More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.34

Awesome: 11.76%
Worth A Look: 9.24%
Average: 21.01%
Pretty Bad: 17.65%
Total Crap40.34%

7 reviews, 77 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Core, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"For a movie about going into the deep, this one is horribly superficial"
1 stars

The Core is a stupid, dumb-ass film, not necessarily because of the whole scientific crap that half the audience won’t understand, but because the story of the movie has been done so many times, been played out so many times, and altered so many times that trying to make a review of this is like going through an exercise in masochism. Lets just simply say in one word that it SUCKS! Just SUCKS!

Quick overview. Earth’s core stops rotating due to the fact that the government has been developing a weapon to cause earthquakes hence why it is susceptible to electromagnetic discharge storms due to the sun’s radiation which have caused several catastrophes everywhere in the world, and the only way the Earth can be saved from this is by jump starting the earth’s core. Interesting subject, a bit far-fetched but this is a summer movie so a bit of suspension of disbelief is welcome, until the formula machine jumps into overdrive with the following series of clichés

1. The government being responsible for nature’s recent breakdown
2. The required famous known landmarks blown to hell (Roman Coliseums, The Golden Gate, etc)
3. The main character Dr. Josh Keyes (Aaron Eckhart) whom has the unfortunate task of discovering the problem and finding a solution
4. NASA’s incompetence to cope with the problem and then relying on some scientific junkie Dr. Brazelton (Delroy Lindo) whom happens to be black, and his untested design of a machine that can dig deep into the earth’s core (Armageddon anyone?)
5. The equally brilliant but arrogant counterpart of Keyes: Dr. Zimsky (Stanley Tucci looking like a younger version of James Cromwell, I’m serious!)
6. The French guy, Sergey Leveque (Tcheky Karyo) whose the weapons expert and ultimately has to die so it can satisfy our hate for the French these days.
7. Your typical hard-ass commander, Col. Iverson (Bruce Greenwood)
8. And your not so typical hard-ass pilot, whom happens to be a woman, Rebecca “Beck” Childs (Hillary Swank)
9. The “you’re our only hope” line
10. Whenever the gopher machine encounters a problem, someone ALWAYS has to be sacrificed in order for the mission to go on.
11. The “why wasn’t I told about this?” line
12. The “because you didn’t need to know” line
13. The computer geek that has to fuck up the government’s alternate plan so it doesn’t fuck up the original mission.
14. The part where there seems to be no way out, and then suddenly our main man figures a way out even if it’s the most preposterous bullshit imaginable.
15. The ultimate love liaison between Keyes and Beck
16. The emotionally manipulative ending of “remember our heroes”

And not only that, the whole physics of the movie is so atrocious and ultimately absurd that it makes that Bill Nye hack look totally legit. And don’t get me started with the FX since it looks so fake and so outdated it seems that the FX guy totally forgot to update his software equipment from Windows 3.1 to Windows XP; the buildings look so fake and the cars look like the toy cars that they are. Hell, for an FX driven movie, this is just moronic bullshit from their part, and I can’t believe director John Amiel approved this crap, let alone MAKE this movie. I have to admit that I somehow got entertained by this movie despite it’s shortcomings maybe because there was a bit of fast-paced action I enjoyed or because I was amused by how stupid this movie was turning out to be. I won’t even go with the acting, since everyone here is on autopilot.

Ultimately, the cliché repeat here is: this movie blows, there are better films out there, save your money. 1-5

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7383&reviewer=235
originally posted: 05/10/05 06:22:44
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell dull good effects though 1 stars
1/22/16 David H. A disaster movie that is a total disaster. 2 stars
7/09/10 Peety Bad acting, Bad CGI, Shitty plot, poop 2 stars
9/03/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome storyline! 5 stars
6/08/08 PAUL SHORTT A TWO HOUR PLEASURE CRUISE 4 stars
6/07/08 Yessy This Movie Was absolutely terrible, magnets reflecting light? COME ON 1 stars
4/24/07 David Risser Definately not the best of Hilary Swank 2 stars
4/19/07 Stevo UK Rip off of armageddon which was shite anyway 1 stars
11/30/06 Stanley Thai Nothing else but a good pop corn flick. Enjoyable. 3 stars
11/07/06 David Pollastrini pretty dull 1 stars
5/19/06 drydock54321 do they have to kill them all (most of them that is) 4 stars
4/18/06 the laughing man It has great sci - fi elements, and character development. Beautiful visuals. 4 stars
3/12/06 Chris Wilbik The usual earth destruction movie but not too bad. 4 stars
2/18/06 Anus AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHA MOST RETARDED FILM EVER!!! 1 stars
2/11/06 sweetgrrl1972 It's based on terrible, nay ridiculous science, but I can't look away! Oddly compelling. 4 stars
12/11/05 est jay mon gabriel m. corpuz awesomes 5 stars
11/09/05 Furquan ITz all gud but the story is kind of Wack 4 stars
9/01/05 ES Unbelievable technology hurts planet, so more unbelievable technology is invented to fix it 2 stars
8/17/05 leah it was a kick ass movie 5 stars
7/25/05 Eric Rollins Cheesy fun. Needs gratuitious sex. 3 stars
6/15/05 Quigley what a piece of cinema crap! the unearthers took a lot to dig THIS up! 1 stars
5/19/05 Cindy Sheeks This movie was so awful. I even KNEW it would be awful and it still surprised me with it's 1 stars
5/08/05 Steve Newman Even my 12 yr old walked out of this one - avoid!! 2 stars
4/27/05 John the movie works better than any sleeping pill 1 stars
2/05/05 Jeff Anderson Better than expected! The cast gives 100% & the special effects are outstanding. A BLAST!!! 5 stars
10/19/04 Micheal Walter this movie sucked 1 stars
10/18/04 Naka D. Lindo gives a wonderful preformance, but its the only highlight. 2 stars
10/07/04 Valerie Great movie, worth a look for sure! 4 stars
8/13/04 Donna I think it's brilliant i watch it allt he time 5 stars
8/08/04 Bruce Mellesmoen Is it possible to create a new category "0-STARS ~ AKA The Core Score" 1 stars
8/07/04 G-man totally awesome 5 stars
8/03/04 alice MAN THIS MOVIE SUCKED 1 stars
7/19/04 assassin_chick Great idea, but this could have been done SOOOO much better. 2 stars
6/14/04 Kimastov amazing 5 stars
6/02/04 sean Too average for comments 3 stars
5/31/04 Anubis lord a good idea but kinda predictable 4 stars
5/01/04 mincemeat journey to the center of lamesville 1 stars
3/27/04 Gretchen mediocre at best, a total waste of money 1 stars
3/25/04 Erica Thornton So boring, the actors fell asleep 1 stars
3/21/04 Linda Ellis Didn't care for this, it was predictable and boring. 2 stars
3/18/04 Maria I really liked this show..it was a sitting on the edge of your chair kind of show. 5 stars
3/17/04 Alfred Guy Should have been called, The COREny. 2 stars
3/13/04 Greg Politically correct piece of crap. 1 stars
3/12/04 Phyllis Yawn! Very skimpy plot with lame action. 2 stars
2/16/04 the gourd Darkofknight, you're not exactly up to normal intelligence levels are you? Short bus.... 1 stars
2/13/04 Jack Bourbon What a silly piece of crap. Not even amusing B-trash. 1 stars
2/11/04 Jingo P. I've seen better special effects on a Wendy's commercial. SNORE. 2 stars
12/16/03 Dan A very funny movie... so ridiculous, so self-important. Watch it and mock it. 2 stars
12/09/03 john liberal is just fine - it's this movie that sucks! 1 stars
12/04/03 twodogs Liberal/hollyweed trash 1 stars
11/27/03 John it's so bad it's insulting 1 stars
11/14/03 Sylvie Alice Borden Exciting romp, even is much of the "science" is garbage. 4 stars
11/08/03 Ryan The Bore - takes implausibility to new levels 2 stars
10/06/03 Darryl Boring and silly with cardboard characters. And predictable (very few surprises). 2 stars
9/27/03 JJ It's farfetched but entertaining. And watch out for those birds! 3 stars
9/26/03 Jiz Too bad the DVD didn't stop rotating too. Fucking awful shitfest of a movie. 1 stars
6/27/03 Jackie COOL 5 stars
6/22/03 John Bale Son of Jules Verne brother to Armaggedon, and stillborn. Tucci's humour fails to save. 2 stars
6/21/03 alien assassin Not as bad as it could have been !!!! 3 stars
6/13/03 Jerry It really rocks!! 5 stars
6/12/03 Sylvie Alice Borden Exciting romp, even is much of the "science" is garbage. 4 stars
5/11/03 Collin Compared To This Jason X Looks Like A Contender For Best Picture AtThe Oscars 1 stars
4/27/03 Paul Hackett-Evans Great fun! I loved "The Core". See it five times - I did! Can't wait for the DVD!!! 5 stars
4/20/03 George Jung What.............the..............fuck!?!?!?!?! 1 stars
4/17/03 Jack Bourbon For having gazillions of tons of pressure, the interior of the Earth sure has lots of space 1 stars
4/14/03 palaboy101 The movie had a disturbing scene where the pigeons fly aimlessly to their death. Ok film. 3 stars
4/06/03 Cadillac Kid the dumbest fucking movie i have seen in a loooong time! 1 stars
4/05/03 Bloody Vixen Um...the only reason i didn't walk out of the cinema is because of the Rat. 3 stars
4/03/03 Chris Look when you haven't seen a diaster film, since The Perfect Storm, this seems great! 4 stars
4/02/03 Uncle Salty GARBAGE FROM START TO FINISH. Should have been called "The Bore" I'd rather watch sand. 1 stars
4/02/03 Vince fuck this shit. 1 stars
4/01/03 bob mckenzie good lord, disney's journey to the center of the earth was better, made 20 years ago! 1 stars
3/31/03 Earl Dittman, Wireless Magazine I kind of liked the ten story spinning dildo. 1 stars
3/31/03 Spiderfan729 Couldn't be any better! 5 stars
3/31/03 sfghghfghg Fantastic!!! 5 stars
3/30/03 HE great 5 stars
3/30/03 Joe What A Piece Of Crap 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Mar-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 29-Dec-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  12-Jun-2003


Directed by
  Jon Amiel

Written by
  Sean Bailey
  Cooper Layne
  John Rogers

Cast
  Aaron Eckhart
  Hilary Swank
  Delroy Lindo
  Stanley Tucci
  Bruce Greenwwod
  DJ Qualls



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast