More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.89

Awesome47.73%
Worth A Look: 22.73%
Average: 4.55%
Pretty Bad: 20.45%
Total Crap: 4.55%

2 reviews, 32 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Aniara by Jay Seaver

John Wick: Chapter 3 - Parabellum by Jay Seaver

Long Day's Journey Into Night (2018) by Jay Seaver

Shadow by Jay Seaver

Be Natural: The Untold Story of Alice Guy-Blaché by Jay Seaver

Hustle, The by Peter Sobczynski

Detective Pikachu by Peter Sobczynski

Mope by Jay Seaver

Tone-Deaf by Jay Seaver

Bolden by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Hudsucker Proxy, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by sean

"wonderful. You know, for kids!"
5 stars

I once played a character in a school play who had to be a fast talking reporter. I used this movie as background.

Sooooooo funny. I love Paul Newman (sure-sure), Tim Robbins (that hair!), and Jennifer Jason-Leigh is both a great actress and hot. ANd Frasier's dad rocks too.
I think it's a near-perfect movie. Sure, it doens't always make total sense, but which Coen movie does? Huh?
Laugh-out loud, love the cameos (Buscemi and the Italian guy and Goodman).
Some people say it didn't work. To them, I say, "yes. it did."

"Mister Leven, thirty-seven." "Thirty-six." "walk down!"

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=750&reviewer=18
originally posted: 10/02/98 15:07:03
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/19/14 PAUL SHORTT CLEVER, STYLISH AND ENTERTAINING 4 stars
10/30/10 MP Bartley Looks great, entertainment value is just a notch below that. But just a notch. 4 stars
9/17/08 Stu Absolutely brilliant. Zany, funny-as-hell and always entertaining. 5 stars
10/16/07 Sandy Sussman Worstest Movie I Ever Seen 1 stars
6/23/07 Charles T. Rooney Great story line 4 stars
3/30/07 Jonathan I've always loved this movie. Carter Burwell outdoes himself with the soundtrack 5 stars
1/09/07 Mary Lou One of our family favorites 5 stars
7/24/06 Sepi53 I didn't like it, waste of good actors 2 stars
2/19/06 VC better than GOdfather 5 stars
8/12/05 Kelly i love cohen brothers movies and this didnt dissapoint 5 stars
3/07/05 Jeff Anderson A great looking, but soulless mess! NEWMAN & ROBBINS ARE A TREAT, HOWEVER! 2 stars
1/25/04 Jane Praying for it to be over!!! 1 stars
8/04/03 Walter Anyone who doesn't like this movie is a fucking nihilist. Fuck it dude, lets go bowling. 5 stars
7/07/03 Elizaveta interestingly done, although slow at times...blue letter too predictable 4 stars
4/11/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" lyrik So damn underrated. 5 stars
3/24/03 Jack Sommersby Technically impressing but emotionally inert. Classic case of style over substance. 2 stars
2/09/03 Jimmy Jamez superb movie, i love it 5 stars
3/12/02 sam its the fucking tits mate 5 stars
1/28/02 R.W. Welch Quirky and mostly entertaining, but less inspired than Raising Arizona. 4 stars
1/01/02 Monster W. Kung It's ok, but give me Brazil any time. 3 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Excellent film by those wacky Coen fucks. Watch for Bruce Campbell. 5 stars
4/29/01 The Jedi Droid Gotta agree with Silent Robs comments....the Coen Bros are genius film makers 5 stars
2/25/01 maddalena letari you are incredibly involved in a cartoon like fairy tale on modern hipocrisy...... 5 stars
9/26/00 Cheryl Prentice indifferent on this one not a classic,but not a complete flop 3 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Ethan surpasses himself with the script. 4 stars
1/03/99 Charles Dubé Fantastic movie, always been very underrated. Look it up, you'll be richly rewarded. 5 stars
12/31/98 Todd It's great - you know - for kids. 4 stars
12/15/98 Binky Not my fave Coen flick. Nice hair Robbins. 4 stars
12/14/98 Jules I had trouble with it but in the end, the film making won me over. 4 stars
12/13/98 Carl A hilarious quirk-fest! There's not one normal character in the whole film! 4 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob A film for film lovers, by film lovers. LONG LIVE THE HUD!! 5 stars
9/23/98 Nate Dogg Coen Bros....though not their stongest...still a great fuckin' flick 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Mar-1994 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast