More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.19

Awesome40.33%
Worth A Look: 13.13%
Average: 5.49%
Pretty Bad: 7.64%
Total Crap: 33.41%

9 reviews, 365 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Commuter, The by Jay Seaver

All the Money in the World by Jay Seaver

Proud Mary by Jay Seaver

Florida Project, The by Jay Seaver

Paddington 2 by Jay Seaver

Phantom Thread by Peter Sobczynski

Phantom Thread by alejandroariera

Bullet Train by Jay Seaver

Dawson City: Frozen Time by Jay Seaver

Hostiles by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


House of 1000 Corpses
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Collin Souter

"Or...'Tired Goth-Rock Shtick: The Movie!'"
1 stars

If Rob Zombie, writer and director of “House of 1000 Corpses,” were to read a negative review of his movie, he would no doubt use the argument: “I didn’t make it for CRITICS!” That’s all fine and good. I don’t believe anybody does make a movie for critics (except for maybe Tom Green). Rob would also probably say, “I made it for the fans.” That’s also fine and good, but it doesn’t say much for his fan base—nor his perception of it—when the movie he delivers unto them would only be enjoyed by a theater full of inebriated zoo chimps with all four hands full of their own excrement ready to launch. I wish I had that luxury. But then I’m a critic, aren’t I? Surely, I have no business giving a negative review for a movie made strictly for Zombie fans.

Consider the zombie for a moment. According to George Romero’s “Living Dead” trilogy, the zombie—a flesh-eating ghoul—was meant to represent passive nihilism (as opposed to active nihilism). The passive nihilist has a bleak, dreadful outlook on life, but has no interest in becoming active in trying to change it. Instead of disrupting their comfort by instigating change, they eventually and blindly accept their fate without the slightest bit of apprehension. This point is made most potently in Romero’s “Dawn of the Dead,” in which the zombies stroll mindlessly through an abandoned shopping mall. The active nihilists take control and fight against the situation or systematic dogma that has been prescribed (i.e. the SWAT team has to try and survive by killing off the living dead).

Okay, I sound like a term paper right now. Let me put it this way: A zombie has no discriminating tastes, moral values or sense of the world around it. It cannibalizes and consumes, but never absorbs. It serves no real purpose to man or to itself. It lives and breathes, but knows nothing except to find living human flesh and to eat it. It can’t make rational decisions and can’t really fend for itself unless it has a strong hold of you. It can’t make heads or tails of sense or sensibilities. It’s like that song “Fish Heads”: They can’t play baseball/ They don’t wear sweaters/ They’re not good dancers/ They don’t play drums.

So, what does it say about a man who calls himself Rob Zombie? Well, if he sings in a band (which this guy does), he will most likely draw up a cult of fans who have grown tired of Marilyn Manson’s Goth-rock shtick and who want to move on to the “next thing,” which in this case would be more Goth-rock shtick. And if he directs a movie (which this guy, I guess, did), he will likely be happy with whatever he films, in keeping with the zombie code of ethics. With his movie, Rob Zombie settles on first drafts, first takes, any stupid idea that pops into his head, any camera shot no matter how poorly constructed and filming everything out of sequence and forgetting to edit it all into some kind of cohesive form that makes any sense. In short, any corpse—living or dead, eating or fasting, dumb or dumber—could have directed this movie.

“House of 1,000 Corpses” attempts to tell some kind of story involving a roadside gas station that also serves as a funhouse of horrors, all run by an unfunny husky guy wearing clown make-up. He gets a visit from a foursome of college kids who are doing research for a book about wacky roadside attractions. Eventually, they get caught up in this gruesome underworld that begets another gruesome underworld of ritual killers. Of course, they’re all one big happy family.

I’m sure it sounds as though I blew off the plot synopsis part of the review, and I did, but only because the movie has no sense of comprehension. The movie makes random cuts to nothing that would be of any interest to anybody. “House of 1,000 Corpses” makes clear references to “Texas Chainsaw Massacre 1 & 2,” “Motel Hell,” Herschell Gordon Lewis and any horror movie in which the main characters get a flat tire and have to seek refuge in a creepy old house run by stupid people. I can admire a director just wanting to throw in elements of his/her favorite genre into a blender in the hopes of an outcome that breathes new life into said genre. But Rob (Sorry, but I refuse to call the auteur by his last name) seems to have forgotten to put on the lid before he hit puree.

Rob (who directed all the Rob Zombie videos, none of which I have seen) probably had the vision of wanting to do a Herschell Gordon Lewis movie in the form of a music video, using different video and film stocks while also paying homage to late night TV fright shows. Fine. I’m all for that. In fact, I have been waiting quite a while to see a horror movie that takes me back to the days of “Re-Animator” and “Evil Dead II,” or even “Dead-Alive,” a movie high on gore, scares, innovation and, most of all, a sense of humor. “House of 1,000 Corpses” tries for that at times, but fails miserably. Why? Because we have absolutely nothing to latch onto in terms of characters, ideas, thought or even one single goofy laugh. It is a movie that spits bile at its audience in hopes that it will rattle and offend. Instead, it just plain bores.

No wonder this movie sat around for more than two years before someone decided to put it out of its misery and release it on the unsuspecting and (mostly) undeserving public. Rob would have you believe that many studios disposed of this cinematic stool because of the high blood factor, but I’m pretty sure it more to do with the overall odor. This is not the first time Lions Gate Films have bailed out a movie with a rock star’s name attached. “The Million Dollar Hotel”—the Wim Wenders movie co-written by Bono—didn’t get quite as wide a release as this one and I have to wonder, why? That at least had Mel Gibson in it and, while it may have been a failure, at least it was an interesting failure. At least, someone made an attempt at an interesting thought. (I, for one, still defend the movie)

So, yes, “House of 1,000 Corpses” is a headache of a movie made by Rob Zombie, about zombies, and for Zombie/zombie lovers. It is made for brainless, soulless, evil-minded drones who have no discriminating tastes or any interest in life. If Rob Zombie were to also use the argument, “I didn’t make it for critics, I made it for horror fans,” that wouldn’t hold water either. Smart horror fans, I believe, know better. Horror fans, for the most part, know the importance of story or concept and the willingness to tell it through decipherable, or at least interesting, means. This is a movie conceived by the dullest of minds while wasting the talents of Karen Black and Michael J. Pollard. It is a movie deserving of a pie in the face and a bullet in the head.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7365&reviewer=233
originally posted: 04/14/03 14:39:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/30/16 morris campbell typical rob zombie sleazefest avoid it 1 stars
6/19/12 Jerome I loved it! I hated It! Then i loved it again!!! 5 stars
7/06/10 art I RECANT WHAT i said in november,THIS IS a WONDERFUL horror FILM!,kudos toMR. ZOMBIE! 4 stars
1/02/10 Chad Dillon Cooper Total mess of a movie. High point, Rainn Wilson's character gets killed. 1 stars
11/12/09 art ROB ZOMBIE" IS A TERRIBLE DIRECTOR!,his HALLOWEEN remake WAS UNNECESSARY! 2 stars
10/30/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess This is the sickest episode of 'Cinema Insomina' ever! Can't wait to see DR! 4 stars
7/08/09 *Holy_J@lapeno* The customes were pretty cool but the acting and the story was so aweful. Stay away!!!!!! 2 stars
5/11/09 Total Crap stupid and boring. trust me, it is boring and you'll be like why did i waste my time? 1 stars
4/11/09 Dane Youssef Despite a great rock soundtrack, everything else is so badly handled. And THIS is my genre. 1 stars
4/01/09 belike The best horror film I've seen in the last ten years. 5 stars
11/08/08 Sarvoc Very average, however Dr. Satan at the end looks AWESOME GJ on costuming in the pit scene. 4 stars
11/03/08 WTF I personally don't care what anyone else thinks, I think this was a great film. 5 stars
5/18/08 jm In my opinion if you hated this film then you probably didn't get it. 4 stars
4/18/08 astrocreep2000 its artistic and orginal in it's own way,teeny boppers just don't understand 5 stars
1/22/08 ben dover fucking shit compared to rejects 2 stars
1/11/08 misty trash 1 stars
12/17/07 Kaizen Fucking Awesome--Bitches!!!!!!!!!@ 5 stars
10/03/07 wall skip it 1 stars
9/26/07 dude terrible 1 stars
7/25/07 heyzeus1111 I Felt like I was watching a Rob Zombie music video. Definately not scary! 3 stars
7/09/07 fools♫gold It's not that it's cheesy, it's that it (eventually) rather bores me every time I watch it. 2 stars
7/04/07 Kimmie How TexasChainsawMassacre-esque. It sucks that he's remaking Halloween. 1 stars
6/22/07 mitch I cant understand the people who enjoyed this movie... i just dont speak down syndrome. 1 stars
5/31/07 Dave just aweful 1 stars
3/19/07 Rocky Incredibly entertaining homage to those great grindcore flicks of the 70"s 5 stars
3/09/07 methfreak fucking stupid. cheesy. 2 stars
2/14/07 Sleez Boy Was bloody fun, but the ending was a drag, but enough to be fun 4 stars
2/04/07 Lindsay Goes from worse to piss-poor. 1 stars
11/29/06 David Pollastrini good gore. 3 stars
11/03/06 Hauzy messed up in a fun 70's way 4 stars
9/21/06 RedMaria Oh, I wonder if she's going to die at the end? That would be sooo "edgy". Rancid. Burn it. 1 stars
9/19/06 YOURmother now now, children, play nicely... 5 stars
8/07/06 Grunt A visually stunning gorefest 4 stars
7/30/06 Shaun Wallner awesome movie Rob Zombie is great cant wait for Holloween his new movie 5 stars
7/15/06 Anthony G Fuck this. 1 stars
6/16/06 Michele entertaining 3 stars
5/22/06 Mike Makes House of the Dead look great. 1 stars
5/14/06 Reklc Craaaaaaaaaazzzzzzzzyyyyyyyy!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/12/06 Shaun Wallner Awesome Movie Rob Zombie Is Great 5 stars
3/03/06 Mungface You people should all be doused with acid 1 stars
3/01/06 Uk_shooter fabulous film watch it well done rob zombie 5 stars
2/19/06 emmo n the dog brilliant movie 5 stars
2/17/06 Galliwertz Oh, I get it...you have to not like anything GOOD to get into this! It all makes sense now 1 stars
1/28/06 Jeebuzz Someone farted on me once...it was more enjoyable than watching this. 1 stars
1/25/06 Runaway What an incompetent piece of poorly-made trash...I agree, only for idiots. 1 stars
1/21/06 Chappy THE REDNECK RETARD MOVIE OF THE DECADE!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
1/11/06 Blobby Towns where this rates highly have a high level a raped cows, as well. 1 stars
1/11/06 Yabbo An unbelievably bad piece of cinematic crap...just keeps getting worse. Only for morons. 1 stars
1/08/06 Bitchum This movie is for fudge muffins. 1 stars
12/31/05 Sid Haig Man, this movie that I starred in really sucked!!!! What was I thinking?!?! 1 stars
12/29/05 chris f a reasonable film 3 stars
11/23/05 hibbyX Are you "Awesome" people for fucking REAL?!?!?!?! 1 stars
11/21/05 skippy this movie is for fudge muffins 1 stars
11/21/05 Kibble You loved every moment, Bean, because you're a cretin. Simple. 1 stars
11/15/05 Bean I guess it's a love or hate movie. I loved every moment! 5 stars
11/14/05 Kumble This movie is C-R-A-P 1 stars
11/13/05 Mr.Green Nice try, Rob, old boy...actually, no shitty try. A big pile of turds, this is... 1 stars
11/12/05 Goober! If you like this, promptlycommit suicide...or don't breed (that shouldn't be a problem). 1 stars
11/12/05 nixomiff Yes, you too can watch Rob Zombie have a bowel movement, film it, and call it H1KC!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/11/05 j All the "Awesome"s for this shitty film tells me never to trust this site. 1 stars
11/11/05 Orloff This is really a lazy, poor excuse for a horror film. One of the lamest I've seen. 1 stars
11/10/05 jingy 'Saw this the same night as HOUSE OF THE DEAD...and enjoyed them about the same. S-H-I-T!! 1 stars
11/10/05 BarronFuckoff I see, when Tarantino does it, it's a rip off, when Zombie does it, it's a clever homage??? 1 stars
11/09/05 Capt. Awesome Gee, we've never seen THIS plot before! Only this time it's REALLY FUCKING DUMB!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/09/05 Gunther "House of 1,000 Down Syndrome Cases," Directed by Rob Retard, Starring a bunch of inbreds. 1 stars
11/08/05 provy Allegory? Mythology? Paleorentory? Nixomintopoly? Plexigofontory? POOPIE MOVIE!!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/08/05 Bumble I do believe quite certainly that this movie was exceedingly feces-like in substance. 1 stars
11/07/05 mallard I've heard that it's a national requirement that you blow goats in order to like this shit. 1 stars
11/07/05 Chappy I think the proof is that every person I've know who liked this "film" has shit for brains. 1 stars
11/07/05 Jizzstal Yeah, so many idiots out there...and they all like or made this turd of a movie!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/06/05 Chip Beef People, people...let's not get personal. If cretins like this diarrhea-as-film, oh well. 1 stars
10/07/05 nameless Hey, morons, do you know what metaphor is? Allegory? Mythology? So many idiots out there! 5 stars
10/04/05 Kendra TOTALLY WICKED!!! 5 stars
9/03/05 Martin boring and incomphrehensible. 2 stars
8/11/05 ES Rare is the movie I turn off before completion, right up there with being JM, bleck! 1 stars
8/09/05 21 Gay 1 stars
8/04/05 destry it was fuckin cool 5 stars
7/24/05 Rocky Like TCMAssacre on steroids...great homage to those sweaty 70's horror flicks 4 stars
7/22/05 SlinkyKat So bad I couldn't get through it - and I tried multiple times. Just LAME, not scary. 1 stars
7/15/05 jason best horror ive seen yet. 5 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma THE ABSOLUTE WORST FILM I'VE EVER SEEN! 1 stars
7/02/05 Indrid Cold Some interesting visuals and characters make it a cut above typical schlock. 3 stars
6/11/05 Rock-Steady fa sho 5 stars
6/03/05 dave this movie is the fucking bomb 5 stars
5/17/05 Tendrils Terrible Awful Crap so called movie, 1 stars
5/17/05 E-FUNK A great horror-throwback... but decomposes on repeated viewings. 3 stars
3/23/05 indrid cold Reasonably entertaining, but definitely not good. 3 stars
2/22/05 ELI Besides Freddy Got Fingered, This is probably the worst movie ever made. 1 stars
2/21/05 Linda I would rather be hung by my toenails and beaten with an organic carrot then watch this. 1 stars
2/19/05 whackie Whacked movie 2 stars
2/17/05 whatevr rob should stick to music 1 stars
2/15/05 Jeff if you own a zombie cd you will like this because it programs you to. The movie sucked. 1 stars
2/01/05 pooper What... Did you think you were getting high art. This movie was GREAT for what it was. 5 stars
12/06/04 K. Sear I tried to like it but just couldn't find it in myself. Rather forgettable. 1 stars
11/18/04 Bell Girl It disturbed me. I don't care what anyone says. It was fully sick. 4 stars
11/18/04 horror_blood This film was so boring I almost vomited when I first saw it! 1 stars
11/14/04 mr blonde this movie rocks. if you dont like it, lick some balls. 5 stars
11/11/04 Mr. Eff Visually was quite interesting. Story incoherency create too many distracting questions 3 stars
11/09/04 Lonnie Scrogham A perfect glimpse at what Hell must look like! 5 stars
11/03/04 Al Guy A great nod to the 70s. A good movie. 4 stars
11/02/04 Nightmarian A nice tribute to 70's horror flicks by a true fan! 5 stars
10/26/04 ELI To say this film sucked cock is an understatement 1 stars
10/26/04 Gripps boring, annoying as hell characters, needed a plot and MUCH more gore 2 stars
10/25/04 el burro Both sucks and blows 1 stars
10/11/04 sophie Rob Zombie must be pretty fucked in the head 3 stars
10/04/04 Devil's Reject a really great horror film 5 stars
9/25/04 Gene hell of a great horror film! 5 stars
9/21/04 Eli Great! 5 stars
9/16/04 phosphoric acid rules!! 5 stars
9/16/04 Brittany Awesome. I can't wait for "Corpses 2" 5 stars
9/13/04 867 better 70's throwback than 'Wrong Turn' 5 stars
9/11/04 tatum Zombie hands the viewer stuff he's never seen, and I was happy for it 5 stars
9/08/04 bobby A great film, very entertaining. 5 stars
9/06/04 bitchslapper really fucking boss! 5 stars
8/31/04 aussieemmy this movie was just plain wierd!! there's no plot..just go around killing people 3 stars
8/30/04 lethaldose Boss. 5 stars
8/30/04 Gene American Slasher Goddess has reviewed this movie like a million times. 5 stars
8/29/04 American Slasher Goddess Way too over- the- top acting and flashy MTV style directing sinks this mess. 1 stars
8/25/04 Samuel .......One HELL of a great horror movie! 5 stars
8/25/04 Samuel Rob Zombie makes a great directional debut. One HEll 5 stars
8/23/04 horror_icon A much better 70's throwback than 'Wrong Turn' 5 stars
8/20/04 bobby A great film, very entertaining. 5 stars
8/20/04 bitchslapper great film. great director. great characters. 5 stars
8/14/04 Lucy HO1000C was great. The characters were great too, especially Otis. 5 stars
8/10/04 bloodandtitties lots of blood and titties! 5 stars
8/08/04 Phenylalanine genuinely frightning and altogether origional. 5 stars
8/08/04 Loomis If you don't like it, you don't get it! 5 stars
8/08/04 Boogerman Kicks ass!! Lions Gate has been releasing alot of great horror lately. 5 stars
8/08/04 Samuel Rob Zombie makes a great directional debut. I'm sure Devil's Rejects will be just as great 5 stars
8/08/04 Michael Greenwaldt A much better 70's throwback than 'Wrong Turn' 5 stars
8/06/04 Anthony G yup 5 stars
8/06/04 American Slasher Goddess a somewhat underrated film. I thought it was fucking awesome though. 5 stars
7/27/04 Luci HO1000C was great. The characters were great too, especially Otis. 5 stars
7/26/04 God I loved it. 5 stars
7/26/04 Phenylalanine "Well, saddle up the mule ma, slide me some grits, I's got to get me some education." 5 stars
7/26/04 ZOmbifan I can't wait for part 2 The Devils Rejects! 5 stars
7/26/04 Boogerman Lions Gate is releasing alot of great horror lately first 'Cabin Fever' now this. 5 stars
7/26/04 Stab Wounds This Rules!!! 5 stars
7/26/04 Michael Greenwaldt A much better 70's throwback than 'Wrong Turn' 5 stars
7/26/04 Samuel Rob Zombie makes a great directional debut, definetly one hell of a great horror movie! 5 stars
7/26/04 X Awesome 5 stars
7/26/04 American Slasher Goddess a somewhat underrated film. I thought it was fucking awesome though. 5 stars
7/26/04 Luci HO1000C was great. The characters were great too, especially Otis. 5 stars
7/26/04 God I fucking loved it. I fucking loved it. This movie fucking ruled. 5 stars
7/26/04 American Slasher Goddess I want to clear this up. someone using my name called it crap. I actually love the film. 5 stars
7/21/04 American Slasher Goddess Overrated crap, I did not write that review below 1 stars
7/18/04 Michael Greenwaldt A much better 70's throwback than 'Wrong Turn' 5 stars
7/12/04 Samuel Rob Zombie makes a great directional debut, definetly one hell of a great horror movie! 5 stars
7/12/04 X bomb 1 stars
7/11/04 American Slasher Goddess a somewhat underrated film. I thought it was fucking awesome though. 5 stars
7/07/04 Luci HO1000C was great. The characters were great too, especially Otis. 5 stars
7/06/04 God I fucking loved it. I fucking loved it. This movie fucking ruled. 5 stars
7/06/04 S-P Loved it. RZ kicks butt 5 stars
7/06/04 pat o'brien possibly the best movie I have ever seen. Simply 2 hours of watching people get tortured 5 stars
7/06/04 El Capo A great film by a fan of the genre. 5 stars
7/06/04 Read it, Seen it, Done it One of the greatest movies ever made 5 stars
7/06/04 Michael Greenwaldt A much better 70's throwback than 'Wrong Turn' 5 stars
7/06/04 Samuel Rob Zombie makes a great directional debut, definetly one hell of a great horror movie! 5 stars
7/06/04 Frank "motherfucker got blood all over my best clown suit. " 5 stars
7/06/04 American Slasher Goddess a somewhat underrated film. I thought it was fucking awesome though. 5 stars
7/06/04 Luci HO1000C was great. The characters were great too, especially Otis. 5 stars
7/06/04 God I fucking loved it. I fucking loved it. This movie fucking ruled. 5 stars
7/06/04 S-P Loved it. RZ kicks butt 5 stars
7/06/04 pat o'brien ossibly the best movie I have ever seen. Simply 2 hours of watching people get tortured 5 stars
7/06/04 El Capo A great film by a fan of the genre. 5 stars
7/06/04 Read it, Seen it, Done it One of the greatest movies ever made 5 stars
7/06/04 Michael Greenwaldt A much better 70's throwback than 'Wrong Turn' 5 stars
7/06/04 Samuel Rob Zombie makes a great directional debut, definetly one hell of a great horror movie! 5 stars
7/06/04 Frank "motherfucker got blood all over my best clown suit. " 5 stars
7/06/04 American Slasher Goddess a somewhat underrated film. I thought it was fucking awesome though. 5 stars
7/06/04 Luci HO1000C was great. The characters were great too, especially Otis. 5 stars
7/06/04 God I fucking loved it. I fucking loved it. This movie fucking ruled. 5 stars
7/06/04 S-P Loved it. This is not a Serious movie folks! RZ kicks butt 5 stars
7/04/04 pat o'brien Possibly the best movie I have ever seen. Simply 2 hours of watching people get tortured. 5 stars
6/16/04 El Capo I was expecting more from a fan of the genre. 1 stars
5/01/04 Read it, Seen it, Done it As bad as ANY movie ever made 1 stars
4/17/04 Michael Greenwaldt A ridiculous piece of crap. Wrong Turn was a MUCH better 70's throwback. 2 stars
4/01/04 Samuel Rob Zombie makes a great directional debut, definetly one hell of a great horror movie! 5 stars
3/31/04 Frank Gore flick only - kinda scary 2 stars
3/30/04 American Slasher Goddess Awful,overrated dreck. 1 stars
3/28/04 Luci Now I'm realy paranoid. Was I the only one in the cinema with a conscience? 4 stars
3/27/04 God WHAT THE F#CK WAS THIS??? ARE YOU PEOPLE SERIOUS? ISSUES! 1 stars
3/26/04 S-P Loved it. This is not a Serious movie folks! RZ kicks butt. 5 stars
3/24/04 pat o'brien Possibly the worst movie I have ever seen. Simply 2 hours of watching people get tortured. 1 stars
3/20/04 Jack-pyschO-Lantern Captain Spualding, RULES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/01/04 Sean The Best Horror Film Ever 5 stars
2/26/04 Holli one of the best movies i've ever seen! 5 stars
2/17/04 Shagrath Almost sicker than Salo 100 days of Sodom but with Rob's "humour" easing it up 4 stars
2/09/04 Whatevr This movie could double as an execution device. 1 stars
2/07/04 Samuel lions gate released better horror films in 2003 than most film companys release n a decade 5 stars
2/05/04 Sea Bass One of the coolest films I have ever seen 5 stars
2/03/04 ghost i did enjoy Sid Heigs performance as Captain spaulding 3 stars
1/28/04 chloe duncan shit and twisted. I felt like i was watching a twisted snuff film. 1 stars
1/26/04 American Slasher Goddess Overrated trash. 1 stars
1/25/04 Jack You Want Blood Guts And Gore See Freddy Vs Jason And Skip This Forgetable Joke Of A Movie 1 stars
1/15/04 Sean The Best Horror Film Ever 5 stars
1/03/04 Holli I just wish that I had those two hours of my life back. 1 stars
1/02/04 vampiric kitten the movie was awesome, it was a form of art. 5 stars
1/02/04 Demon Speeding Sheri is a fukn GODDESS. And the movie is fukn awesome!! 5 stars
12/30/03 White Zombie terrifying, scary, and brilliant! Rob Zombie makes a great directional debut 5 stars
12/21/03 Michelle Beautiful Film with an amazing all star cast. 5 stars
12/13/03 Ben a fantastic horror film, Captain Spaulding made the movie tho 3 stars
12/13/03 Jeff Zombie makes a great directional debut 4 stars
12/13/03 Samuel One hell of a great horror movie 5 stars
12/13/03 Sid Sheri is Hott!! 5 stars
12/13/03 Karie great movie!! 5 stars
12/12/03 Jaron a kickass movie!! 5 stars
12/12/03 Hatchet JAck very cool movie! 5 stars
12/12/03 Captain Spaulding pretty fuckin' good movie!! 5 stars
12/12/03 Beavis Rob Zombie Kicks ass!! and so does this movie!!! 5 stars
12/10/03 tim Rob Zombie makes a great directing debut!! 5 stars
12/09/03 Samuel Yeah Jeff, I know what you mean, these fools obviously know nuthing about horror!! 5 stars
12/07/03 Jeff This is based on 70's horror so you dumbass 'Valentine' fans wouldn't understand!! 5 stars
11/27/03 he stupid movie not even scary 1 stars
11/22/03 Sharon grusome? huh.did i miss something? wrong turn was a hella more grousome..try that one 3 stars
11/11/03 DenDan21 The kind of movie that grows on you. Watching the DVD re-awakened something in me. Love it 5 stars
10/18/03 KING EDWARD not bad-but i just came back from the 'chainsaw' remake, which is THE TRUTH. see it instead 4 stars
10/14/03 butch barry Stylistically done, it was lacking any sense of suspense. I found it wildly predictable. 2 stars
10/10/03 Erik Van Sant There are problems here, but you can't ignore a film so whole-heartedly dedicated to fans. 5 stars
9/30/03 jimmy d shot! 5 stars
9/20/03 katie jo suspenseful, not scary, and not what i expected from Rob Zombie 2 stars
9/17/03 Samuel Justus Great 70's New Classic, this movie just keeps gettin better and better! 4 stars
9/14/03 matt familiar territory, but a sharp poke in the eye against current horror muck 5 stars
9/08/03 Alex Jackson I really wanted to like this movie, but it's a huge disappointment. 2 stars
9/07/03 Nyree Jones Oh my god this has got to be the worst 1 stars
9/06/03 Rabies It was pure entertainment. Colin, keep on watching your Hollywood dreck 4 stars
9/04/03 eddie paul brink, you are '' too gay '' - i hope someone kills you and all you love very soon. 5 stars
9/04/03 Gray stick to music Rob you're good at that 2 stars
9/03/03 BloodGod Gothic or not, punk or not, what or not, this movie is in its own class! 5 stars
9/01/03 Chris Zombie's First Effort: Hopefully Not His Last! 5 stars
8/24/03 dave macdougall i thought it was fun to watch a horror movie made by a horror fan. 4 stars
8/23/03 Kyle Meh. But the cop's death scene is awesome. 3 stars
8/21/03 Daddy Plaid Better than Texas Chainsaw Fiasco!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/20/03 D-Ray Too derivative from Texas Chainsaw Massacre, but Sheri Moon's "ass rock" scene rules! 4 stars
8/14/03 paul brink to crazy 1 stars
8/13/03 mechj It can proudly take the title of horror movie from it's 80's ancestors. 5 stars
7/23/03 jordon keene this movie isnt for everbody, but I dont have to get high to enjoy the movie. 5 stars
7/10/03 cisco73 Hated it! Who is this movie for? Not real horror fans! 1 stars
7/03/03 FlameJob13 Unpredictable? Did you fall asleep and miss, well, the whole damn movie? 1 stars
7/02/03 Stephanie I think this movie rocked.... It was pretty unpredictable at the end. 5 stars
6/30/03 tamara i love sheri moon 5 stars
6/29/03 David A. THIS MOVIE SUCKS LIKE A FAGGOT'S ASSHOLE ON A DICK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
6/28/03 FlameJob13 Oh, come on. You know a horror movie is bad when it annoys you instead of scares you. 1 stars
6/27/03 Arlene Titshaw miriah, you said it. Maybe not intentionally, but you said it. 1 stars
6/27/03 Jeremy Jones Best horror movie ever seen! Really scared me! 5 stars
6/25/03 Viper Started ok but fell short after that 2 stars
6/23/03 Hottie sucked ass 1 stars
6/21/03 Don A not entirely successful throw-back to intense 70's horror flicks. 3 stars
6/18/03 BLAKE this is a great ilm the way it plays out the family is great and sheri moon is the best 5 stars
6/18/03 thorpedo great 5 stars
6/17/03 phuctup_thugg "They are all Sam Raimi compared to this hack..." this shows me how much of an idiot you is 4 stars
6/16/03 caramel jenkins prolly 1 of the best horror films ever made 5 stars
6/15/03 penis mcflyer sucks major penis 1 stars
6/06/03 James god damn, cinematic shitm if iits better than n e other new horror movies 5 stars
6/05/03 Erik Van Sant Thank you, Mr. Zombie. The future of horror looks better because of you. 5 stars
6/02/03 Simon Crappy and entertaining horror movie. 4 stars
6/01/03 Kacynzskinski WORST FILM EVER MADE 1 stars
5/30/03 Chuck Ignore the critics Mr. Zombie, you did your job, awesome movie 5 stars
5/24/03 Joey J Could have been better..... Still way better than anything made after scream 4 stars
5/23/03 ^ZuLu^ No tension, no real horror, cheap effects and no story - it sucked! 1 stars
5/23/03 Sam What is wrong with you people? This movie sucked 1 stars
5/22/03 Kris I usually do not like horror films but this one got me. One of the best horror movies. 4 stars
5/20/03 A. Ingram Wicked!!! 5 stars
5/19/03 Tony Worst film in the history of moviemaking. Did they bother with a script? A shame they bothe 1 stars
5/11/03 JTS 09 Great horror film. No more Scream films we need more horror movies like this!!MORE GORE!!! 5 stars
5/08/03 Brock AWESOME MOVIE 5 stars
5/08/03 BloodSuckingWolf Great Film. If you didn't like the movie...maybe it wasn't targeted for you. 5 stars
5/04/03 Creepy Crawler Chock-full of eye candy, insanity, and mindless horror fun. 5 stars
5/02/03 jaime represents everything his music has been for the last ten years... best horror film in ages 5 stars
5/02/03 Karl Mattson This movie, although somewhat flawed, contains real moments of genius. 5 stars
4/30/03 Jessica this movie scared the holy hell out of me then again so did scream 2 stars
4/30/03 Jack Less A Tribute, More Of A Blatant Ripoff Of Many Better Movies 1 stars
4/28/03 John Pure garbage 1 stars
4/27/03 Andrew Carden Clever Gothic Thriller Is Quite Scary, but Has Sloppy Direction. 4 stars
4/26/03 Evil Ash The best horror film since TCM! 5 stars
4/26/03 Lord Kamidake67 I found this move to de brilliant and disturbing 5 stars
4/23/03 The Grinch Entertaining, but only at Matinee prices. Don't quit the day job, Rob. 3 stars
4/23/03 Josh I was dissapointed in the theatre, but when i got home i craved the gore some more! 4 stars
4/23/03 Agglepraxis Excessively derivative (by intent, we're told) but fun at times. 3 stars
4/23/03 eric this film is a masterpeice, sheer cinematic briliance; bravo Rob, bravo... 5 stars
4/22/03 MASON I CAN'T BELIEVE HOW MANY PEOPLE DON'T UNDERSTAND THIS WORK OF ART, 100% PURE GENIUS! 5 stars
4/22/03 susana zavala this is the crappiest movie i've EVER seen. i've seen some bad ones, but damn!!! 1 stars
4/22/03 horror_fan Awful movie, Zombie needs to take this time and work on a better cd. 1 stars
4/22/03 thg can't write his own music, can't write his own movie, yet still has a Black Card. sheeez. 1 stars
4/21/03 Brett Kohout Worst Pile of crap I have ever seen. Can't believe I spent money on it. 1 stars
4/21/03 rocker shocker piece of shit!Zombie,stick to what you do worst,make crappy music!! 1 stars
4/21/03 brent rainwater fantastic fun 5 stars
4/21/03 Larry Bagina Disturbing and fun. If you liked TCM2 then yee-haw! 5 stars
4/21/03 Velma Rose I liked it, sure it wasn't some great film but it was fun 4 stars
4/20/03 scream A GREAT FILM 5 stars
4/19/03 James More like a funhouse ride then a film however worth a look if ones into horror. 4 stars
4/19/03 SpookShowBaby Not too great but worthy of watching if you like horror. 4 stars
4/19/03 Xero It was exactly what it was supposed to be you fucking morons 4 stars
4/19/03 brad Just awful 1 stars
4/19/03 Ubu the Ripper This proves Rob Zombie's total lack of talent transcends the music industry 1 stars
4/19/03 Morally Sound The best horror film since TCM. 5 stars
4/19/03 Zara2 Perfect cult film. Not so good for first run theater 4 stars
4/19/03 Recycled_Messiah If stuff had been explained, it would have been ok. Where's the story? 2 stars
4/18/03 Shannon Sunday Sheri Moon is a babe!! 4 stars
4/18/03 USEF truly frightening 5 stars
4/18/03 timely death dark, demented, menagerie of short-lived delights 5 stars
4/18/03 try again great music video ruined by 92 minutes of added material 1 stars
4/18/03 Jack You Want A Truly Scary Horror Movie Rent Wes Craven's New Nightmare Don't Wast Time On This 1 stars
4/17/03 Requiem62 Truely inspired horror for the sadist in us all. Well, at least us who embrace it. :D 4 stars
4/17/03 Joe Black This movie rocked! 5 stars
4/16/03 ouch quit it a poorly done fetish movie interrupted by bad dialogue 1 stars
4/16/03 THIS MOVIE SUCKS u called this a movie? 1 stars
4/16/03 eatme What the hell were you expecting people? Its a good scary fucked horror movie be openminded 4 stars
4/16/03 zombie-lover I wanted to like it, but it sucks, is trite, Rob can do much better! 1 stars
4/16/03 ZOMBIE IS AN ASSHOLE SHITSHITSHITSHITSHIT! 1 stars
4/16/03 No Way This has to be the biggest peace of shit I have ever seen. Scary that people liked it..... 1 stars
4/15/03 me It's a horror movie for Christ's sake. Turn your brain off and enjoy! 5 stars
4/15/03 gdf gdfgdfg 4 stars
4/15/03 gost could you implement a rating with less than 1 star? 1 stars
4/15/03 Ayatolla of Rockinrolla Holy Crap! What a Mess 1 stars
4/15/03 t-bone it was a pretty good movie and sheri moon made it even better 4 stars
4/15/03 Sam only for diehard zombie fans, texas chainsaw massacre wannabe 1 stars
4/15/03 me great 5 stars
4/15/03 Kristin Best movie ever! 5 stars
4/15/03 Ello Darkstar Good for gore! 5 stars
4/15/03 Lewis C If you LOVE horror movies, you'll at least get a kick out of this, otherwise, stay FAR away 4 stars
4/15/03 C Lewis It was made as a "b" flick and it suceeded all movies share plot themes live with it 4 stars
4/15/03 EastOf39thNorton Dull,derivative,no imagination,for lame fanboys 1 stars
4/15/03 Zombie Lover We had a group of people leaving the movie to play video games it was so good! 2 stars
4/15/03 Caine Johnson Terrible 1 stars
4/14/03 Creepy Gyrl I freakin loved it!! It was everything I expected it to be!!!!! 5 stars
4/14/03 Eyeball4ek A horror film for true horror fans. Loved it. 5 stars
4/14/03 KR1Z We want more. 5 stars
4/14/03 Tim Boring wanna-be Texas Chainsaw Massacre! 1 stars
4/14/03 So Cal Viewer This movie was so bad it should be banned. Not for Gore, or Violence but for lack of plot! 1 stars
4/14/03 Nappy It was everything i've hoped for. 5 stars
4/14/03 F Gongora This is right up there w/Texas Chainsaw Massacre! It will be a cult classic! 5 stars
4/14/03 Evan Fucking Awesome 5 stars
4/13/03 Greg trippy...be under the influence when watching 5 stars
4/13/03 Sean W About as bloody and gory as a theatrical release can get. The DVD will be better. 4 stars
4/13/03 George Jung I am a HUGE horror fan, but this fucking movie sucked. 1 stars
4/13/03 Chaos Fucking Awesome 5 stars
4/13/03 RH I love old horror movies, and I love Rob Zombie, but this movie is just terrible 1 stars
4/13/03 trevor judging by the audience when i saw it--an instant cult classic 4 stars
4/13/03 Dan M Boo!! Gimmie my money back! 1 stars
4/13/03 BF I used to work at the company realeasing this piece of garbage. Please kill me for that. 1 stars
4/13/03 Torey R. Lyons Not much gore, honestly. Blood? Plenty, but hardly any gore. And plot? Hell no. 1 stars
4/13/03 Jimmy James Considering the wait, it could have sucked a lot less! I was amazed the lack of cleverness 2 stars
4/12/03 Paul Quigley Visualy interesting with plenty to look at. Great use of colors. 4 stars
4/12/03 Jason Cheseborough It blew dog, I have nightmares way worse than this movie. 1 stars
4/12/03 Papa Better than his cheesy vid's, but more disturbing than I expected. 4 stars
4/12/03 Scott Great movie a must see if you like horror you will enjoy this 5 stars
4/12/03 StarDust intresting to look at not a revolutionary film but hey.... 4 stars
4/12/03 Ash I didn't think it was *that* gory and wonder what the studios bugged out so much. Loved it. 5 stars
4/12/03 Otis Haymeyer The movie has no substance and I would have expected more out of him 1 stars
4/12/03 RoxyScary Just a scary-fun time. Greusome and disturbing, but for the right crowd, a lot of fun! 5 stars
4/12/03 Jimmy POO smells better 1 stars
4/12/03 Earl Dittman - Wireless Magazine Here you go Space Monekys! Your movie has arrived! 1 stars
4/12/03 Monte Cappuletti AWESOME!!! 5 stars
4/12/03 Jeffrey Sucks just like your web site.....Suckers 1 stars
4/12/03 mr fishlegs awesome move A+++ would watch again 5 stars
4/11/03 Nick B Total crap. Don't waste your time. 1 stars
4/11/03 Katie "Definetly worth the wait." 5 stars
4/10/03 The Big O If youre not a horror afficienado then its rather disturbing...Me I loved it!! 5 stars
4/09/03 SID Non-existent script, trippy and fun visuals. It's fun but I'll forget the whole thing soon. 4 stars
4/08/03 Apathy Well, that was one of the more interesting ways I've wasted my time. 2 stars
4/08/03 weaponX its an awsome movie, its has that old -school feel right up there with evil dead and tcm. 5 stars
4/02/03 Gypsa I loved it! But then, I'm twisted. 5 stars
3/31/03 Kyle It was alright. Kinda worth the wait. 4 stars
3/29/03 Morally Sound The best horror movie since Texas Chainsaw Massacre! Rob Zombie revives horror after 30 yrs 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Apr-2003 (R)
  DVD: 12-Aug-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Mar-2004


Directed by
  Rob Zombie

Written by
  Rob Zombie

Cast
  Sid Haig
  Karen Black
  Bill Moseley
  Michael J. Pollard
  Sheri Moon
  Jeanne Carmen



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast