More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.36

Awesome: 21.94%
Worth A Look34.69%
Average: 17.86%
Pretty Bad: 8.16%
Total Crap: 17.35%

9 reviews, 142 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Tommy (2014) by Jay Seaver

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Daniel Kelly

Goodbye to Language by Jay Seaver

Mea Culpa by Jay Seaver

Homesman, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Peter Sobczynski

Purge, The: Anarchy by Rob Gonsalves

Raid 2, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fault in Our Stars, The by Rob Gonsalves

Dumb and Dumber To by Brett Gallman

subscribe to this feed


Deep Blue Sea
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Textbook definition of a FUN summer movie (with some balls)"
4 stars

Why is it that just because a movie has sharks eating people it HAS to be a rip-off of Jaws? (Is Psycho just like Porky's because they both have great shower scenes?) A movie like Deep Blue Sea seemingly had strikes against it all through its creation, because it has the audacity to feature the same creatures as the Spielberg classic. This movie does not try to be Jaws in any way, and it's an entertaining movie anyway.

Its sense of humor, for example, is balanced just right. Most of the gags stem from a release of tension, as opposed to other recent "giant animal" horror movies. The reactions are funny, because they don't feel like "sarcastic movie character banter". Although the characters are barely introduced, you begin to like them a little, which proves that you needn't be television's "writer of the week" (see: David E. Kelley) to create interesting characters in ridiculous situations.

Deep Blue Sea has an attitude, and it's a nasty one. There are a few surprises you'll only see coming if you read reviews from assholes that warn you of the surprises ahead. The plot is of course just a blueprint that allows our heroes to come in contact with these genetically brilliant sharks. One question about these newly-intelligent sharks....Just because they're smart doesn't mean they automatically KNOW WHAT CERTAIN MACHINES DO! I mean, I'M pretty smart, but that doesn't mean I can perform a vasectomy just by watching someone do it.

The main artistic issue here is this: body count. Lake Placid completely wimps out in the carnage department, and The Haunting is the biggest tease of a movie I've ever seen, since almost none of the obnoxious characters get kill in that one. Big-budget "horror" movies seem to want to be as scary and exciting as possible, yet they never have the stones to have some ghost throw a spear through Liam Neeson's chest! Heaven forbid that Oliver Platt miss his next paycheck for Lake Placid 2: Placider!

Of course my indulgent references to other movies does have a point: Deep Blue Sea is a studio action/horror movie that actually delivers the goods. There are quite a few WOW scenes, and some breathtaking action sequences that are not just stale retreads. Yes, this movie does seem to have tons of components from tons of films (and not just Jaws): It's got a little of The Abyss, Jaws 2, Leviathan, Jaws 3, Sphere, Jaws: The Revenge, Alien3, and that James Bond movie where his buddy got gnawed on by a shark and he got real angry. (Bond, that is, not the shark.)

There is a subtlety to some of the creepiness in the script (Skaarsgard's finsh, for example), and I love the disdain the screenwriters seem to have for these characters. Consider a scene in which Sam Jackson's supposedly inspirational speech is abruptly interrupted, or the vicious way in which our final victim of the film is chomped so thoroughly. (And to cast LL Cool J as a CHEF is just a visionary piece of brilliance. To follow in the footsteps of such great cinematic chefs like Steven Seagal as Casey Ryback is truly an honor. Is there an Oscar category for Casting Directors?)

I certainly wouldn't claim that this is a top-ten movie, or groundbreaking in any way (and who cares? It's a movie about GENETICALLY-ALTERED SUPER SMART SHARKS, PEOPLE!), but here's the truth from an angry guy who is TIRED of wimpy, flaccid studio crap: This movie is FUN, and it's got teeth.

This fun, exciting chew-'em-up is great, because it doesn't try to bullshit its audience. They know what we want, and they'll gladly give it to us. This one may allow you to trust coming attractions again, for a little while anyway. This one reintroduces actors to their proper place in the movie food chain. Nasty and fun.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=737&reviewer=128
originally posted: 07/29/99 14:58:52
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/23/14 ftlmayj USA 2 stars
4/17/14 pidaedxh USA 3 stars
4/14/14 Ahilpmma USA 4 stars
3/23/14 Pfqcoyix USA 2 stars
3/23/14 Qsvdnlex USA 3 stars
3/22/14 Lgpeuvjx USA 5 stars
3/21/14 Usuxxihe USA 2 stars
3/21/14 Hnoethjm USA 5 stars
2/08/14 Lsoyaevt USA 3 stars
2/07/13 Kcaj thrilling fun! 4 stars
7/10/11 Jennifer Barr Excellent movie...i wish they would make a part 2 ! 5 stars
10/14/09 PAUL SHORTT UNORIGINAL, UNINTELLIGENT AND LACKING IN SURPRISE 2 stars
4/29/07 Jackospacko 5.5 out of 10 on IMDB? What the Fuck? It should be 7.1 out of 10 totally 4 stars
4/23/07 David Risser Almost as good as Jaws! 4 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega The underwater killers are a fast-moving 'Jaws'. 3 stars
2/13/07 Anthony Feor A great movie (4.5/5) 4 stars
2/13/07 johnnyfog Funny as shit when Jackson's speech gets cut 1 stars
1/13/07 del A pos review for this and DREAMCATCHER, but a neg for DARK CITY? Rob, get a clue... 1 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist Strictly Jaws wannabe. 2 words&2 words only,POPCORN FLICK!!!! 3 stars
4/22/06 Jack Not as exciting as Jaws but not far of it 4 stars
1/09/06 Gerry Dunne What brainless morons would think we would enjoy this crap? 1 stars
11/25/05 cr fun movie and got few characters l care about ,but it like pump up verison of jaws 3 3 stars
8/13/05 ES Don't think of it as a JAWS rip-off (come on its been 30 years) and its not too bad 4 stars
6/21/05 shinu very good 5 stars
6/14/05 E-FUNK It's hard to find words that describe just how fucking terrible this movie is. Harlin blows 1 stars
5/28/05 tony Great Shark Movie since Jaws! Exellent plot. A KEEPER! great characters!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
2/13/05 Alice Colwell yawn 2 stars
12/13/04 Nick Complete hopeless drivel. Great to watch. Plenty of digital splatter. 1 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams they ate me! a fucking shark ate me! 3 stars
9/04/04 Aaron Smith My favorite shark movie. 5 stars
1/28/04 Vicious When i saw it, it was actually not annoying. I just played dumb while i watched it. 2 stars
12/08/03 aman deep sea 3 stars
11/29/03 john far fetched nonsense 1 stars
8/07/03 marc_ian_a Excellent ! (5 stars) :) 5 stars
7/13/03 3man One of the few movies to actually make me jump. SLJ's scene was unexpected. 3 stars
4/24/03 Magical Dragon top flick love it 5 stars
4/02/03 jojo i love filim 5 stars
3/25/03 Jack Sommersby It's pretty passable -- if not really recommendable. 3 stars
2/11/03 Nevz Shallow, too shallow 3 stars
2/04/03 Dragica It's the BEST movie ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/04/03 Isaac Garza It's baad. 5 stars
1/13/03 Gracy Lionheart Just sit back, relax, and have a blast. 4 stars
9/17/02 Zefram Mann Could've been good if not for some REALLY shitty CGI shots. 3 stars
7/19/02 patricia i loved the way the characters were offed! groovy fun! 4 stars
6/20/02 Dana Sherkawi it's too nice 5 stars
6/13/02 Heather Purplethorne Stellan Skarsgård is best actor in it, so why is he one killed by sharks early on? 1 stars
5/19/02 davey mac holy crap this is so bad it made Godzilla look good. 1 stars
5/15/02 Blake The sharks look very alive in this film. 5 stars
4/24/02 Danielle Ophelia I like my man vs. science movies grittier than this, but its balls were in the right place. 3 stars
3/06/02 Veronica Foxx -The Raven-Haired Temptress Forgive me for becoming a ditzy schoolgirl, but Thomas Jane is rather lovely. Movies good 2 4 stars
3/05/02 Scottish Kilt Jaws is miles better, this is the poor man's Jaws. 2 stars
1/22/02 Some Guy "WORST MOVIE EVER". THERE WAS NO PLOT. ALL IT WAS WAS A "SHARK EATS EVERYONE". TOTAL CRAP! 1 stars
1/06/02 FGJ180 Unspeakable. One of the worst movies of the '90s. 1 stars
12/06/01 travis lame...stupid...boring...be prepared to experience stupidity like never before.jed is dumb 1 stars
10/23/01 Tam Mindless, soulless and BORING! My goldfish can act more convincingly than Saffron Burrows! 1 stars
10/08/01 jawsboy fantastic animatronics, shitty CGI. Bad to average acting. ok script, direction,good action 3 stars
9/05/01 Butterbean Better than I thought It would be. You can't say that it's predictable. 4 stars
8/11/01 Jay Hiatt quite possibly the worst movie i've seen in a LONG time...no character development, no plot 1 stars
8/10/01 keith langman ........better than jaws...jed what the hell is your problem 3 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk A Renny Harlin shark movie...I would rather be deep-throated by a shark than watch this. 1 stars
6/22/01 Dave Better than Jaws??!! You gotta be kiddin' me Jed! (Clampett) 2 stars
6/20/01 Bada Bing Crosby Enjoyed it cuz I watched it w/my three nephews, all under 11-they loved it! 4 stars
4/12/01 Jesse L Good escape movie... 4 stars
2/27/01 Monday Morning Not real heavy, but real fun & good adrenaline rush. 3 stars
2/10/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Renny Harlin should be taken out and shot. Another director, we might have had something. 3 stars
1/14/01 Avenger Girl Another special effects hollywood effort, but watchable. 4 stars
11/03/00 Jed Its slightly better than Jaws. Seriously it is. 4 stars
9/14/00 bison it's a piece. 1 stars
8/31/00 Eat Me! Who are these fucking retards who actually admit to liking this insipid crap? 1 stars
8/30/00 sink or swim Pure adrenaline rush 3 stars
8/08/00 Elvisfan how about the 'shallow and somewhat dull' blue sea? 2 stars
8/06/00 Scoggins Fuck Jaws! That movie ruled, but DBS does too. Scary fx, cool characters, great sets. Yeah! 5 stars
7/14/00 Naushad Khanji Better than overhyped and boring Jaws. 4 stars
5/30/00 danilo well it's not a masterpiece, but it sure was fun 4 stars
5/24/00 jimbob predictable, dumb, and gaping plot holes 1 stars
4/27/00 Kelsey I loved this movie!! They should make a Deep Blue Sea 2 with Thomas Jane and LL Cool J. 5 stars
4/26/00 Jed It almost surpassed jaws. (But not quite) 4 stars
4/09/00 andrew shaw loved it 5 stars
3/25/00 Richard Wright Solid entertainment that doesn't try to be too clever, and supplies the requisite thrills. 3 stars
3/16/00 fire-n-ice damm good kept me on the edge 5 stars
2/21/00 arnold great action 5 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Dumb summer fare redeemed by a few interesting twists. Can't touch "Jaws", though. Sorry. 3 stars
1/10/00 Jacqueline Anderson if I`m unest, ..........it stinks! 3 stars
12/31/99 Paul Great 4 stars
12/20/99 Eric S. I found this film surprisingly unengaging and sluggish. Jaws is much better 3 stars
12/18/99 SID One of the best thrill-ride movies to come out since Jurassic Park. Admit you liked it. 5 stars
12/10/99 P The scariest movie you will see this year 5 stars
11/25/99 Mattias Dahlgren Ghee! Does Stellan Skarsgard rule or what?! He totally owns this great movie anyway... 5 stars
11/13/99 George Nedelchev Exciting, balanced, well shot. Pure entertainment. 4 stars
11/10/99 david bax OR E-MAIL me at baxie_12@yahoo.com the best movie ever 5 stars
11/10/99 Ryan Philippe gets hit by a car and it rules OH Man I just saw it and that part with the shark and the guy in the water! I combusted! 5 stars
11/09/99 Ralf Behet A fairly good watch. No more no less. Don't expect too much 3 stars
11/09/99 MAFIABOY!! LOUD,Bad Acting and Rubber sharks...LLcoolJ was the worst! timewasting though 4 stars
11/04/99 Jartsa Great movie, No stupid kissing scenes 3 stars
11/02/99 Dave An absolute pile of stinking poop. Thats 2 hours of my life I would like refunded. 1 stars
10/23/99 Emma Fantastic! Better than Jaws. 5 stars
10/23/99 Jaddax the best shark movie for a long time 5 stars
10/22/99 Matthew Bartley Giant sharks eating people.What do you expect? 4 stars
10/16/99 Mark It was ok, but the last movie I saw was Blair Witch, so I had so little to compare it to. 3 stars
10/10/99 john grove a nice timewaster, some good scares 4 stars
10/10/99 HotStuff It was great and it makes think about whether or not you want to go swimming in the ocean!! 5 stars
10/05/99 Hannah Dove It was totally awesome. it was jumpy. its good to get your adrenolen rushing. it was a rush 5 stars
10/05/99 rob It takes too long to get started, but once it does, it ROCKS!!! 4 stars
10/02/99 Ian WEBB What a load of shit - too many laws of physics are overcome 1 stars
9/22/99 ctrlaltdelete great movie, very entertaining, didn't patronize viewers 5 stars
9/20/99 JP Crough I thought it was an exciting thriller. I had to see it twice 4 stars
9/15/99 LCW A laugh riot. A shark replaces Geena as Renny's "Bitch with an Attitude." 4 stars
9/13/99 Joni Martikainen I liked it very much! it is really good film, but I thought that it would be better! 4 stars
9/11/99 Timbo My mom got eaten by a shark fuck this movie 1 stars
9/10/99 Prudence Hardwick(Age 65) you youngins' jus don know a good movie when ya see one. 5 stars
9/07/99 Springfieldian I love to see people eaten! 4 stars
8/27/99 Augie This film is intense, scary, action packed, and unpredictable. 5 stars
8/24/99 Obi Wan Movie with balls...go see it! 4 stars
8/21/99 Cherry Great film, Fun, Recognize the fun in the film people, ..its not to be taken seriously 5 stars
8/20/99 Sillybugger Back away from the f***king computer and make a real movie... 2 stars
8/19/99 Tree Computer FX becoming boring. DBS proves this. 2 stars
8/19/99 Buckshot Nice FX 5 stars
8/18/99 Rick "Deep Blue Sea" is, by far, the best shark movie I've seen this summer. 3 stars
8/18/99 Rodney Duke Stupid Stupid Stupid. Terrible Dialogue 1 stars
8/13/99 Jazzy It was everything good about a cheesy action movie 5 stars
8/12/99 ALiaS I couldnt stop laughing thru the whole thing...hey, weren't those the Mint-a-Burst sharks?? 1 stars
8/10/99 Malbert Pretty crappy plot&acting, but see it just for the sharks 3 stars
8/05/99 Alexis I went there to be scared and I was suprised a few times. 3 stars
8/05/99 Bill G 2 scoops of Jurassic Park, a dash of Twister and a hell of a lot of water = A GREAT MOVIE 5 stars
8/04/99 A-Dawg Pretty awesome for a super-animal movie 5 stars
8/03/99 Will G very entertaining, full of suspense, and attention grabbing but lacked realism in places 4 stars
8/03/99 Trevor Snow Of course a 20 ton shark can bust though 3-inch thick glass, but can't bust open an oven 2 stars
8/03/99 Nigel Herringbone III This movie was brilliant. LL Cool J provided was fucking dope...Sharks are cool!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/03/99 Obi Wan Finally a movie with guts! A Good Summer Flick....defn8ly worth watching. Will surprise u 4 stars
8/02/99 Raeleen Mattes not a jaws knock off at all, exciting and not as bad as I thought it would be 4 stars
8/02/99 Weird Andy I was too busy masturbating to really follow the flick, but it seemed okay. 3 stars
8/02/99 Daddy Rich Great surprises and great effects. One of the best movies of the summer. 5 stars
8/02/99 John M Pretty corny at points but it has good action, GREAT surprises and good humor. 4 stars
7/31/99 XenoWolf The writers and director should have grown some brains before making it 2 stars
7/31/99 Michael Superlative effects, a very likable cast, and, best of all, totally unpredictable at times! 5 stars
7/31/99 Kitty purr It was a very good movie. Just the thing for summer. 4 stars
7/30/99 Vampyre9mm You take sharks and make them smart!!! This movie seemed like it was written on a dare. 2 stars
7/30/99 buddy What "The Haunting" thought it was. 4 stars
7/29/99 Derek Rich I agree, totally. 'Deep Blue Sea' has bite. You can never guess who gets chomped in it 4 stars
7/29/99 jvt common sense was right out the fucking window 2 stars
12/22/98 The Dude It will be cool just check out whos in it and who it's directed by 4 stars
8/28/98 Mister Whoopee Especially bad. Jaws where the sharks turn human-like and kill scientists. Ugh. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Jul-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  27-Sep-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast