More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.55

Awesome: 9.52%
Worth A Look: 20.63%
Average: 18.25%
Pretty Bad: 18.25%
Total Crap33.33%

7 reviews, 84 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Anger Management
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Thereby proving that Nicholson can be as obnoxious as Sandler. Great."
1 stars

The Sandler Plague has now claimed Jack Nicholson. Are you people HAPPY NOW?

The truth is this: I LIKE Adam Sandler. A lot of his schtick on SNL had me rolling (Opera Man, the songs he'd do during Weekend Update, individual skits of him bellowing and being enjoyably silly) and I still think that Billy Madison and Happy Gilmore are drop dead hilarious. The Wedding Singer is another one I really enjoy, from Adam's relatively low-key performance to the old-school pop tunes. I think Sandler has the ONE "holy shit was that funny!" moment in Airheads and I even liked portions of that generally awful Bulletproof flick.

The Waterboy did have some solid laughs, but it seems that this flick is the one that marked Sandler's decline (in my eyes). After this one, all of his movies were nothing more than 'the same old thing' over and over: simplistic concept, allegedly likable man-child, poop and fart and tit jokes, cameos from the same old Sandler cronies, 'shock' cameos from various movie stars, bland leading lady recently settling into B-list comfort, and screenplays laden with just the most simplistic and obvious and predictable gags since the days of Henny Youngman.

Big Daddy, Little Nicky, Mr. Deeds and Eight Crazy Nights yielded precisely two mild laughs from me. And that's the truth. And I go into these movies with the proper frame of mind (and quite often half a joint) so there's no reason to think I'm predisposed towards disliking them. I remember seeing Deeds at a screening and just GROANING at the lameness of it all. This from a guy who considers "Shampoo esh BETTA! I go on first..." one of the funniest things he's ever heard.

So I went into Anger Management with hopeful thoughts and a happy mood.

Then the movie started.

The main problem with the film is that nobody in it acts like a real human being would. Ever. In order for comedy to BE comedy, there must be some semblance of normalcy in one small corner of the screen. Without some reality to bounce off of, comedy is just broad drama. And this flick doesn't exactly have many great ideas to spare. When Sandler's character is harangued aboard a plane for no good reason, it's just frustrating to watch. There's no real humor there. And in most scenes like this one, Sandler's supposed to be the straight man! How genius is that? Pay an overrated comedian $20 million and then ask him to swing an Alan Arkin-ish 'slow burn' that he could never pull off in a thousand years.

And it happens like 5 times.

Sort of a reverse-angle What About Bob?, this one features a stunningly annoying and clearly insane therapist torturing a nebbishy put-upon everyman. That's pretty much it. We're offered a series of barely-related skits in which Jack bellows and jiggles his eyebrows while Sandler glowers, mumbles and stutters. Great work fellas.

It was my hope that working with Nicholson would help to elevate Sandler's onscreen presence. Instead just the opposite has happened. Opting to take the moron's way out and take De Niro's money-grubbing path to low-minded Comedy Country, Nicholson humiliates himself in nearly every scene. His embarrasing displays would be more effective were the poor old guy given an actual screenplay to work with, but that's not even nearly the case.

Plot A deals with our odd couple (and probably VERY expensive) onscreen duo doing wacky things while various subplots (see: running gags) keep rearing their heads at the most unwelcome of times. Hey kids, this doctor/patient schtick getting old? Check out the "guy with a big dick" material we got! Six pages worth! Sandler's got nothing funny to say? Stick a big fat pussycat onscreen...in a sweater! That'll earn some quality chuckles!

The jokes are aimed low and delivered with the intensity of a wet paper towel. By the time Woody Harrelson shows up in drag, you'll be wondering if you just bought a ticket to the first film ever scripted by Mrs. Filarksi's 3rd grade English class. (And pity poor Heather Graham who shows up and strips down to some wonderfully skimpy underthings...and STILL isn't given anything funny to do.) I'd go on about how the wasted and pointless appearances of guys like Luis Guzman and John Turturro but I really like those actors so let's just leave it at that.

If this one makes you laugh, I sort of envy you. Sandler continues to give you your money's worth while I'm left screaming at the wall while his every project makes $90 million bucks. So I guess I'm the idiot.

This movie looks like it was written in a week and filmed in a day. It could be re-edited in any order you choose and it will still make just about the same sense. The characters are ciphers, the movie is as polished as the finest Ed Wood productions, the supprting actors all look lost, bored and stoned, and (most importantly above all else) the movie's just not funny. Desperate and loud and frantically searching for funny, but nope; not even a little.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7418&reviewer=128
originally posted: 04/11/03 15:23:01
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/20/10 JackAnus You suck, never review a movie again. 1 stars
2/07/10 PAUL SHORTT AGGRESIVELY CRASS COMEDY 1 stars
10/28/09 the dork knight one of those comedies where everyone but the hero is utterly insane 3 stars
9/26/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome Cast!! 5 stars
3/16/08 ladavies very weird pairing of actors, didn't really work 3 stars
3/02/08 Pamela White very funny in a kinky way 4 stars
2/07/07 Ryan Miller This movie was pretty good but kinda boring!!!!! 3 stars
11/29/06 elise I think the movie was funny 4 stars
7/08/06 NS You are wrong if you think this is crap, Sandler and Nicholson are like the odd couple. 5 stars
6/22/06 TB All Right!!! 3 stars
6/09/06 Frank Rountree What a waste of time for two good actors! 1 stars
5/12/06 Fruit-Loop Blackest comedy ever. Funnnnnnnnyyy!!!!!! 5 stars
5/02/06 Anthony Feor Sandler+Nicholson=Disaster=Anger Managment 1 stars
3/09/06 R.W.Welch Has a few funny bits but much of the humor is forced. 3 stars
7/24/05 Bad Critic Sandler sucked, but Nicholson was great in an average movie. 3 stars
5/15/05 Joe Adam (Happy Gilmore) and Jack (The Shining) work great! Including Jack's psichotic smile! 4 stars
2/21/05 Dan Funny. 4 stars
2/06/05 Jeff Anderson WHAT A TERRIBLE & UNFUNNY WASTE OF A GREAT IDEA! All of Nicholson's fans should be outraged 1 stars
12/07/04 Jason Kaul I feel pretty... Oh so pretty.... Wonderful!!!! 4 stars
10/19/04 brockus this movie rules 5 stars
10/07/04 Daveman A few throwaway laughs aside, this film is peurile, nonsensical and homophobic to boot. 1 stars
9/28/04 whatevr I knew this movie sucked when I first saw the preview 1 stars
9/27/04 Archanist_101 Not bad... 5 stars
9/04/04 T.B. I wish the story change around 3 stars
7/25/04 Katie This movie isn't funny at all and the ending is completely stupid. A watse of film!!! 2 stars
4/20/04 y2mckay sweet Jesus, somebody kill Sandler before it's too late 1 stars
4/06/04 Dean Not too bad 3 stars
3/23/04 Agent Sands Typically underrated Sandler. Star-studded cast add to the fun script. Really funny. 4 stars
3/21/04 Samuel pretty stupid! 1 stars
3/17/04 James Cole This movie is really, really BAD! 1 stars
2/15/04 Jingo P. One of the greatest let-downs cinema has ever experienced. AWFUL. 2 stars
12/06/03 bender Wasted Talent. 2 stars
12/06/03 Jinnvisible Sucks like a Dyson !!! !!! !!! 1 stars
11/09/03 Mona Lott Ultimately unfunny "comedy";spares us not even the cliche of the black female hanging judge 1 stars
10/28/03 John Aster Habig hilarious but I would put Andrew to shame 5 stars
10/28/03 Mona Little Ultimate premise from hell for a "comedy". Could make Adam Sandler fans pull their hair out 1 stars
9/30/03 juicing my butt poor meatball, has to add this to his/her portfolio. like putting the nail in the coffin. 1 stars
9/19/03 Steve P Totally worthless 1 stars
9/15/03 the clarke Pure waste of time, should never have been made. 1 stars
9/15/03 Lindzb3 I loved it. I loved meatball! I really want a pic of him in red hoodie 4 stars
9/09/03 Dan If you liked this movie you are either blind, or an idiot. Or possibly a blind idiot. 1 stars
9/05/03 Schmoozana This is quite possibly one of the worst movies I've seen. 1 stars
7/18/03 May Q. Horney Whatever good effort is in the execution, it can't dig it out of the pit of the premise. 2 stars
7/13/03 Jimmy Granström I like the movie!! I think it was very fun and very strange, (good kind of strange) 5 stars
7/09/03 Erica The fat cat is the only funny thing in the movie, he's worth 5 stars, the film itself 1. 2 stars
5/23/03 micheal turner from matrix reloaded: i have not yet met jonathan cyr but will kick his ass!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/23/03 masonmommy Hilarious!! 5 stars
5/22/03 Kris One of the most stupid and irritating movies I ever saw. Shame on you, Jack. 1 stars
5/21/03 owen It was a good movie, the best Adam sandler movie I've seen in a while 4 stars
5/20/03 your worse goddamn nightmare Ol' Sausy Jack is great in this! It's for the mature folks rather than the lil' tards... 4 stars
5/18/03 alien assassin A crass attempt at humour despite some funny bits 3 stars
5/17/03 Turtle Great potential, sloppy execution. Barely average. 3 stars
5/14/03 Shadaan Felfeli Nicholson was hillarious, 'i feel pretty' was enjoyable and the last half hour was awful. 2 stars
5/09/03 Jerry Finckler S**k my F**king nuts!!!!!! 1 stars
5/08/03 Claudette Parker Funny at first, old joke by the middle and wished I'd stayed home by the end. 2 stars
5/07/03 leroyjones i payed a friend $8 to knee me in the nuts cuz thats what it felt like.. 1 stars
5/05/03 Jack Bourbon Eh. Not terrible. 3 stars
5/03/03 Jackson62 No "Mr. Deeds" but I guess that says something about me. 3 stars
5/02/03 Goofy Maxwell Like watching "The Game" For Dummies on PBS (Peckerwood Bitchslap Network). 4 stars
4/30/03 Jessica i loved this movie 5 stars
4/30/03 Beverly Anderson A waste of time and money and very disturbing that thirteen year old youth is seeing such 2 stars
4/28/03 Vitality1 The ending was a bit of a stretch. Not the best, but not the worst 4 stars
4/27/03 Robb Morpheus All parties involved should be ashamed to accept money for this crap! 1 stars
4/23/03 KittyKat I thought that the movie was funny, but it had a messed up plot to it. 4 stars
4/23/03 djplayer0213 the best movie 5 stars
4/22/03 Jeff Weinstein Erik, I'm really disappointed that you liked this movie. 2 stars
4/22/03 Dr. Bitterpants Thanks, Adam. You made the whole world angry at your stupid film plots. 1 stars
4/21/03 ajay I like the older Sandler movies, but he hasn't made anything good in a while... 2 stars
4/20/03 David Shaver V E R R R Y Y B O O O R R I N G G G 1 stars
4/18/03 Sandler Hits It Towards... ... His Extra Average Dumbarse Supporters 1 stars
4/18/03 earl duron funny begining but movie grates on to bad ending 3 stars
4/18/03 KingNeutron A bit contrived and with plenty of plot holes, but maybe worth seeing once. 3 stars
4/18/03 Barb - anger management candidate :-) Not as bad as everyone is saying. Has some funny moments from 2 actors who can DO anger. 3 stars
4/18/03 George Jung One of the fucking worst fucking movies that I fucking ever fucking saw. 1 stars
4/18/03 snowconehead It's Sandler, you get what you pay for, what were you expecting? 4 stars
4/16/03 Andrew Carden Celebrity Cameos Are The Only Good Thing About This Unfunny Sandler Flick. 2 stars
4/15/03 srburns There were some good moments, worth matinee price 3 stars
4/15/03 C W This movie doesn't deserve the one star it gets for being "total crap" 1 stars
4/14/03 Adam Sandler's Brain Well, it was a lot better then the water boy... 1 stars
4/14/03 Melanie This movie is funny as hell!!! 5 stars
4/13/03 syrius funny, but little nicky made more sense than this 3 stars
4/13/03 Forsaken Very Funny, sure as heck the best pure comedy Sandler has made in some time 4 stars
4/12/03 Earl Dittman - Wireless Magazine More feces from the Master of Turds! Enjoy, moviegoers! 1 stars
4/11/03 Open Wide! Adam Sandler sucks the big, wet log. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Apr-2003 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-Apr-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast