More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.55

Awesome: 9.52%
Worth A Look: 20.63%
Average: 18.25%
Pretty Bad: 18.25%
Total Crap33.33%

7 reviews, 84 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Homesman, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Peter Sobczynski

Purge, The: Anarchy by Rob Gonsalves

Raid 2, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fault in Our Stars, The by Rob Gonsalves

Dumb and Dumber To by Brett Gallman

Space Mutiny by Jaycie

Pompeii by Rob Gonsalves

Quiet Ones, The (2014) by Rob Gonsalves

Theory of Everything, The (2014) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Anger Management
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Sandler gets mad! Nicholson gets wacky! What a trailblazer!"
2 stars

Jack Nicholson as Adam Sandler's therapist -- what a coup for Sony's marketing division. The concept sells itself, and handily bought itself a number-one opening weekend. 'Anger Management' looks like a comedy classic in its trailer, but the trailer is only about three minutes long. That's about how long it takes for the movie itself to make you say, "Okay, we get it. Fun concept. Are you going to do anything interesting with it?" Sadly, no.

Some say that rage fuels comedy, and Adam Sandler has built his castle on his passive-aggressive persona (emphasis on aggressive). He specializes in the sad-sack regular guy with reserves of fury, which eventually bursts out and, more often than not, works to his benefit (as in his sports movies Happy Gilmore and The Waterboy). Many scenes in Sandler's films are just marking time until the moment where he loses it. (For his other trick, he has a Gen-X shrug in response to things that baffle him, as in his many "O-kaaaay, psycho man" asides to Nicholson here.) In Anger Management, though, Sandler is cast too snugly in the role of executive whipping boy Dave Buznik, who devised the idea of clothes for rotund cats and privately seethes with resentment that his boss took credit for his brainstorm. This sort of plot worked better when Sandler was an underdog slob, not a stressed-out company man.

Nicholson, as radical therapist Dr. Buddy Rydell, swoops into the picture on fiery Balrog wings and gleefully torments Dave, hoping to free up some of Dave's repressed anger and then teach him how to process it more fruitfully. Most of the ensuing hijinks, you've seen in the trailer; this is one movie whose premise was solid enough, marketing-wise, that it could've gotten by with a short teaser trailer that didn't spoil almost every joke in the movie. Nicholson, too, isn't exactly cast against type here. Once you've understood the dynamic between befuddled Dave and wacky Dr. Buddy -- and it takes no great insight to do so -- you've understood pretty much everything to follow.

Sandler's movies do tend to attract appreciative buddies, making the films play at times like half-organized parties. John Turturro shows up as one of the loose cannons in Dave's anger-management support group and gets most of the honest laughs in the movie. Krista Allen and January Jones are amusing as lesbian porn stars, whose presence in a restaurant leads to the film's best throwaway gag. Woody Harrelson drops by as a German she-male hooker named Galaxia -- no, you're not on drugs; you did indeed just read that sentence. There are the usual cameos, including a New York celebrity who gets to deliver Rob Schneider's "You can do eet!" bit seen in various Sandler films.

Do we really need a fable about corporate guys getting in touch with their inner brats? Adam Sandler, who turned 37 the year this was released, is getting a little old for roughhousing with Buddhist monks and jokes about penis size. Punch-Drunk Love was supposed to steer him toward a more mature packaging of his persona, but failed because Paul Thomas Anderson believed there was nothing wrong with Sandler's character that the right woman couldn't fix. Anger Management arrives at the same disheartening (and dubious) conclusion, adding Jack Nicholson for good measure.

As structured, the movie is a narcissist's dream: everyone -- literally, the entire crowd at Yankee Stadium -- rises up and gives Dave props for defeating a (silly) childhood demon. 'Anger Management' is a movie for those who think they deserve applause for not being assholes.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7418&reviewer=416
originally posted: 12/30/06 12:29:52
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/20/10 JackAnus You suck, never review a movie again. 1 stars
2/07/10 PAUL SHORTT AGGRESIVELY CRASS COMEDY 1 stars
10/28/09 the dork knight one of those comedies where everyone but the hero is utterly insane 3 stars
9/26/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome Cast!! 5 stars
3/16/08 ladavies very weird pairing of actors, didn't really work 3 stars
3/02/08 Pamela White very funny in a kinky way 4 stars
2/07/07 Ryan Miller This movie was pretty good but kinda boring!!!!! 3 stars
11/29/06 elise I think the movie was funny 4 stars
7/08/06 NS You are wrong if you think this is crap, Sandler and Nicholson are like the odd couple. 5 stars
6/22/06 TB All Right!!! 3 stars
6/09/06 Frank Rountree What a waste of time for two good actors! 1 stars
5/12/06 Fruit-Loop Blackest comedy ever. Funnnnnnnnyyy!!!!!! 5 stars
5/02/06 Anthony Feor Sandler+Nicholson=Disaster=Anger Managment 1 stars
3/09/06 R.W.Welch Has a few funny bits but much of the humor is forced. 3 stars
7/24/05 Bad Critic Sandler sucked, but Nicholson was great in an average movie. 3 stars
5/15/05 Joe Adam (Happy Gilmore) and Jack (The Shining) work great! Including Jack's psichotic smile! 4 stars
2/21/05 Dan Funny. 4 stars
2/06/05 Jeff Anderson WHAT A TERRIBLE & UNFUNNY WASTE OF A GREAT IDEA! All of Nicholson's fans should be outraged 1 stars
12/07/04 Jason Kaul I feel pretty... Oh so pretty.... Wonderful!!!! 4 stars
10/19/04 brockus this movie rules 5 stars
10/07/04 Daveman A few throwaway laughs aside, this film is peurile, nonsensical and homophobic to boot. 1 stars
9/28/04 whatevr I knew this movie sucked when I first saw the preview 1 stars
9/27/04 Archanist_101 Not bad... 5 stars
9/04/04 T.B. I wish the story change around 3 stars
7/25/04 Katie This movie isn't funny at all and the ending is completely stupid. A watse of film!!! 2 stars
4/20/04 y2mckay sweet Jesus, somebody kill Sandler before it's too late 1 stars
4/06/04 Dean Not too bad 3 stars
3/23/04 Agent Sands Typically underrated Sandler. Star-studded cast add to the fun script. Really funny. 4 stars
3/21/04 Samuel pretty stupid! 1 stars
3/17/04 James Cole This movie is really, really BAD! 1 stars
2/15/04 Jingo P. One of the greatest let-downs cinema has ever experienced. AWFUL. 2 stars
12/06/03 bender Wasted Talent. 2 stars
12/06/03 Jinnvisible Sucks like a Dyson !!! !!! !!! 1 stars
11/09/03 Mona Lott Ultimately unfunny "comedy";spares us not even the cliche of the black female hanging judge 1 stars
10/28/03 John Aster Habig hilarious but I would put Andrew to shame 5 stars
10/28/03 Mona Little Ultimate premise from hell for a "comedy". Could make Adam Sandler fans pull their hair out 1 stars
9/30/03 juicing my butt poor meatball, has to add this to his/her portfolio. like putting the nail in the coffin. 1 stars
9/19/03 Steve P Totally worthless 1 stars
9/15/03 the clarke Pure waste of time, should never have been made. 1 stars
9/15/03 Lindzb3 I loved it. I loved meatball! I really want a pic of him in red hoodie 4 stars
9/09/03 Dan If you liked this movie you are either blind, or an idiot. Or possibly a blind idiot. 1 stars
9/05/03 Schmoozana This is quite possibly one of the worst movies I've seen. 1 stars
7/18/03 May Q. Horney Whatever good effort is in the execution, it can't dig it out of the pit of the premise. 2 stars
7/13/03 Jimmy Granström I like the movie!! I think it was very fun and very strange, (good kind of strange) 5 stars
7/09/03 Erica The fat cat is the only funny thing in the movie, he's worth 5 stars, the film itself 1. 2 stars
5/23/03 micheal turner from matrix reloaded: i have not yet met jonathan cyr but will kick his ass!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/23/03 masonmommy Hilarious!! 5 stars
5/22/03 Kris One of the most stupid and irritating movies I ever saw. Shame on you, Jack. 1 stars
5/21/03 owen It was a good movie, the best Adam sandler movie I've seen in a while 4 stars
5/20/03 your worse goddamn nightmare Ol' Sausy Jack is great in this! It's for the mature folks rather than the lil' tards... 4 stars
5/18/03 alien assassin A crass attempt at humour despite some funny bits 3 stars
5/17/03 Turtle Great potential, sloppy execution. Barely average. 3 stars
5/14/03 Shadaan Felfeli Nicholson was hillarious, 'i feel pretty' was enjoyable and the last half hour was awful. 2 stars
5/09/03 Jerry Finckler S**k my F**king nuts!!!!!! 1 stars
5/08/03 Claudette Parker Funny at first, old joke by the middle and wished I'd stayed home by the end. 2 stars
5/07/03 leroyjones i payed a friend $8 to knee me in the nuts cuz thats what it felt like.. 1 stars
5/05/03 Jack Bourbon Eh. Not terrible. 3 stars
5/03/03 Jackson62 No "Mr. Deeds" but I guess that says something about me. 3 stars
5/02/03 Goofy Maxwell Like watching "The Game" For Dummies on PBS (Peckerwood Bitchslap Network). 4 stars
4/30/03 Jessica i loved this movie 5 stars
4/30/03 Beverly Anderson A waste of time and money and very disturbing that thirteen year old youth is seeing such 2 stars
4/28/03 Vitality1 The ending was a bit of a stretch. Not the best, but not the worst 4 stars
4/27/03 Robb Morpheus All parties involved should be ashamed to accept money for this crap! 1 stars
4/23/03 KittyKat I thought that the movie was funny, but it had a messed up plot to it. 4 stars
4/23/03 djplayer0213 the best movie 5 stars
4/22/03 Jeff Weinstein Erik, I'm really disappointed that you liked this movie. 2 stars
4/22/03 Dr. Bitterpants Thanks, Adam. You made the whole world angry at your stupid film plots. 1 stars
4/21/03 ajay I like the older Sandler movies, but he hasn't made anything good in a while... 2 stars
4/20/03 David Shaver V E R R R Y Y B O O O R R I N G G G 1 stars
4/18/03 Sandler Hits It Towards... ... His Extra Average Dumbarse Supporters 1 stars
4/18/03 earl duron funny begining but movie grates on to bad ending 3 stars
4/18/03 KingNeutron A bit contrived and with plenty of plot holes, but maybe worth seeing once. 3 stars
4/18/03 Barb - anger management candidate :-) Not as bad as everyone is saying. Has some funny moments from 2 actors who can DO anger. 3 stars
4/18/03 George Jung One of the fucking worst fucking movies that I fucking ever fucking saw. 1 stars
4/18/03 snowconehead It's Sandler, you get what you pay for, what were you expecting? 4 stars
4/16/03 Andrew Carden Celebrity Cameos Are The Only Good Thing About This Unfunny Sandler Flick. 2 stars
4/15/03 srburns There were some good moments, worth matinee price 3 stars
4/15/03 C W This movie doesn't deserve the one star it gets for being "total crap" 1 stars
4/14/03 Adam Sandler's Brain Well, it was a lot better then the water boy... 1 stars
4/14/03 Melanie This movie is funny as hell!!! 5 stars
4/13/03 syrius funny, but little nicky made more sense than this 3 stars
4/13/03 Forsaken Very Funny, sure as heck the best pure comedy Sandler has made in some time 4 stars
4/12/03 Earl Dittman - Wireless Magazine More feces from the Master of Turds! Enjoy, moviegoers! 1 stars
4/11/03 Open Wide! Adam Sandler sucks the big, wet log. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Apr-2003 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-Apr-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast