More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.56

Awesome74.14%
Worth A Look: 16.51%
Average: 3.74%
Pretty Bad: 2.18%
Total Crap: 3.43%

19 reviews, 207 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


South Park: Bigger Longer and Uncut
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Where's the clitoris? We've got to find the clitoris!"
5 stars

It is, thankfully, a movie for the fans. It's brash, offensive, completely unapologetic, and, oh yes, a 14-song, full blown, musical. It's savagely funny, and wickedly smart. And odds are, if you have taste, you're gonna hate it.

You know, if Time Magazine gave this thing a favorable review (and they did) then it's a strange state of affairs we're in, kids.

So let's start there, then. Kids.

They'll see it. They probably shouldn't, but they probably will anyway. It was teens and up at my screening, one family of four, including one girl under ten. Her Dad enjoyed it more, I think. But on to the film.

I laughed, fairly constantly, for the opening hour. It all starts innnocently enough, as the kids try to sneak in to see the new Terrence & Phillip movie, "Asses Of Fire." But it's rated "R," and they can't get in. Yet, they do. Through the course of the movie, they learn swearwords that even I hadn't thought of. And they come out saying them, to each other and to their classmates. Soon, parents are up in arms and Kyle's mom decides to lay blame where blame is due: the Canadians (which is where T & P are from).

It turns into an all out war, with the U.S. declaring war on Canada, Canada bombing the Baldwin brothers (all of 'em), the U.S. threatening to execute Terrence & Phillip, and Satan and Saddam Hussein planning to take over the world. Only Eric, Stan and Kyle (and Kenny, who ends up in Hell) can stop the insanity.

And, as I said, in between are the musical numbers.

I laughed. I laughed in spite of it being so raunchy, and so offensive at times. No one escapes comment - Jews, African-Americans, Christians, everyone, basically. There's a message in there somewhere, noting the hypocrisy of being worried about kids and foul language, when parents should be worried about the violence. It's a free speech thing. Most people will miss it, though, because they're going to be laughing so hard.

I stress this: even if you're offended, you're going to laugh. You may hate yourself afterward, you may not even admit that you did it, but you'll laugh. Hard. All are catchy. Most are funny. A few have as much vulgarity as the movie itself (and believe me, that's a lot).

There are slams of popular culture, of Star Wars: Episode One (I was the only one in the theater who laughed at it), celebrities (note Winona Ryder's unusual talent with ping-pong balls) and, in the climax, an homage to Akira.

It's better than the show, because with all the swearing, it reminds you of The Spirit Of Christmas. Only longer.

Fans (which I don't consider myself, since I've not seen the show in a year) will eat it up, prudes won't. You'll want to see it again for all the jokes that were missed due to the audience laughter drowning it out. It's worth every penny.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=738&reviewer=7
originally posted: 07/01/99 16:53:40
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Santa Monica Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Santa Monica Film Festival series, click here.
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

5/16/12 Sheryl Granholm The first time I saw this film in the theater, I literally fell out of my chair laughing. 5 stars
7/02/09 Dane Youssef A collage of the best, the worst, wild, grotseque rollicking art and social commentary. 5 stars
10/26/08 Shaun Wallner Hilarious Movie! 5 stars
4/15/08 Andrew Dude, this movie was fucking sweet, bitches! So funny, and so many hilarious jokes! 5 stars
3/27/08 SamanthaPayntr super funny! i loved the musical parts of it, close to Les Miserables 4 stars
7/30/07 ben dover hilarious so suck my fucking balls 5 stars
4/17/07 Stevo UK Bloody ace. I love south park and this is its best. 5 stars
3/29/07 fools♫gold Themaestroforanimatedcomedy-musicals. "SpontaneousCombustion"+"Cancelled turned into 82 min 5 stars
1/06/07 Sugarfoot Blame Canada! In all seriousness the best comedy of the 90s. 5 stars
12/01/06 David Pollastrini never a big fan 3 stars
11/22/06 DarkEnchantress funny as hell! Fuck fuck fuckity fuck! 5 stars
10/24/06 AJ Muller Hilarious raunchfest or biting satire? Proof that you CAN have 2 in 1, you bastards - 5 stars
10/15/06 waylah exciting 2 stars
8/23/06 David Cohen Movies based on TV shows usually suck, this was a rare exception 5 stars
8/02/06 dan if you want funny you cant go wrong with south park the movie 5 stars
6/22/06 ghgf good 5 stars
6/05/06 mary really funny 5 stars
5/06/06 dionwr Brilliant and warped 4 stars
5/02/06 Ryan_A It warped my fragile little mind! 5 stars
5/02/06 William Goss What's the big deal? It doesn't hurt anybody. Fuck-fuckety-fuck-fuck-fuck. 5 stars
5/02/06 David Cornelius Shut your fucking face, uncle fucker 5 stars
5/02/06 HBS-SH padme's dangerous pal 5 stars
4/12/06 jamesh beautiful 5 stars
3/30/06 mike South Park Rules!!! Let's get another S.Park movie! 5 stars
3/14/06 Kei Rei Fuckin' awesome. Just...awesome. 5 stars
3/09/06 Dk Always funny sometimes hilarious this is a little gem 4 stars
12/30/05 Agent Sands A truly brilliant movie. One of the funniest and wittiest of all comedies. 5 stars
10/24/05 tony this is through the roof funny!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/25/05 D Buckley Curse words by themselves aren't funny 2 stars
8/17/05 ES hey Satan= the funniest moments in film= and its aboot time 5 stars
7/13/05 babiiboo fur you GREAT MOVIE* 5 stars
7/03/05 Eddie LOL a wicked funny movie 5 stars
6/28/05 ryan this fucking film is awesome so shut your fucking face uncle fucker 5 stars
5/25/05 Johnno The biggest load of shit I have ever seen 1 stars
5/02/05 Valerie Cartman is awesome! Best Movie Ever! 5 stars
3/28/05 Netsurfer *laughs ass off* This movie's hilarious. 4 stars
1/31/05 New Jersey Rules you people still watch this shit? 1 stars
1/18/05 Jeff Anderson TWISTED, FOULMOUTHED, AND SIDESPLITTINGLY HILARIOUS! The songs KICK ASS, too! BRILLIANT! 5 stars
1/05/05 mandy SHUT YOUR FUCKING FACE, MOTHAFUCKAAA, SHUT YOUR FKING FACE UNCL FUCKAAAA (funny shit hey) 5 stars
12/28/04 Archanist_101 It's better when you watch it with your mates!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/05/04 dave totaly fucking awesome so fucking awsome it fucks u up. fuck u mother fuckers. Fuk shit 5 stars
10/10/04 Royal Smith This movie is so funny I crapped on myself 5 stars
8/16/04 Dallas Moye Hilarious 5 stars
8/13/04 kenny49 funny songs "uncle fucker...", very cool !!!!!!! 5 stars
6/21/04 Samuel Sk8 taste? What a retard.This movie was simply genius. 5 stars
4/07/04 Sig 'HELLOWEEN' up yours! and 'Kyle' well done! 5 stars
3/26/04 FR1 Not just funny but CLEVER. Seriously, South Park was CLEVER!!!!! 5 stars
2/28/04 Kyle HELLOWEEN 8 dick 4 cheap. Great movie. 5 stars
2/10/04 Whatevr I laughed for hours! 5 stars
1/02/04 HELLOWEEN meh 2 stupid 4 my sk8 taste 1 stars
12/30/03 Littlepurch Brilliant. Gr8 jokes, songs and story. I really can't find a single thing to complain about 5 stars
12/06/03 bender Very clever songs, exellent writing, just plain funny plot - The ultimate! 5 stars
11/30/03 Little Red Haired Girl I loved it, although the plot wasn't too great, at least they featured the Devil :) 5 stars
11/08/03 Agent Sands (previously Mr. Hat) It's not just an immature dicknfart joke. It's a really clever social slammer. A funny one. 5 stars
10/19/03 Jesus I should have had a bigger part in this movie. Hilarious tho! 5 stars
8/26/03 AD funny as 5 stars
7/14/03 Robbie Flick awesome 5 stars
7/02/03 Harpax Lots of nice musical songs the ' i can change' is especially nice one lol 5 stars
6/27/03 cochese Pure Fucking Genius. I cant say anymore. See it. Parker and Stone rule for this. 5 stars
6/06/03 Matt O Get Bill Gates in here 5 stars
4/20/03 Jack Sommersby Inventive, but it's uncouth and and all over place. Grating as hell. 2 stars
1/13/03 Dave Hilarious satire. Watch it now! 4 stars
1/07/03 Vince fucking hilarious, but full of social commentary if you pay attention. 5 stars
12/23/02 E-Rock If you haven't seen this gem, you're too busy fucking your uncle... 5 stars
11/11/02 Jess The best comedy film of all time 5 stars
8/19/02 Film Dude Hilarious 5 stars
8/08/02 Caiphn Pretty cute. 5 stars
7/29/02 Jon Fantastic soundtrack, Hilarious script, and deeply ironic too. Definitely in my top 5 films 5 stars
7/15/02 max zhang gary vidmar can suck my balls that donkey-raping uncle fucka 5 stars
7/04/02 gary vidmar A waste of your time and attention. Pure crap 1 stars
6/22/02 Bart Fantastic. A classic. 5 stars
6/11/02 qtpie Hilarious 5 stars
6/10/02 BuBBA Any kid or south park fan will love this movie 5 stars
5/26/02 Kyle Gary, are you on DRUGS? This isn't too long you dumb fuck. 5 stars
5/19/02 Jon Artus Go on. Blame Canada. I dare you... Worth it just for the Les-Mis pisstake medley... 5 stars
3/21/02 lucy fur what star wars episode 1 should've been 5 stars
2/28/02 Alan Smithee I've lost track how many times I've watched this movie. and it cracks me up every time. 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Craziness all around. Love the songs. 4 stars
2/17/02 Mark Lloyd Absolutely hilarious. A few flaws and nits but the rest of the movie is pure genious 5 stars
1/20/02 Gary Frequently funny but too long 3 stars
11/06/01 HM3 The first 30 minutes are absolutely hilarious, then it all just gets boring. 3 stars
10/22/01 Idot stick Who dares reveal the secret power of CLITORIS? 5 stars
9/09/01 Butterbean A smart movie with the wildest, funniest moments ever captured 5 stars
8/17/01 Dakamus We all knew that Satan was gay from the get-go. 5 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa Trey Parker and Matt Stone are great. This is a laugh riot that proves good points. 5 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg Shut your fucking face uncle fucker 5 stars
7/06/01 SBM The first time I saw it, I laughed like crazy for the first hour hour or more! 5 stars
6/24/01 dilbert90 A chalk full of good humor and f*****g good words!!!!!!!;) 5 stars
6/15/01 J This movie wasn't the best in ANYTHING but it was decent. 3 stars
6/15/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe Your ass is huge and red! Who am I going to pretend you are, Liza Minnelli? 5 stars
5/30/01 King Jackass BEST MUSICAL, COMEDY, WAR, AND ANIMATED MOVIE OF THE YEAR!!!!! 5 stars
5/22/01 Marijan Srdic An ass-kicking cartoon! 5 stars
5/13/01 Axe Murderer anybody who gives a rating other than fucking awesome should die 5 stars
5/04/01 Gracy Lionheart Quite entertaining. Loved the songs. I've watched it with my boyfriend 3 times. 4 stars
5/02/01 sharkey Get Bill Gates in here! The whole theatre was rolling. 5 stars
4/30/01 Steph Williams I laughed til I wet my pants! Classy film! I LOVE YOU GREGORY!!!! 5 stars
4/18/01 Jes one of the funniest ever 5 stars
4/16/01 WOW! THIS MOVIE ROCKS! SCREW U PHIL COLLINS! 5 stars
4/09/01 ChErRyRiPe Funny. Very funny, extremely funny. FUCKING FUNNY! 5 stars
4/03/01 Boy In The Designer Bubble Bought the DVD, should have won the Oscar for best score!!! 5 stars
4/02/01 Rainsby Excellent - very very funny 5 stars
3/27/01 Hobbes Kyle's mom is a bitch. King Kong Mayhem BEEOTCH! 4 stars
3/15/01 Richard Wright Some find it crude and offensive, I found it hilarious. Forget your morals and enjoy. 4 stars
3/02/01 viking "Fritz the Cat" was funnier than this !!! 1 stars
2/17/01 Loober Really Funny,was long time i laughed this much.Spank my ass and call me a bitch - Terrance 5 stars
1/22/01 scorekeeper great movie, not only because it has 399 naughty words 5 stars
1/22/01 jmr good overall - drags on a bit. first 20 minutes are hilarious 4 stars
1/19/01 Axe Murderer The best fucking movie ever!.....bitch! 5 stars
1/12/01 Matt69 this movie was so fucking hilarious. Best part when Saddam whips out the fake cock. 5 stars
1/07/01 Marko Renoy If SouthPark: Bigger, Longer& Uncut were a test paper, I'd give it an A++++++++++ 5 stars
1/02/01 Kris Reilly Anyone who can't appreciate a good fart solo has no sense of humor at all. 5 stars
12/21/00 fifu it's SOUTH PARK !!!!! COME ON PEOPLE 1 stars
12/15/00 Jeff hunter it rocks! 5 stars
11/04/00 Big gay al this movies the gay bomb 5 stars
7/11/00 Bender The first 30 mintues are a riot, but then everything gets old,and the songs become hideous 3 stars
6/30/00 Naushad Khanji Lousy animation.Backgrounds appear drawn by children.Poor in quality. 2 stars
5/24/00 The Bomb 69 Bill Gates finally gets what he deserves, well written, very clever 5 stars
5/13/00 Elvisfan I don't even watch the show but this movie is very well done & hysterical 5 stars
5/05/00 chris This movie rocked i got the DVD since then i have watched it close to 15 times. 5 stars
5/02/00 Pansy ehhh.... 1 stars
5/01/00 yo momma shite! 1 stars
4/02/00 perverted pixie Sick, whacked-out and kickass! I luved the mole! 5 stars
3/29/00 Kimberly Murphy-Smith Absolutely THE best movie of 1999. Wicked satire, great music, and more. 5 stars
3/22/00 Michael Grimm pure fucking genius and I blame canada!!! 5 stars
3/20/00 "Persnickety "Jenn one of the best movie of all time, suck on this one MPAA 5 stars
3/08/00 Richard Wright Crude animation, bad morals but who cares, this film is FUNNY! Love the songs, too. 4 stars
2/17/00 steve layne The first 25 minutes are pretty much hilarious. Then every single thing gets old after that 3 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Roll on the floor, laugh your ass off, piss your pants, kick the MPAA square in the nuts. 5 stars
1/24/00 arnold one of the funniest movies ever 5 stars
1/21/00 node I laughed so much it still hurts! 5 stars
12/18/99 SID Very funny movie. See it with Trey's other musical, "Cannibal: The Musical" 5 stars
12/06/99 bullit17 Hilarious. Great songs. As long as you're not afraid of vulgarity, you'll love it 5 stars
12/05/99 I killed Kenny You shit faced cock-master, fuck me in the ass and call me bitch. 5 stars
11/23/99 RadarDan Seen it twice and still haven't gotten all the jokes. 5 stars
11/22/99 Phreezer Oh my god they killed kenny he went to hell and had satan drop Sadam husien (heh) 5 stars
11/08/99 Steve Greatest satire of the nineties. 5 stars
11/03/99 Delta Yankee It was the best movie of the year so far... 5 stars
10/29/99 Lame-Oh at least it kicked Tarzan in the nuts 5 stars
10/21/99 Tom Wilmot Sweet 5 stars
10/19/99 JonnyAngel Yeah, i got it okay, but it still isn't much of a flick 2 stars
10/13/99 Luke Kieron Reading IT KICKED ASS BIGTIME 5 stars
9/25/99 Michael Grimm musically gifted movie, the raunchiness was great too 5 stars
9/21/99 Kory Strap on a 'Depends' undergarment 'cause your gonna piss your pants big time! 5 stars
9/20/99 Jennifer Hawkins Dude, that movie was fucking sweet!! 5 stars
9/11/99 Timbo Fuck is my favorite word 5 stars
9/11/99 Kevin Way Surprisingly funny... shockingly good sound 5 stars
9/09/99 Jon Funniest film of the year so far, watch out for the sending up of Return of the Jedi!! 5 stars
8/26/99 Steven Excellent flick... The only thing wrong was a lack of a Chef song. 5 stars
8/16/99 Stephen Cook funier than all the other shit that comes out 5 stars
8/14/99 Matt Parker and Stone have left the censors at the MPAA bleeding from the asshole. 5 stars
8/12/99 jason i laughed till I cried, then laughed some more. 5 stars
8/10/99 Keith Griffith Perhaps not really worth a full length film in a big movie house, but enjoyable enough. 4 stars
8/10/99 Dicky Pissed my pants the first half hour 5 stars
8/05/99 recordrover I laughed until I stopped. This movie was a naughty, shocking funhouse ride! 5 stars
8/02/99 John M Funniest movie of the year 5 stars
8/02/99 shirley groovy! 3 stars
8/01/99 Obi Wan Never have I heard the word "FUCK" used more than here..SP flick was ok at best 3 stars
7/31/99 Roman Damn funny. Take that you PC ASSHOLES!!! 5 stars
7/27/99 Michael_k@usa.net I like to see anyone shove it too all the PC people out there, but stop SINGING 3 stars
7/27/99 David Kindred OH, MY GOD!!! What a filthy movie. I loved parts of it. 4 stars
7/26/99 Duck Ok, mostly funny 3 stars
7/25/99 blue a brilliant masterpiece (the hidden cumshots, DBZ references etc. added to it as well) 5 stars
7/23/99 Orgazmo A delightfully offensive musical cartoon romp that projects the show onto the big screen. 5 stars
7/23/99 MagnumPI Glad to admit I have no taste. Here's to you, Uncle Fucka... 5 stars
7/23/99 John Lyons Good movie for people with no taste. 1 stars
7/22/99 Nessus Perfect social commentary on the opressive regime that seems to delight in tormenting P & S 5 stars
7/20/99 The Graduate Sweet! Relentlessly vulgar and nonstop funny. Not to mention topical to boot. 5 stars
7/20/99 Bob, Lord of Evil Cool, Oz and I think the same. 5 stars
7/20/99 Blubberbot This is a really funny film. 5 stars
7/20/99 Imagoner cool 5 stars
7/19/99 Leslie Bloom Fucking hilarious-hope they make a sequel! 5 stars
7/19/99 TOMB A DECENT MOVIE, TOO BAD FOR THE VERY ANNOYING SONG ROUTINE 2 stars
7/18/99 Don It should have been live action! 5 stars
7/18/99 MRHOLLYWOOD !! Disturbing............but funny. Nuffin else! 4 stars
7/16/99 dd pierot Keeping it real and taking it to the edge. Fan-fucking-tastic 5 stars
7/16/99 G P Burdell only got one laugh out of it -- but it lasted 90 minutes 5 stars
7/14/99 unstrung funny as hell 5 stars
7/13/99 justine it sux 1 stars
7/12/99 ken heine the hell scenes were cool. 5 stars
7/11/99 Starry Knight Damn Damn DAMN funny. Prepare to change your pants. 5 stars
7/10/99 Claw God Bless Matt and Trey, now go fuck yourselves. 5 stars
7/10/99 J. Random Hacker More self referential than a Douglas Hofstadter book. (heh) 5 stars
7/08/99 ALiaS Matt and Trey now have my highest esteem and respect!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/07/99 will this movie kicked my fuckin ass 5 stars
7/07/99 JKinfinity Loved it- seeing Kenny get the girl in heaven was worth the price!! 5 stars
7/07/99 Mr Showbiz Parker and Stone put Sandler and Myers to shame. 4 stars
7/07/99 Bob, Lord of Evil I now feel justified in my arguement that South Park has a soul behind it's humor. Go me. 5 stars
7/07/99 Dane Jackson I was offended... it was hilarious. 4 stars
7/06/99 The Bomb 69 I think that even non-South Park fans would like this, a musical no less 5 stars
7/06/99 James Coffey Stone & Parker should not make any more SP shows, they will never top this movie. 4 stars
7/06/99 Gravy Works much better as a half hour show, Chef is my fav and was almost non-existent. 3 stars
7/06/99 john it was great 5 stars
7/05/99 J. Calvin "Bimp" Smith Very entertaining--very like some of the SP episodes--exacts penalties on ignorant. 5 stars
7/05/99 Kimberly Murphy-Smith I have not laughed this hard in YEARS. What a f#@king awesome movie! 5 stars
7/05/99 johntidal in an overly hyped age, South Park goes for content over color 5 stars
7/04/99 Trevor Even This movie was funnier than watching my brother get kicked in the balls.. go now! 5 stars
7/04/99 Kevin Knapp God damn Charlies, up in the trees!!! 5 stars
7/03/99 Cage Hilarious all the way through! RESPECT MY AUTHORIT-AH!! 5 stars
7/03/99 richardthe i liked it 5 stars
7/03/99 Michael Love the cartoon...Hated the movie! 1 stars
7/02/99 Freyja Laughing is wrong. I laughed my ass off though! 5 stars
7/02/99 Ah Dooey Now's that animation! 5 stars
7/01/99 johny Extremely funny and surprisingly smart 5 stars
7/01/99 Christina sadly, i laughed at this hour and a half of foul language and bad humor. 3 stars
7/01/99 JOHNNY an outrageous, grotesque, but insanely hilarious satire that holds nothing back 5 stars
7/01/99 Voyant South Park was fresh and original, but now they're just doing the same old stuff. 2 stars
6/26/99 David Totally hilarious, smart, high/lowbrow...but remember it's a MUSICAL--yippee! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Jun-1999 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  15-Jul-1999 (R)


Directed by
  Trey Parker

Written by
  Trey Parker
  Matt Stone

Cast
  Matt Stone
  Isaac Hayes
  George Clooney
  Natasha Henstridge
  Minnie Driver
  Eric Idle



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast