More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.34

Awesome: 11.76%
Worth A Look: 9.24%
Average: 21.01%
Pretty Bad: 17.65%
Total Crap40.34%

7 reviews, 77 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Core, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"It didn't bore me."
3 stars

I have no problem recommending a bad movie, given its a fun time. The Core plays like a sillier version of Michael Bay's Armageddon - if such a thing is even possible - mixed with any of the old-fashioned Quest Adventure Flicks of the 1950's and 1960's...special effects included.

Cinematic PB & J, The Core delivers precisely what it promises with no frills, no muss and very little common sense. Inspiration for my new cheeseball movie label "Marijuana Matinee" and chock-full of overbaked and comfortably familiar disaster trappings, The Core is silly and trite and altogether disposable - yet still I had a fairly good time. Go figure.

The Earth's core has stopped spinning. About twenty minutes of hastily hazy exposition supplies this news, but audiences are also treated to various sequences of natural disaster - which certainly help to keep things juicy. In an effort to jump start our planet's core, a platoon of colorful caricatures are enlisted: a vanilla-bland captain, a doe-eyed disgrace of a pilot, a lovably kooky laser genius, the world's only brave Frenchman, and our Quirky and Self-Deprecating Hero Guy.

Naturally things go horribly amiss once our gang boards their amusingly phallic ship and begins boring into the earth. Like an anthology of isolated death scenes, a series of predictable disasters begins to diminish the crew one at a time. One guy gets a stalactite to the forehead, another gets comedically crushed in a shrinking closet (don't ask), one withstands 3,500 degrees to throw the proper switch which saves everyone else, etc., etc.

The cast is a mixed bag at best. Aaron Eckhart plays the Hero role with an Owen Wilson-ish delivery that wavers between bemused and desperate; Tcheky Karyo adds his reliable moments of pointless likability as the ill-fated Frenchie; Delroy Lindo is wild-eyed and lots of goofy fun; and then there's Hilary Swank: Oscar Winner. Perhaps it's just the case of an actress wandering too far out of her (already limited) range, but Swank presents a performance destined to be remembered as one of the most ridiculous of all time. (OK, maybe not.) Her every line delivery is apt to provoke sputters of incredulous giggling, and again - this overt silliness adds to the overall Entertainment Value.

Gleefully (and blatantly) borrowing from not only Armageddon, but Aliens, Fantastic Voyage, War Games and (obviously) Journey to the Center of the Earth, The Core is nobody's idea of an original concept. But there's something to be said for a cookie-cutter genre flick that delivers its payload with a minimum of obnoxiousness. The Flashy Bits are presented on a reliable timetable, most of the cast (Swank excluded) seems well aware of the bloviated hand-wringing joke they're all participating in, and the screenplay includes just enough intentional humor to let us know we're in on the joke.

(Sure, there are several laughable moments of unintentional ridiculousness littered throughout, but one can opt to see those moments in an stupidly enjoyable light.)

So yeah: Add this one to my Guilty Pleasures list, the one that also houses Anaconda and Deep Rising and (yes) Armageddon. Don't for one second mistake my tentative recommendation for the assertation that The Core is a brilliantly crafted or visionary motion picture. It's high-concept junk, but it's more fun than many of its ilk.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7383&reviewer=128
originally posted: 03/29/03 17:48:56
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell dull good effects though 1 stars
1/22/16 David H. A disaster movie that is a total disaster. 2 stars
7/09/10 Peety Bad acting, Bad CGI, Shitty plot, poop 2 stars
9/03/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome storyline! 5 stars
6/08/08 PAUL SHORTT A TWO HOUR PLEASURE CRUISE 4 stars
6/07/08 Yessy This Movie Was absolutely terrible, magnets reflecting light? COME ON 1 stars
4/24/07 David Risser Definately not the best of Hilary Swank 2 stars
4/19/07 Stevo UK Rip off of armageddon which was shite anyway 1 stars
11/30/06 Stanley Thai Nothing else but a good pop corn flick. Enjoyable. 3 stars
11/07/06 David Pollastrini pretty dull 1 stars
5/19/06 drydock54321 do they have to kill them all (most of them that is) 4 stars
4/18/06 the laughing man It has great sci - fi elements, and character development. Beautiful visuals. 4 stars
3/12/06 Chris Wilbik The usual earth destruction movie but not too bad. 4 stars
2/18/06 Anus AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHA MOST RETARDED FILM EVER!!! 1 stars
2/11/06 sweetgrrl1972 It's based on terrible, nay ridiculous science, but I can't look away! Oddly compelling. 4 stars
12/11/05 est jay mon gabriel m. corpuz awesomes 5 stars
11/09/05 Furquan ITz all gud but the story is kind of Wack 4 stars
9/01/05 ES Unbelievable technology hurts planet, so more unbelievable technology is invented to fix it 2 stars
8/17/05 leah it was a kick ass movie 5 stars
7/25/05 Eric Rollins Cheesy fun. Needs gratuitious sex. 3 stars
6/15/05 Quigley what a piece of cinema crap! the unearthers took a lot to dig THIS up! 1 stars
5/19/05 Cindy Sheeks This movie was so awful. I even KNEW it would be awful and it still surprised me with it's 1 stars
5/08/05 Steve Newman Even my 12 yr old walked out of this one - avoid!! 2 stars
4/27/05 John the movie works better than any sleeping pill 1 stars
2/05/05 Jeff Anderson Better than expected! The cast gives 100% & the special effects are outstanding. A BLAST!!! 5 stars
10/19/04 Micheal Walter this movie sucked 1 stars
10/18/04 Naka D. Lindo gives a wonderful preformance, but its the only highlight. 2 stars
10/07/04 Valerie Great movie, worth a look for sure! 4 stars
8/13/04 Donna I think it's brilliant i watch it allt he time 5 stars
8/08/04 Bruce Mellesmoen Is it possible to create a new category "0-STARS ~ AKA The Core Score" 1 stars
8/07/04 G-man totally awesome 5 stars
8/03/04 alice MAN THIS MOVIE SUCKED 1 stars
7/19/04 assassin_chick Great idea, but this could have been done SOOOO much better. 2 stars
6/14/04 Kimastov amazing 5 stars
6/02/04 sean Too average for comments 3 stars
5/31/04 Anubis lord a good idea but kinda predictable 4 stars
5/01/04 mincemeat journey to the center of lamesville 1 stars
3/27/04 Gretchen mediocre at best, a total waste of money 1 stars
3/25/04 Erica Thornton So boring, the actors fell asleep 1 stars
3/21/04 Linda Ellis Didn't care for this, it was predictable and boring. 2 stars
3/18/04 Maria I really liked this show..it was a sitting on the edge of your chair kind of show. 5 stars
3/17/04 Alfred Guy Should have been called, The COREny. 2 stars
3/13/04 Greg Politically correct piece of crap. 1 stars
3/12/04 Phyllis Yawn! Very skimpy plot with lame action. 2 stars
2/16/04 the gourd Darkofknight, you're not exactly up to normal intelligence levels are you? Short bus.... 1 stars
2/13/04 Jack Bourbon What a silly piece of crap. Not even amusing B-trash. 1 stars
2/11/04 Jingo P. I've seen better special effects on a Wendy's commercial. SNORE. 2 stars
12/16/03 Dan A very funny movie... so ridiculous, so self-important. Watch it and mock it. 2 stars
12/09/03 john liberal is just fine - it's this movie that sucks! 1 stars
12/04/03 twodogs Liberal/hollyweed trash 1 stars
11/27/03 John it's so bad it's insulting 1 stars
11/14/03 Sylvie Alice Borden Exciting romp, even is much of the "science" is garbage. 4 stars
11/08/03 Ryan The Bore - takes implausibility to new levels 2 stars
10/06/03 Darryl Boring and silly with cardboard characters. And predictable (very few surprises). 2 stars
9/27/03 JJ It's farfetched but entertaining. And watch out for those birds! 3 stars
9/26/03 Jiz Too bad the DVD didn't stop rotating too. Fucking awful shitfest of a movie. 1 stars
6/27/03 Jackie COOL 5 stars
6/22/03 John Bale Son of Jules Verne brother to Armaggedon, and stillborn. Tucci's humour fails to save. 2 stars
6/21/03 alien assassin Not as bad as it could have been !!!! 3 stars
6/13/03 Jerry It really rocks!! 5 stars
6/12/03 Sylvie Alice Borden Exciting romp, even is much of the "science" is garbage. 4 stars
5/11/03 Collin Compared To This Jason X Looks Like A Contender For Best Picture AtThe Oscars 1 stars
4/27/03 Paul Hackett-Evans Great fun! I loved "The Core". See it five times - I did! Can't wait for the DVD!!! 5 stars
4/20/03 George Jung What.............the..............fuck!?!?!?!?! 1 stars
4/17/03 Jack Bourbon For having gazillions of tons of pressure, the interior of the Earth sure has lots of space 1 stars
4/14/03 palaboy101 The movie had a disturbing scene where the pigeons fly aimlessly to their death. Ok film. 3 stars
4/06/03 Cadillac Kid the dumbest fucking movie i have seen in a loooong time! 1 stars
4/05/03 Bloody Vixen Um...the only reason i didn't walk out of the cinema is because of the Rat. 3 stars
4/03/03 Chris Look when you haven't seen a diaster film, since The Perfect Storm, this seems great! 4 stars
4/02/03 Uncle Salty GARBAGE FROM START TO FINISH. Should have been called "The Bore" I'd rather watch sand. 1 stars
4/02/03 Vince fuck this shit. 1 stars
4/01/03 bob mckenzie good lord, disney's journey to the center of the earth was better, made 20 years ago! 1 stars
3/31/03 Earl Dittman, Wireless Magazine I kind of liked the ten story spinning dildo. 1 stars
3/31/03 Spiderfan729 Couldn't be any better! 5 stars
3/31/03 sfghghfghg Fantastic!!! 5 stars
3/30/03 HE great 5 stars
3/30/03 Joe What A Piece Of Crap 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Mar-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 29-Dec-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  12-Jun-2003


Directed by
  Jon Amiel

Written by
  Sean Bailey
  Cooper Layne
  John Rogers

Cast
  Aaron Eckhart
  Hilary Swank
  Delroy Lindo
  Stanley Tucci
  Bruce Greenwwod
  DJ Qualls



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast