More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 

Overall Rating

Awesome: 31.15%
Worth A Look54.1%
Average: 4.92%
Pretty Bad: 3.28%
Total Crap: 6.56%

3 reviews, 43 user ratings

Latest Reviews

Tehran Taboo by Rob Gonsalves

Final Portrait by Rob Gonsalves

Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story by Jay Seaver

Before We Vanish by Jay Seaver

Dear Dictator by Peter Sobczynski

Tomb Raider (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Darken by Jay Seaver

Early Man by Jay Seaver

Beyond Skyline by Jay Seaver

Agent Mr. Chan by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed

Four Weddings and a Funeral
[] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"Plus, both the gay guys rule."
4 stars

I have often echoed the feelings of one of the supporting characters in this movie: "the great advantage of having a reputation for being stupid is people are less suspicious of you."

My point? Uhm...I swear I had one lying around here somewhere...hold on...Oh Yes. This movie is funny.

In his booming, pre-bj career, Hugh Grant stars as Charles. He is perpetually late to weddings. He has some wacky friends, and they are all rich and English. Then the director has to ruin everything by putting my least favorite *cough* actress in the entire world, Andie MacDowell as Hugh's love interest. The movie is their shaky, weird, crazy, insanely funny and sometimes moving courtship until she gives it up to him again. Apparently she's good in the sack...It takes us through 5 social events. Can you guess which ones?!

The movie is full of laughs, and touching at all the right moments. The acting is superb all around. Who could have guessed that some english people OTHER than Monty Python and Mr. Bean could be funny. Good thing they threw in Bean just to make sure we americans got the humor.

Although I've hated him in everything since, I have to admit Hugh really pulls off the leading man here. Probably why I resent his lack of, well, anything, since. BEcause I know he is capable of it.

4 sporks. It would have been 5 if they could have cast someone who actually acts and does more than spread her legs as the leading lady.

link directly to this review at
originally posted: 09/07/98 15:15:07
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/11/17 Suzanne my favorite Hugh Grant movie; also love the supporting cast 4 stars
1/10/09 Anonymous. a really good comedy and one of hugh grant's best. 4 stars
9/19/07 Ben Larson Funniest movie i have ever seen. 5 stars
3/20/07 Brian Clever, cute and hilarious, but not devoid of hideous moments and sappy dialogue 4 stars
9/20/06 rebecca favorite movie ever! laugh every time i watch it. 5 stars
5/20/06 chienne Andie was totally miscast, who's the casting clown in this film? Great film despite her. 5 stars
5/06/06 Ashley Hinz Amusing. Not your typical comedy. 4 stars
12/02/05 Indrid Cold A letdown given how famous it is; about as deep as a frisbee. Frequently funny though. 4 stars
9/29/05 faith shallow, boring sex role-reversal crap - Hugh: "You never rang, you never wrote..." - 2 stars
7/12/05 Tom Benton Terrific, very funny romantic comedy. Curtis' script is great, as is Hugh Grant. 4 stars
3/09/05 BoyInTheDesignerBubble Always has been one of my favorite films. 5 stars
2/23/05 julia one of best movies ever 5 stars
1/03/05 UMER great comedy-great movie 5 stars
12/05/04 Kristina Williams that gorgeous poem during the funeral scene is the best part 5 stars
10/27/04 Carolyn Metz one of my all - time favourites 5 stars
8/19/04 Peter B. Simply great and funny! 5 stars
2/22/04 Dagmar Raulin Hugh Grant was great and his supporting cast was also. 4 stars
12/09/03 john a wonderfully charming film - one of the best of its kind 5 stars
11/08/03 Littlepurch Can't fault it! Loved almost every minute. Atkinson, Fleet & other actors all gr8 5 stars
10/21/03 Rebecca pretty funny 4 stars
6/08/03 John Bale Classic British comedy - they do it well. MacDowell least well. 5 stars
4/06/03 R.W. Welch Droll, if somewhat predictable. The writing saves it. 4 stars
12/30/02 Tam Funny and endearing. With the exception of McDowell, characterisation is strong & profound 5 stars
11/23/02 CVJ Andie McDowell is crap but is still a great movie. 5 stars
10/29/02 Charles Tatum Andie's character is so repugnant, how can anyone fall in love with her? 1 stars
3/16/02 Frances ANDIE MCDOWELL SUX ,THE SHITTY CRACKWHORE! and dont insult us english u yankee bastards. 4 stars
2/02/02 Anus Naysayers go back to Americunt fart jokes you fucknig lamers. 5 stars
11/27/01 KMG There's no way to polish a turd, folks 1 stars
10/29/01 Gary Likeable, not too sentimental rom-com. Well-acted, and MacDowell isn't too annoying. 4 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg Great British comady .Andie Mcdowell is a mega babe . 5 stars
3/30/01 Shenai Anderson Its a brilliant movie and was well acted. 4 stars
3/22/01 Thomas J. should have been titled FOUR FUNERALS AT THE WEDDING 1 stars
3/24/00 Lesley i didn't like it I'm afraid! 3 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Tripe. 2 stars
3/02/99 Rachel I loved this movie. Best part is the moving eulogy at the funeral. 5 stars
2/02/99 Matthew Bartley Isnt it good to know rich people have crap love lives too? 1 stars
1/24/99 Hannah I was highly entertained. Liz Hurley?!? Come ON. MacDowell was good enough. 5 stars
11/13/98 Lord Of The Dunce He should have married Fifi. Or Duckface. 4 stars
9/28/98 Heather Holder Love this movie! Packed with wit, humor, and a poignant view of singledom. 5 stars
9/26/98 Maegs I loved it. Andie MacDowell must DIE for the performance that ruined the movie. 4 stars
9/02/98 J-Guy eh. it was all right. 3 stars
8/31/98 Mister Whoopee a lot more boring than it's given credit for. 4 stars
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:

Discuss this movie in our forum

  09-Mar-1994 (R)
  DVD: 31-Jan-2006



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast