stars
3/18/04 Umbrella Corporation. Agent Smith... !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/09/04 megan he is hot!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/06/04 Jaco Visser Naturally, I like it! 5 stars
3/03/04 timmy would have been a good film if only they'd dumped the religious crap...ruined it for me... 3 stars
2/23/04 Naturezrevenge Anyone who doesn't LOVE this movie is in the matrix, or has the intelligence of a burrito. 5 stars
2/23/04 Thomas Overrated because of the special effects, but otherwise good. Script was not bad either. 4 stars
2/19/04 MP Bartley Yawn...mumbo-jumbo dialogue interspersed with decent action that even now looks dated 3 stars
2/16/04 Monster W. Kung One of the most overrated movies of all time. 3 stars
1/25/04 Elena So boring and pretentious. Only good thing is that women are equal to men. 2 stars
1/24/04 M I dont like it 1 stars
12/26/03 Mason Cape Guy simply didn't get this. Because simply, he has no brains. 5 stars
12/15/03 Kung Jerker Read William Gibson's "Neuromancer" instead. This is a total rip-off. 2 stars
12/04/03 john influential sci fi film - people on wires - shallow phiolsophy - ho hum 3 stars
11/29/03 Mr. Hat (previously Joe Zappa) Great in all departments. Plot is engaging & action is famously awesome. 5 stars
11/21/03 John For children 1 stars
11/08/03 Littlepurch Saw this v. late & at first didn't get y everyone loved it so much. But it grew on me. Gr8! 5 stars
11/07/03 Sammy Why does everyone pick on Keanu... Acting is very hard... Awesome flick 5 stars
11/07/03 Capt' Fox Very old sci-fi plot, great special effects, good acting except for Keanu who drags it down 4 stars
10/21/03 shawn great 5 stars
10/17/03 Josh Standlee I salute the Wachowski Brothers! Rock on, guys! 5 stars
10/14/03 Jasper The Imp It's overrated and somewhat shallow, yet is worth a look all the same 4 stars
9/16/03 Pinkline Jones Stop pickin on Reeves - enought ramp access problems 1 stars
9/01/03 JSLatture Extremely WAY OVER RATED, The story was written in two inch letters on a small table napkin 3 stars
8/28/03 anna Reread the last 3 lines of the Bitchslap Review -- if we only knew. Matrix one for ages. 5 stars
8/09/03 Will Green 'tis good 4 stars
8/07/03 marc_ian_a Excellent ! (5 stars) :) 5 stars
8/04/03 God Incredible 5 stars
7/25/03 Patrick Sure, it was rather shallow and totally fictional philosophy. But damn did it look good. 4 stars
7/14/03 Simon The best i've seen for a long time, and yes, it's very good for 1997 5 stars
7/01/03 Andrew Callaway Rambo trying to be a philosipher: stupid. Pretentious and Overrated This movie was on crack 2 stars
6/30/03 Ken A foreshadowing of what corporate media and Bush are doing now. 5 stars
6/25/03 shannon this movie was hella tight and it kept me guessin the whole time..watch it stoned..trippy!! 5 stars
6/23/03 Francis Great, except - how come fists that smash concrete, don't smash humans 4 stars
6/18/03 Andrew Callaway Overrated, at least not as bad as "Reloaded". 3 stars
6/14/03 Alice well, I really hated it, dont understand what all the fuz is about... 1 stars
6/07/03 PAUL THIS MOVIE CAME OUT 1997, WHEN Final Fantasy 7 was OUT. U BITCH DIEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE 5 stars
6/06/03 Aaron Lawrence v. good 5 stars
6/02/03 SiLvEr VeNgAnCe a truly mind bending movie... if you didn't like it, you dont have any intellect.... meh 4 stars
5/28/03 Artist Freak Oh lordy this movie sucked. Pretty CG work though. Whoopty doo. 1 stars
5/26/03 leon %%0qwe .choadushouse. what you have just said is incoherrent and stupid.better then starwars?lotr? 1 stars
5/26/03 .Choadushouse. The shameful sequels will never come close to this MASTERPIECE (nor will Star Wars or LotR) 5 stars
5/23/03 DN Terrible 1 stars
5/19/03 Jack Sommersby World-class photography and editing, but the characters and story are for the birds! 2 stars
5/18/03 Brad S ---No energy equals no life--- period, end of story. No need for a sequel. Cool fx though 1 stars
5/18/03 Peter C Another over exposed weak sequel to a great movie 1 stars
5/17/03 Turtle It took me three viewings to fully love this. I get to see Reloaded tomorrow! 5 stars
5/17/03 alex MOST OVERRATED MOVIE OF ALL TIME.....NOTHING MORE THAN ANY OTHER ACTION MOVIE>>>WORTHLESS 1 stars
5/17/03 Phil Relies too much on visual effects at the expense of plot and character development. 3 stars
5/15/03 leon %%0qwe ITS SAD WHEN PEOPLE THINK THIS IS THE GREATEST MOVIE OFALLTIME.WATCH6TIMES,ALWAYSFELLASLEEP 1 stars
5/11/03 Marie greatest movie in thr world!! 5 stars
5/06/03 King of the Kebabs A vomitous mess with a cheap pair of sunglasses wrapped around it 1 stars
5/06/03 Dave Brilliant metaphor, even if it lacks a compelling story with characters you care about. 4 stars
4/29/03 d h 5 stars
4/24/03 GWB one of the best ever 5 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Awful script, but a really fun ride. 4 stars
4/17/03 Steven Mohler Excellent 5 stars
4/10/03 lalaby awsome 5 stars
3/31/03 Spiderfan729 Undescribable, Mr. Anderson! 5 stars
3/26/03 rik every one knows its great 5 stars
3/17/03 Peter This movie marks a new genre of futuristic movies. It's so good cause it's possible... 5 stars
3/12/03 Butterball Cenobite great action; great concept; a couple of excessively violent scenes that detract from film 4 stars
3/12/03 Blabity blah Amazing movie! Visually stunning. Great story. Hmmm....what if..... 5 stars
3/03/03 Vanheystermabogen what the hell? your a bunch of idiots if you think this movie sucked, go fuck a rock u fags 5 stars
2/23/03 ADO.NET Yawn fest. 1 stars
2/18/03 Ubu the Ripper this movie sucks? Maybe that;s why it got an award for for best special fx, just a guess 5 stars
2/17/03 Superman CRAPY BORING movie.. only big geeks like this junk||but good effects.thats only good part 1 stars
2/12/03 Aussie Film Maker Nothing special. Just more dull action and wooden acting. 2 stars
2/11/03 joe a great movie 5 stars
2/05/03 123 movie you wouldnt dig on first viewing, but the more you watch it the more you like it 5 stars
2/05/03 natasha_theobald mind-altering, reality bending, absolutely amazing 5 stars
1/26/03 Liz Meyers Sometimes it just seemed too philosophacal. 4 stars
1/14/03 Cypher Vayne Can't say anything about this movie someone hasn't already said. Just awesome. 5 stars
1/07/03 Mitsaso An action film with STYLE! 5 stars
12/31/02 Bob Hardcore Sci fi has so much more to offer than this kung fu CGI crap. 1 stars
12/22/02 DMS still good after the 100 time 5 stars
12/05/02 Dipo This in my humble opinion is up there with the top Sci- Fi all time greats 5 stars
12/04/02 Rippedjeans Cutting edge special effects, original plot. A movie you can watch over and over. 5 stars
11/26/02 Evil Cartman This movie is hella lame, and so are all the morons on here jerking off to it! 1 stars
11/26/02 Quentin Beck Over Explained lead me to find faults in its logic and plot. Way overated. 3 stars
11/18/02 Elizaveta Keanu should've been played by Ed Norton - BUT- the ideas alone deserve my rating 5 stars
11/17/02 Mr. Gone i have a tough time rating it this high, but the guy who played the lead villian was a riot 4 stars
11/16/02 Muggs KESKINKERTAINEN PASKA!!! 3 stars
11/07/02 Joe Stark (Bio Man) Keanu Reeves sucks as an actor, but could not possibly have ruined this great film! 5 stars
10/31/02 Halo Best Movie Since Boondock Saints 5 stars
10/29/02 José Murderer of Mass Murderers says:"Worst movie EVER..". You have seen it really ... 5 stars
10/27/02 Matt Neopalitano I can even overlook Keanu's "acting" - this flick rocked! 5 stars
10/24/02 detractor utterly overrated nonsense 2 stars
10/18/02 Murderer of Mass Murderers Mass murderers in a retarded comic book story. Worst movie EVER (with a great music score) 1 stars
10/11/02 y0rt Unbelievable. Great. 5 stars
9/29/02 Fuze44 We all eat the red pill. 5 stars
9/17/02 ROZI I LIKE FUCKING 5 stars
9/11/02 Erkan The best film in all categories i have ever seeni the best, unbeliviable film, extreme... 5 stars
9/07/02 Jesus I've seen it 12 times (4 teathre, 8 DVD), It is jus fantastic! 5 stars
9/04/02 Saurabh Mind Blowing 5 stars
8/29/02 Hessian Great Movie. 5 stars
8/26/02 Alextron Average fighting and effects. Should of used better use of story and effects. 3 stars
8/23/02 Movie Expert Number two movie of all time after T2 and if you disagree then you have SciFi prejudice 5 stars
8/19/02 P.Rodriguez How people cannot like Hugo Weavings performance in this film is beyond me. Sik Movie!!!!! 5 stars
8/14/02 maximal01 Cool. And, uh, pagie Carrie-Ann Moss...oooh..very sexy... 5 stars
8/11/02 Michael Carruthers One of the best action films in a while...defines FUCKING AWESOME!!! 5 stars
8/05/02 joe miller the best of the year if not ever 5 stars
7/29/02 Film Guy Complete turn around for me. saw it twice hated it, third time absolutly loved it 4 stars
7/20/02 ! Incredible special effects 5 stars
6/09/02 Gummibear X Bullet time! Oh~yeah! It's just classic. 5 stars
6/01/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi DUDE THIS KICKS ARSE! 5 stars
6/01/02 doug cool 5 stars
5/25/02 Charles Tatum Original and incredible 5 stars
5/22/02 serena I LOVE this movie!...and I love Keanu's ass/bottoms(I'm sure u've understood=)) 5 stars
5/15/02 Blake This movie was great and non-stop action. 5 stars
5/14/02 The Trinster They don't call it Matrix: THE movie for nothing. 5 stars
4/24/02 maximal01 The plot rocks; it's pure good vs. evil spectactle. And Keanu ACTS (for once)!!! 5 stars
4/21/02 Stefanieke VERY GOOD MOVIE!!! 5 stars
4/13/02 Spencer Lent Can't wait for #2 in 2003 5 stars
4/12/02 Movie Expert Not to admit that this was by far the best movie of 1999 is a crime. 5 stars
4/06/02 moartea moartea_2002yahoo.com 5 stars
4/06/02 the@wizart a new standard of understand our time. It is definitely a cultural masterpiece. Bravo. 5 stars
4/06/02 Junshi Keanu Reeves need to move his facial features once in a while, needs originality 4 stars
3/28/02 NeuroManson Fuck you for umpteen years of overused timeslice effects, you bastards!!! 3 stars
3/28/02 Hennec Interesting concept/ great special effects/ 5 stars
3/27/02 Chris ¿¡ Packed with tremendous action. It's one of the best Sci-Fiction Films every made. 5 stars
3/21/02 Ben Reilly NOT like Blade Runner - which is a masterpiece. This film is SFX without a brain or soul. 1 stars
3/14/02 Ryan this movie kicks serious ass! 5 stars
3/13/02 Djacosta I'm sad cause I don't know how many years I'll have to way to see something that good again 5 stars
3/07/02 Art Wright Permit me to join the bandwagon.Incredible flick!& Doug is a retard-Whats he talking about? 5 stars
3/01/02 Scott This movie rocks! 5 stars
2/28/02 Alan Smithee Overrated, but still entertaining. It just takes itself a bit too seriously at times. 4 stars
2/26/02 Obi Wan Great Movie that has defined action flicks and will continue to be a standard!! 5 stars
2/23/02 Shrike I love SF, but this is only a passable example of the genre 3 stars
2/21/02 Xaver Very inventive. Plot isn't the most intriguing, but special effects are incredible. 4 stars
2/03/02 Matt Masterson Visually stunning, stylish, inventive and great fun. Chill out nay-sayers. 5 stars
1/23/02 Doug Your the ones who cant get it, and 129 IQ btw. 5 stars
1/22/02 Kyle How can this movie not be loved? I dont understand it. 5 stars
1/21/02 Spencer Lent This movie was sweet, that is all I can say 5 stars
1/20/02 sepehr The best of the best 5 stars
1/17/02 John Reminds the idealists philosophers... 4 stars
1/11/02 Magnum Craphole The most overrated movie in the history of man! 2 stars
12/20/01 doug This movie requires an IQ of above 40 to understand. Only the ones who get it love it. 5 stars
12/13/01 Dominik Duprelle Very Stylish, they combined a lot of old stuff but you cant see the joins. 4 stars
12/01/01 Mark Conway over rated piece of pish, was lost after 5 minutes am still trying to work out the plot. 2 stars
11/30/01 Jeff Wilson A movie that changed the concept of reality for millions. that alone gives it a 5 5 stars
11/30/01 George Partington For lovers of this film for sci-fi/special effects, the ideas hit too close to home 4 stars
11/25/01 Smoogles Keanu...sigh!!! Good sci-fi thriller!! 5 stars
11/13/01 Socrates Story, directing, and effects were just fucking awesome! 5 stars
10/14/01 Nix Very Good Movie 5 stars
10/12/01 MistaWook I'm sorry special effects and half-assed acting have never made up for the lack of plot. 1 stars
10/08/01 James k voice of truth I AM GOING TO KILL YOU...fuckin bitch 5 stars
10/08/01 sailinle Damn right,it is the purity of Keanu!Thank God, finally there is someone who senses it. 5 stars
10/06/01 adam I've watched it 10-12 times. Need I say more? Really exciting and original.Can't wait for 2 5 stars
10/04/01 Phoenix To voice of truth- I liked dark city you fuckin faggot, only faggots don't like the matrix. 5 stars
10/02/01 Voice of Truth AHAHAHAHA!!! Original? ORIGINAL!!! Watch Dark City, you cinematic moron. 1 stars
10/02/01 Phoenix One of the most original and creative movies of our time. 5 stars
9/27/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The part were Keanu Reeves doges the bullets is the #1 best part of this movie!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/23/01 Adam great special effects that actually fit into the plot of the movie 5 stars
9/17/01 Matthew Bartley Great action but full of psychobabble that was very shallow 4 stars
9/16/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Is was good except for the cheesy ending. 4 stars
9/11/01 Rampage Barf, you are the ultimate sham to movie making. Stab yourself in the balls. 5 stars
9/09/01 Viz NICE ASS MOVIE 5 stars
9/09/01 Janarthanan Excellent work 5 stars
9/03/01 Jeff and the greatness I'll Smirnoff your ass, Parker 5 stars
9/02/01 Butterbean Moss made me turn to bulimia while looking great in that suit. 5 stars
8/31/01 Hooker with a Penis Damn kick ass of a movie 5 stars
8/28/01 John R. Blade One of the best movies ever created, I have yet to find someone who doesn't like this movie 5 stars
8/22/01 bdf20 great effects 4 stars
8/20/01 Iconoclast It was alright. doesn't hold up over time. I've seen everypart of this film elsewhere. 3 stars
8/19/01 Edwin Menguin Best Sci-Fi since Blade Runner, Suck a bell-end! 4 stars
8/17/01 Dakamus The Matrix has you, muthahfuckers. 5 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa Except for the cheesy-ass ending, this is a great movie! 4 stars
7/28/01 Steve Great action, idea, story and effects, but I hope the sequel has less talk. 4 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg brilliant plot and action sequences .The best si-fi sice twelve monkeys . 5 stars
7/25/01 TLsmooth You dipshits who gave this a bad rating can go back to your faggoty artsy films. 5 stars
7/24/01 SJKelley Twelve plot twists are eleven too many. MsAsh's review is ridiculous. 2 stars
7/23/01 michael nicholls da best film eva! 5 stars
7/15/01 tantrikbaba <---------------A.M.A.Z.I.N.G--------------> 5 stars
7/13/01 keith langman reeves sucks as a actor, this movie was an excuss to us special effects 3 stars
7/06/01 Mike Leskow Outstanding flick. This COULD have been an all time great movie with more plot detail. 5 stars
7/06/01 Craig Blanchard Fucking Rocks!Can't wait for part 2.It'is the only movie in which MA's should defy gravity! 5 stars
7/05/01 Jeff Smirnoff is a bitch 5 stars
7/02/01 Jonny jayyyyyyyyy yup 4 stars
6/28/01 bri everyone who has dvd player has the dvd 5 stars
6/21/01 MandaloreAssassin Mr Happy, do you even know what the hell you're talking about?Asshole. 5 stars
6/09/01 Shams Huque Overrated. Watching Keanu Reeves "training" martial arts moves was unintentionally 3 stars
6/04/01 Me unreal 5 stars
5/28/01 Idot stick OMG! Everytime I wtach Matrix I have orgasm in my pants! EVERYtime! It that good. Woah!!! 5 stars
5/22/01 Marijan Srdic You've got to see this movie,dude! :) 5 stars
5/20/01 Onyx Hey, you'd be hella proud if you helped make this movie...it spawned a new revolution in FX 5 stars
5/17/01 brad good fx 4 stars
5/16/01 weird v2.0 Combines the art of entertaiment and the art of movie-making 5 stars
5/16/01 Turtle When it was new, the SFX were everything. Now, I've looked at the rest of the film. 3 stars
5/13/01 Monster W. Kung It's "OK", but goes into stupidity too often. Christ, "know thyself" was Greek, not Latin. 3 stars
5/07/01 Waddle Doo A great movie. Just a great movie. 5 stars
5/04/01 roby lafon amother blockbuster hit 5 stars
4/29/01 The Jedi Droid I don't know why everyone went crazy over this movie...it was ok at best 3 stars
4/25/01 Terrie Smith Pretty good cyberadventure but it goes on too long; Fishburne is fine. 4 stars
4/25/01 J Weak against "Ghost in the shell" but still good. 4 stars
4/22/01 dimoc common ideas.skata 1 stars
4/21/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) This movie is and will always be one of my favorites. Set a new standard of moviemaking. 5 stars
4/16/01 Del R The Kung-Fu sequences are believable, if the possibilties were infinite as given 5 stars
4/16/01 Tam Wooden acting, mediocre script, gratuitous use of romantic storyline. Ruined a good concept 2 stars
4/02/01 moviegoer really makes you think differently about life 5 stars
3/28/01 kelly ondisco excellent movie that kept me interested 5 stars
3/27/01 Jesse L One of the best. Just excellent. 5 stars
3/20/01 TNT-6 Everything is good, except for the acting ("Morpheus" delivers the only very good acting). 4 stars
3/13/01 Sven oen of the best movies I've ever seen, but dumb people won't understand it... 5 stars
3/08/01 Sanja It makes me wonder is there something we should know... 5 stars
3/05/01 Ryan It Was An Awesome Movie 5 stars
3/04/01 Sytse Faber (One of) the best movie(s) EVER!!! 5 stars
3/02/01 Scott Not only is it visually stunning but it brings up major philisophical questions as well. 5 stars
2/28/01 Ticiana Maria Ramos de Castro A masterpiece ! I don't have words enough to describe what I feel 5 stars
2/27/01 DREDD Great action, but needed a more plausible story. 4 stars
2/24/01 Nara BOOM YA!!!! GREAT!!! 5 stars
2/24/01 Marie Great movie. Seen it three times. Is enough. 5 stars
2/15/01 jk can watch it over and over fuckin great film 5 stars
2/15/01 viking The most overrated sci-fi flick of the 90's. See "Gattaca" instead !!! 3 stars
2/14/01 Neo-wannabie... The cacophony leaves the viewer haunted and hallow 5 stars
2/12/01 YelloMiata@AOL.COM What a fun flick. DVD has cool extras! 5 stars
2/08/01 WORD_OF_WISDOM top movie mate 5 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog Cool fuckin' flick!!! F/X are killer!! 5 stars
2/06/01 Turtle Some of the best special effects (Jurassic Park's is better). The acting is great, too. 4 stars
2/05/01 Big Boner fucking AWESOME! 5 stars
2/02/01 Bob Barker great. but Keanu is ugly 5 stars
1/30/01 Sully Moss is smokin' in leather!!!! Superb effects, excellent story line...top notch flick. 5 stars
1/28/01 Karrie Total cool effects~Hot Keanu Reeves~ 5 stars
1/28/01 dave Underhill excellent film following a very basic cyber chaos believe thats been flotin about for years 5 stars
1/19/01 Shelley Absolutley brilliant!!! 5 stars
1/14/01 Matt69 Movie rocked, but did not like ending. The chick was fucking hot in leather. 4 stars
1/09/01 Keanuette The best Sc-Fi movie ever made!. Matrix 2'n'3 will match up or overtake. KEANU'S Neo ROCKS 5 stars
1/06/01 Fede If there were no Star Wars films, I would say this is the BEST movie ever! 5 stars
12/31/00 kevin Cool movie, they are making Matrix 2 and 3. Hop[efully they will be good too. A 5 stars
12/27/00 Turtle One of the best sci-fis ever. 5 stars
12/14/00 AC wannabe OMFG. Go. Go now. See this movie and know the power. 5 stars
12/03/00 scott wahls felt like i did after seeing star wars the 1st time, that fucking GOOD! SEQUEL! 5 stars
12/01/00 Aaron C This movie has an avg plot, but you have to love the special affects this movie has. 5 stars
11/29/00 SP very cool with effects and some cool philosophy tossed about for the heck of it 5 stars
11/29/00 The Evil Penguin most likely no plot but still good effects. 4 stars
11/28/00 Scott Rosier Cool movie to see, but take away the special effects and this film is terrible 3 stars
11/22/00 Dave nice special effects, no story-line 2 stars
11/21/00 The Bill Head A surprisingly great movie...has some story lulls/mumbojumbo quotient-still, a great ride! 4 stars
11/20/00 Dhoberer Absolutely 1 of the best Sci-Fi movies of all time. Story drops off at end, but that's ok. 5 stars
11/14/00 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Totally original...destined to be an action/sci fi classic. Screw you, Evil Cartman. =P 5 stars
11/13/00 Mike Peralta Original idea, great special effects! 5 stars
10/15/00 Jason good movie...don't listen to big gay andrew 5 stars
10/15/00 Josh Don't pay attention to Andrew M(orris)...he was drunk after an orgy of gay male sex. 5 stars
10/09/00 Arron Cotrel The special effects were sweet, and the plot, sweetness 5 stars
9/27/00 mephetic Almost erfect 5 stars
9/20/00 Jed Overrated but good anyways. This is just "good" not "excellent". 4 stars
9/13/00 JoMamma Whoaa! 5 stars
9/02/00 Rosalie Coleman This movie will make you paranoid! 5 stars
8/10/00 Niamh This was a brilliant movie 5 stars
8/02/00 Delusia Keanu is weak!!!!!!!! 2 stars
7/23/00 John Middleton Hey Hal!! It doesnt matter what you think!!!! 5 stars
7/09/00 Just call me 'Ian Gerhold'... Thar, She Blows. 1 stars
7/01/00 Purple Monster Great special effects, shame about the story. 4 stars
6/28/00 gromm Gets better every time I see it. "Alice in Wonderland" as written by William Gibson. :) 4 stars
6/27/00 Agent Smith Keanu acts as good as a doorknob. Action was intense and carried the movie. 4 stars
6/26/00 stranded on the Island everyone says it, but it's true: this generation's Star Wars. A turning point in SF films. 5 stars
6/24/00 Naushad Khanji Only couple of action shots.Drags in the middle.Short & Shallow 2 stars
6/01/00 PJ movie kicked ass, but it ain't no classic, sorry, Tsui Hark is better 4 stars
5/26/00 Jason Cooke This movie is every boys favorite. 5 stars
5/23/00 Smokey Moe Alittle clausterphobic, but makes up for it with mondo style 4 stars
5/15/00 Anonymous Coward Kinda a rip on Plato's "Cave," but awesome for all that :) 5 stars
5/13/00 Preka Vex Action scenes were both mesmerizing and humorous- strange combo, but it works 4 stars
5/08/00 lucas jackson outstanding movie all around, spectacular 5 stars
5/03/00 matt cornerstone in sci-fi movie making, genious story, fabulous fight scenes,and a suberbfinale 5 stars
5/02/00 master.node Really really good, but not great. Plot & char. develop. weak. (as if anyone cares <g>) 4 stars
4/25/00 John Lyons Carrie Moss was the best part of the film. How does Keanu keeps getting parts? 4 stars
4/19/00 TRC_872 Jet Li better be in the sequels 5 stars
4/16/00 Thor-Leo Didn't expect to like it. Blew me away anyway. 5 stars
4/14/00 Doug Fucking Awesome 5 stars
4/14/00 Gingerwoman Amazing specialeffects and premise but second halfgot boring. But then I don't like action. 4 stars
4/10/00 tana schaumkell brilliant writer ithink 5 stars
4/08/00 Gremlin Makes you wonder about your whole exsistence 5 stars
4/07/00 movieman awesome effects and shootouts, but a weak story 3 stars
4/07/00 Tim This is what action movies should be like 5 stars
3/30/00 janelle excellent movie definately worth seeing 5 stars
3/28/00 joe denicola Not sci-fi as much as metaphor. The Matrix is the illusion we call reality. 5 stars
3/21/00 Laura ooohhhh yeah.... 5 stars
3/21/00 Penne The Matrix is the most fantastic movie i've ever seen I love it. I am completely obsessed 5 stars
3/17/00 Lame-Oh great flick, but I hate Keanu Reeves 5 stars
3/10/00 Jed Not the best of 1999 but certainly not the worst 3 stars
3/04/00 Pizaster mesmerizing on your DVD, but made me think? yeah, about when it would end. 3 stars
3/01/00 Heather Good flick!!! All I could say was wow! 5 stars
3/01/00 Mic Cool movie, but would've been a modern classic with a less conventional ending. 5 stars
2/28/00 umur an excellent film for the sci-fi goers with a philosophical touch. 5 stars
2/21/00 arnold the shit 5 stars
2/12/00 Skye Chapman pretty cool. shoulda seen it in the theater 4 stars
2/10/00 Leo This is a good movie. It not only entertained me, but I never took my eyes off the screen. 5 stars
1/24/00 arnold very confusing but some fucking great action scenes 4 stars
1/21/00 Jedi15 Good but a little overrated. Great action sequences and effects. Terrible acting. 4 stars
1/12/00 sphinxychick All of you hated who hated this movie need to check your asses.It kicked some serious ASS! 5 stars
1/09/00 Mic Apart from the frivolous conclusion, this is on the large part entertainingly spectacular. 5 stars
1/01/00 Tyson Stewart awesome action and entertainment! story is a bit too packed! 4 stars
12/23/99 Wafer Completely and totally awesome 5 stars
12/16/99 marcus johanson the total package of the 90's 5 stars
12/16/99 brentorama Awesome, imaginative, entertaining flick. Can't wait for the sequel. 5 stars
12/08/99 bladema This movie totallly rocks, the martial arts, the story line, the action, the pure concept i 5 stars
12/06/99 Michael Grimm Stalker and SAA are retarded, better than Star Wars 5 stars
12/06/99 Chuck Baker This shit-kicker sets the standard for cyberpunk films ... Only veggies won't dig it. 5 stars
11/28/99 Ryan Phillipe gets hit by a car and it Rules!!! Wow this movie totally affected me deep in my soul and body and mind all conjoined to form 5 stars
11/28/99 Krissy An amazing, must see move 5 stars
11/26/99 Milgram Jet Li is FAR superior to this stuff, but it is still a great movie! 5 stars
11/09/99 yoda great 5 stars
11/05/99 Mike probably the best movie of the year 5 stars
11/03/99 Todd A total mind-fuck, what a trip, you must see this movie Laurence Fishburn is super cool! 5 stars
10/29/99 kristofer william long excellent film a must see!!! 5 stars
10/25/99 Bueller As Keanu Reeves says, "Woah!" A mind blowing trip through the concept of reality. 4 stars
10/24/99 Jennie Miller It was the best movie I've seen in 6 months! 5 stars
10/21/99 SAM THE MATRIX IS VERY GOOD.WATCH IF YOUVE NOT SEEN IT. 5 stars
10/12/99 graeme hancock best movie ever 5 stars
10/07/99 sbuckhopper Unbelievable special effect...great story. 5 stars
10/04/99 The Bomb 69 I can't believe I waited to rent this movie. Unbelievable!!! 5 stars
10/03/99 Joe Schmoe Chew on this Thirteenth Floor, this movie rocks! 5 stars
10/02/99 anthony q very good movie 5 stars
10/01/99 Sailor Uranus If the two sequels are just as awesome, I will say The Matrix is the Star Wars of the 90's. 5 stars
9/28/99 Brent Denny Very Good Film. Best film I have seen in long while 5 stars
9/25/99 Alyssa Special effects made this movie - it sure wasn't Keanu Reeves. 4 stars
9/24/99 C.A.T.M Excellent!!! Sci-Fi at it's best. 5 stars
9/18/99 Melissa Visually spectacular and well done. Does what movies are supposed to do -- entertain. 5 stars
9/11/99 Jomo Difficult to watch Keanu Reeves' bad acting. 3 stars
9/11/99 Timbo Good call the whole not requiring Reeves to act thing the only way to cast him 5 stars
9/08/99 Ramsay Pretty, just don't think too hard. 4 stars
9/08/99 Elijah Best sci-fi film of 1999. Forget SW: TPM 5 stars
9/05/99 the Grinch Awesome SciFi-Action. The idea ISNT rehashed(as far as cinema). Good use of CGI (for once! 5 stars
9/04/99 William Raises the bar for Sci Fi.. good special FX AND a plot that holds together. 5 stars
8/27/99 emma One of the best films - EVER 5 stars
8/26/99 Steven Great Movie! 5 stars
8/23/99 mason dumb as a post "plot" , painfull computer fx , keanu as cybor-rambo , totally stupid 2 stars
8/16/99 Stephen Cook best SF movie in a loongg time with an orignal premise 5 stars
8/12/99 Steve Kelley Keanu is a brilliant actor. Yeah, and I'm a movie critic. 2 stars
8/12/99 Merry The "innovated ideas" has been rehashed in SF books for decades. 2 stars
8/04/99 Cameron can't wait for the DVD! 5 stars
8/03/99 John Teller Best movie I've seen in at least 10 years 5 stars
8/02/99 John M This movie sets a new standard for all action/sci-fi movies to come. 5 stars
8/01/99 Annie This movie kicked your ass so hard it blistered!!!! Keanu Reeves rocked in it!! 5 stars
8/01/99 Obi Wan A Revolutionary Film that will change Action Flicks forever!!!!! 'Nuff Said!!!! 5 stars
7/31/99 Roman Best movie of the summer PERIOD. 5 stars
7/31/99 The Skeezix This movie rocked. I have to have it on vid. Best movie ever in my mind. 5 stars
7/31/99 Tony Rocked. Better than Phantom Menace, for sure. 5 stars
7/30/99 Mike Gastin This is why I love SciFi! Mind blowing. 5 stars
7/30/99 Vampyre9mm Sci Fi is not Dead!!!!! Best SciFi movie of the late 90's 5 stars
7/29/99 PRM Loved the battery concept, Fishburne was intense, Reeves didn't suck 5 stars
7/29/99 Sabina What a mind fuck 5 stars
7/26/99 Nyx Ill go to it again and again and again...Its just that good! 5 stars
7/22/99 Tarisa@innocent.com Dream plot thorny, the message persisted, made my boyfriend horny, but he's so twisted. 5 stars
7/22/99 Nessus Its a lot like watching a live action Anime (ala Akira or Kenshin) 5 stars
7/21/99 Carisa Johnson I was really disappointed the effects were pretty good but everything else sucked! 1 stars
7/21/99 Roxanne Meyer The Matrix has me! 5 stars
7/17/99 Chef ADogg I expected something more philosophical and less "action packed" 2 stars
7/17/99 Ron Cruz The BEST movie, that and American Pie!! 5 stars
7/16/99 Jo Jo, The Idiot Circus Boy "whoa" 5 stars
7/16/99 josh great action sequences 5 stars
7/14/99 Marshy The unbelievers cant take something a little different. This is brilliant stuff. Sequels! 5 stars
7/12/99 ken heine the shooting scenes were cool. 5 stars
7/11/99 Cherry Reyes This is the BEST FUCKING MOVIE.....EVER!!!! 5 stars
7/09/99 Psiwar If we live in a computer generated world than someone should start making a patch. 4 stars
7/09/99 Jamie GRant go see it and then see it again 5 stars
7/06/99 Gravy Still don't like Keanu, but I enjoyed the hell out of this movie. Action packed, fun film. 4 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg FX and action scenes were great but did anyone really follow this?What's with the names? 3 stars
7/03/99 Miguel Machalski How superficial, presumptuous and meaningless can you get? 1 stars
7/03/99 Ramsay Mayka Pretty, but I made the mistake of thinking 4 stars
7/03/99 jane valjan pc programer 5 stars
7/02/99 Chris Very good movie. 5 stars
7/02/99 Demure Diva So many things in this movie running parallel to the phenomena of spiritual awakening! Cool 5 stars
6/28/99 Paul Yuen Wo Ping you have done it again. Now everyone go see one of his true Kung Fu movies! 4 stars
6/27/99 Bill Sheridan Thought provoking and well paced... 4 stars
6/27/99 Christian Palacios The absolute fuc-ing awesomest total unbelievable movie of the century, the best film ever! 5 stars
6/25/99 Steven Layton kicked ass 5 stars
6/24/99 Jon Easily the most stylish, intelligent and enjoyable Sci-Fi film since Blade Runner. 5 stars
6/23/99 Chuck D. Intelligent, mind-blowing action flick, the coolest movie of the year, and one of the best 5 stars
6/22/99 Rob The best Sci-Film of the decade 5 stars
6/20/99 j.b. I love sci-fi & this film. 5 stars
6/19/99 Steve Kelley It makes no sense. Not the plot, not Keanu, not the rat, not the special effects. 1 stars
6/18/99 r8dius Layered. . .MUCH better developed than "Phantom" 5 stars
6/15/99 Dylan My favourite movie of 99 so far. unstoppable. 5 stars
6/15/99 Tony Daquano Just one hell of a movie 5 stars
6/15/99 David "Bound" to become a classic; a lot of plot but the excitement never really lets up. 5 stars
6/11/99 Doug Paulsen cool movie 5 stars
6/11/99 DeLacey OUTRAGEOUS 5 stars
6/08/99 Lashan Lynn Eye candy, but there is never anything wrong with that!!!!! 5 stars
6/04/99 CYaniDERuSH Hey MH go attempt to be witty elseware, i hate popculture, i liked this flick 5 stars
6/03/99 Matt Good except for Keanu 4 stars
6/02/99 Michael Klemish HOLY JESUS!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/31/99 Bartleby I loved this movie, one of the better ones I've seen n awhile 5 stars
5/31/99 ah ha! Yeah, it was ok........kinda confusing though. 3 stars
5/29/99 MRHOLLYWOOD !! FX were outta-this-world BUT everything else S U X!!!!!! 2 stars
5/28/99 Tim this movie has great special effects. And Moss looks awesome 5 stars
5/28/99 Feral Terrific concept, fantastic direction, amazing effects and mostly strong performances. 5 stars
5/27/99 darren Very cool premise. Very cool movie. Keanu was even pretty good, dude. 5 stars
5/27/99 Allen Paulsen It was wierd but it was a good movie 5 stars
5/25/99 James Coffey Visualy spectacular action sequences. eventhough I hate both Fishburne & Reeves. 4 stars
5/25/99 Doug Paulsen My 2nd favorite movie, behind armageddon 5 stars
5/25/99 CYaniDERuSH hey mike, you wouldn't know a good movie if it kicked the fuck out of you. 5 stars
5/22/99 WankerKing holyshitHolyShitHOLYSHIT! Slick Action Movie!! Like watching live action Anime almost... 5 stars
5/21/99 J. Random Hacker Excellent action/sci-fi flick with a pretty original (for Hollywood, anyway) plot. 5 stars
5/19/99 Katsat A perfect match of role and actor 5 stars
5/18/99 little jerry Handles the theme"life is an illusion"with greater power than The Truman Show.99frontrunner 5 stars
5/17/99 Neo_Bett The BEST!!! 5 stars
5/14/99 Cosmo No nudity, but still a cool flick 4 stars
5/14/99 brentley awesomely entertaining 5 stars
5/14/99 dbx THERE IS NO SPOON! 5 stars
5/13/99 Freyja ooohhhh...... shiny F/X.... pretty.... 5 stars
5/12/99 Dove Hugo Weaving rocks 5 stars
5/11/99 MRHOLLYWOOD !! FX kicked ass.....but no 'REAL' story/keanu sucked.Any1 that belives this GET A LIFE!!! 3 stars
5/08/99 Scott this movie ruled! 5 stars
5/08/99 Sarah Looooved it, both times 5 stars
5/07/99 Diptherio This movie rocks 5 stars
5/07/99 Scifinut DAMN ! ! ! ! !! 5 stars
5/05/99 dolt really good flick 5 stars
5/03/99 jenna bean can you say "visual candy". smoke two bowls and sit back! 5 stars
5/02/99 Oz Pick an accent Hugo 5 stars
5/02/99 Cassidy Todd AWESOME!! 5 stars
5/02/99 -=AMW=- uumm... ! if I had a chance to pick a right pill , i would pick a red one !!! its awesome! 5 stars
5/01/99 Goofos The second time you see this, even knowing what lies ahead, it's still an awesome spectacle 5 stars
5/01/99 jp allison kicks azz 5 stars
4/30/99 Evan Hughes Poor acting, bad writing, Keanu Reeves. Despite all this it's still a kick-ass movie. 5 stars
4/28/99 zenpop@mindspring.com mmmmmmmmmmm 5 stars
4/28/99 Jay Camp Twisted but deep to tha core if you like religion stuff. 5 stars
4/28/99 Snowball Holy god I fucking came because of this film. But you saw the traitor a mile away 5 stars
4/27/99 EDDIE SMITH NOTHING?///???///??? 5 stars
4/27/99 Ben galewitz boy did this movie make me horny for keanu reeves, man im soooo gay, im mr.douche 5 stars
4/26/99 jeff hounchell Excellent spec fx, drag'd abit in middle, cudda added abit more suspense 4 stars
4/26/99 Mr Showbiz A visually stunning, pyrotechnic thrill ride through a post-Orwellian world. 4 stars
4/26/99 Justin S. Nothing we haven't seen before. Keanu Reeves is at his worst. Highly Overrated. 2 stars
4/25/99 Duck What an overrrated style over substance piece of cinema 2 stars
4/25/99 XenoWolf The awesome story combined with awesome special effects makes this my favorite movie 5 stars
4/24/99 Lynda The best movie I've seen in a long time - and finally a capable role model for women! 5 stars
4/24/99 gibb woah 4 stars
4/23/99 J good special effects, and some pretty cool action scenes. 5 stars
4/21/99 Kristen This movie kicked ass! A MUST SEE despite Keanu's shitty acting job. 5 stars
4/21/99 C Parker Are they talking again? Pass the Smirnoff. 3 stars
4/21/99 Polly An on the edge of your seat thriller, even with a few laughs! 5 stars
4/21/99 Jason Eagle This movie is the best. I haven't seen martial arts choreography that good in a long time 5 stars
4/20/99 dave p. se it again, and again and again 5 stars
4/20/99 Lovebug Amazing...and I hate action movies! 5 stars
4/19/99 TJwills The visually stunning aspects made this film worth seeing even if the plot had a few holes. 4 stars
4/19/99 Randall Wow 5 stars
4/18/99 donna h. the movie was fucking awesome but we wanted another hour 5 stars
4/18/99 Meg how I could love a movie with Keanu Reeve' shitty acting is beyond me 5 stars
4/18/99 ladyace a very cool movie -- stunning action scenes and an intriguing plot to boot 4 stars
4/17/99 Ah Dooey Sorry for the 2nd rating, one last word: zort 5 stars
4/17/99 pocketwatch The best action film since Face/Off and jaw-dropping production design. 4 stars
4/16/99 Daria Frankly, my dear, I was blown away. And for once, Keanu didn't suck. 5 stars
4/16/99 chknbrgrGirl Holy Shit, this movie was awsome, now I've seen alot of movies, an 5 stars
4/16/99 lucas jackson the best fucking sci fi movie of the year,extremely exciting 5 stars
4/15/99 Link This movie rox da hizouse 5 stars
4/15/99 JDC Great effects, premise, but weak scripting keeps it from being among the best 4 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson Keanu Reeves? I hate that little fu..oh shit! This movie kicks ass!!!! 5 stars
4/14/99 Kalle Amazing from beginning to end. A definite must-see. 5 stars
4/14/99 MAVERICK IT IS SO DAMN GOOD AND NICE GRAPHICS 5 stars
4/14/99 Bob, Lord of Evil This movie gives Fucking awesome a new meaning! What it is... I'll have to get back to you. 5 stars
4/14/99 Ami the Wonderbread Fantastic special effects, mind boggling intense plot, fabulous martial arts sequences 5 stars
4/14/99 NiTeNGaLeX This movie is THE best movie I have ever seen! Also, Keanu Reeves looks so DAMN sexy! 5 stars
4/14/99 Michelle Sci Fi + Kung Fu + great special effects = worth every penny 5 stars
4/13/99 Disco Stu This film OOZES with style - from beginning to end, you get nonstop BANG for your BUCK! 5 stars
4/13/99 Tom Prusa Great F/X, weak plot 4 stars
4/13/99 AJC I'm amazed by the imagination some people have. 5 stars
4/12/99 Technorama Great movie to see on a date! 5 stars
4/11/99 claire like the rating sez - FUCKING AWESOME. 5 stars
4/11/99 Tristynn Keanu.. you the man...one of the best i've seen in a few weeks at least... 5 stars
4/11/99 Kenda It was tight. The script was cheesy, but everything else was so good, it didn't matter. 5 stars
4/11/99 Ian Nathanson I have seen movies like this: Total Recall, Dune, and They Live, see them 1st. Love Kung Fu 5 stars
4/11/99 Justin S. Nothing new. Watch the superior Dark City instead. 3 stars
4/10/99 The Great God of Disaster The worst movie that I saw this year, and I saw "The Corruptor" 1 stars
4/10/99 Reginald B Best visually appealing movie in a longtime. 5 stars
4/10/99 Keith Calder While it had its flaws, this movie made up for them tenfold in coolness. 5 stars
4/10/99 nychen.com Shiny leather! 5 stars
4/09/99 Raiven A nightmare vision of the future and a rockin' acid trip of an action adventure. See it!!! 5 stars
4/09/99 Randall Wow, i didn't think that it would be good, i'm not a fan of the genre, but damn, it rocked 5 stars
4/09/99 Daddy Rich Special effects and action are the shit. Fishburne is a bad motherfucker. 4 stars
4/09/99 the DUDE fucking awsome-I am speechless it was the shit 5 stars
4/09/99 Pimp Daddy Seen it twice, seeing it again. A must. 5 stars
4/09/99 James E. Laczkowski flawless! this film is an astonishing, awe-inspiring experience! 5 stars
4/09/99 Thomas Muller Matrix is defenately a movie to see for its computer effects. The plot needs some help. 5 stars
4/08/99 Cool Thing Has anyone noticed Keanu says "...whoa." in every movie he's in? Beyond five stars. 5 stars
4/08/99 Brian M KEANU is the Savior 5 stars
4/07/99 agustin this movie is like CRACK i have to see it again 5 stars
4/07/99 Ludicrouslyodd Two words. Oh. Rapture. 5 stars
4/07/99 Skiv WOW! Finally a good sci fi flick rises above the ashes of crap like "Starship Troopers"!! 5 stars
4/07/99 Abraham de leon this movie is the bomb (best) 5 stars
4/07/99 Negative Creep WHOA! 4 stars
4/06/99 Susan Keanu didn't ruin it, and there was a plot. 2 things i didn't think would happen! 4 stars
4/06/99 NuConcept A religious experience! it left me in AWE and deep thought, and still does after 4 viewings 5 stars
4/06/99 Ruttopia THIS MOVIE WAS INCREDIBLE!! MY GOD! 5 stars
4/06/99 NomadX99 this was one hell of a movie, kick ass music, awesome special effects!!! 5 stars
4/06/99 Eddie cool action(better than Jackie Chan's movie), well thought script yet understandable 5 stars
4/05/99 Nightwing007 Mindblowing! Plot makes you wonder what if? Carrie-Anne Moss was soooo engaging... 5 stars
4/05/99 B.O.B This movie had KILLER plot! Pretty orignial compared to what I've seen this year... 5 stars
4/04/99 MATRIX#1OFTHEYEARFORSCIFI Best SCI FI I've seen yet, TO:"NO PLOT" DICKHEADS-YOU ARE TOO STUPID TO GET IT 5 stars
4/04/99 CYaniDERuSH by far one of the most awe inspiring spectacles i have ever seen. left speechless 5 stars
4/04/99 Albert Great Action & Effects. Story... there was a story? Go Oracle! 4 stars
4/04/99 Kevin Knapp This movie was truely Madd Whack. 5 stars
4/03/99 16 in. of swingin' meat & a bucket of balls Excellent! Effects and all were fabulous! A must see for all sci-fi fans! 5 stars
4/03/99 TheBogyMan One of the best SI-FI of all time. No doubt. 5 stars
4/03/99 ShitEater special effects dont make a movie, the plot is pure shit, it drags like hell 3 stars
4/03/99 Scott Meyers Restores my faith in good sci-fi. 5 stars
4/03/99 E Matrix kicks serious butt, virtual or otherwise. 5 stars
4/03/99 MagnumPI Terrific story and tremendous camera work. A little over the top for the climax, but fun. 5 stars
4/02/99 Mark O'Brien The visual effects were stunning and the plot was very cool and complex! 5 stars
4/02/99 Adam Carey Incredible action. And any movie that has "Night of the Lepus" in it can't be bad. 5 stars
4/02/99 McClane79 A fucking pounder of a trip that doesn't let up for a second; one of the top actioners ever 5 stars
4/02/99 Cool Thing The story is way comic book, but the stylized action and effects make this a must see. 4 stars
4/02/99 Morpheous FUCK'N A AWESOME!! I'M SEEING IT AGAIN!! 5 stars
4/02/99 Albert Lee The most badassest film in history! 5 stars
4/01/99 Ah Dooey Goddam great movie, goddam awesome movie... where was I? 5 stars
3/31/99 Nanea Reeves It Totally Rocks! 5 stars
3/20/99 Dee Dee Awesome movie, awesome FX, bring it on! 5 stars
3/08/99 The Dude A fucking great movie/great fucking action/great fucking directing-this motherfucker sparks 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  31-Mar-1999 (R)
  DVD: 07-Dec-2004

UK
  11-Jun-1999 (15)

Australia
  08-Apr-1999 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast