More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.91

Awesome49.44%
Worth A Look: 12.36%
Average: 23.6%
Pretty Bad: 8.99%
Total Crap: 5.62%

7 reviews, 47 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


EdTV
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Not The Truman Show - But Not Bad Either"
3 stars

ED TV (***) - Itís impossible to start watching ED TV without thinking of The Truman Show. The opening sequence is almost identical to the trailers that were put out for Truman last year. This is a film that will be more enjoyable to anyone who hasnít already witnessed the magical tapestry woven by Peter Weirís 1998 masterpiece. But that being said - ED TV won me over eventually on the strength of its performances and its storytelling despite a numerous amount of shortcomings. Ron Howard, in my opinion, has never directed a bad film (not counting his early Roger Corman days) and maybe that track record makes me give him the benefit of the doubt here.

I wanted to believe this film had little in common with the Jim Carrey film and this began to take effect during the scene where Ed is finally put on the air, waking up scratching himself and spouting morning wood. This whole scene had me laughing and I began to enjoy ED TV. McConaughey makes a perfect Ed with his ďaw, shucksĒ kinda charm and good Ďol boy-type attitude. But the film is full of good performances, most notably Woody Harrelson and Martin Landau - particularly during a touching cemetery scene. I liked the way ED TV used the newspapers to reflect opinion polls on the real life stars of the show and the way those opinions reflected upon the individuals. The film also has some good fun with the real-life dramas of Edís family and the twists they take. But the film is just trying to be a comedy and nothing more. Not that thereís anything wrong with that - but a comedy of this magnitude deserves its script to ask a few more questions. I wish that Ed didnít hook up so early with his brotherís girlfriend, because this one subplot threatens to swallow up anything else the film wants to be about. This romantic angle should have been dragged on a little more. One point Iíve been consistently bringing up is the manner of which the film presents its big love-making ratings scheme with Elizabeth Hurley. The script misses the boat to comment on how actors always talk about doing love scenes and how its so hard and the most passionless setting ever. Here they have Ed go after Hurley with no qualms about the other 3 guys in the room, not to mention the hundred of people outside the apartment. I liked the use of the stalker in the film, but was left wanting more with that angle. Thatís the main problem with ED TV - is that itís not ambitious enough. Just because a comedy is there for mainly big laughs doesnít mean it canít aspire to be a film like Tootsie which had big laughs and a lot of social commentary.

And thatís a shame because I enjoyed myself during ED TV for the most part. I had enough laughs to where I can recommend the film on that basis alone. But I canít help think - that even if The Truman Show never existed - ED TV really wouldnít have been much better.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=748&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/15/00 15:14:30
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell good not great 4 stars
11/10/10 PAUL SHORTT AMUSING, ENTERTAINING YARN 4 stars
9/11/09 the dork knight just enough jokes (Woody helps lots) and twists to make it worth a rent 4 stars
10/22/08 Shaun Wallner Hilarious Movie! 5 stars
1/13/07 Tiffany funny, got a great laugh. 4 stars
9/02/05 ES s'ok, doesn't go anywhere and the laughs are scarce but hardly terrible 3 stars
6/12/05 Elaine Loved MM in it 4 stars
6/15/03 Jack Sommersby Far better than the overpraised, unctuous "The Truman Show". 4 stars
4/19/03 Ubu the Ripper This is such a great flick. McConaghey and Elfman were fantastic. 5 stars
9/17/02 Phil M. Aficionado Makes its point with LOL humor and fine acting and directing. Good ending.Fun&witty filled 4 stars
1/08/02 Andrew Carden Unfunny, but Interesting To The Point To Overlook. 3 stars
4/16/01 LiL Fantastic, this comedy is one of the best. 5 stars
2/28/01 Chris Very Funny and down to Earth! 5 stars
1/21/01 MELISSA HIGHT MATTHEW MCCONAGHEY IS THE BEST LOOKING ACTOR IN HOLLYWOOD 5 stars
11/03/00 Terrie Smith Enjoyable comedy; McConaughey makes the most of it. Good supporting cast. 4 stars
10/17/00 Jed Yes folks despite that ellen is in this. This movie is still good. 5 stars
8/15/00 Chickiepoo Mattie Mccrappy looks like he's anorexic and the others aint all that either. 1 stars
3/14/00 Bozo Hey, fax pax - your mom is a degenarate, not ellen. this movie was Ok at best 3 stars
3/10/00 David Rogers Way better than the Truman Show. Sorry Jim Carrey, just had to say it. 5 stars
10/18/99 The Bomb 69 extremely funny but true to life as well 5 stars
10/17/99 "JED" I never expected to be this good well maybe because its similar to the great TRUMAN SHOW 5 stars
9/24/99 Pamernilla This was a great flick! Well written and played out. 5 stars
9/17/99 strike Mildly entertaining in places, but ultimately not good. 2 stars
7/12/99 ken heine the cat scene was cool. 3 stars
6/16/99 David With targets so big and easy, why is this movie so light and soft? 2 stars
5/29/99 MRHOLLYWOOD !! Tried too hard. Ellen is great though. Wait till video. 3 stars
5/21/99 Fax Pax Ellen Degenerate sucked on TV and sucks even more on the big screen! 1 stars
5/08/99 BraveFan Wish it hadn't atttempted a "statement" - didn't need one/ Howard churns out the formula. 3 stars
4/27/99 Angie Soooo much better than the Truman Show AND funnier!! 5 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson A lot more than I expected, nice shout out to Eugene, OR 4 stars
4/14/99 Ami the Wonderbread hmm. still thinking about this one. 3 stars
4/08/99 Vinny H. SF audience loved it. Lotsa fun. A pisser. 5 stars
4/08/99 Big Jimmy why the hell was clint howard in this movie, what's with his fucking hair? 3 stars
4/07/99 Geoffrey T. Spaulding Funny ass fucking movie! I laughed my fucking ass off, GO SEE IT! 5 stars
4/07/99 Adam Carey Eh. 3 stars
4/05/99 Malbert Boring 1 stars
4/05/99 Stephanie Touching, surprising, thought it would be like "Truman" but it wasn't. 5 stars
4/02/99 Explorer It was very, very funny! I liked it better than the Truman show! 5 stars
4/02/99 Dirty Dave Capone Funny as shit, definately better than the truman show, I was in tears a few times 5 stars
3/31/99 Erin it sucked 1 stars
3/31/99 buddy I liked it alot...until the absurd ending. 4 stars
3/30/99 CM Affleck Nothing like Truman, its so much better. An interesting concept as well. 5 stars
3/30/99 Daddy Rich Very funny and a great overall plot. Well worth the money. 4 stars
3/29/99 Donna Many Funny Lines 5 stars
3/28/99 HeatherLadyBug "Don't believe the hype" pretty baaadd 1 stars
3/26/99 Shel Matthew McConauga Hey Hey Hey Alright Alright Alright rocks in this one. 5 stars
3/14/99 Ah Dooey I love Hawkboy's review! This movie rules! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Mar-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-May-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast