More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.03

Awesome55.62%
Worth A Look: 16.41%
Average: 12.16%
Pretty Bad: 6.99%
Total Crap: 8.81%

10 reviews, 269 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Shakespeare in Love
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by davebo

"have ye the wits to see it"
5 stars

Geez, Its about damn time someone made this movie :)

What a great idea this movie was, a fictional story about how Shakespeare got inspired to create Romeo and Juliet, and then Twelfth Night, and its good too!! This is a great story that actually manages to invoke almost as much emotion as Romeo and Juliet itself. When you step back and look at it, it really reminds me of a shakespeare play itself, with all the little witticisms and language. Costumes are great, sets capture the mood well, there's a sword fight too! I really enjoyed this movie. I'm no Shakespeare buff (i passed on a chance to play Trinculo in high school, silly me) but i really think Shakespeare would have enjoyed this movie (assuming it really was he who wrote all those plays, eh?)

Innovative and pleasant, I really like it, give it a shot.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=735&reviewer=30
originally posted: 01/14/99 16:25:54
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/16/14 PAUL SHORTT CLEVER, WITTY ROMANTIC COMEDY, WITH SOME GREAT PERFORMANCES 4 stars
4/05/12 Gwyneth Paltrow Why didn't anyone tell Colin Firth he was supposed to be a FUNNY villian? 3 stars
5/03/11 Will Shakespeare I was portrayed horribly in this movie 1 stars
9/23/10 Emily Sand Even in tights, Colin Firth has nothing to show 4 stars
6/28/09 will tenner overlong and terrible and pretentious 1 stars
7/28/07 fools♫gold All thecleverparts cancel out a couple vague mistakes. Watch again b4 giving below 4 stars! 5 stars
1/07/07 Nagisa Not amazing, but at times amusing. Paltrow put me off with her flat acting and limp stance. 3 stars
9/14/06 Patrick Petty excellent film, great script by tom stoppard 5 stars
5/26/06 Kimberly Dull As someone who has read a lot of Shakespeare, I just love this movie. 5 stars
3/10/06 Dk Overated in every sense though it still has a nice charm 3 stars
8/25/05 ES Thought it would be terrible, it wasn't, not at all = check it out 4 stars
6/19/05 Darryl 7 awards? Please. This is a piece of crap. Stinks, especially Paltrow's performance. 1 stars
2/14/05 Angela Saunders Delightful! Gwyneth in one of her best. 4 stars
12/29/04 Phil M. Aficionado A glowing, original delight and for me an unexpected one. I don't like period movies muh. 5 stars
9/27/04 NJ Cup Winner 95-00-03 Dench & Geoff Rush the only reason to tolerate this; Paltroweth ruineth the resteth for me 2 stars
9/13/04 sam bonner Paltrow was great, and really deserved the oscar 5 stars
8/16/04 Peter James A good movie, but Saving Private Ryan was the best picture of 1998 4 stars
8/06/04 DM One of those rare movies that gets everything right 5 stars
7/29/04 AnGeL PwiNCeSs Too MUcH SeX but woZ realLy gD 4 stars
7/23/04 Shaz I laughed I cried 5 stars
5/19/04 Marionette i sit through about half of the movie... 1 stars
5/13/04 John charming and well acted 4 stars
3/31/04 sansho Well made, worthy but a bit bland 4 stars
2/19/04 MP Bartley Most over-rated film ever? Shallow and smug, it's far too pleased with itself. 1 stars
2/13/04 Kai Simple, yet effective. Funny, yet heartbreaking. Wonderful. 5 stars
12/31/03 mercie its a mite too long but otherwise its a great movie!!! i love joseph in tights,he looks so 5 stars
10/11/03 theresea one of the best movies i've seen. I love romantic movies 5 stars
10/02/03 Mopsa Funny, but totally overrated 4 stars
9/26/03 eddie and james that movie will make anyone pussywooped to their bitch just cause its a bitches movie. 2 stars
6/15/03 Shawnna L'Mate awesome movie 5 stars
6/07/03 Fred Simple, unoriginal plot. Characters without depth. Certainly not worth an Academy Award. 1 stars
5/06/03 King of the Kebabs Another pile of dreck aimed at the pretentious Shakespeareites 1 stars
4/08/03 Mystique Perfect acting! 5 stars
2/27/03 ttiinnaa kind of okay, but not really 2 stars
2/14/03 abc i'm not a good fan of romance but i must say this's pretty good 5 stars
1/23/03 Pinkline Jones Wherefore Art Thou Roman Polanski? Put Geoff's Balls in a Blender 1 stars
1/11/03 Can't stand Gwynnie Even though I will give this a "Pretty Crappy" rating, it's really a piece of shit 2 stars
1/04/03 freewaygl lacking in depth not fooled by british accents and clothing sauf Judy Dench is UNREAL 3 stars
12/30/02 Matt TITTIES. NICE PALTROW TITTIES. 4 stars
12/28/02 DMF Yes. Sense of humor a must. Doesn't seem to be one here, tho. 5 stars
11/28/02 Lady who hates romantic comedies Oh look -- Shakespeare's in love with a boring, bony, blonde preppie chick! 3 stars
10/10/02 mr. Pink One of the most overrated movies of the 90`s. a one-joke script movie with miscast actors 2 stars
10/02/02 snowconehead every visible person in this movie had a vagina 3 stars
9/21/02 I Can't Swim Old pros Rush & Dench save it from assclowns Paltroweth & Afflecketh 2 stars
8/12/02 Michael Carruthers Where foreout a great movie in a crappy year? Look here! Oh yeah! 5 stars
8/10/02 Jake I thought it was -- W O R T H L E S S -- 1 stars
8/05/02 Kortni yeah it was ok 4 stars
5/17/02 Jake I don't think so... 1 stars
4/23/02 KMG Ben Assfleck should dress like a 1500s pimpologist more often 4 stars
4/22/02 Charles Tatum Paltry Paltrow should not have been the center of the story. 3 stars
4/06/02 Junshi It was alright, it had emotion but doesn't commit to the memory 4 stars
3/26/02 lacole i think that this is the dumbest movie that i have ever seen besides dumb and dumber. 1 stars
1/24/02 Flick Chick pretty crappy about sums it up. 2 stars
12/30/01 sarafina I don't remember it.. 4 stars
11/28/01 ferring here ye here ye, paltrow is not believable in romantic roles. 2 stars
9/16/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Pretty cool. 4 stars
8/31/01 spaceworm Dearth of intelligent commentary here... 4 stars
8/19/01 Dr. Thompson Totally overrated. that Paltrow slit is such a little princess, she licks hemmoroids. 2 stars
8/12/01 totally totally overrated. only Dench deserved the praise she received for this film. 3 stars
8/09/01 I'm Da Man! What davebo said. 5 stars
7/23/01 Jillian Thompson It was good, but not Oscar whothy. 3 stars
7/07/01 Elvisfan Saved from 'TOTAL CRAP' thx to Dench and Rush; rest of them blew my dog 2 stars
7/07/01 TLsmooth Yeah, instead watch a great guy flick like The Replacements or Tomcats. 5 stars
7/06/01 Craig Blanchard WARNING: Guys, don't let yr gf's trick you into watching this! 1 stars
5/22/01 zeitgeist terribly over-rated, not witty at all... the Oscars didn't surprise me. 2 stars
4/25/01 J Suprisingly better than Elizabeth but its not best picture. 4 stars
4/23/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Pretty good save for that bag of bones Gwyneth. If she doesn't die soon, I'll kill her. 4 stars
3/28/01 Jesse L With this concept and cast it couldn't miss... 5 stars
3/22/01 Sthenno A flippant,romp of romantic drivel.The directing was nothing special as well as the acting. 2 stars
3/09/01 gmh Well done except for Paltrow and her bad accent. No wonder she won the Oscar. 3 stars
2/25/01 INCUBATOR Joseph Fiennes should`ve got an Oscar... 4 stars
2/24/01 Marie Charming...Not award winning material in any capacity though. Silly little love movie. 2 stars
2/17/01 Jake very amusing and entertaining. I love Rush's classic line. 5 stars
12/15/00 viking The Bard has never been this appealing 5 stars
12/08/00 jack mehoff Even Gwyneths saggy tits couldn't keep me awake. 2 stars
12/05/00 R.W. Welch Very clever concept, nicely brought off. 5 stars
11/03/00 dan wow! loved gwyneth's tit shots! she has beautiful pointy breasts 5 stars
10/15/00 Josh Good, but not as good as you've heard. 4 stars
10/02/00 Zeitgeist "and the most over-rated movie of 1998 goes to..." 2 stars
9/06/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Should have Call this movie, Nepotism In Love. Ms. Paltrow has no talent, only connections 4 stars
8/17/00 Terrie Smith Well done period piece but over-rated at Oscar time; good performances make it worth while. 5 stars
7/15/00 Jed Better than elizabeth but still it is overlong and IS NOT BEST PICTURE OF 1998! 4 stars
6/28/00 Naushad Khanji Once again a triumph of Hype and gloss over content.One for Academy shitheads 2 stars
6/26/00 stranded on the Island Excellent movie, the ravishing Gwyneth was in peak form... 5 stars
6/01/00 PJ OVERRATED!!! but still enjoyable 3 stars
4/21/00 Bruce A good movie, but did it really deserve to win best picture? 4 stars
4/14/00 Gingerwoman Why why why do people like this crappy movie? If Joe and Ben weren't such spunks one star 2 stars
3/25/00 Piz fluff movie that the old stuff Academy loves, every other movie nominated was better. 3 stars
3/01/00 Mic Excellent film, but never deserved to topple SPR. 5 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Drop Kate Winslet or Christina Ricci over Gwyneth Paltrow. Then we'll talk. 3 stars
1/29/00 puppyboy434@aol.com Joseph Fiennes was robbed of a best actor oscar 5 stars
1/10/00 Will Paltrow could NEVER pass as a man... but otherwise I was pleasantly surprised 4 stars
12/18/99 SID Couldn't sit through it. 2 stars
12/16/99 brentorama Great movie, but didn't deserve best movie Oscar over "Saving Private Ryan". 5 stars
12/05/99 Eric S. Somewhat humorous, but very overrated and it didn't deserve those oscars it received. 3 stars
11/24/99 Murray Castles Fluff. How in hell did it win best picture??? 1 stars
10/25/99 Bueller An actors movie. Good. Saving Private Ryan was a better film. 4 stars
9/18/99 Melissa Incredibly overrated - the Oscars are a fucking joke. 3 stars
9/17/99 strike Must be the most overrated movie in years. Uneven and boring at times. G.Rush was terrible. 2 stars
9/09/99 Haden The more you enjoy Shakespeare, the more you will enjoy this film 4 stars
7/19/99 Chef ADogg Passionate, beautiful, lush. And a very universal theme. 4 stars
7/19/99 blue b. Chick flick 4 stars
7/08/99 Ann I really enjoyed it-made me question the meaning of love 5 stars
7/04/99 randy grubbs this is an ok movie at best. saving pvt. ryan should have won the oscar 3 stars
6/25/99 Al See it!!! 5 stars
6/19/99 Jude Well, SIL is over-rated and Emily Watson should take the oscar instead of Paltrow 3 stars
6/17/99 matchbox20 Someone should have taken the rock out of Paltrow's pants and thrown it at her head!!! 1 stars
6/15/99 David It's ok, but spends so much time being "clever" and "witty" that you just don't care. 3 stars
6/14/99 The Mongoose The kind of film that artsie fartsie pseudointellectuals would like. 1 stars
6/09/99 PurityJustBegs this film restored my faith in Cinemas abilty to caress and portray the power of language.. 4 stars
6/09/99 Elizaveta 'Elizabeth' was MUCH better...so was Cate Blanchett 4 stars
6/06/99 CozoShimpo Most over-rated piece of English DUNG since The Crying Game 1 stars
5/31/99 ah ha! Oh yeah. Not too bad. 3 stars
5/29/99 Voyant Joseph Fiennes is dreamy. 5 stars
5/21/99 Jerry Gwyneth, Joseph, Dame Judi, Geoffrey, Colin, Ben, Rupert --- what more need I say?! 5 stars
5/11/99 Maria Excellent, clever script...and Ben Affleck! Gotta love that! 5 stars
5/10/99 Beachlovr9 Joseph Fiennes was excellent, the whole cast was excellent...a must see 5 stars
5/09/99 Rod Santacruz Such a well written and directed film...a real pleasure to see 5 stars
5/06/99 ali zikria universal 5 stars
5/04/99 Ali B. This is the most poetic film I've seen in a while and it is worth the attention. 5 stars
4/30/99 Derf Ttoille MAGNIFICO! Even for those who do not necessarily like Shakespeare! 5 stars
4/30/99 Evan Hughes Good movie if you're really into Shakespeare. Not all that great otherwise. 4 stars
4/30/99 Goddess Oh, I just love it! There's nothing more to say. 5 stars
4/29/99 Charles Windsor Glorius. Absolutely the BEST! 5 stars
4/28/99 Jeff What a cast! Leads and supporting! Glorious! Stunning! BEST OF THE YEAR! 5 stars
4/28/99 George Gwynie where for art thou Gwynie? What mre can I say? 5 stars
4/28/99 GwyniesTheBest Gwyneth is the BEST, Joe Fiennes is no "Warikshire shithouse", and Judi Dench RULES! 5 stars
4/28/99 Dina A glorious film 5 stars
4/28/99 Christopher Marlowe Fantastic cast, great story, beautiful music, wonerful costumes, magnificent sets 5 stars
4/28/99 HOLLY KRENEK THIS WAS DEFINATELY WORTH GETTING BEST PICTURE, AND MY SEVEN DOLLARS TO SEE IT!!!! 5 stars
4/27/99 Bushman I'm now a Paltrow fan. Good, original sceenplay, even Affleck didn't bug me. 5 stars
4/26/99 Blythe Seen it too many times to count. Why? Because it is smart and funny and beautiful. 5 stars
4/22/99 Christopher Bacher The flik where J. Feinnes runs at the camera 4 stars
4/20/99 John Tesh one great flick! 5 stars
4/20/99 Mr.Beu Jangle what was all the hulabuloo about????? Spend your movie $$ on the Matrix 2 stars
4/19/99 Jake Alonzo-She has NO TITS!! This movie can suckith my ass 1 stars
4/18/99 Skylar Bit clichéd for ppl new to S, but that's 'cos S INVENTED these clichés! Great acting&story! 5 stars
4/17/99 Spic Madam! How your enormous foreskin shades me from the sun! 3 stars
4/16/99 kmk with all the hype i was braced for a letdown, but paltrow and fiennes were amazing. 5 stars
4/14/99 Ami the Wonderbread Anything that has Shakespeare has gotta kick ass 5 stars
4/13/99 Robin Spiller It was lovely,Ben Affleck was a hotty! 5 stars
4/12/99 Callie An enchanting film, everything about it is wonderful. 5 stars
4/11/99 Alonzo Gwyenth Paltrow show's her tits, so it's definitely worth checking out. They aren't big. 4 stars
4/10/99 mara beautiful cinematography and direction...the actors glow 5 stars
4/10/99 Aaron W. Pennington I just can't say enough about this movie. If you like movies, you will love SIL. 5 stars
4/10/99 cinthi the best film of 98! 5 stars
4/10/99 Keith Calder The screenplay was the real star here, but everything else was top notch too. 5 stars
4/10/99 Spanky God save the queen 5 stars
4/09/99 Matt Miller It wasn't very good, but it was original 3 stars
4/08/99 Dave me thinkith it suckith 1 stars
4/08/99 Brian M great little film but not 1998's best 4 stars
4/07/99 Geoffrey T. Spaulding Damn Good Movie! Funny ass old guy sex scenes! GO SEE IT!! 5 stars
4/06/99 krisann bruton one of the better ones i've seen 5 stars
4/06/99 Shanandler Bong This movie was Great. Ben was wonderful, and Joseph was devine. 5 stars
4/05/99 sam they can shove it up Phil McCrevises ass 1 stars
4/03/99 Jerry Gwyneth has the acting range of a 2 year old 1 stars
4/03/99 Lily Rubbish. My cat has more soul than Gwyneth Paltry. 2 stars
4/01/99 maeve birrell Great stuff. Great acting. 4 stars
4/01/99 Cari The best movie I have seen in.... Forever! 5 stars
3/31/99 Anna Rönngård Good looking Shakespeare 5 stars
3/30/99 benjamin.lesbian A fun movie, worth the admission and met/exceeded my expectations. Best picture? No. 4 stars
3/30/99 starless really beautiful 5 stars
3/29/99 Norm Don't go. 1 stars
3/29/99 Da MAN If you like fucked up accents then this is 4u 1 stars
3/29/99 mitch gwyneth sucked! Much ado about NADDA!!! 1 stars
3/29/99 Ebert's twin Gwyneth, most overrated actress of our time. Shakespeare is turning in his grave. 1 stars
3/28/99 Daniela Laughed and especially cried a lot - one DOES get sentimental at 30! 4 stars
3/28/99 HeatherLadyBug Fucking, Fucking Awesome 5 stars
3/27/99 starla A very romantic movie, passionate performances by Paltrow, Fiennes, Dench. Good script. 4 stars
3/26/99 Shel A brilliant movie with a side order of Ben Affleck - sweet. 5 stars
3/26/99 debbie tuttle you know, once i got to play the jester in 12th night... 4 stars
3/25/99 catalina shakespeare in lame 3 stars
3/24/99 jvt Best Picture my arse 3 stars
3/22/99 hum very clever use of shakespearian cliche and trope 5 stars
3/19/99 Lauren Nicole Great movie, really creative and some hilarioius parts!!!! 5 stars
3/18/99 Leah Campbell Stoppard is amazing 5 stars
3/18/99 carol anne wonderful movie!! must see!! 5 stars
3/16/99 Jennie James Loved the movie! Ben's lines were definetly the funniest! 5 stars
3/15/99 karen awesome 5 stars
3/14/99 Dharma I LOVE YOU JOSEPH FIENNES!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/14/99 Deana Absolutely amazing. I could drown in Joseph Fiennes' eyes 5 stars
3/13/99 Chyna All I can say is - damn, was it good! 5 stars
3/11/99 Bats What was there not to like? Great ensemble cast. 4 stars
3/11/99 Meg Joe Fiennes' eyes ... what's sexier?! 5 stars
3/10/99 Kenda Amazing script, great cast, yes, yes, YES! 5 stars
3/09/99 Katie I think wonderful is the best word to describe this film; wonderful script and performances 5 stars
3/09/99 The Buffy Chick oh man this is such a great movie. 5 stars
3/08/99 Film Review Not as great as the hype, but still an excellent film. 4 stars
3/07/99 Donna Even tho Imn a staunch anti-gwynner, joeseph fiennes won me over...yum! 5 stars
3/07/99 Uncle Flacid Solid flick, some of the edits were brutal, Gwen's affected speech was grating at first 4 stars
3/04/99 Lucy B. The ultimate Romantic movie. Joseph Fiennes' perfomance is breath-taking! 5 stars
3/04/99 Katie Suck it 5 stars
3/04/99 Erica mmm. Ben. mmm. Joseph. 5 stars
3/04/99 Andrew Feland The tightest script I've seen in a while. Incredible. 5 stars
3/03/99 Rebecca For a shakespeare lover, it really was fucking awesome 5 stars
3/01/99 jvt Wait! If the academy says it's great then I must love it! 3 stars
3/01/99 Blythe Everyone I have taken to see it has sat in awed silence at the end. 5 stars
2/28/99 Jo Fab title for a shallow movie that's hook is making the audience feel culturally literate. 3 stars
2/27/99 Jerry-93 I was shocked as HELL to see the tits on that little boy. And to think he dated Brad Pitt. 5 stars
2/25/99 Lucy Loved it alot 5 stars
2/24/99 Kenda Brilliant script. 5 stars
2/24/99 Scott Nothing better than getting a joke that most(in the theater)don't get-Excellent Film 5 stars
2/24/99 trussell@contactdallas.com Simply Brilliant!!! 5 stars
2/24/99 Happy D. Again? What's with putting Ben first on the casting list for his cameo?! 5 stars
2/22/99 Jeff HOUN Loved this movie, very entertaining and refreshing comedy, and had to be dragged to see it 5 stars
2/20/99 Cool Thing And you sir, are a Warwickshire shithouse. 5 stars
2/19/99 Jen The irony and wit is great! 5 stars
2/19/99 Jamie SIL was amazing! My fave line! Ben Afflecks response to Mercutio's fate "He dies?" 5 stars
2/19/99 Alexis Awesome 5 stars
2/19/99 Derek Stoppard and Norman thoroughly infatuate us with love of Shakespeare and language itself. 5 stars
2/19/99 jess harry wonderfully written and acted 5 stars
2/19/99 The Graduate Clever and witty romp, even for the Bardically-challenged. 5 stars
2/19/99 chuck-d it was so good! A date movie that just kicks dramatic amounts of ass (pun intended) 5 stars
2/17/99 Kooky Sal Didn't expect it to match the hype. Thy did and then some. Paltrow was good(!) 5 stars
2/14/99 Joe smaltz Did justice to Shakespeares romances 5 stars
2/14/99 Rolf Steiner Sorry, has to be the most overated flick since Titanic. 1 stars
2/14/99 Cheezypoof Simply awesome. Fiennes & Paltrow deserve oscars! 5 stars
2/11/99 Dasha Smart, funny, just AWESOME! 5 stars
2/07/99 Giladani Awesome script. Decent performances, enjoyable all around. 4 stars
2/01/99 Tom Ripley One of the most joyously literate films I've ever seen. How did this get thru Hollywood? 5 stars
1/28/99 donkey_dew Shakespeare In Love scores big...Really big!!! 5 stars
1/24/99 Theresa Excellent film! 5 stars
1/23/99 Goofaloo A really smartly written film. Borderline genious. 5 stars
1/23/99 Dread Pirate Roberts Awesomely romantic, amusing -- lends new impact and interest to Shakespeare's works. 5 stars
1/20/99 CLC it was ok. beautiful costumes. 50/50, see it in the theatre or at home 4 stars
1/20/99 Movie Geezer a wonderful movie loaded with great parts 5 stars
1/19/99 Chronically hip Keep rating the same movie, AOL girl, and you'll be banned. Good flick on it's own merits. 4 stars
1/17/99 Suzz a 90 minute film with 30 minutes of plot and a screenplay only Mel Brooks could love 2 stars
1/17/99 tyler everett i love shakespeare, and i was incredibly moved by this movie. It was amazing 5 stars
1/13/99 buddy Best film of the year, should win best picture Oscar. 5 stars
1/12/99 Mr Showbiz Don't miss it. 5 stars
1/12/99 Gamma The theatre I was in was PACKED and the volume was too low - otherwise great. 4 stars
1/11/99 Joe C. Paltrow's radiance steals the show! A great supporting cast(even Ben Affleck was watchable) 5 stars
1/11/99 Blubberbot It was OK. It looked really good. It had some dumb parts. It also had some good parts. 3 stars
1/10/99 Hal Great film, loved every minute of it. 5 stars
1/09/99 Buffy Terrific film, Oscars to all the main cast! 5 stars
1/08/99 Confused Waiting to find out what makes this film so damn special. Just a decent entry in the genre. 3 stars
1/08/99 Jason Mewes Not as good as Jaws 3-D 1 stars
1/07/99 chuck-d loved it. any movie that makes me cry must be good (re: armageddon) 5 stars
1/07/99 Evil Buffy this was so pretty and neat and fun and cool and stuff. what can i say? 5 stars
1/05/99 Brent Great entertainment. The more you've read of Shakespeare, the more you'll enjoy this film. 5 stars
1/03/99 Daisy a very celver film, the writing and acting are wonderful. 5 stars
1/03/99 Kenneth excellent, excellent film. fiennes, paltrow, superb. 5 stars
1/03/99 One Hung Low Geek central. Lame fiction. Shakespeare was not half that dynamic. 1 stars
1/02/99 Deena Amazing movie, everyone deserves an Oscar nod. 5 stars
1/02/99 Matthew Finally, Paltrow gets a chance to really act in a film. And she does it very well in this! 5 stars
1/02/99 Chris Great film, the whole cast was amazing, deserves an Oscar for writing. 5 stars
1/02/99 Louis XIV Yawn. Funny at moments. Trite and cliche much of the time. 2 stars
1/02/99 John Trivialization of a great man's life. How Hollywoodish. 1 stars
1/01/99 Jo Fiennes and Paltrow were magnificent! 5 stars
12/31/98 Cinderella Great film! Fiennes and Paltrow were superb. 5 stars
12/31/98 Steven Best film I've seen in a long time 5 stars
12/31/98 Sara Wonderful flick, it's funny, romantic, sexy, and fabulous! 5 stars
12/30/98 Danni Excellent film, one of the best f of the year 5 stars
12/29/98 Christina Tom Stoppard's script is brilliant, glorious acting. Joseph Fiennes- one to watch. 5 stars
12/28/98 WinnieDaPooh brilliant movie!!!!! 5 stars
12/28/98 Johny Way too long-- I see the appeal, but it's highly overpraised 3 stars
12/28/98 Joe Schmo excellent film, i enjoyed it very much. paltrow was excellent! 5 stars
12/27/98 Kate Amazing movie! 5 stars
12/27/98 LST One of the best films of the year! 5 stars
12/26/98 Mike F bad movie 1 stars
12/25/98 {{{OZ}}} God damn wonderful flick. 5 stars
12/24/98 CarolT How come Geoffrey Rush is'nt on your cast list??! 4 stars
12/24/98 Heather Loved this movie, very witty, one of my year's best 5 stars
12/23/98 Lou Pine, Jr. Anachronistic but highly engaging. Dench sublime/Paltrow & Fiennes superb/Affleck miscast. 4 stars
12/20/98 Mr Showbiz A rollicking romantic comedy that strikes a rare pitch. Bravura performances. 5 stars
12/16/98 Binky A vvery different tilt on Shakespeare. Great movie. 5 stars
12/04/98 Kirgo very clever and inventive! 5 stars
11/25/98 Linda Ben is in this....no doubt it's going to be awesome. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  04-Dec-1998 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Feb-1999 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast