More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.36

Awesome: 21.94%
Worth A Look34.69%
Average: 17.86%
Pretty Bad: 8.16%
Total Crap: 17.35%

9 reviews, 142 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Annie (2014) by Brett Gallman

Back in Time (Fleet of Time) by Jay Seaver

Annie (2014) by Peter Sobczynski

Inherent Vice by Jay Seaver

Babadook, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hobbit, The: The Battle of the Five Armies by Peter Sobczynski

Strong Man, The by Jay Seaver

Top Five by Jay Seaver

Zero Motivation by Jay Seaver

Exodus: Gods and Kings by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Deep Blue Sea
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"As crappy shark movies go, it's pretty fun."
4 stars

A case can be made for cheese that does what it's supposed to do. I can't imagine wanting to see 'Deep Blue Sea' again, but as a one-time-only, low-expectation, Sunday-afternoon diversion, it kept me amused.

The movie, as you may have gathered, is about superfast, supersmart sharks. Think how long it's been since you saw a shark-attack movie; I mean, this subgenre didn't deserve to end with Jaws: The Revenge. Right from the start, when a comely young woman dips her foot into the dark ocean and we get one of those ominous shark's-eye views of the wiggling tootsies, I settled in cheerfully for an $80 million Roger Corman movie. About the only thing missing is gratuitous T & A, though there is a moment when a female character strips down to her bra and panties in the midst of a particularly stressful shark encounter. This same woman also gets to deliver dialogue like "She may be the world's smartest animal, but she's still an animal." Movies like Deep Blue Sea just make me irrationally happy, and I smiled all the way through it; it brought out the part of me that likes beer, pizza, and drive-in movies.

Somewhere out in the middle of the ocean, a crew of scientists led by Saffron Burrows (the one who so obligingly strips) is making sharks' brains bigger so they can find a cure for Alzheimer's. One wonders why they didn't opt to enlarge the brain of a relatively harmless animal like a kitten (perhaps because nobody would go see an $80 million summer movie about superfast, supersmart kittens on the rampage). It hardly even matters why they're messing around with sharks; we just want to get to the part where the sharks start using their superior IQs, which apparently enable them to bash through steel doors (didn't I read somewhere that the most sensitive part of a shark is its nose?) and leap out of the water like Shamu to eat someone who's in the middle of a dreary monologue.

The cast includes Samuel L. Jackson, fast becoming the new Michael Caine, as the moneybags who's financing the experiments; Thomas Jane (the jittery would-be drug dealer in Boogie Nights) as a shark wrangler so macho he grabs hold of a Mako's fin and rides the critter like a bronco; LL Cool J as a cook who's so certain he's going to die (he must be a horror-movie fan who knows the rule that black characters usually die first) that he's one of the few characters you figure is going to live; and Michael Rapaport, the movie's designated Guy Who Just Wants to Get the Fuck Outta Here. They mostly take a back seat to the real stars -- the computer-generated sharks who move like lightning through the black water, occasionally grabbing an understandably dismayed person and playing "Make a Wish." If the comparatively low-tech Jaws movies left you wondering exactly what a human being might look like when being gnawed to pieces by a pair of razor-toothed sharks, Deep Blue Sea has the answer.

The movie is a coarse '90s version of Jaws, and you may miss the suspense and virtuosity that resulted from Steven Spielberg's not really having a shark that worked properly; he was forced to reveal his monster in bits and pieces, whereas Renny Harlin, who does the honors here, has sharks that can convincingly swim right up and devour people (the victims are also computer-generated). If you wanted to be grouchy about it, you could use Deep Blue Sea as a textbook example of how special effects have killed any sense of mystery at the movies (actually, Exhibit A should be 1999's The Haunting), but I don't quite have the heart to be grouchy about it. There's a darkly funny, Starship Troopers-ish sadism to the sharks, who are relentlessly in your face; if they see you, chomp, game over, man.

Renny Harlin is a top-notch assembler of B movies with A budgets -- I enjoyed his 'Cutthroat Island' and 'The Long Kiss Goodnight' far more than I probably should've -- and he works with efficiency and purpose. You're in and out in 100 minutes, you see what you came to see, and you forget it half an hour later. But what the hell. To paraphrase Saffron Burrows, it may not be the world's smartest shark movie, but it's still a shark movie.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=737&reviewer=416
originally posted: 01/12/07 14:30:24
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/23/14 ftlmayj USA 2 stars
4/17/14 pidaedxh USA 3 stars
4/14/14 Ahilpmma USA 4 stars
3/23/14 Pfqcoyix USA 2 stars
3/23/14 Qsvdnlex USA 3 stars
3/22/14 Lgpeuvjx USA 5 stars
3/21/14 Usuxxihe USA 2 stars
3/21/14 Hnoethjm USA 5 stars
2/08/14 Lsoyaevt USA 3 stars
2/07/13 Kcaj thrilling fun! 4 stars
7/10/11 Jennifer Barr Excellent movie...i wish they would make a part 2 ! 5 stars
10/14/09 PAUL SHORTT UNORIGINAL, UNINTELLIGENT AND LACKING IN SURPRISE 2 stars
4/29/07 Jackospacko 5.5 out of 10 on IMDB? What the Fuck? It should be 7.1 out of 10 totally 4 stars
4/23/07 David Risser Almost as good as Jaws! 4 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega The underwater killers are a fast-moving 'Jaws'. 3 stars
2/13/07 Anthony Feor A great movie (4.5/5) 4 stars
2/13/07 johnnyfog Funny as shit when Jackson's speech gets cut 1 stars
1/13/07 del A pos review for this and DREAMCATCHER, but a neg for DARK CITY? Rob, get a clue... 1 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist Strictly Jaws wannabe. 2 words&2 words only,POPCORN FLICK!!!! 3 stars
4/22/06 Jack Not as exciting as Jaws but not far of it 4 stars
1/09/06 Gerry Dunne What brainless morons would think we would enjoy this crap? 1 stars
11/25/05 cr fun movie and got few characters l care about ,but it like pump up verison of jaws 3 3 stars
8/13/05 ES Don't think of it as a JAWS rip-off (come on its been 30 years) and its not too bad 4 stars
6/21/05 shinu very good 5 stars
6/14/05 E-FUNK It's hard to find words that describe just how fucking terrible this movie is. Harlin blows 1 stars
5/28/05 tony Great Shark Movie since Jaws! Exellent plot. A KEEPER! great characters!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
2/13/05 Alice Colwell yawn 2 stars
12/13/04 Nick Complete hopeless drivel. Great to watch. Plenty of digital splatter. 1 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams they ate me! a fucking shark ate me! 3 stars
9/04/04 Aaron Smith My favorite shark movie. 5 stars
1/28/04 Vicious When i saw it, it was actually not annoying. I just played dumb while i watched it. 2 stars
12/08/03 aman deep sea 3 stars
11/29/03 john far fetched nonsense 1 stars
8/07/03 marc_ian_a Excellent ! (5 stars) :) 5 stars
7/13/03 3man One of the few movies to actually make me jump. SLJ's scene was unexpected. 3 stars
4/24/03 Magical Dragon top flick love it 5 stars
4/02/03 jojo i love filim 5 stars
3/25/03 Jack Sommersby It's pretty passable -- if not really recommendable. 3 stars
2/11/03 Nevz Shallow, too shallow 3 stars
2/04/03 Dragica It's the BEST movie ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/04/03 Isaac Garza It's baad. 5 stars
1/13/03 Gracy Lionheart Just sit back, relax, and have a blast. 4 stars
9/17/02 Zefram Mann Could've been good if not for some REALLY shitty CGI shots. 3 stars
7/19/02 patricia i loved the way the characters were offed! groovy fun! 4 stars
6/20/02 Dana Sherkawi it's too nice 5 stars
6/13/02 Heather Purplethorne Stellan Skarsgård is best actor in it, so why is he one killed by sharks early on? 1 stars
5/19/02 davey mac holy crap this is so bad it made Godzilla look good. 1 stars
5/15/02 Blake The sharks look very alive in this film. 5 stars
4/24/02 Danielle Ophelia I like my man vs. science movies grittier than this, but its balls were in the right place. 3 stars
3/06/02 Veronica Foxx -The Raven-Haired Temptress Forgive me for becoming a ditzy schoolgirl, but Thomas Jane is rather lovely. Movies good 2 4 stars
3/05/02 Scottish Kilt Jaws is miles better, this is the poor man's Jaws. 2 stars
1/22/02 Some Guy "WORST MOVIE EVER". THERE WAS NO PLOT. ALL IT WAS WAS A "SHARK EATS EVERYONE". TOTAL CRAP! 1 stars
1/06/02 FGJ180 Unspeakable. One of the worst movies of the '90s. 1 stars
12/06/01 travis lame...stupid...boring...be prepared to experience stupidity like never before.jed is dumb 1 stars
10/23/01 Tam Mindless, soulless and BORING! My goldfish can act more convincingly than Saffron Burrows! 1 stars
10/08/01 jawsboy fantastic animatronics, shitty CGI. Bad to average acting. ok script, direction,good action 3 stars
9/05/01 Butterbean Better than I thought It would be. You can't say that it's predictable. 4 stars
8/11/01 Jay Hiatt quite possibly the worst movie i've seen in a LONG time...no character development, no plot 1 stars
8/10/01 keith langman ........better than jaws...jed what the hell is your problem 3 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk A Renny Harlin shark movie...I would rather be deep-throated by a shark than watch this. 1 stars
6/22/01 Dave Better than Jaws??!! You gotta be kiddin' me Jed! (Clampett) 2 stars
6/20/01 Bada Bing Crosby Enjoyed it cuz I watched it w/my three nephews, all under 11-they loved it! 4 stars
4/12/01 Jesse L Good escape movie... 4 stars
2/27/01 Monday Morning Not real heavy, but real fun & good adrenaline rush. 3 stars
2/10/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi Renny Harlin should be taken out and shot. Another director, we might have had something. 3 stars
1/14/01 Avenger Girl Another special effects hollywood effort, but watchable. 4 stars
11/03/00 Jed Its slightly better than Jaws. Seriously it is. 4 stars
9/14/00 bison it's a piece. 1 stars
8/31/00 Eat Me! Who are these fucking retards who actually admit to liking this insipid crap? 1 stars
8/30/00 sink or swim Pure adrenaline rush 3 stars
8/08/00 Elvisfan how about the 'shallow and somewhat dull' blue sea? 2 stars
8/06/00 Scoggins Fuck Jaws! That movie ruled, but DBS does too. Scary fx, cool characters, great sets. Yeah! 5 stars
7/14/00 Naushad Khanji Better than overhyped and boring Jaws. 4 stars
5/30/00 danilo well it's not a masterpiece, but it sure was fun 4 stars
5/24/00 jimbob predictable, dumb, and gaping plot holes 1 stars
4/27/00 Kelsey I loved this movie!! They should make a Deep Blue Sea 2 with Thomas Jane and LL Cool J. 5 stars
4/26/00 Jed It almost surpassed jaws. (But not quite) 4 stars
4/09/00 andrew shaw loved it 5 stars
3/25/00 Richard Wright Solid entertainment that doesn't try to be too clever, and supplies the requisite thrills. 3 stars
3/16/00 fire-n-ice damm good kept me on the edge 5 stars
2/21/00 arnold great action 5 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Dumb summer fare redeemed by a few interesting twists. Can't touch "Jaws", though. Sorry. 3 stars
1/10/00 Jacqueline Anderson if I`m unest, ..........it stinks! 3 stars
12/31/99 Paul Great 4 stars
12/20/99 Eric S. I found this film surprisingly unengaging and sluggish. Jaws is much better 3 stars
12/18/99 SID One of the best thrill-ride movies to come out since Jurassic Park. Admit you liked it. 5 stars
12/10/99 P The scariest movie you will see this year 5 stars
11/25/99 Mattias Dahlgren Ghee! Does Stellan Skarsgard rule or what?! He totally owns this great movie anyway... 5 stars
11/13/99 George Nedelchev Exciting, balanced, well shot. Pure entertainment. 4 stars
11/10/99 david bax OR E-MAIL me at baxie_12@yahoo.com the best movie ever 5 stars
11/10/99 Ryan Philippe gets hit by a car and it rules OH Man I just saw it and that part with the shark and the guy in the water! I combusted! 5 stars
11/09/99 Ralf Behet A fairly good watch. No more no less. Don't expect too much 3 stars
11/09/99 MAFIABOY!! LOUD,Bad Acting and Rubber sharks...LLcoolJ was the worst! timewasting though 4 stars
11/04/99 Jartsa Great movie, No stupid kissing scenes 3 stars
11/02/99 Dave An absolute pile of stinking poop. Thats 2 hours of my life I would like refunded. 1 stars
10/23/99 Emma Fantastic! Better than Jaws. 5 stars
10/23/99 Jaddax the best shark movie for a long time 5 stars
10/22/99 Matthew Bartley Giant sharks eating people.What do you expect? 4 stars
10/16/99 Mark It was ok, but the last movie I saw was Blair Witch, so I had so little to compare it to. 3 stars
10/10/99 john grove a nice timewaster, some good scares 4 stars
10/10/99 HotStuff It was great and it makes think about whether or not you want to go swimming in the ocean!! 5 stars
10/05/99 Hannah Dove It was totally awesome. it was jumpy. its good to get your adrenolen rushing. it was a rush 5 stars
10/05/99 rob It takes too long to get started, but once it does, it ROCKS!!! 4 stars
10/02/99 Ian WEBB What a load of shit - too many laws of physics are overcome 1 stars
9/22/99 ctrlaltdelete great movie, very entertaining, didn't patronize viewers 5 stars
9/20/99 JP Crough I thought it was an exciting thriller. I had to see it twice 4 stars
9/15/99 LCW A laugh riot. A shark replaces Geena as Renny's "Bitch with an Attitude." 4 stars
9/13/99 Joni Martikainen I liked it very much! it is really good film, but I thought that it would be better! 4 stars
9/11/99 Timbo My mom got eaten by a shark fuck this movie 1 stars
9/10/99 Prudence Hardwick(Age 65) you youngins' jus don know a good movie when ya see one. 5 stars
9/07/99 Springfieldian I love to see people eaten! 4 stars
8/27/99 Augie This film is intense, scary, action packed, and unpredictable. 5 stars
8/24/99 Obi Wan Movie with balls...go see it! 4 stars
8/21/99 Cherry Great film, Fun, Recognize the fun in the film people, ..its not to be taken seriously 5 stars
8/20/99 Sillybugger Back away from the f***king computer and make a real movie... 2 stars
8/19/99 Tree Computer FX becoming boring. DBS proves this. 2 stars
8/19/99 Buckshot Nice FX 5 stars
8/18/99 Rick "Deep Blue Sea" is, by far, the best shark movie I've seen this summer. 3 stars
8/18/99 Rodney Duke Stupid Stupid Stupid. Terrible Dialogue 1 stars
8/13/99 Jazzy It was everything good about a cheesy action movie 5 stars
8/12/99 ALiaS I couldnt stop laughing thru the whole thing...hey, weren't those the Mint-a-Burst sharks?? 1 stars
8/10/99 Malbert Pretty crappy plot&acting, but see it just for the sharks 3 stars
8/05/99 Alexis I went there to be scared and I was suprised a few times. 3 stars
8/05/99 Bill G 2 scoops of Jurassic Park, a dash of Twister and a hell of a lot of water = A GREAT MOVIE 5 stars
8/04/99 A-Dawg Pretty awesome for a super-animal movie 5 stars
8/03/99 Will G very entertaining, full of suspense, and attention grabbing but lacked realism in places 4 stars
8/03/99 Trevor Snow Of course a 20 ton shark can bust though 3-inch thick glass, but can't bust open an oven 2 stars
8/03/99 Nigel Herringbone III This movie was brilliant. LL Cool J provided was fucking dope...Sharks are cool!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/03/99 Obi Wan Finally a movie with guts! A Good Summer Flick....defn8ly worth watching. Will surprise u 4 stars
8/02/99 Raeleen Mattes not a jaws knock off at all, exciting and not as bad as I thought it would be 4 stars
8/02/99 Weird Andy I was too busy masturbating to really follow the flick, but it seemed okay. 3 stars
8/02/99 Daddy Rich Great surprises and great effects. One of the best movies of the summer. 5 stars
8/02/99 John M Pretty corny at points but it has good action, GREAT surprises and good humor. 4 stars
7/31/99 XenoWolf The writers and director should have grown some brains before making it 2 stars
7/31/99 Michael Superlative effects, a very likable cast, and, best of all, totally unpredictable at times! 5 stars
7/31/99 Kitty purr It was a very good movie. Just the thing for summer. 4 stars
7/30/99 Vampyre9mm You take sharks and make them smart!!! This movie seemed like it was written on a dare. 2 stars
7/30/99 buddy What "The Haunting" thought it was. 4 stars
7/29/99 Derek Rich I agree, totally. 'Deep Blue Sea' has bite. You can never guess who gets chomped in it 4 stars
7/29/99 jvt common sense was right out the fucking window 2 stars
12/22/98 The Dude It will be cool just check out whos in it and who it's directed by 4 stars
8/28/98 Mister Whoopee Especially bad. Jaws where the sharks turn human-like and kill scientists. Ugh. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Jul-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  27-Sep-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast