More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.73

Awesome: 17.7%
Worth A Look50.44%
Average: 22.12%
Pretty Bad: 7.08%
Total Crap: 2.65%

7 reviews, 71 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Payback (1999)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Payback Relishes In Its Violence"
4 stars

Payback (***) - You know, sometimes itís a lot of fun to see a movie that relishes in its depiction of violence. Thereís no pussyfooting around in Payback. This film goes for violence and shows its violence - sometimes so graphic and unexpected that youíre not always prepared for it and then chuckle at its audacity to show it.

From the terrific opening credits you can tell this filmís style owes a lot to films of the late 60s and all of the 70s. Shot in a hazy saturated mix of blues and grays this film has film noir written all over it. Even the music suggests a throwback to the crime movies of those decades. So weíve covered the style - is the movie any good? I certainly thought so. Itís not necessarily a mainstream action film but more along the lines of an Elmore Leonard adaptation. Lots of colorful and strange characters. Incredible bursts of violence. And a wicked dark sense of humor thatíll keep most people from getting squeamish during the brutal moments. Mel Gibson is the perfect choice to play this role and he has a lot of fun with the part of the guy who would otherwise be the villain in another film. But by surrounding himself with even worse people like his double-crossing partner, drug dealers, crooked cops, and syndicate bosses (played by old throwbacks Kris Kristofferson, James Coburn, and William Devane) we immediately root for him.

The film will essentially be remembered for its sense of style and graphic violence (towards men and women) more than its story which isnít very complex - but still a lot of fun. The filmís most wince-inducing piece of violence is a mixture of Misery with the cheater scene in Casino with a little ďfreedomĒ torture thrown in from Braveheart. Itís a rough moment but one can be grateful that the filmmakers didnít wimp out with it as is the case with most mainstream film noirs. Sure there could have been more to this film - but I enjoyed it all the same and give it a recommendation.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=727&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/17/00 04:48:08
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2006 Austin Film Festival For more in the 2006 Austin Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

6/23/14 Michael Ervin Great revenge movie! Watch your toes! 5 stars
2/11/12 hurdygurdy man Might work as a comedy, add a joint for a few chuckles. 3 stars
7/24/10 bagwell5 I am a fan of both versions of the film. Great revenge story. Violent with great dialogue 5 stars
10/16/09 Monday Morning Still and always one of the best movies ever. 5 stars
9/26/08 Shaun Wallner Great Movie!! 5 stars
7/22/08 the dork knight Although there is some comedy, Mel stays serious, which is good 4 stars
1/15/07 Gloria Dornin It was good, love Gibson, seen better 3 stars
9/09/06 Michele mel is always enjoyable 3 stars
7/09/06 JIMMY lucy liu makes beautiful dominatrix 4 stars
6/17/06 Agent Sands Perfect for what it is. 5 stars
10/07/05 Klondo I didn't like this movie, but it has Gibson in it, and that's... 3 stars
10/03/05 Indrid Cold Starts out brilliantly, but ends up being a standard revenge movie. 4 stars
8/27/05 Rever_Bear-Trap COULD'VE BEEN BETTER BUT OH WELL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/25/05 ES If the dog had died it would have been the movie it was trying so hard to be 2 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams i like the cinematography. Movie...meh. 3 stars
11/15/04 sue another gibson movie 3 stars
10/30/04 Archanist_101 It should've had a better script & replace Maria Bello with Gina Gershon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
9/06/04 Daveman Gibson's masochism doesn't measure up to that of his audience by the smallest fraction. 1 stars
8/17/04 john bale Indestructable Mel sorts out the baddies in a slick but average thriller 3 stars
6/08/04 PAYNE Yeah it's OK 4 stars
7/05/02 KMG This movie IS HOT! 5 stars
4/15/02 R.W. Welch Pseudo-Noir thrller; not bad if you don't take it seriously. 4 stars
2/10/02 Teymur Fantastic 5 stars
1/22/02 Monster W. Kung Not bad but altogether very unmemorable. 3 stars
11/30/01 The $1.98 Pyramid It wasn't entertaining. Gibson can do much better. 2 stars
9/15/01 Butterbean Lucy Liu was useless in this movie. Payback wasn't as bad as critics say 3 stars
8/28/01 Bueller Score one for the not-so bad, bad guys. 4 stars
6/01/01 Monday Morning How come Jason gets two shots at this? 5 stars
4/24/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Entertaining at best, inoffensive at worst. 4 stars
4/24/01 Monday Morning Smart, noir-stylish, totally great comedy "edge" for balance. One of the best. 5 stars
4/05/01 Hawkeye Not a masterpiece, but a decent flick nonetheless. Not for the faint of heart, though. 4 stars
10/13/00 Jason I wasted 2 hours of my life...go to the symphony instead! 2 stars
10/13/00 Josh An awesome rush of a movie. Don't listen to anyone (Jason) who says otherwise. 5 stars
10/13/00 Jason I wasted 2 hours of my life...go to the symphony instead! 2 stars
9/12/00 Jed Don't Believe the critics folks this is a bad movie. 2 stars
7/20/00 Eran entertaining ending! 4 stars
7/11/00 Terrie Smith Not bad; the usual gung-ho performance from Gibson but Henry almost walks away with it. 3 stars
6/28/00 malcolm cool as hell. any Frank Miller fans out there? 4 stars
1/04/00 Gotham DK Gibson kicking ass instead of showing it. Not one of those repeat watch movies. 3 1/2. 3 stars
11/04/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster I've finally found something that sucked more than Lethal Weapon 4 . 2 stars
10/21/99 Tony Daquano Movies should be more like this 5 stars
10/13/99 "JED" One of mel's weakest he should stick to Lethal weapon. 2 stars
9/30/99 Brentus unpredictable, good, but it lacked something???? 4 stars
9/05/99 The Bomb 69 average written all over it 3 stars
6/15/99 Ver-Jun Without a doubt the worst film I've seen in 3 years!!! 1 stars
6/15/99 David The look is good, the cruelty is good, I just wish I could see Helgeland's original version 3 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson Funny and slick, but enough with the blue! 4 stars
4/13/99 Go Swans Gains bonus points for being quick, fast and short. Mel's best since Ransom. 4 stars
4/06/99 Irzal Rinaldi It's really a cruel movie 3 stars
4/01/99 Thanatos This might be a remake, but it was still one of the best movies i've seen all year! 5 stars
3/18/99 Scott Stipe Man.....It rocked 5 stars
3/14/99 Matt the 'invincible' main character almost ruined it, but he was an asshole, so it was ok 4 stars
3/13/99 16 in. of swingin' meat & a bucket of balls Film Noir fun with almost no morality. Porter (GIbson) makes you afraid of the dark. 5 stars
3/11/99 Bobby Luv Sadism rules baby, lots of fun explosions, mel in graveltone and Devane cranks it up 5 stars
3/07/99 CYaniDERuSH thank god for a noir flick. really liked the touches of dean martin 4 stars
3/05/99 ^Cesaro Kinda like falling down, but with more death. Not quite there yet. Keep trying. 4 stars
3/04/99 Steve Kelley Not as bad as I'd heard, not as good as I hoped. This is not Elmore Leonard. 3 stars
3/04/99 Mr Showbiz A cartton noir that's really just a Mel Gibson vehicle. 3 stars
2/25/99 Viral Messiah Mel Gibson is great in this noir flick! Totally awesome! 4 stars
2/22/99 Jeff HOUN Typical Gibson action movie, pretty good, but could use extra oil in a few of the joints 3 stars
2/21/99 bogeyman Another example of the ads making the movie look a lot better than it really is. 2 stars
2/12/99 Zachary Ryan its better than the review listed here. this movie rocks! 5 stars
2/10/99 poolboy good clean s&m FUN! 4 stars
2/09/99 Jumbles Exciting and fun, but nothing special. Wind Mel up and watch him go! 3 stars
2/09/99 buddy Still great, even though they fiddled with it. 4 stars
2/07/99 Giladani Interesting 90s film with 70s borderline Film Noir sensibilities. Worth a look definitely. 4 stars
2/07/99 Kozmic Great movie,good story, no boredom anywhere in it. 5 stars
2/06/99 Cory Clawson GREAT! 5 stars
1/06/99 The Dude VERY COOL MOVIE -ONE TO SEE 5 stars
12/01/98 Kirgo Would almost rather pull my own teeth out than see that crap again! 1 stars
11/30/98 Lindsay The film was OK. Best part was Lucy Alexis Lieu (from Ally MacBeal). She was very funny. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  05-Feb-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  04-Mar-1999 (MA)


Directed by
  Brian Helgeland

Written by
  Brian Helgeland
  Richard Stark

Cast
  Mel Gibson
  Maria Bello
  William Devane
  David Paymer
  Gregg Henry



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast