More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.75

Awesome: 4.43%
Worth A Look: 8.87%
Average: 7.88%
Pretty Bad: 14.78%
Total Crap64.04%

12 reviews, 131 user ratings



Wild Wild West
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by PyThomas

"'Wild' definitely sums it up."
4 stars

Now that the buzz, the hoopla, and the negative shitstorm surrounding Wild Wild West has died down, and since I never had a chance to see it, I finally drove to a dollar theater (there's ONLY ONE discount theater in Austin - what's up with THAT???) in the beginning of October to check out this film.

And while I wasn't totally blown away, I was still entertained and enthralled by the premise.... Old West meets James Bond, right out of the 1965-70 CBS television series, this time with a bit of H.G. Wells-esque science fiction and Blazing Saddles-caliber slapstick thrown in.

James West (Will "Don't Call Me Fresh Prince" Smith) is a sharp-shootin' special agent of the United States Government hot on the trail of a double-dealin' retired Confederate general "Bloodbath" McGrath (Ted Levine). President Ulysses S. Grant teams him up with eccentric inventor and spy Artemis Gordon (Kevin "President Dave" Kline) to nail McGrath once and for all. A special train, the Wanderer No. 5 (think of Air Force One as a mid-1800s locomotive, with hidden traps and clever hiding places) is assigned to them as they follow some cleverly-discovered leads.

Where the leads initially take them is New Orleans, where they discover that McGrath is just a pawn for the more devious schemes of a Dr. Arliss Loveless (Kenneth Branagh... yes, that is HIM, I shit you not), a mad inventor and Confederate sympathizer in a steam-powered wheelchair, who wants to take over the just-expanded United States of America and divide it up amongst its enemies, keeping a sizable chunk of the nation for himself.

Also getting mixed up in things is Rita Escobar (Salma "Serendipity" Hayek), a burlesque dancer trying to find her scientist father. You see, he was abducted (along with a bunch of other 19th-century brainiacs) by Loveless, for the purpose of putting together, among other high-tech-for-the-1860s munitions, a giant spider-like war machine to aid him in defeating the President and his forces. And what a better time and place to capture the Prez than in isolated Utah, where Grant is going for the historical Promontory Point railroad-joining ceremony.

This is basically a gadget-driven film, where the just-satisfactory performances by the major stars are somewhat overshadowed by all the interesting gizmos and visual-effects spectacles populating the story. The only couple drawbacks I encountered were the fight scene between West and what looks to be a steel man/android, which seemed unbelievable even for this film; and the final lines at the end, where West asks Gordon, "Can I ask you a question?".... but we NEVER HEAR THAT QUESTION. I thought that was a bit sloppy on the filmmakers' behalf.

However, there is much to like about Wild Wild West. Barry Sonnenfeld makes the most of everything involved... the plot is decently solid, and you can't help but be fascinated by the imaginative things that were presumably dreamed up using 1860s technology. Kenneth Branagh is fun to watch as the fey and sinister Loveless - you could hardly believe that this is in real life a middle-aged Brit, what with the makeup job and his almost-flawless Southern accent. Finally, and personally, it's hard for me to hate a film that makes a mention of my native hometown of Galveston.

This is a fast, furious and fun movie that admittedly won't appeal to everyone... but if you're a fan of both Westerns and Sci-Fi, you may very well dig this unconventional cowpoke tale.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=736&reviewer=9
originally posted: 10/03/99 15:28:09
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

12/20/09 Jeff Wilder Decent attempts by Smith and Kline can't make up for ineptitude in the writing. 1 stars
10/28/09 the dork knight Looks a bit-washed out and gross. Visuals aside, it's hella funny 4 stars
8/24/08 Samantha Pruitt pretty corny, but still a good time. The song is cool though, and the giant spider was cool 3 stars
12/19/07 Pamela White nothing like the origional 2 stars
5/29/07 action movie fan it was fun to watch a james bond of the time it was set in 4 stars
5/08/07 R.W.Welch Waste of good F/X money. Watch reruns of the old TV show instead. 2 stars
4/19/07 Stevo UK Takes the piss out of true American history. I know that, and im from Yorkshire. 1 stars
1/01/07 del Ahh, the beginning of Will Smith's decline... 1 stars
12/26/06 johnnyfog Good documenterary on Salma's ass. Kevin Kline made me laugh though... 3 stars
10/09/06 Ned was a wee on when i watched it, but it kept me entertained with all of the loud noises 3 stars
10/05/06 Indrid Cold Why were people so down on this? I thought it was quite entertaining and original. 4 stars
7/12/06 Roy Sci-Fi was cool, action was cool,but all to far-fetched for a movie set in 1870 3 stars
6/10/06 Billy Warner Brothers sure knows what CGI is all about, but I was bored 3 stars
5/21/06 Kcaj Has it's good moments but the storyline is plastic. But it ain't that bad 3 stars
2/07/06 Anthony James Bond meets Cowboys 2 stars
9/13/05 Total Crap Extremely Forgettable Movie. Dumb jokes. Hell, Shark Tale is better than this. 1 stars
8/17/05 ES Ack! this movie got a better rating than 'Soldier'= giant spiders my ass! 1 stars
3/14/05 Jeff Anderson The kind of greedy & humorless JUNK that makes me hate W. Smith films forever & I MEAN THAT 1 stars
10/25/04 DM I'll be as clear as possible: THIS MOVIE SUCKS! 1 stars
6/04/04 Mitch "Citizen Kane" it ain't, but I've always found it entertaining enough. 3 stars
2/23/04 Kyle *smirk* 1 stars
1/15/04 Samuel a decent cast wasted 2 stars
1/06/04 tricky dick Who should my ex-wife blow for me to get my money back? 2 stars
12/20/03 LP1 Stupid but hilarious 5 stars
11/01/03 Littlepurch Actors gr8! Jokes hilarious and never stop! Story's not too bad either. 4 stars
10/15/03 DrSkyTower A steaming pile of Horse Shit 1 stars
3/31/03 rash xxx 5 stars
3/10/03 Matt Thiel I didn't pay to see this. These idiots don't deserve my money, and they don't deserve yours 1 stars
2/10/03 Joe What A Piece Of Crap 1 stars
2/10/03 Joe What A Piece Of Crap 1 stars
10/21/02 Chiend Bad enough to give Hollywood a bad name, if such a thing is possible. 1 stars
6/27/02 Jenny Trout The worst movie I have seen in, oh wait, forever. 1 stars
3/18/02 mn oh no he [Will Smith] won't. not another movie sighs 1 stars
3/06/02 Brittany James Love Salma Hayek, but her role in this is only half-assed in more ways than one. 2 stars
2/27/02 Good God!!!!!!!! Will Smith is cool & charming and all, but he did nothing for this slop. 2 stars
12/15/01 big boy You people dont know what good means your all a bunch of sbuttheads 5 stars
11/17/01 I want movies Hey you dumb people are insulting Will Smith 5 stars
9/17/01 Gary Horrible, horrible movie. Unfunny, over-flashy and just plain annoying. 1 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Will made a fuck up...Will made a fuck up...nah, nah, nah, nah,nah,nah 1 stars
4/19/01 Tam CHEESEY SHIT! But at least it gave me an excuse to stare at Will Smith. 1 stars
2/15/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Should've been called. "Vile Vile Mess"...avoid as you would a bad case of the clap. 1 stars
2/01/01 cheese Satan sat on a toliet, and this came out. 1 stars
1/20/01 Ground Zero this was a really shitty movie! I didn't enjoy it at all!!! 1 stars
1/18/01 I love movies somehow this movie worked for me 4 stars
11/29/00 Cristopher Revilla what the fuck was that?!!! man this movie stunk, and whoever likes it is a fuckhead!!!! 1 stars
11/03/00 dan ohhh... that woman in the tower is hoooooot! 5 stars
10/13/00 Jason terrible...go to the symphony! 1 stars
10/13/00 Josh I now believe that the end is near.... 1 stars
9/09/00 Jed I agree with David Rogers this movie is excellent! 5 stars
8/26/00 NoRefill Should have been calle "Wild, Wild, Sucks". I hated it. Not like the original at all. 1 stars
7/09/00 Andrew Freeman This made me not want to masturbate for weeks 1 stars
6/20/00 Ulatekk Terrible. I don't think blacks were allowed in the Secret Service until the 1960's... 1 stars
5/30/00 danilo hilarious and totally misunderstood movie that's definitely worth a look 4 stars
4/27/00 Pansy Awful. The only thing that stood in ths flick was Hayek's hooters. 1 stars
3/11/00 Richard Wright Whats the fuss about, this is as dumb as your average summer movie.Better than Godzilla too 2 stars
3/06/00 Kyle Broflovski It's like being bitten by Cujo while trapped in a hot car. Actually, it's worse. 1 stars
2/22/00 Mr. Kramitall Release the series on video now, and destroy until the last copy of this horrid travesty. 1 stars
11/25/99 Mark Awful 1 stars
11/04/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster "Oh you is all that brutha" , get over yourself Smith you suck more than ya movies. 2 stars
10/26/99 H'Woodbigshot Yo! Wuz up, Homes. Not this piece of Bimzi. 1 stars
10/20/99 Lame-Oh All Seeing I, you genius! Oughta be called Vile Vile Mess! 1 stars
10/19/99 Bueller The film focuses more on humor than the TV series did. Gadgets are cooler though. 4 stars
10/17/99 Mr. Invincible For heaven's sake, Will, stick to your music carrer! Sheesh! 1 stars
10/14/99 Gunslinger This movie is a complete waste of time and money. Will Smith should stick to rapping! 1 stars
10/11/99 Ben Ryan What a piece of dogshit! Smith, move on, sing sing, don't act, don't act. 1 stars
10/10/99 Viral Messiah Sheer stupidity. 1 stars
10/04/99 the Grinch Couldve been better,loved KenB,it was entertaining,and that's all it was intended to be. 3 stars
10/04/99 Suckit boring as hell 1 stars
10/03/99 Joe Schmoe Dude, this is bad! 1 stars
9/29/99 Orgazmo A wild wild test of your intelligence 1 stars
9/25/99 mike minshell excellent film 5 stars
9/24/99 old muther hubbard this movie was wy too violent 4 little old me 3 stars
9/23/99 Slushie I agree with the pineapple dude. 1 stars
9/20/99 Weird Andy An embarrassment to the terrific TV show. 1 stars
9/20/99 Admiral Crunch Note to Jaddax (3 lines down): shut the hell up. Worse than The Haunting. A pitiful ripoff. 1 stars
9/17/99 Kory I'd rather shove a pineapple up my ass than watch this pile of shit again. 1 stars
9/15/99 Feral Not THAT bad but not good either. In all a waste of time. 2 stars
9/12/99 Jonathan Hefner What a load of bullshit 1 stars
9/11/99 Jaddax it was a very good movie so screw all that don`t like it 5 stars
9/11/99 Jomo One of the worst movies I have ever seen. 1 stars
9/04/99 William Worst movie since Batman & Robin. What a waste of talent. I almost walked out. 1 stars
9/04/99 Andel Crodo Someone involved in making the film obviously had an overactive infatuation with breasts. 2 stars
8/26/99 Ami the Wonderbread Even my favorite actor Ken Branagh sucked in this movie. 2 stars
8/26/99 Ah Dooey Right on with the review. Anybody who spam junk on this site shall be barred from Hollywood 1 stars
8/21/99 BoB ONE WORD: LAME!!! 1 stars
8/20/99 Japtalian This movie followed the premise of the T.V version. Western-SciFi. I enjoyed it. 4 stars
8/19/99 Admiral Crunch Gee, and the trailers were better, huh? Yeah, right. 1 stars
8/16/99 Stephen Cook i didn't see the movie, and i didn't need to, the previews were enough 1 stars
8/15/99 Ryan_A If you like this, Steve, you're not as tough as you think. Only The Haunting is worse. 1 stars
8/12/99 Steve Kelley I'm a tough critic, and I like it. Escapist, fun, preposterous. See for yourself. 4 stars
8/10/99 Laz when Hollywood is bad,it is really bad!! Just dreadful... 1 stars
8/10/99 The Graduate Bad writing, bad acting. Watch the gadgets. 2 stars
8/04/99 Binghi Salma Hayek's body double has nice ass. 1 stars
8/03/99 Mboua I saw this movie for free and got ripped off. 1 stars
8/02/99 XenoWolf The dummest movie ive seen in years 1 stars
8/02/99 John M What a BAD movie!!! 1 stars
8/01/99 Obi Wan Was almost as bad as BELOVED if not for Salma Hayek's Ass! She's off da hook! 1 stars
8/01/99 SaSa Cinematic excrement. 1 stars
7/31/99 Roman Nice look but everything else was a smoldering pile of SHIT 1 stars
7/31/99 Innocent movie goer "It wasn't that bad, pretty good actually. It was definately worth a look." 4 stars
7/29/99 Tigger I thought this movie was not Will Smith's best of the summer but was worth seeing 4 stars
7/29/99 Sabina They must have left the best parts on the cutting room floor 1 stars
7/28/99 dave top ten worst 1 stars
7/27/99 David Kindred Don't see it. 1 stars
7/25/99 blue i could pull a better movie out of my ass 1 stars
7/24/99 MilhousFan Wow, this movie had the worst screenplay ever 1 stars
7/20/99 Imagoner Blecch. Worst movie of '99, so far. 1 stars
7/18/99 George Estremera A blast! Saw it twice! 4 stars
7/17/99 buddy ugh. one of the worst movies ever made. 1 stars
7/17/99 Ron Cruz Wow Great Film!!! What's wrong with you? 5 stars
7/16/99 Jo Jo, The Idiot Circus Boy High: Will Smith. Low: Everything ELSE. 1 stars
7/15/99 Keith Salma's ass is worth a look. The film isn't. 1 stars
7/15/99 Ryan_A Best part of the flick? M. Emmet Walsh. Man's a genius. 1 stars
7/15/99 Tony Daquano Pure Crap 2 stars
7/11/99 Cherry A total waste of time. There are no words to describe how I hate this AWFUL movie. YUCK! 1 stars
7/10/99 Alexander Too F-uped for me! 2 stars
7/09/99 Bobber Another W.Smith Formula movie like MIB and ID4. Could've done with seeing his bag and butt 1 stars
7/08/99 Scott It gave me convulsions 1 stars
7/08/99 midson Painfully boring.. stay away from this movie. 1 stars
7/07/99 Freyja Sucks all molecules of amusement right out of your system. Awful 1 stars
7/07/99 Mr Showbiz Isn't half as fun as it needs to be. 3 stars
7/06/99 James Coffey When I first saw the trialers I thought this movie would suck, I was absolutly correct. 1 stars
7/06/99 Skiv Save your money, this movie is so bad it's depressing... 1 stars
7/04/99 Howard Roark Big Disappointment, nothing like the series. two words...SAD Times! 2 stars
7/04/99 Morpheous Horrible! A waist of money... 1 stars
7/02/99 Elizaveta Kenneth Branagh! What have you done!?! 2 stars
7/02/99 Ah Dooey Complete drivel. 1 stars
7/01/99 Nick Spanos Beyond painful. Zero stars. 1 stars
7/01/99 Christina boring boring boring boring boring. and i did not need to see either of smith or kline drag 1 stars
7/01/99 Alandizo it's an awful movie, not logical and absolutely full of nonsense 1 stars
7/01/99 PhilmPhreak Its not as bad as I thought it would be. Not quite. Close, but not quite. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Jun-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  09-Sep-1999




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast