More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.84

Awesome: 14.71%
Worth A Look: 2.94%
Average: 5.88%
Pretty Bad: 4.41%
Total Crap72.06%

4 reviews, 44 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Boat Trip
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Charles Tatum

"See Sick"
1 stars

Cuba Gooding, Jr. continues the careful destruction of his film career in this terribly stupid sex comedy.

Jerry (Cuba Gooding, Jr.) proposes to bitchy girlfriend Felicia (Vivica A. Fox), who turns him down because she is seeing someone else...and he barfs on her. Sex crazed best friend Nick (Horatio Sanz) decides the best thing for Jerry is tons of anonymous sex, so the two decide to go on a singles cruise.

This is the part of the review where I will use nothing but exclamation points, just like I imagine the pitch session went: Jerry and Nick piss off the travel agent! We could get Will Ferrell to do the cameo over a lunch hour! The two are booked on a GAY cruise, and they are straight! Get it?! Jerry falls in love with hot dance instructor Gabriella (Roselyn Sanchez)! Nick accidentally shoots down a helicopter containing a Swedish tanning team! Horny Nick pretends to be gay to be around the girls, and Jerry pretends to be gay to be around Gabriella! Then, Felicia wants Jerry back! Both dudes learn that gays are people too! It'll be great!!

Forget for a minute, if you can, all the badly done gay stereotypes. Forget a depressing Roger Moore trying to seduce Sanz. Forget Sanchez's see through blouses, but no full on nude scenes. Forget all of that. My biggest complaint: this film did not make me laugh once.

Mort Nathan directed and co-wrote this, and everything is by the numbers. The jokes here are terrible. If you like Hustler Magazine's "Chester the Molester," then this is for you. Nathan's direction is plain, when a movie is desperate enough to play James Brown's "I Feel Good" just twenty seconds into the beginning, you know you are in trouble.

Gooding is just plain miscast. He mugs at all the wrong times, and I did not believe for a minute that he and Sanz were life long best friends. Sanz simply yells his lines, falling into the same routine Nicolas Cage did in "Trapped in Paradise." The rest of the women are window dressing, except Lin Shaye, who plays the Swedish team's coach, and just replays all her parts from the Farrelly Brothers' pictures.

"Boat Trip" is one of those films that you rent because it might not be as bad as you have heard. Then the film confirms your darkest fears. It sucks.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7335&reviewer=325
originally posted: 08/18/04 01:01:54
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/28/08 Romonia Kesler I loved one song in the whole movie 3 stars
8/26/07 Sugarfoot Horrid 1 stars
5/02/07 jenarader you guys are all sh#t its the best movie ever 5 stars
5/01/07 Heather Best Review EVER! The movie is crap! 1 stars
3/31/06 Anthony Feor Anymore of this and i will lose it 1 stars
11/02/05 fat old man I liked it but I do not like the fat old persondown from me 5 stars
11/02/05 fat old woman i enjoyed your movie esspecialy because i was eating a big bucket of chicken 5 stars
11/02/05 nictodoto you are sick like dick 5 stars
11/02/05 james it was very good and fuck the gay people though 5 stars
7/19/05 Will Full of hilarious gay jokes, gays need to get a sense of humour. 5 stars
7/07/05 Gary L. Jamerson It was very great I liked it very much!!!!! 5 stars
5/13/05 marc loved it, very funny if your not homofobic 5 stars
3/03/05 michael weber hilaris ! gwagwagwagwa ; huhuhuhuhuh 5 stars
12/27/04 Louie I've had bowel movements much more enjoyable than this. 1 stars
8/18/04 tatum An embarrassment to all of humanity, gay or straight 1 stars
5/18/04 Daveman Not as bad as it's made out to be, but still bad. 2 stars
4/26/04 christina the movie was great 5 stars
3/17/04 Jamy Williamson I thought this movie was funny. 4 stars
2/09/04 Whatevr You only need to see the commercial to see where this movie is going. 1 stars
1/14/04 emilio betech we should sue the guy who made it and distributed it. it's offensive, idiotic. 1 stars
1/03/04 I Would Chris Parry rivals Collin Souter as the best reviewer on he shite. BOAT TRIP WAS WANK!!!!!! 1 stars
12/13/03 J This movie was stupid 3 stars
12/09/03 DaChuck I'm scared of the nightmares I'm going to have after watching that crap! 1 stars
10/14/03 des worst movie ever 1 stars
10/13/03 Girl funny 3 stars
10/12/03 Jenn R. 1 star is more credit than it deserves. I was offended by the entire movie. 1 stars
9/05/03 Chris Insulting to all that watch it. 1 stars
9/05/03 Dawn Dear God, NO!!! 1 stars
6/14/03 Doug Sooo funny.... 4 stars
6/07/03 Drew Hutchinson This one and View from the top should be burred to sea in one wooden box 2 stars
5/31/03 Priscilla Postlethwaite Mixed bag. Humor and seriousness sometimes clash. Not good feeling overall. 3 stars
4/24/03 Ralph R. Clemente Sucks 1 stars
4/21/03 randall thoren horrible, disgusting, crap 1 stars
4/18/03 Jin I'm starting to wonder about Gooding. 1 stars
4/16/03 Squeedily Spooch GENOCIDE ON GAYS! 1 stars
4/13/03 natasha homophobs, you are total idiots. horatio sanz was amazing, everything else was awful 1 stars
4/10/03 Andrew Carden Sanz Provides Any Of The Humor In This Horrid Piece Of Hollywood Dreck. 2 stars
3/31/03 JewBoy69 Ya down with the gays! 1 stars
3/30/03 Large Farve Please make it stop... Please... Nice to see some tolerance in the world, thomas 1 stars
3/29/03 thomas b i hate homos!! cant we just kill them all? 1 stars
3/26/03 Bluto McBlurt Good god! How could this happen? And how could it get a release? 1 stars
3/24/03 Kyle ...WHY GOD, WHY? WHAT HAVE WE EVER DONE?! 1 stars
3/23/03 Choda This movie is totally perverted, but mildly funny. 1 stars
3/23/03 The Aussie Film Reviewer Absolutely repugnant. The sort of thing you'd expect from an Uzbekistan comedy. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Mar-2003 (R)
  DVD: 17-Feb-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast