More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.91

Awesome49.44%
Worth A Look: 12.36%
Average: 23.6%
Pretty Bad: 8.99%
Total Crap: 5.62%

7 reviews, 47 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darlin' by Jay Seaver

Astronaut (2019) by Jay Seaver

White Storm 2: Drug Lords, The by Jay Seaver

Vivarium by Jay Seaver

Art of Self-Defense, The by Jay Seaver

Crawl by Peter Sobczynski

Swallow by Jay Seaver

Perfection, The by Rob Gonsalves

Luce by Jay Seaver

Last Black Man in San Francisco, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


EdTV
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Is it possible to forgive McConaughey his cinematic sins? Oh yes."
5 stars

I had no intention of seeing this movie. I'd loved The Truman Show and had no desire to have it's memory sullied by a Ron Howard directed 'for-the-masses' version. Well, thank God I allowed myself to be dragged to EDtv, because for as good as I thought The Truman Show was, it's only when a more realistic light is shone on that film that its many problems truly come to the surface. EDtv is that realistic light.

Ed is your average yokel bum. Works a video store, got nothing to his name, no desire to do anything past getting drunk. Then suddenly he is thrust into the cold light of celebrity when he becomes the subject of a 24 hr 7 day a week TV show - EDtv.
While celebrity is at first a great place to visit, it quickly becomes a place you wouldn't want to stay, and when the push for higher ratings starts to see Ed's life bust up, it becomes obvious that something's got to give. You don't need any more story to know you should see this movie, you just need to know two things.

Thing #1: It's the first role this diehard non Matthew McConaughey fan has enjoyed seeing the scruffy hick play. For all the crap roles he's taken in his life, this is the one that lets his true self come out. It's perfect for him, he's perfect for it, if he never makes another decent film, he gets cred from me for doing this fine piece of work.

Thing #2: Truman Show was a damn fine movie. Sure, it wasn't original, and sure it had Jim Carrey struggling to be normal, but it was a fine flick with a lot of heart and a big old moral to the story. It was also a little hard to swallow, a little cartoony. EDtv is the opposite. It's way real, clinically real. There's no suspension of disbelief here. None at all. This film sets itself up well and plays itself out even better. The moral isn't shoved down your throat like in Truman Show and the story almost seems like a documentary at times.

And let it be said, Ellen Degeneres, Woody Harrelson and Jenna Elfman, three people I have never had any affection for, have also redeemed themselves with this film. Elfman in particular is just spiffy. And let's not even talk about the brilliant Martin Landau. He can do no wrong, even if his mouth is abnormally large.

Let's be totally clear. I wanted to hate this bitch film. I couldn't. It's just too damn good.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=748&reviewer=1
originally posted: 06/16/99 01:50:38
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell good not great 4 stars
11/10/10 PAUL SHORTT AMUSING, ENTERTAINING YARN 4 stars
9/11/09 the dork knight just enough jokes (Woody helps lots) and twists to make it worth a rent 4 stars
10/22/08 Shaun Wallner Hilarious Movie! 5 stars
1/13/07 Tiffany funny, got a great laugh. 4 stars
9/02/05 ES s'ok, doesn't go anywhere and the laughs are scarce but hardly terrible 3 stars
6/12/05 Elaine Loved MM in it 4 stars
6/15/03 Jack Sommersby Far better than the overpraised, unctuous "The Truman Show". 4 stars
4/19/03 Ubu the Ripper This is such a great flick. McConaghey and Elfman were fantastic. 5 stars
9/17/02 Phil M. Aficionado Makes its point with LOL humor and fine acting and directing. Good ending.Fun&witty filled 4 stars
1/08/02 Andrew Carden Unfunny, but Interesting To The Point To Overlook. 3 stars
4/16/01 LiL Fantastic, this comedy is one of the best. 5 stars
2/28/01 Chris Very Funny and down to Earth! 5 stars
1/21/01 MELISSA HIGHT MATTHEW MCCONAGHEY IS THE BEST LOOKING ACTOR IN HOLLYWOOD 5 stars
11/03/00 Terrie Smith Enjoyable comedy; McConaughey makes the most of it. Good supporting cast. 4 stars
10/17/00 Jed Yes folks despite that ellen is in this. This movie is still good. 5 stars
8/15/00 Chickiepoo Mattie Mccrappy looks like he's anorexic and the others aint all that either. 1 stars
3/14/00 Bozo Hey, fax pax - your mom is a degenarate, not ellen. this movie was Ok at best 3 stars
3/10/00 David Rogers Way better than the Truman Show. Sorry Jim Carrey, just had to say it. 5 stars
10/18/99 The Bomb 69 extremely funny but true to life as well 5 stars
10/17/99 "JED" I never expected to be this good well maybe because its similar to the great TRUMAN SHOW 5 stars
9/24/99 Pamernilla This was a great flick! Well written and played out. 5 stars
9/17/99 strike Mildly entertaining in places, but ultimately not good. 2 stars
7/12/99 ken heine the cat scene was cool. 3 stars
6/16/99 David With targets so big and easy, why is this movie so light and soft? 2 stars
5/29/99 MRHOLLYWOOD !! Tried too hard. Ellen is great though. Wait till video. 3 stars
5/21/99 Fax Pax Ellen Degenerate sucked on TV and sucks even more on the big screen! 1 stars
5/08/99 BraveFan Wish it hadn't atttempted a "statement" - didn't need one/ Howard churns out the formula. 3 stars
4/27/99 Angie Soooo much better than the Truman Show AND funnier!! 5 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson A lot more than I expected, nice shout out to Eugene, OR 4 stars
4/14/99 Ami the Wonderbread hmm. still thinking about this one. 3 stars
4/08/99 Vinny H. SF audience loved it. Lotsa fun. A pisser. 5 stars
4/08/99 Big Jimmy why the hell was clint howard in this movie, what's with his fucking hair? 3 stars
4/07/99 Geoffrey T. Spaulding Funny ass fucking movie! I laughed my fucking ass off, GO SEE IT! 5 stars
4/07/99 Adam Carey Eh. 3 stars
4/05/99 Malbert Boring 1 stars
4/05/99 Stephanie Touching, surprising, thought it would be like "Truman" but it wasn't. 5 stars
4/02/99 Explorer It was very, very funny! I liked it better than the Truman show! 5 stars
4/02/99 Dirty Dave Capone Funny as shit, definately better than the truman show, I was in tears a few times 5 stars
3/31/99 Erin it sucked 1 stars
3/31/99 buddy I liked it alot...until the absurd ending. 4 stars
3/30/99 CM Affleck Nothing like Truman, its so much better. An interesting concept as well. 5 stars
3/30/99 Daddy Rich Very funny and a great overall plot. Well worth the money. 4 stars
3/29/99 Donna Many Funny Lines 5 stars
3/28/99 HeatherLadyBug "Don't believe the hype" pretty baaadd 1 stars
3/26/99 Shel Matthew McConauga Hey Hey Hey Alright Alright Alright rocks in this one. 5 stars
3/14/99 Ah Dooey I love Hawkboy's review! This movie rules! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Mar-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-May-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast