More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.55

Awesome: 9.52%
Worth A Look: 20.63%
Average: 18.25%
Pretty Bad: 18.25%
Total Crap33.33%

7 reviews, 84 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Loving Vincent by Jay Seaver

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Anger Management
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Adam Sandler plays straightman."
4 stars

Adam Sandler’s onscreen persona has frequently been that of the angry moron, the simple-minded doof prone to fits of violence. “Anger Management” slyly twists that character, casting Sandler as an indecisive businessman whose problem is that he doesn’t lash out often enough.

Fans of the belligerent, stupid Sandler — the Sandler who dons a silly voice in lieu of an actual character — need not worry their baseball-capped heads that the acting skills Sandler exhibited in “Punch-Drunk Love” have carried over into his daily life. Rest assured, my dude-saying friends, “Anger Management” will make you laugh.

But for those who like their comedies to contain actual comedic content, “Anger Management” will make you laugh, too. For rather than prancing about, so obviously TRYING to be funny, Sandler is this time playing straightman to the zany personalities around him. He did this in “Mr. Deeds,” too — but in that film, there was no one outrageous to contrast with his calmness. Here, he has the truly demented Jack Nicholson.

Sandler is Dave Buznik, a meek New Yorker who works for an animal-clothing design company. (That’s clothes FOR animals, not made out of them — sweaters for fat housecats, for example.) His long-time girlfriend but not-yet fiancee Linda (Marisa Tomei) wishes he would be more assertive; Dave, for his part, is threatened by Linda’s friendship with Andrew (Allen Covert), a smug co-worker.

After a mild confrontation on an airplane, the decidedly non-angry Dave is sentenced to anger-management counseling. The class is led by Dr. Buddy Rydell (Nicholson), a half-sane author and psychologist who exhibits signs of being the angriest, craziest person Dave knows. In order to observe him more closely — but really because it will make the movie funnier — Buddy insists on moving in with Dave. Soon, either because of Buddy or in spite of him, Dave and Linda’s relationship is on the rocks. None of this is making Dave any less angry.

Nicholson, as always, seems to be having a grand time behaving oddly, his malevolent grin making him the perfect devil figure to sit on Sandler’s shoulder. He is joined in the ranks of weirdos by Jon Turturro and Luis Guzman as anger-management group members.

First-time writer David Dorfman’s script is efficient as well as amusing, with each sequence contributing to the whole and almost no wasted scenes. He lacks confidence in his work, though, evidenced by the five or six random gross-out lines that seem to have been thrown in just in case the rest of the movie wasn’t funny.

The director, Peter Segal (who gave us the beloved “Tommy Boy”), wisely keeps Sandler on a tight leash while letting Nicholson cut loose. He also allows for several loopy cameos from Woody Harrelson, John C. Reilly, Bobby Knight and John McEnroe, among others.

The climactic scene, typical of Sandler movies, has Dave making a public spectacle of himself, though it’s done with such exuberance and mania — watch for several more goofy cameos — that it’s easy to overlook how absurd it is.

Throughout, Sandler remains steadfastly deadpan, hilariously bewildered by Dave’s plight. Nicholson, meanwhile, doesn’t seem to consider it slumming to work with Sandler, even though maybe he should. Together — shockingly — they make a humorous pair.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7418&reviewer=247
originally posted: 04/19/03 06:19:43
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/20/10 JackAnus You suck, never review a movie again. 1 stars
2/07/10 PAUL SHORTT AGGRESIVELY CRASS COMEDY 1 stars
10/28/09 the dork knight one of those comedies where everyone but the hero is utterly insane 3 stars
9/26/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome Cast!! 5 stars
3/16/08 ladavies very weird pairing of actors, didn't really work 3 stars
3/02/08 Pamela White very funny in a kinky way 4 stars
2/07/07 Ryan Miller This movie was pretty good but kinda boring!!!!! 3 stars
11/29/06 elise I think the movie was funny 4 stars
7/08/06 NS You are wrong if you think this is crap, Sandler and Nicholson are like the odd couple. 5 stars
6/22/06 TB All Right!!! 3 stars
6/09/06 Frank Rountree What a waste of time for two good actors! 1 stars
5/12/06 Fruit-Loop Blackest comedy ever. Funnnnnnnnyyy!!!!!! 5 stars
5/02/06 Anthony Feor Sandler+Nicholson=Disaster=Anger Managment 1 stars
3/09/06 R.W.Welch Has a few funny bits but much of the humor is forced. 3 stars
7/24/05 Bad Critic Sandler sucked, but Nicholson was great in an average movie. 3 stars
5/15/05 Joe Adam (Happy Gilmore) and Jack (The Shining) work great! Including Jack's psichotic smile! 4 stars
2/21/05 Dan Funny. 4 stars
2/06/05 Jeff Anderson WHAT A TERRIBLE & UNFUNNY WASTE OF A GREAT IDEA! All of Nicholson's fans should be outraged 1 stars
12/07/04 Jason Kaul I feel pretty... Oh so pretty.... Wonderful!!!! 4 stars
10/19/04 brockus this movie rules 5 stars
10/07/04 Daveman A few throwaway laughs aside, this film is peurile, nonsensical and homophobic to boot. 1 stars
9/28/04 whatevr I knew this movie sucked when I first saw the preview 1 stars
9/27/04 Archanist_101 Not bad... 5 stars
9/04/04 T.B. I wish the story change around 3 stars
7/25/04 Katie This movie isn't funny at all and the ending is completely stupid. A watse of film!!! 2 stars
4/20/04 y2mckay sweet Jesus, somebody kill Sandler before it's too late 1 stars
4/06/04 Dean Not too bad 3 stars
3/23/04 Agent Sands Typically underrated Sandler. Star-studded cast add to the fun script. Really funny. 4 stars
3/21/04 Samuel pretty stupid! 1 stars
3/17/04 James Cole This movie is really, really BAD! 1 stars
2/15/04 Jingo P. One of the greatest let-downs cinema has ever experienced. AWFUL. 2 stars
12/06/03 bender Wasted Talent. 2 stars
12/06/03 Jinnvisible Sucks like a Dyson !!! !!! !!! 1 stars
11/09/03 Mona Lott Ultimately unfunny "comedy";spares us not even the cliche of the black female hanging judge 1 stars
10/28/03 John Aster Habig hilarious but I would put Andrew to shame 5 stars
10/28/03 Mona Little Ultimate premise from hell for a "comedy". Could make Adam Sandler fans pull their hair out 1 stars
9/30/03 juicing my butt poor meatball, has to add this to his/her portfolio. like putting the nail in the coffin. 1 stars
9/19/03 Steve P Totally worthless 1 stars
9/15/03 the clarke Pure waste of time, should never have been made. 1 stars
9/15/03 Lindzb3 I loved it. I loved meatball! I really want a pic of him in red hoodie 4 stars
9/09/03 Dan If you liked this movie you are either blind, or an idiot. Or possibly a blind idiot. 1 stars
9/05/03 Schmoozana This is quite possibly one of the worst movies I've seen. 1 stars
7/18/03 May Q. Horney Whatever good effort is in the execution, it can't dig it out of the pit of the premise. 2 stars
7/13/03 Jimmy Granström I like the movie!! I think it was very fun and very strange, (good kind of strange) 5 stars
7/09/03 Erica The fat cat is the only funny thing in the movie, he's worth 5 stars, the film itself 1. 2 stars
5/23/03 micheal turner from matrix reloaded: i have not yet met jonathan cyr but will kick his ass!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/23/03 masonmommy Hilarious!! 5 stars
5/22/03 Kris One of the most stupid and irritating movies I ever saw. Shame on you, Jack. 1 stars
5/21/03 owen It was a good movie, the best Adam sandler movie I've seen in a while 4 stars
5/20/03 your worse goddamn nightmare Ol' Sausy Jack is great in this! It's for the mature folks rather than the lil' tards... 4 stars
5/18/03 alien assassin A crass attempt at humour despite some funny bits 3 stars
5/17/03 Turtle Great potential, sloppy execution. Barely average. 3 stars
5/14/03 Shadaan Felfeli Nicholson was hillarious, 'i feel pretty' was enjoyable and the last half hour was awful. 2 stars
5/09/03 Jerry Finckler S**k my F**king nuts!!!!!! 1 stars
5/08/03 Claudette Parker Funny at first, old joke by the middle and wished I'd stayed home by the end. 2 stars
5/07/03 leroyjones i payed a friend $8 to knee me in the nuts cuz thats what it felt like.. 1 stars
5/05/03 Jack Bourbon Eh. Not terrible. 3 stars
5/03/03 Jackson62 No "Mr. Deeds" but I guess that says something about me. 3 stars
5/02/03 Goofy Maxwell Like watching "The Game" For Dummies on PBS (Peckerwood Bitchslap Network). 4 stars
4/30/03 Jessica i loved this movie 5 stars
4/30/03 Beverly Anderson A waste of time and money and very disturbing that thirteen year old youth is seeing such 2 stars
4/28/03 Vitality1 The ending was a bit of a stretch. Not the best, but not the worst 4 stars
4/27/03 Robb Morpheus All parties involved should be ashamed to accept money for this crap! 1 stars
4/23/03 KittyKat I thought that the movie was funny, but it had a messed up plot to it. 4 stars
4/23/03 djplayer0213 the best movie 5 stars
4/22/03 Jeff Weinstein Erik, I'm really disappointed that you liked this movie. 2 stars
4/22/03 Dr. Bitterpants Thanks, Adam. You made the whole world angry at your stupid film plots. 1 stars
4/21/03 ajay I like the older Sandler movies, but he hasn't made anything good in a while... 2 stars
4/20/03 David Shaver V E R R R Y Y B O O O R R I N G G G 1 stars
4/18/03 Sandler Hits It Towards... ... His Extra Average Dumbarse Supporters 1 stars
4/18/03 earl duron funny begining but movie grates on to bad ending 3 stars
4/18/03 KingNeutron A bit contrived and with plenty of plot holes, but maybe worth seeing once. 3 stars
4/18/03 Barb - anger management candidate :-) Not as bad as everyone is saying. Has some funny moments from 2 actors who can DO anger. 3 stars
4/18/03 George Jung One of the fucking worst fucking movies that I fucking ever fucking saw. 1 stars
4/18/03 snowconehead It's Sandler, you get what you pay for, what were you expecting? 4 stars
4/16/03 Andrew Carden Celebrity Cameos Are The Only Good Thing About This Unfunny Sandler Flick. 2 stars
4/15/03 srburns There were some good moments, worth matinee price 3 stars
4/15/03 C W This movie doesn't deserve the one star it gets for being "total crap" 1 stars
4/14/03 Adam Sandler's Brain Well, it was a lot better then the water boy... 1 stars
4/14/03 Melanie This movie is funny as hell!!! 5 stars
4/13/03 syrius funny, but little nicky made more sense than this 3 stars
4/13/03 Forsaken Very Funny, sure as heck the best pure comedy Sandler has made in some time 4 stars
4/12/03 Earl Dittman - Wireless Magazine More feces from the Master of Turds! Enjoy, moviegoers! 1 stars
4/11/03 Open Wide! Adam Sandler sucks the big, wet log. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Apr-2003 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-Apr-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast