More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.62

Awesome49.57%
Worth A Look: 12.39%
Average: 6.84%
Pretty Bad: 12.39%
Total Crap: 18.8%

11 reviews, 168 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Thin Red Line, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Paulapalooza

"A thoughtful and patient, yet disturbing tone poem by Malick"
5 stars

The big question: Is it better than "Ryan"? By all means yes.

There will be a time when "The Thin Red Line" and "Saving Private Ryan" will be set apart from the context of the time they were released and can be judged as the very different creatures they are, but until then Joe Average moviegoer will be asking the guy selling them the tickets "Is it as good as 'Saving Private Ryan'?" And if my experience working in a movie theater long ago is any indication, Joe Ticket will tell them "no."

Joe Ticket would be wrong.

Ryan's battle sequences alone make it a five-star film, but they don't cover up the bad writing and the radically uneven acting. Ryan is essentially a melodrama, and despite its wish to be important, a melodrama is all it remains. The Thin Red Line aims much higher, toward difficult truths, utilizing a delivery that makes an audience have to actually sit, pay attention, and challenge themselves. As such, it will be a while before it can be honestly evaluated outside the successful box office shadow of Spielberg and company. But I will attempt to do so.

It's been 20 years since Terence Malick made a film, and that was the 70's opus "Days of Heaven." American studio filmmaking has essentially bottomed out since, and who knows what Malick might have assembled if he had remained a part of the studio system for those two decades. But he hasn't, and "The Thin Red Line" shows the lack of influence of bad, cuisinart-cut, interchangeable-part moviemaking.

Set during the American-Japanese battle for Guadalcanal, "The Thin Red Line" is about one company's soul-deadening drive up a Japanese-fortified hill and beyond. There's no single protagonist, but most of the action is seen through the calm, understanding Witt (Jim Caviezel) and Bell (Ben Chaplin), a former officer drafted into the infantry who only wants to go home to his wife.

The battle sequences are compelling to be sure, and never venture into overkill. And they're the perfect stage for Nick Nolte's Lt. Col. Tall, a driven son of a bitch who doesn't give a damn who or what he sacrifices to take the hill in as little time as possible, and Elias Koteas' Capt. Staros who refuses to needlessly sacrifice his men to a suicide mission. It's also the only time we see some fine actors like John Cusack and Woody Harrelson in small, supporting roles. Not everyone makes it, but everyone who comes out the other side is a radically changed person.

The most intriguing story arc in the film is the relationship between Witt and Sgt. Welsh (Penn), who believes Witt is a poor soldier yet gives him chance after chance to redeem himself. The subtle interactions and understandings that develop between these men is a highlight of the film.

The themes this film tackles are not new ones: the inhumanity of war, the cycle of nature and its' destruction, the beauty and difficulty of human connection, and though it doesn't always hit, it's rare anymore to see a major film tackle these concepts with obvious skill and grace.

Film can be entertainment to be sure, and while I found Thin Red Line to be an entertaining movie, it also aspires to be much more---a meditation, a work of art. For the most part, it succeeds.

Not for everyone, but if you don't mind investing yourself in a film to get something in return, it's a must-see.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=734&reviewer=21
originally posted: 01/22/99 17:16:45
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell good but not 4 everyone 4 stars
6/10/15 stanley welles a dazzling and beautiful war movie 5 stars
3/14/14 PAUL SHORTT FASCINATING, WELL MADE, MEDITATIVE ANTI-WAR DRAMA 4 stars
3/01/14 Tardkiller TM owes me 3 hours and 8 bucks. More narrative to be found in most grade school dioramas. 1 stars
11/14/13 mr.mike Liked it more the second time. 4 stars
8/25/13 Fire With Fire Pretentious,trippy,grossly inaccurate insult to those who fought and died at Guadalcanal 1 stars
4/11/11 Bronson Fastfowarding the home scenes worked for me 5 stars
11/09/10 Bob Hey Paulapalooza, Joe Ticket is right. Opinions can't be wrong. 3 stars
12/25/09 Jeff Wilder Less a war film than an existentialist parable. 4 stars
12/01/09 Silkworm Big actors names - Very Slow Dull Film 2 stars
5/29/07 outdoorbob another fantasy of war as any combat vet will tell you, see SPR instead. 2 stars
12/15/06 MP Bartley Lush and absorbing, but everything after the taking of the hill feels redundant.It's no SPR 4 stars
8/12/06 Jimbob Simply Stunning, best movie Ever 5 stars
8/10/06 Greg Fantastic,my favourite film ever,powerful and moving 5 stars
12/27/05 whitfield comparing TTRL to cookiecuttercrap like Saving Ryan's Privates insultsanyone with filmsense 5 stars
10/27/05 noops a boring war film 2 stars
10/26/05 roy holt best war film ever made 5 stars
8/30/05 ES Swims in a sea of pretentiousness, trying to relate WWII to vietnam all at a snail's pace 1 stars
7/02/05 sweetgrrl1972 Really. Really. Boring. 1 stars
4/12/05 darren deeply emotional. great score. ridiculous "cameos" 4 stars
3/27/05 indrid cold Blown away by Saving Private Ryan, but more reflective and poetic. 4 stars
3/09/05 Uncle Phucker Best Word War II film ever. Cannot wait for The New World. 5 stars
11/12/04 jellica it was very sad but i did not cry 5 stars
9/13/04 sam bonner 2 good scenes, otherwise one of the worst war movies ever 1 stars
9/04/04 jeff i found it slow and boring, "saving private ryan" wanna be. sucked 2 stars
7/10/04 Daveman Beautiful but too long and weak on plot and character development. 4 stars
7/02/04 Mike Lacking a good plot but best. cinemetography. ever. 5 stars
5/05/04 Todd Restler The most visually impressive movie I've ever seen 5 stars
3/12/04 lili its cool 5 stars
2/21/04 Denise Duspiva No emotion 1 stars
1/27/04 Chloe Brody Adrien...Sean, what more could you ask for?! 5 stars
12/27/03 J One the best war dramas ever since I seen Platoon! **** out of 4 5 stars
11/25/03 homer J. Simpson an artistic master piece 5 stars
10/17/03 Jon read the book 5 stars
9/28/03 MGuettler exceptional film and the book is even better 5 stars
6/18/03 magus this film changed my life 5 stars
4/26/03 z the best i have seen in years 5 stars
2/27/03 jim nice review, i give the reviewer a 5 too. 5 stars
1/26/03 Jack Sommersby Superior to the cliche-filled "Saving Private Ryan". 4 stars
1/22/03 Pinkline Jones zzzz yet another one-sided War Movie 2 stars
1/07/03 Vince it's ok. Nick Nolte is shit in my opinion though. 3 stars
11/08/02 Charles Tatum Better than "Saving Ryan's Privates" 5 stars
5/24/02 Piz trades intellect and feelings for pure blood and guts, well put together 4 stars
5/17/02 viking a war film to please pseudo intellectuals and drive every else nuts !!! 3 stars
4/18/02 natasha the acting is incomparable, the artistry is beyond mere words 5 stars
4/17/02 Sam Blows old war cliches out of the water bringing a fresh approach. 5 stars
4/08/02 CAT Saving Private Ryan is better, this movie had bad pacing and lacked in areas 3 stars
2/27/02 Shrike You need a brain to appreciate the philosophy, and to think the original cut was 5 hours 5 stars
1/15/02 Murray Castles God what a mess. Read the book and watch SAVING PRIVATE RYAN. 2 stars
1/08/02 Andrew Carden Beautifully Done With Realistic War Scenes. 5 stars
10/02/01 Zatoichi Jones Thinking man's Saving Private Ryan 5 stars
9/10/01 Ricky War! Huh! What is it good for? 5 stars
7/21/01 Matthew Bartley Hmm, grass...more grass...hey, yet more grass! 3 stars
5/28/01 cinkcool SO LONG AND SOOOOOOO BORING 1 stars
5/22/01 Kendra Moore The movie was just a little confusing, but I still liked it because Jim Caviezel is in it. 4 stars
5/04/01 ChiefAlDog Beautiful psychological examination. Shows how doubt/fear arose even in our patriotic war. 5 stars
3/27/01 Ichabod Crane TEEN MOVIE CRITIC II IS A STUPID FUCKING COCKSUCKER. A RIP OFF?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/20/01 Sudeep One helluva movie...beats saving private ryan hands down ,any day of the year. 5 stars
3/07/01 Mike Much better than Saving pr, this is art, not hollywood 5 stars
2/25/01 Steve in Prague RIP OFF OF PRIVATE RYAN?!?!??! TEEN MOVIE CRITIC II IS A FUCKING IDIOT!! STUPID BITCH 5 stars
2/13/01 swapneel the best philosophical war movie since platoon 5 stars
11/22/00 Pionek Wieczysty More slick & "Hollywood" (i.e., Stedicam shots) than SPRyan...but good. 5 stars
11/03/00 Cristopher Revilla Ryan is war movie, thin red line is humanitarian move, you fucking assholes!!!! 5 stars
10/26/00 Colonel Carter not good 1 stars
10/22/00 Gremlin Action scenes are cool. The movie has too many slow gay parts though. 4 stars
10/21/00 Rick Dyspeptic Ted Danson in'.Ryan'? Urgh.Give me Woody Harrelson chirping"I blew my butt off!" 5 stars
8/10/00 Terrie Smith Fairly interesting film; too many characters involved but the battles scenes were well done 4 stars
8/04/00 Viking Makes "A Zed and two Noughts" look as fast paced as "Speed" 3 stars
6/27/00 Purple Monster At least "Private Ryan" seemed authentic !!!! 3 stars
6/21/00 Tojo I laughed, I cried, I wish I died... 1 stars
6/19/00 Greyjack Possibly my favorite film ever. As with most great art, you'll either love or hate it. 5 stars
6/13/00 DAVID Movie had a few nail biting moments but drags at times with stuff we dont wanna see!!!!!!! 3 stars
5/18/00 Zatoichi Jones The thinking man's Private Ryan 4 stars
5/08/00 kristm@msn.com If you think it sucks, you're missing the point 5 stars
5/04/00 P.Rodriguez I was doing my Info Tech project formulas in my head while watching this Shit. 1 stars
4/01/00 Arnaldo Cruz powerful and at the same time,beautiful scrip,super than private Ryan 5 stars
2/15/00 Hunley Needed a really good editor to cut another hour out of it to be really good. 3 stars
2/04/00 Matthew Bartley Just fucking end!!! Said absolutely nothing about war 2 stars
1/27/00 PervertedPixie Poetic and visually sublime. Not as focused as Private Ryan but alot more heart felt. 5 stars
1/19/00 k.tomkowski Directorial masterpiece and beautiful photography. The script could be better. 4 stars
1/07/00 Murray Castles The most disappointing film I have ever seen. Malick is no Spielberg. 1 stars
1/07/00 JussMatt I felt like a POW being tortured watching this. Too long, Too Shitty, Somebody Shoot Me!!! 1 stars
11/19/99 bishopj@pumpkinsfan.com Not a Spielberg fan, but Saving Pri. Ryan was better. Still good though. 4 stars
11/09/99 C.A.T.M. Did I mention this film is Fucking Awesome? 5 stars
10/27/99 Pat Lawlor Makes Saving Private Ryan looks like Disney 5 stars
10/27/99 Ralf Behet Brilliantly filmed, but unfocused and pretentious. Still worthwhile 4 stars
10/27/99 Keiros Hamburger Hill with a lot of Calvin Klein adds 2 stars
9/06/99 Weird Andy Simultaneously meditative and terrifying. 5 stars
8/19/99 KK Talk about a black hole. What an insult to veterans of the Pacific Theatre. 1 stars
8/01/99 Obi Wan I've Been Fucking Robbed!!!! Movied sucked Roseanne's Ass!!! 1 stars
7/30/99 Matthew Bartley Wow grass!!Lots of it!!...and thats it really 2 stars
7/30/99 4ever Surpassed SPR in its depth, cinematography, music, and thought 5 stars
7/24/99 Bozo The longest; the most boring; God it was agony 1 stars
7/24/99 Hagbard Celine Guess I just didn't get the Zen voice-overs. Got tired of looking at shots of tall grass. 3 stars
7/21/99 Tristynn umm.. I guess I missed something.Boring...SPR kicked this movies ASS!!! and some... 2 stars
7/06/99 Angie very strange movie....not what i thought it would be...the scenes were beautiful. 3 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg OVERLONG and boring, but it's poetry is what grasped me. 3 stars
6/19/99 Jude Best movie of the year, better than Saving Private Ryan. The OST is moving and make me cry 5 stars
4/24/99 gibb slick movie 5 stars
4/20/99 bb It was okay if you just want to kill time 3 stars
4/10/99 Keith Calder Beautifully shot. Everything else sucked. Pretentious without any real depth. 1 stars
4/04/99 Albert Snoooooooze. Go back in hiding, Malick. We'll just watch Badlands. 1 stars
4/03/99 Lily Wow, I really wish my grandfather was alive. questions... 5 stars
3/23/99 Matthew Bartley Dull,overlong and pretentious 2 stars
3/22/99 Ah Dooey Hey Katie, ypu're right. 5 stars
3/09/99 Katie Completely overrated! 1 stars
3/09/99 Karen This movie spent the whole time patting itself on the back. SUCKS!!!! 1 stars
3/09/99 Cathy & Kevin Way too long. No Plot. Boring. Got caught up on our sleep. 1 stars
3/08/99 Film Review Definately better than SPR, and that's difficult. Sound and music is pinnacle. 5 stars
3/05/99 Vick Di Brecci Lacks the momentum and urgency of SPR but better in other ways (acting, dialogue,...) 4 stars
3/04/99 Steve Kelley This movie somehow became pseudo-intellectual reviewer's chance to show off. 2 stars
3/04/99 Andrew Feland One reviewer said it best: Malick never met a leaf he didn't like. 2 stars
3/03/99 Babu I have enjoyed it up to the brim due to the Dolby Digital effects. First attack too long. 5 stars
3/02/99 BillyZ233 Terrific acting and an incredible feel to it . I loved this thing and I will see it again. 5 stars
3/02/99 EmmetOtter Very long and boring. 2 stars
2/27/99 Jerry-93 Better than Days Of Heaven. The inclusion of overt homosexual tension made this a pisser. 2 stars
2/23/99 little jerry Criticised for being obscure when what struck me was its simple clarity.Welcome back Terry. 5 stars
2/21/99 Shanandler Bong Good sound, okay acting, NO PLOT TOO FUCKIN' LONG!!!! 3 stars
2/19/99 The Graduate Very strong and beautiful, and the lack of traditional plot or main character worked well. 4 stars
2/18/99 Piz Very good movie, terrible ending, tried to be all things to all people 4 stars
2/04/99 Joel Rick Most of the film was BORING !! 2 stars
2/04/99 grunter Makes "Saving Private Ryan" stick out like the cartoon that it really was 5 stars
1/30/99 Vick Di Brecci Good, not great. I preferred Saving Private Ryan 4 stars
1/28/99 MickCollins It's been 20 years,someone remind Terry how to edit. Plus,could we see more naked natives? 1 stars
1/28/99 Melody 1 of the better movies I saw last year 5 stars
1/26/99 Danielle Boucher To long, to moralistic 1 stars
1/23/99 Cory Clawson Very intense and at times, very symbolic 5 stars
1/23/99 Mr. Film Clearly people who like this movie are much smarter than the rest of us schmucks. 1 stars
1/22/99 Tristan The best war movie I have seen since Full Metal Jacket. 5 stars
1/22/99 Brunetta Amazing! Brilliantly plotted with one of the most original arguments ever! 5 stars
1/22/99 toby Works on many levels that few seem to be grasping. Great cinematography, Nolte's awesome. 5 stars
1/21/99 Angus This movie is about 2hrs&45min too long. artsy crap pretending to be a war movie.Boring 1 stars
1/21/99 Henry Stewart Incredible, more about fear than it is about war. Definitely not for all tastes, though. 5 stars
1/21/99 Robin Bellamy Good locations, Good SFX, Bad use of top notch actors as extra, No story, Poor editing!!!!! 1 stars
1/20/99 CLC Jason S-you are so right. what a waste of money. classic crappy movie making 1 stars
1/20/99 loborojo@hotmail.com if u dont mind having your butt hurt then watch dis thing. its gud! 5 stars
1/19/99 donkey_dew Beside Saving Private Ryan and Schindler's List being the greatest movies ever made. 5 stars
1/19/99 You know who Come on, Jules. If you can't see this is PERFECTION, you should stop reviewing. 5 stars
1/18/99 Brendan Great movie you can't say anything bad about it! 5 stars
1/17/99 Amazed This film is not 180+ minutes. Get the facts before you review a film. 5 stars
1/17/99 Jeff good--but the cameos are distracting--better if made with a no-name cast 4 stars
1/17/99 crawdad The cinematography makes me want to see it again. Stunning. 5 stars
1/17/99 Jon Great Movie. Better Book. 5 stars
1/17/99 buddy Great film, I cared about these people unlike SPR where I couldn't remember their names. 5 stars
1/16/99 Jason Stein Biggest Dissapointment of the year!!!! 1 stars
1/16/99 Glitter I thought it was beautiful to look at, but there was no character depth or plot. 3 stars
1/16/99 mark Its Saving Private Ryan meets every Calvin Klein commercial. 1 stars
1/15/99 Joe Ferrara Well, not to wax too lyrical, but a lyrical epic. Almost every frame is a thing of beauty. 5 stars
1/13/99 jvt If you refuse to think don't see this movie. You'll probably walk out with the other morons 5 stars
1/13/99 Devon Good film. A bit long, but worth it. Jim Caviezel was awesome as Pvt. Witt 5 stars
1/13/99 Steve Kelley, SJKelley5@aol.com There's a point in a 3-hour poem when you want to strangle the poet. 1 stars
1/12/99 LT Terrence Mallick needs a large dose of get-over-yourself 1 stars
1/12/99 Mr Showbiz Jim Caviezel turns in a breakout performance, and Sean Penn and Nick Nolte also shine. 5 stars
1/12/99 Charles von Waldenberg III It was too long, incoherant, pointless and pretentious. Anyone get the point? 2 stars
1/10/99 Johny Miles above of Private Ryan, a great film 5 stars
1/09/99 crc this movie was a joke. i laughed at john travolta, and clooney. and nolte-pleeease. boring 1 stars
1/06/99 Vincent U know nothing about Terry Mallick Tiffany- get a clue 5 stars
1/06/99 Tiffany It REALLY wanted to be an art film along the lines of Apocalypse Now. It fell MILES short! 1 stars
1/05/99 Vincent 1- the film is under 3 hours 2- it's a NEW adaptation of the book NOT a remake of the film 5 stars
1/04/99 Landru Overrated. Full Metal Jacket was a better depiction of combat. 3 stars
1/03/99 Critic Deluxe Typical stereotypes from Hollywood writers. Technical inconsistencies detract. Good action 4 stars
12/30/98 sin chul lee korea 5 stars
12/26/98 The Dude COULD THIS MOVIE BE ANY FUCKING BETTEER------I DON'T THINK SO 5 stars
12/25/98 Cage Not as good as Private Ryan, but extremely well done.. Moving. 5 stars
12/25/98 Binky One word sums it up. Wow. 5 stars
12/07/98 Dick Richie Long, but what a great film. Lots of subplots, all riveting. 5 stars
11/21/98 RaidersFan Ben Chaplin makes a great American.This is an incredible movie!!! 5 stars
11/21/98 Richard Hill Astonishing. Don't expect "S.P. Ryan". More subdued, hypnotic. Harrelson, Penn great. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Dec-1998 (R)
  DVD: 28-Sep-2010

UK
  N/A

Australia
  18-Feb-1999 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast