More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.77

Awesome: 7.45%
Worth A Look27.95%
Average: 22.36%
Pretty Bad: 18.63%
Total Crap: 23.6%

12 reviews, 89 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


8MM
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by davebo

"'The film is real!' +stupid"
2 stars

Better than I expected, worse than I hoped.

First and foremost no matter what anyone tells you, Nicholas Cage isn't an action star. That having been said, I want to make it clear that 8mm is not the WORST movie made and there's really no one thing about it i hated in particular so as to warrant giving it 2 stars. It was just the whole movie in general...

I really got the feeling watching this movie that it was taking itself way too seriously, like maybe this is some new idea and not just ripping off bits from Seven. Joel "I put nipples on the batman costume!" Schumacher does as mediocre a job directing as ever before i suppose.

Also the fact that they tell you the snuff film Cage is investigating is real in the commercials kinda takes away any suspense there might have been in the first hour of the movie. Of course there's a lot of little things to nit pick about, but overall its just not a great suspense movie, and certainly not an action movie. I wish Cage could just do like a Leaving Las Vegas 2 or something instead of trying to play movies where he's supposed to be some kind of hero, cause he really does just suck at it. I know he can only be as good as the dialog he's given but still, i just couldn't see any way to enjoy this movie.

If you honestly think you'll enjoy this movie, then you probably will.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=731&reviewer=30
originally posted: 03/09/99 14:20:11
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/12/17 morris campbell realistic but unpleasant 2 stars
5/18/13 Tim Sometimes silly, but appropriately dark and has some real tension. Cage is quite good, too 4 stars
9/16/12 cindy madson great 5 stars
1/27/10 David A. A well-done detective story that's intense enough to satisfy horror fans as well. 4 stars
7/30/09 Helgen This is the type of shit that happens every day in this world, fool reviewer. 4 stars
7/20/08 Shaun Wallner Nicholas Cage is great in all his films. 5 stars
3/03/08 ladavies I normally don't like N Cage, but I was rooting for him in this film. 4 stars
10/22/07 ben dover criminally underated whoever says this is trash is missing the point 5 stars
8/02/06 Indrid Cold A solid, intriguing mystery, but the story is frequently silly. 3 stars
3/11/06 Dillon Hard-edged and morally conscious 5 stars
10/25/05 R.W.Welch Bleak Private Investigator tale gets by but is slack in spots. 3 stars
10/14/05 Mark Louis Baumgart "They do evil because they can" speaks volumes. Gets better every time I watch it. 5 stars
9/13/05 Fenix Not so much in the plot as it is the reality of it. Good Moive 4 stars
8/16/05 ES i didn't find it scary or alarming, pretty fake actually= save your money 2 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma An enjoyable flick 4 stars
11/22/04 Archanist_101 Mr. Cage's performance was atonoushing...!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
7/27/04 Jake harrison Could have been good, cage as usual overacts, I wish his wife would have stayed out 3 stars
2/07/04 LIAM JACKSON a bizarre underworld of vicious, demented sexual perverts and their horrid hobbies. 5 stars
1/27/04 p3online A PRICELESS PIECE tracks Monster minds & absolute sickness. NICs performance riddles brain! 4 stars
9/07/03 Mr. Hat Pope's really full of shit. Anyway,it's really dark but well-made.FROM THE WRITER OF SE7EN! 4 stars
6/18/03 Jack Bourbon Smut. And I ain't talking about the subject of the film. 2 stars
3/24/03 Jack Sommersby Studio-interfered-with film has only glimpses of its innate potential. 1 stars
3/19/03 Monster W. Kung Exploitative garbage. Fact: Nicholas Cage is one of the worst actors ever. 2 stars
1/29/03 Jimmy Jamez it wasnt THAT bad =\ 4 stars
10/27/02 MarktheShark6 Probably one of Nic Cage's worst action movies ever, it was a bit sick. 2 stars
8/08/02 JesseL This is a movie for adult minds. Joaquin Phoenix stands out. 4 stars
5/10/02 ihe8cage Cage is the worst actor ever. Some how he manages to get all the good parts in good movies 1 stars
4/06/02 Veronica Tatterworth Whether you love or hate skinflicks, this'll do nothing for you. 1 stars
2/13/02 Eduardo Del Valle It's not that bad. Just heavy, a little bit worse than seven... Don't wait for sun, joy etc 4 stars
1/12/02 Joe Wooden acting, terrible dialogue, insipid plot. 1 stars
12/31/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) D*E*P*R*E*S*S*I*N*G: No comedy, always dark, low-key, sick. 2 stars
8/10/01 E-Funk Pointless and uninspired. Joel Schumacher hasn't made a really good film since Lost Boys. 2 stars
8/01/01 Crisis Management Phony and predictable, and the wanna-be message is completely lost in mindless tripe. 2 stars
7/01/01 J Personally I think this is much worse that Batman & Robin. It may be just me. 1 stars
6/12/01 cinkcool I dont know what ididnt like about. Just didnt. Maybe cause its about child porn? 2 stars
6/09/01 Serial_Monk_the_Jawbreaker Poorly written and predictable. Also wicked sappy. This is no LAST HOUSE ON THE LEFT 2 stars
2/21/01 Rocket Boy Joel Schummacher, Nicolas Cage. One talentless; One's time is up. Awful movie. 1 stars
11/21/00 Baumgart A truly disturbing one. Anyone who has ever had any experience with the seamy world of por 4 stars
10/25/00 Terrie Smith Disturbing film; definitely not for everyone. Rather subdued acting performance from Cage. 4 stars
9/14/00 Jed Batman & Robin is not he worst J.S film this proves it. 1 stars
7/18/00 kittykat it was ok 3 stars
3/26/00 Jed And you people thought "Batman & robin" was bad. 1 stars
2/21/00 arnold really fucking weird,extremely sick 1 stars
1/06/00 perverted pixie A slow starter, but once it kicks in- it kicks ARSE! 4 stars
10/25/99 Marshy It's the equivant of Cruising for the 90's- misses the point in many places, but it's good. 4 stars
10/16/99 The Bomb 69 standard stuff except for the snuff 3 stars
10/15/99 Jeffnerd Nasty (sick) movie with a rotten plot 1 stars
10/11/99 Weird Andy Cage's annoying wife nearly wrecks this film ala "Jar-Jar Binks." 3 stars
9/04/99 godsdog Has it's flaws, but strays from typical "insert climax here" formula. J. Phoenix was great 4 stars
8/20/99 J-Dogg Underrated, but not perfect: Cage brings a stone, robot-like performance. Still, great film 4 stars
7/29/99 howard hawks woh baby!! 4 stars
7/27/99 emperor Cage was horrible. 2 stars
7/24/99 Hagbard Celine Cage is a talentless schmuck. Adam Sandler could've carried it off better. 2 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg Why does everyone hate this? I thought it was a great, dark subject for a picture. 4 stars
6/28/99 Ricardo How could Cage be so stupid to take this job 1 stars
6/09/99 Lucas jackson I should have known Joel Schumacher directed this piece of shit 1 stars
4/25/99 XenoWolf this sucked pretty hard cock 2 stars
4/16/99 lucas jackson it's one fucking bad movie 2 stars
4/16/99 Kevin Mcsam It was the best!!!!!!!!! Bitch slapped 5 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson What a piece of trash, I like porn as much as the next perv, but this movie sucks 1 stars
4/14/99 rat i fell asleep 1 stars
4/11/99 Tristynn Make sure your not feeling queasy when you see this one.its a killer.(no pun intended*lol* 5 stars
4/10/99 Keith Calder What really makes this movie worth watching is Joaquin Phoenix. He was incredible. 4 stars
4/01/99 Samantha Gara I love Nick, and I thaught this was a kick-ass movie. I will see it again. 5 stars
4/01/99 Thanatos The scene with the guy licking the barrel of the gun was completely fucking hilarious!! 5 stars
3/25/99 Powrhug you gotta be up for it, but this was an intersting study-better start than finish though 4 stars
3/21/99 Daddy Rich Good movie, but disturbing at times. Phoenix did a great job along with Cage. 4 stars
3/18/99 Joel Prescott I was hood but it could have been better. Nothing was surprizing it was really pridictable. 4 stars
3/17/99 Mr Showbiz Schumacher doesn't have the slightest idea how to justify making a movie about snuff films 1 stars
3/16/99 Angela Nicolas Cage is awesome in anything!!! 5 stars
3/14/99 Ah Dooey Not that bad, not that good either. 3 stars
3/14/99 Kevin Knapp This movie was the worst movie I have EVER seen. I liked Spice World better! 1 stars
3/13/99 Liz W Nicholas and Joquin were good but the story was too disturbing and drug on. 3 stars
3/10/99 Lori Tisberger I hated that movie!! I was so disappointed 1 stars
3/10/99 jvt Not very good at all 2 stars
3/10/99 Oggy Se7en was better. 3 stars
3/05/99 Beth Nic Cage SUCKS ALL ASS all by himself. 1 stars
3/04/99 Bobby Luv Not a family film, it gets a bad rap for exploring a controversial topic 4 stars
3/04/99 Bill Hartman Could have seen more action at a bingo hall.... 2 stars
3/04/99 The Graduate Predictable and poorly paced. "The film" isn't even that graphic, not for an R flick. 3 stars
3/04/99 Mr Showbiz A muddled, uninvolving thriller. If you're expecting Se7en you'll be bitterly disappointed. 1 stars
3/01/99 jen joaquin's the only reason this isn't on my SAA list... 2 stars
3/01/99 frank 'i need your permission to punish them. just say yes.' 1 stars
2/22/99 Mr Film Cage is still 'The Man'.. 8MM is very, very cool. 4 stars
1/06/99 The Dude SORRY GUYS I THOUGHT IT WAS REALLY COOL 5 stars
11/25/98 Bad Kosh Somewhat sappy, not really great, those sucks have a lot to learn. 3 stars
11/18/98 K-Dog Mmm you're a funny fuck.. is your favourite film 'armageddon' real film critic? 3 stars
11/17/98 The REAL Film Critics Don't listen to K-Dog..If you're not a tight ass,you'll like it.. 4 stars
10/19/98 Dark Horizons All the dramatic points or lines where almost completely lost on the audience. Painful. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Feb-1999 (R)

UK
  23-Apr-1999

Australia
  15-Apr-1999 (R)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast