More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.56

Awesome74.14%
Worth A Look: 16.51%
Average: 3.74%
Pretty Bad: 2.18%
Total Crap: 3.43%

19 reviews, 207 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Daniel Kelly

Goodbye to Language by Jay Seaver

Mea Culpa by Jay Seaver

Homesman, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Peter Sobczynski

Purge, The: Anarchy by Rob Gonsalves

Raid 2, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fault in Our Stars, The by Rob Gonsalves

Dumb and Dumber To by Brett Gallman

Space Mutiny by Jaycie

subscribe to this feed


South Park: Bigger Longer and Uncut
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Not a dead spot anywhere in it."
5 stars

In a comedy, a good strong beginning can win over the audience and make up for some flab in the middle, and 'South Park: Bigger, Longer & Uncut' boasts perhaps the most uproarious first reel in recent memory.

Our heroes, Stan, Kyle, Cartman, and Kenny, have nabbed tickets to a hot Canadian film -- Terrance and Phillip in Asses of Fire. As Terrance and Phillip cavort around, farting copiously and blurting out words they can't say on TV, and then as the boys leave the theater blurting out words they can't say on Comedy Central, the audience laughter is like a wall of sound. It's as if we were at a rock concert, with every "suck my balls, you pigfuckin' son of a bitch" rolling out like a killer drum solo; it's electrifying. We've heard the boys talk R-rated trash before, in the South Park precursor "The Spirit of Christmas," but what's fresh about it here is the delirious sense of discovery, the long-forgotten thrill of kids learning forbidden words and eagerly parroting them again and again. Among other things, the South Park movie restores the happy shock and exuberance of talking dirty.

The creators of South Park, Trey Parker and Matt Stone (Parker directed, he and Stone wrote the script with the show's creative producer Pam Brady), are accomplished parodists and satirists. (Which are two different things. Some can do parody and some can do satire, but very few can do both, and do them well.) Some have said the show has lost steam lately, and the pair's appearance in the poorly received BASEketball didn't help their case, but this riotous and gleefully offensive outrage should put them right back on top. The movie is a gigantic joke on its audience and on itself; the audience in the film, watching the crudely animated Asses of Fire, is not terribly different from us. The film actually works on several levels, which Beavis & Butt-Head Do America didn't, as rudely funny as it was. Parker and Stone butcher all past critics of the show and any future critics of the movie; arriving as it does like a fart at the somber post-Columbine funeral, it's a sharp slap of common sense.

When the boys go off spouting the wondrous new phrases they've learned, their mothers react with predictable horror. The villain of this piece isn't Satan or Saddam Hussein (both of whom appear, spooning in Hell, awaiting their chance to take over the world); it's Sheila Broflovski, Kyle's easily offended mom ("WhawhaWHAAT?"), who spearheads an assault on Terrance and Phillip's homeland of Canada. In outline, the movie may seem like a feature-length reworking of the South Park episode "Death," wherein Kyle's mom took on the network showing T & P cartoons (and the network exec, in answer to parental protests, uttered the classic line "You can direct your complaints to that brick wall over there"). But in form it's also a subversive skewering of the MPAA, which finally gave this movie an R rating (it had to be trimmed to avoid an NC-17) despite several mean and very funny shots at them. What good, for instance, is a ratings system that can be so easily circumvented by quick-thinking kids? Indeed, sitting in the audience at South Park, you may spot some kids who (as Parker and Stone pointed out in a recent appearance on The Tonight Show) bought a ticket to Wild Wild West and snuck into South Park, or just kids whose parents were lazy or imbecilic enough to bring them.

Well, if those parents are faced with post-movie questions about "donkey-raping shit-eaters" or clitorises, they deserve it. South Park the show is not for kids, and South Park the movie is not even for a lot of adults. There's one cannon-fodder joke so stunningly cynical that many in the audience will be too uncomfortable to laugh; yet the joke cuts to the quick and makes its point more vividly than any op-ed column could. Some will regret the usual Parker-Stone frat-boy homophobia, represented here by dragging Big Gay Al onstage for a few queeny minutes, and I wanted a little less of the Satan-Saddam romance (Saddam is a threadbare target by now anyway), which weighs down the film's midsection and has the unappetizing side effect of equating homosexuality with evil. You don't have to be politically correct to question why, in 1999, gay men are still used so lazily as foils for humor, and that laziness, more than anything else, is what bothered me; Parker and Stone are smarter than that. They can get along just fine without having to resort to "Let's laugh at the swishy fag" -- and Big Gay Al's big gay musical number isn't all that funny anyway.

The movie also threatens to take a turn toward self-important martyrdom: Terrance and Phillip are scheduled to be executed -- the way Parker and Stone expect to be crucified for their offenses to good taste? -- and the blood they shed will unleash the hounds of chaos. "You brought enough intolerance into the world for me to take over," Saddam editorializes, as if a boycott of South Park might mean a domino effect of shattered freedom everywhere. Parker and Stone sometimes get too self-congratulatory about their opposition to cultural fascism; even the best satirists can get caught up in preaching to the choir. A completely ballsy South Park movie might have skewered its own merchandising machine and openly questioned why the movie exists in the first place (answer: because Warner and Paramount want to make money). Why not put some satirical screws to the studio that releases Asses of Fire and then hides behind lofty rhetoric to defend songs like "Uncle Fucka"? The satire here, while 95% hilarious and dead-on, can also be awfully one-sided.

Aside from these flaws, which I would only notice and point out in a movie that is otherwise as incisive as a razor, South Park consistently hits its targets and our funnybone. With the help of veteran composer Marc Shaiman (past purveyor of musical schmaltz for such weepies as Patch Adams, Shaiman must have spent some time wondering how he ever got involved in this project), Parker crafts no less than 14 show-stopping musical numbers, which usually have wicked fun with some form of kiddie music. Mr. Mackie's instructional ditty "It's Easy, MmmKay," for instance, sounds to these ears like a roughhouse goof on Schoolhouse Rock (I hear a bit of Sesame Street and Electric Company in it as well), and Satan's big stirring anthem "Up There" is a pitch-perfect gutting of the typical Oscar-winning Disney song. Then there's the "international" version of Cartman's barnstorming "Kyle's Mom's a Bitch," which must be seen and heard to be believed; all that's missing is a follow-the-bouncing-ball sing-along.

The thoroughgoing filthiness of South Park can be a cleansing experience. As a society, we've gotten too damn self-righteous lately, acting as moral cops for other countries and our own citizens; Trey Parker and Matt Stone are saying, "Fuck that -- all of us are fucked up; we've always been fucked up, we always will be fucked up."

Which is a nihilistic worldview but not necessarily a false one -- Jonathan Swift got a lot of mileage out of it, and people considered him crass and offensive, too. God only knows what the Sheila Broflovskis of America would make of him, if they actually picked up a book.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=738&reviewer=416
originally posted: 12/30/06 15:00:40
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Santa Monica Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Santa Monica Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

5/16/12 Sheryl Granholm The first time I saw this film in the theater, I literally fell out of my chair laughing. 5 stars
7/02/09 Dane Youssef A collage of the best, the worst, wild, grotseque rollicking art and social commentary. 5 stars
10/26/08 Shaun Wallner Hilarious Movie! 5 stars
4/15/08 Andrew Dude, this movie was fucking sweet, bitches! So funny, and so many hilarious jokes! 5 stars
3/27/08 SamanthaPayntr super funny! i loved the musical parts of it, close to Les Miserables 4 stars
7/30/07 ben dover hilarious so suck my fucking balls 5 stars
4/17/07 Stevo UK Bloody ace. I love south park and this is its best. 5 stars
3/29/07 fools♫gold Themaestroforanimatedcomedy-musicals. "SpontaneousCombustion"+"Cancelled turned into 82 min 5 stars
1/06/07 Sugarfoot Blame Canada! In all seriousness the best comedy of the 90s. 5 stars
12/01/06 David Pollastrini never a big fan 3 stars
11/22/06 DarkEnchantress funny as hell! Fuck fuck fuckity fuck! 5 stars
10/24/06 AJ Muller Hilarious raunchfest or biting satire? Proof that you CAN have 2 in 1, you bastards - 5 stars
10/15/06 waylah exciting 2 stars
8/23/06 David Cohen Movies based on TV shows usually suck, this was a rare exception 5 stars
8/02/06 dan if you want funny you cant go wrong with south park the movie 5 stars
6/22/06 ghgf good 5 stars
6/05/06 mary really funny 5 stars
5/06/06 dionwr Brilliant and warped 4 stars
5/02/06 Ryan_A It warped my fragile little mind! 5 stars
5/02/06 William Goss What's the big deal? It doesn't hurt anybody. Fuck-fuckety-fuck-fuck-fuck. 5 stars
5/02/06 David Cornelius Shut your fucking face, uncle fucker 5 stars
5/02/06 HBS-SH padme's dangerous pal 5 stars
4/12/06 jamesh beautiful 5 stars
3/30/06 mike South Park Rules!!! Let's get another S.Park movie! 5 stars
3/14/06 Kei Rei Fuckin' awesome. Just...awesome. 5 stars
3/09/06 Dk Always funny sometimes hilarious this is a little gem 4 stars
12/30/05 Agent Sands A truly brilliant movie. One of the funniest and wittiest of all comedies. 5 stars
10/24/05 tony this is through the roof funny!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/25/05 D Buckley Curse words by themselves aren't funny 2 stars
8/17/05 ES hey Satan= the funniest moments in film= and its aboot time 5 stars
7/13/05 babiiboo fur you GREAT MOVIE* 5 stars
7/03/05 Eddie LOL a wicked funny movie 5 stars
6/28/05 ryan this fucking film is awesome so shut your fucking face uncle fucker 5 stars
5/25/05 Johnno The biggest load of shit I have ever seen 1 stars
5/02/05 Valerie Cartman is awesome! Best Movie Ever! 5 stars
3/28/05 Netsurfer *laughs ass off* This movie's hilarious. 4 stars
1/31/05 New Jersey Rules you people still watch this shit? 1 stars
1/18/05 Jeff Anderson TWISTED, FOULMOUTHED, AND SIDESPLITTINGLY HILARIOUS! The songs KICK ASS, too! BRILLIANT! 5 stars
1/05/05 mandy SHUT YOUR FUCKING FACE, MOTHAFUCKAAA, SHUT YOUR FKING FACE UNCL FUCKAAAA (funny shit hey) 5 stars
12/28/04 Archanist_101 It's better when you watch it with your mates!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/05/04 dave totaly fucking awesome so fucking awsome it fucks u up. fuck u mother fuckers. Fuk shit 5 stars
10/10/04 Royal Smith This movie is so funny I crapped on myself 5 stars
8/16/04 Dallas Moye Hilarious 5 stars
8/13/04 kenny49 funny songs "uncle fucker...", very cool !!!!!!! 5 stars
6/21/04 Samuel Sk8 taste? What a retard.This movie was simply genius. 5 stars
4/07/04 Sig 'HELLOWEEN' up yours! and 'Kyle' well done! 5 stars
3/26/04 FR1 Not just funny but CLEVER. Seriously, South Park was CLEVER!!!!! 5 stars
2/28/04 Kyle HELLOWEEN 8 dick 4 cheap. Great movie. 5 stars
2/10/04 Whatevr I laughed for hours! 5 stars
1/02/04 HELLOWEEN meh 2 stupid 4 my sk8 taste 1 stars
12/30/03 Littlepurch Brilliant. Gr8 jokes, songs and story. I really can't find a single thing to complain about 5 stars
12/06/03 bender Very clever songs, exellent writing, just plain funny plot - The ultimate! 5 stars
11/30/03 Little Red Haired Girl I loved it, although the plot wasn't too great, at least they featured the Devil :) 5 stars
11/08/03 Agent Sands (previously Mr. Hat) It's not just an immature dicknfart joke. It's a really clever social slammer. A funny one. 5 stars
10/19/03 Jesus I should have had a bigger part in this movie. Hilarious tho! 5 stars
8/26/03 AD funny as 5 stars
7/14/03 Robbie Flick awesome 5 stars
7/02/03 Harpax Lots of nice musical songs the ' i can change' is especially nice one lol 5 stars
6/27/03 cochese Pure Fucking Genius. I cant say anymore. See it. Parker and Stone rule for this. 5 stars
6/06/03 Matt O Get Bill Gates in here 5 stars
4/20/03 Jack Sommersby Inventive, but it's uncouth and and all over place. Grating as hell. 2 stars
1/13/03 Dave Hilarious satire. Watch it now! 4 stars
1/07/03 Vince fucking hilarious, but full of social commentary if you pay attention. 5 stars
12/23/02 E-Rock If you haven't seen this gem, you're too busy fucking your uncle... 5 stars
11/11/02 Jess The best comedy film of all time 5 stars
8/19/02 Film Dude Hilarious 5 stars
8/08/02 Caiphn Pretty cute. 5 stars
7/29/02 Jon Fantastic soundtrack, Hilarious script, and deeply ironic too. Definitely in my top 5 films 5 stars
7/15/02 max zhang gary vidmar can suck my balls that donkey-raping uncle fucka 5 stars
7/04/02 gary vidmar A waste of your time and attention. Pure crap 1 stars
6/22/02 Bart Fantastic. A classic. 5 stars
6/11/02 qtpie Hilarious 5 stars
6/10/02 BuBBA Any kid or south park fan will love this movie 5 stars
5/26/02 Kyle Gary, are you on DRUGS? This isn't too long you dumb fuck. 5 stars
5/19/02 Jon Artus Go on. Blame Canada. I dare you... Worth it just for the Les-Mis pisstake medley... 5 stars
3/21/02 lucy fur what star wars episode 1 should've been 5 stars
2/28/02 Alan Smithee I've lost track how many times I've watched this movie. and it cracks me up every time. 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Craziness all around. Love the songs. 4 stars
2/17/02 Mark Lloyd Absolutely hilarious. A few flaws and nits but the rest of the movie is pure genious 5 stars
1/20/02 Gary Frequently funny but too long 3 stars
11/06/01 HM3 The first 30 minutes are absolutely hilarious, then it all just gets boring. 3 stars
10/22/01 Idot stick Who dares reveal the secret power of CLITORIS? 5 stars
9/09/01 Butterbean A smart movie with the wildest, funniest moments ever captured 5 stars
8/17/01 Dakamus We all knew that Satan was gay from the get-go. 5 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa Trey Parker and Matt Stone are great. This is a laugh riot that proves good points. 5 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg Shut your fucking face uncle fucker 5 stars
7/06/01 SBM The first time I saw it, I laughed like crazy for the first hour hour or more! 5 stars
6/24/01 dilbert90 A chalk full of good humor and f*****g good words!!!!!!!;) 5 stars
6/15/01 J This movie wasn't the best in ANYTHING but it was decent. 3 stars
6/15/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe Your ass is huge and red! Who am I going to pretend you are, Liza Minnelli? 5 stars
5/30/01 King Jackass BEST MUSICAL, COMEDY, WAR, AND ANIMATED MOVIE OF THE YEAR!!!!! 5 stars
5/22/01 Marijan Srdic An ass-kicking cartoon! 5 stars
5/13/01 Axe Murderer anybody who gives a rating other than fucking awesome should die 5 stars
5/04/01 Gracy Lionheart Quite entertaining. Loved the songs. I've watched it with my boyfriend 3 times. 4 stars
5/02/01 sharkey Get Bill Gates in here! The whole theatre was rolling. 5 stars
4/30/01 Steph Williams I laughed til I wet my pants! Classy film! I LOVE YOU GREGORY!!!! 5 stars
4/18/01 Jes one of the funniest ever 5 stars
4/16/01 WOW! THIS MOVIE ROCKS! SCREW U PHIL COLLINS! 5 stars
4/09/01 ChErRyRiPe Funny. Very funny, extremely funny. FUCKING FUNNY! 5 stars
4/03/01 Boy In The Designer Bubble Bought the DVD, should have won the Oscar for best score!!! 5 stars
4/02/01 Rainsby Excellent - very very funny 5 stars
3/27/01 Hobbes Kyle's mom is a bitch. King Kong Mayhem BEEOTCH! 4 stars
3/15/01 Richard Wright Some find it crude and offensive, I found it hilarious. Forget your morals and enjoy. 4 stars
3/02/01 viking "Fritz the Cat" was funnier than this !!! 1 stars
2/17/01 Loober Really Funny,was long time i laughed this much.Spank my ass and call me a bitch - Terrance 5 stars
1/22/01 scorekeeper great movie, not only because it has 399 naughty words 5 stars
1/22/01 jmr good overall - drags on a bit. first 20 minutes are hilarious 4 stars
1/19/01 Axe Murderer The best fucking movie ever!.....bitch! 5 stars
1/12/01 Matt69 this movie was so fucking hilarious. Best part when Saddam whips out the fake cock. 5 stars
1/07/01 Marko Renoy If SouthPark: Bigger, Longer& Uncut were a test paper, I'd give it an A++++++++++ 5 stars
1/02/01 Kris Reilly Anyone who can't appreciate a good fart solo has no sense of humor at all. 5 stars
12/21/00 fifu it's SOUTH PARK !!!!! COME ON PEOPLE 1 stars
12/15/00 Jeff hunter it rocks! 5 stars
11/04/00 Big gay al this movies the gay bomb 5 stars
7/11/00 Bender The first 30 mintues are a riot, but then everything gets old,and the songs become hideous 3 stars
6/30/00 Naushad Khanji Lousy animation.Backgrounds appear drawn by children.Poor in quality. 2 stars
5/24/00 The Bomb 69 Bill Gates finally gets what he deserves, well written, very clever 5 stars
5/13/00 Elvisfan I don't even watch the show but this movie is very well done & hysterical 5 stars
5/05/00 chris This movie rocked i got the DVD since then i have watched it close to 15 times. 5 stars
5/02/00 Pansy ehhh.... 1 stars
5/01/00 yo momma shite! 1 stars
4/02/00 perverted pixie Sick, whacked-out and kickass! I luved the mole! 5 stars
3/29/00 Kimberly Murphy-Smith Absolutely THE best movie of 1999. Wicked satire, great music, and more. 5 stars
3/22/00 Michael Grimm pure fucking genius and I blame canada!!! 5 stars
3/20/00 "Persnickety "Jenn one of the best movie of all time, suck on this one MPAA 5 stars
3/08/00 Richard Wright Crude animation, bad morals but who cares, this film is FUNNY! Love the songs, too. 4 stars
2/17/00 steve layne The first 25 minutes are pretty much hilarious. Then every single thing gets old after that 3 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Roll on the floor, laugh your ass off, piss your pants, kick the MPAA square in the nuts. 5 stars
1/24/00 arnold one of the funniest movies ever 5 stars
1/21/00 node I laughed so much it still hurts! 5 stars
12/18/99 SID Very funny movie. See it with Trey's other musical, "Cannibal: The Musical" 5 stars
12/06/99 bullit17 Hilarious. Great songs. As long as you're not afraid of vulgarity, you'll love it 5 stars
12/05/99 I killed Kenny You shit faced cock-master, fuck me in the ass and call me bitch. 5 stars
11/23/99 RadarDan Seen it twice and still haven't gotten all the jokes. 5 stars
11/22/99 Phreezer Oh my god they killed kenny he went to hell and had satan drop Sadam husien (heh) 5 stars
11/08/99 Steve Greatest satire of the nineties. 5 stars
11/03/99 Delta Yankee It was the best movie of the year so far... 5 stars
10/29/99 Lame-Oh at least it kicked Tarzan in the nuts 5 stars
10/21/99 Tom Wilmot Sweet 5 stars
10/19/99 JonnyAngel Yeah, i got it okay, but it still isn't much of a flick 2 stars
10/13/99 Luke Kieron Reading IT KICKED ASS BIGTIME 5 stars
9/25/99 Michael Grimm musically gifted movie, the raunchiness was great too 5 stars
9/21/99 Kory Strap on a 'Depends' undergarment 'cause your gonna piss your pants big time! 5 stars
9/20/99 Jennifer Hawkins Dude, that movie was fucking sweet!! 5 stars
9/11/99 Timbo Fuck is my favorite word 5 stars
9/11/99 Kevin Way Surprisingly funny... shockingly good sound 5 stars
9/09/99 Jon Funniest film of the year so far, watch out for the sending up of Return of the Jedi!! 5 stars
8/26/99 Steven Excellent flick... The only thing wrong was a lack of a Chef song. 5 stars
8/16/99 Stephen Cook funier than all the other shit that comes out 5 stars
8/14/99 Matt Parker and Stone have left the censors at the MPAA bleeding from the asshole. 5 stars
8/12/99 jason i laughed till I cried, then laughed some more. 5 stars
8/10/99 Keith Griffith Perhaps not really worth a full length film in a big movie house, but enjoyable enough. 4 stars
8/10/99 Dicky Pissed my pants the first half hour 5 stars
8/05/99 recordrover I laughed until I stopped. This movie was a naughty, shocking funhouse ride! 5 stars
8/02/99 John M Funniest movie of the year 5 stars
8/02/99 shirley groovy! 3 stars
8/01/99 Obi Wan Never have I heard the word "FUCK" used more than here..SP flick was ok at best 3 stars
7/31/99 Roman Damn funny. Take that you PC ASSHOLES!!! 5 stars
7/27/99 Michael_k@usa.net I like to see anyone shove it too all the PC people out there, but stop SINGING 3 stars
7/27/99 David Kindred OH, MY GOD!!! What a filthy movie. I loved parts of it. 4 stars
7/26/99 Duck Ok, mostly funny 3 stars
7/25/99 blue a brilliant masterpiece (the hidden cumshots, DBZ references etc. added to it as well) 5 stars
7/23/99 Orgazmo A delightfully offensive musical cartoon romp that projects the show onto the big screen. 5 stars
7/23/99 MagnumPI Glad to admit I have no taste. Here's to you, Uncle Fucka... 5 stars
7/23/99 John Lyons Good movie for people with no taste. 1 stars
7/22/99 Nessus Perfect social commentary on the opressive regime that seems to delight in tormenting P & S 5 stars
7/20/99 The Graduate Sweet! Relentlessly vulgar and nonstop funny. Not to mention topical to boot. 5 stars
7/20/99 Bob, Lord of Evil Cool, Oz and I think the same. 5 stars
7/20/99 Blubberbot This is a really funny film. 5 stars
7/20/99 Imagoner cool 5 stars
7/19/99 Leslie Bloom Fucking hilarious-hope they make a sequel! 5 stars
7/19/99 TOMB A DECENT MOVIE, TOO BAD FOR THE VERY ANNOYING SONG ROUTINE 2 stars
7/18/99 Don It should have been live action! 5 stars
7/18/99 MRHOLLYWOOD !! Disturbing............but funny. Nuffin else! 4 stars
7/16/99 dd pierot Keeping it real and taking it to the edge. Fan-fucking-tastic 5 stars
7/16/99 G P Burdell only got one laugh out of it -- but it lasted 90 minutes 5 stars
7/14/99 unstrung funny as hell 5 stars
7/13/99 justine it sux 1 stars
7/12/99 ken heine the hell scenes were cool. 5 stars
7/11/99 Starry Knight Damn Damn DAMN funny. Prepare to change your pants. 5 stars
7/10/99 Claw God Bless Matt and Trey, now go fuck yourselves. 5 stars
7/10/99 J. Random Hacker More self referential than a Douglas Hofstadter book. (heh) 5 stars
7/08/99 ALiaS Matt and Trey now have my highest esteem and respect!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/07/99 will this movie kicked my fuckin ass 5 stars
7/07/99 JKinfinity Loved it- seeing Kenny get the girl in heaven was worth the price!! 5 stars
7/07/99 Mr Showbiz Parker and Stone put Sandler and Myers to shame. 4 stars
7/07/99 Bob, Lord of Evil I now feel justified in my arguement that South Park has a soul behind it's humor. Go me. 5 stars
7/07/99 Dane Jackson I was offended... it was hilarious. 4 stars
7/06/99 The Bomb 69 I think that even non-South Park fans would like this, a musical no less 5 stars
7/06/99 James Coffey Stone & Parker should not make any more SP shows, they will never top this movie. 4 stars
7/06/99 Gravy Works much better as a half hour show, Chef is my fav and was almost non-existent. 3 stars
7/06/99 john it was great 5 stars
7/05/99 J. Calvin "Bimp" Smith Very entertaining--very like some of the SP episodes--exacts penalties on ignorant. 5 stars
7/05/99 Kimberly Murphy-Smith I have not laughed this hard in YEARS. What a f#@king awesome movie! 5 stars
7/05/99 johntidal in an overly hyped age, South Park goes for content over color 5 stars
7/04/99 Trevor Even This movie was funnier than watching my brother get kicked in the balls.. go now! 5 stars
7/04/99 Kevin Knapp God damn Charlies, up in the trees!!! 5 stars
7/03/99 Cage Hilarious all the way through! RESPECT MY AUTHORIT-AH!! 5 stars
7/03/99 richardthe i liked it 5 stars
7/03/99 Michael Love the cartoon...Hated the movie! 1 stars
7/02/99 Freyja Laughing is wrong. I laughed my ass off though! 5 stars
7/02/99 Ah Dooey Now's that animation! 5 stars
7/01/99 johny Extremely funny and surprisingly smart 5 stars
7/01/99 Christina sadly, i laughed at this hour and a half of foul language and bad humor. 3 stars
7/01/99 JOHNNY an outrageous, grotesque, but insanely hilarious satire that holds nothing back 5 stars
7/01/99 Voyant South Park was fresh and original, but now they're just doing the same old stuff. 2 stars
6/26/99 David Totally hilarious, smart, high/lowbrow...but remember it's a MUSICAL--yippee! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Jun-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  15-Jul-1999 (R)


Directed by
  Trey Parker

Written by
  Trey Parker
  Matt Stone

Cast
  Matt Stone
  Isaac Hayes
  George Clooney
  Natasha Henstridge
  Minnie Driver
  Eric Idle



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast