More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.38

Awesome: 22.77%
Worth A Look: 26.73%
Average30.69%
Pretty Bad: 4.95%
Total Crap: 14.85%

4 reviews, 77 user ratings


Latest Reviews

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Johnny English
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"If only the real Bond wasn't already a parody of himself."
3 stars

Goofy spy spoof from Mr. Bean’s Rowan Atkinson, if not specifically leaning towards James Bond parody (“Bloody Mary, not too spicy”).

Atkinson is a wannabe spy whose dream becomes a reality when all of Britain’s spies are killed off. His mission, if he chooses to blunder it, is to prevent an evil French megalomaniac from stealing the throne and turning England into a giant prison network. (Fittingly, since American movies make the British bad guys, the British would then have to resort to the French for their villain.) Broad, bland, but never quite boring. The pity of the thing is that Bond has already become a parody of himself (see: Die Another Day, Tomorrow Never Dies, et al.). Directed by Peter Howitt. With Natalie Imbruglia, Ben Miller, and John Malkovich.

[See it if you must.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7396&reviewer=172
originally posted: 04/23/04 22:31:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/16/15 Dr. Lao Not a classic, but not unwatchable either 3 stars
10/20/11 PAUL SHORTT GOOFY, PRATFALL-LADEN GUILTY PLEASURE 3 stars
10/12/11 t. true Silly humor movie, but funny. Great for the whole family. 4 stars
10/03/08 Lenny Zane James Bond feel? I got about as much of a James Bond feel from The Love Guru! 3 stars
3/29/08 Pamela White English comedy great once you get it. 4 stars
12/07/07 kush different type of comedy with a james bond feel and mr bean stupidity. Fun to watch. 4 stars
9/08/07 johnnyfog The british don't know shit about comedy. 2 stars
5/23/07 tim absolutely hilarious. i can watch it over and over again 5 stars
4/23/07 Stevo UK Snooooooooooooooooooooooooorrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrreeeeee................ 1 stars
1/17/07 Matt Funnier than Powers, but then so is Macbeth. Or even influenza, for that matter. 3 stars
12/23/06 ProSneakyD The Naked Gun of britain, a funny performance by rowan & ben, but nothing groundbreaking. 4 stars
8/17/06 R.W.Welch Essentially the Clouseau-Drebin shtick but less inspired. 3 stars
6/10/06 William Goss What are these burning orbs doing in place of my retinas? 2 stars
4/30/06 Dk Bean the ultimate Disater movie is better for belly laughs but this still amuses to a point 3 stars
11/24/05 chris ok film bit silly at parsts though 4 stars
11/09/05 d crap 1 stars
11/09/05 daniel i loved it 5 stars
10/27/05 amanda longstale i must say old chap this film was marvolous...just drop it boff 5 stars
9/15/05 tatum Lackluster spoof, all the laughs were in the preview 3 stars
8/22/05 Eden Boring, unfunny, one of the worst films ever made 1 stars
12/19/04 Matt F. Drawn-out, unfunny, unoriginal. What were they thinking? 1 stars
9/24/04 Agent Sands Like most no-brainer comedies these days, it starts off well, gets tedious as hell. 3 stars
9/10/04 X Worth watching at least once in your lifetime 4 stars
8/25/04 psycho dwarf Imbruglia impresses but when did Bean jump the shark? 2 stars
5/31/04 Nobody Just watch the trailer. It contains all three funny parts. 1 stars
4/26/04 Gabrielle very funny to wach 5 stars
4/10/04 IP Freeley Mr Bean is stupid and so is this character 1 stars
4/05/04 djacosta A LOOOOOT better that James Bond 5 stars
4/03/04 Silvey Grover Made me laugh out loud and the kids enjoyed it too! 4 stars
3/17/04 Chris Funny but nobody laughed when he ended up in poop and the sex dialouge scene didn't fit. 4 stars
3/09/04 Jaco Visser Pure and good British humor! Atkinson at his best ... again! 5 stars
2/09/04 Whatevr constant laughs! 5 stars
1/11/04 Nevz good comedy 5 stars
12/30/03 Littlepurch Hilarious and very British!!! 5 stars
12/23/03 I Would The Bond film (the films that this is supposed to be spoofing) have much funnier gags! 1 stars
12/15/03 Kung Jerker It totally sucks balls. 1 stars
10/30/03 Jinnvisible A film for a sucker with money to thow away on films that suck 1 stars
10/19/03 The Purchase Bros Quite predictable but you can never have too much pooh in a comedy movie! Malkovich Gr8!!! 4 stars
10/17/03 Josh Standlee Not as good as any "Austin Powers" movie, but this movie does kick ass anyway! 5 stars
10/15/03 Aaron very funny 5 stars
10/15/03 perfect angel i love it!soooooo hilariouse! 5 stars
10/09/03 Amy Watson Its the best film of all time 5 stars
10/06/03 jane chigbundu every homw should have it,i love it. 4 stars
9/17/03 stephanie keay rowan is my favourite comedy actor! 5 stars
9/14/03 The real Helen Zass Too stereotypical -- men have to swim through poop; women get to go Ooooooooooooooooooooooo 3 stars
9/11/03 Jonny English It sucks so much 1 stars
9/10/03 Allison Lafferty No classic, but rather good as current-day spoofs go. 4 stars
9/06/03 Dimitri Aubert John Malkovitch is very funny with his french accent. 3 stars
8/17/03 punjab pish and snotters 1 stars
8/15/03 CVJ Could have been better but still hilarious 4 stars
8/07/03 marc_ian_a Very funny ! (5 stars) :) 5 stars
8/04/03 Wolf Stupid and mindless with a few (awkward) laughs - Grade: D 2 stars
7/29/03 bob sometimes predictable, but still funny 4 stars
7/29/03 bob mckenzie yeah ah-nold 1 stars
7/28/03 Bob K Very average to boring film-silly plot 3 stars
7/27/03 Wendy Predictable but good for a laugh. At least catch a matinee. 4 stars
7/27/03 the spam-handler Predicatble, but fun 4 stars
7/19/03 Bean Lover If he dont make you laugh in this one, your underwear is too tight 5 stars
7/19/03 Vicious Consistantly funny, a good blend of wit and physical humour. 4 stars
7/19/03 master.node A lot more fun than some of the recent "blockbuster" dreck. 4 stars
7/19/03 From Justin to Kelly was worse More Bean than Blackadder 1 stars
7/18/03 Arnold Schwarzenegger What da fuck are you doing, giving this a high rating? I had to let him go. 1 stars
6/26/03 bob shit 1 stars
6/08/03 Drake Great fun! 5 stars
6/05/03 David This movie will definitely give you a stomachache. Ha Ha Ha ... 5 stars
5/28/03 ben watson really funny 5 stars
5/22/03 Desert Rat Rowen Atkinson is great, but the rest... 4 stars
5/07/03 Francis A very funny climatic scene, but not many laughs in the rest of it. 3 stars
5/04/03 Kimmie I <3 this movie! I really wanna go see it again! Is is like me favourite movie ever!!!!!! 5 stars
4/27/03 irma absolutly excellent!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/26/03 OnlyChild It was a fun movie, no thinking and great laughs 4 stars
4/23/03 ggg very good 5 stars
4/23/03 Geoff Very funny. Our Natalie's great. 'Baldrick', Curtis, Elton etc from Blackadder were missed 4 stars
4/21/03 Q Better than the dreadful Austin Powers series but only just. 3 stars
4/17/03 Fonq35 You people are nuts. This film sucked and BLEW! But Imbruglia is hot! 2 stars
4/14/03 james I love Rowan Akinson and the movie was the BEST. Any movie with Rowna akinson is a good one 5 stars
4/14/03 Ellie Dillon Brilliant 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Jul-2003 (PG)
  DVD: 13-Jan-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  10-Apr-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast