More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.98

Awesome: 24.19%
Worth A Look61.29%
Average: 6.45%
Pretty Bad: 4.84%
Total Crap: 3.23%

4 reviews, 38 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Guardians of the Galaxy by Lybarger

Guardians of the Galaxy by Brett Gallman

One I Love, The by Jay Seaver

Get On Up by Peter Sobczynski

Guardians of the Galaxy by Peter Sobczynski

Snow White Murder Case, The by Jay Seaver

At the Devil's Door by Jay Seaver

To Be Takei by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Hal by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Serial Mom
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by cheryl_ann

"No people in this movie eat shit, which is a first for Waters..."
4 stars

I like John Waters flicks, but this one I loved. It's not the typical smell-o-vision, Divine-led Waters movie.

If I may say so, John Waters has a seriously fucked up imagination, but I totally dig that. I expected this movie to be like the rest of his cult flicks with Mink Stole, Traci Lords, and Divine, but it wasn't at all. Yeah, it had some of his usual cast like Ricki Lake, and Traci Lords did make an appearance, but it wasn't so off the wall to the point where I lost interest. No people in this movie eat shit, which seems to be a first for a Waters original...

Well, I already have to give Waters mad props for casting Matthew Lillard. He is definitely one of my faves by far and not just because of that gorgeous face of his. Lillard plays Chip, the video store clerk who thrives on horror flicks. Ricki Lake plays Chip's sister, the Pee Wee Herman obsessed, teeny-bopper who can't get a date.

Chip's mom(Turner) is the perfect housewife who wants her family to have good morals and recycle and stuff like that. She frowns on anyone who doesn't wear their seatbelt or stands up her daughter. Bad manners make for an unhappy (psychotic) housewife.
Chip realizes his mom is turning into your everyday Freddy Krueger and totally digs on it.

The movie kind of mixes the humor of John Waters with the gore of a cheesy horror flick, and the mix is awesome.

Not what I really expected from Waters, but i totally loved it. Rent it, like now!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=753&reviewer=29
originally posted: 10/08/98 06:36:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/10/13 Michael Hernandez best film ever a must watch Kathleen Turner reigns supreme 5 stars
8/10/10 Chad Dillon Cooper Think of June Cleaver with PMS. 4 stars
11/13/09 PAUL SHORTT TOO REALISTICALLY GORY TO REALLY BE FUNNY 2 stars
3/18/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess One of Water's weakest efferts. 2 stars
2/10/07 Heather I rewinded quite a few times during this one. Good stuff. 4 stars
2/07/07 Glenn Soffen Not one of John Waters best but still enjoyable 3 stars
2/03/07 David Pollastrini saw it but have no memory so it must have sucked 2 stars
10/22/06 Diane Kathleen Turner is hilarious in this film, which always has me burst into laughing fits! 5 stars
5/12/06 tatum Turner and cast are a hoot 4 stars
8/30/05 julia craver it was the shit! 5 stars
4/15/05 Raymond Montoya great Movie! 4 stars
4/15/05 Morgan Thornburgh Kathleen Turner's Magnum Opus 5 stars
10/06/04 Andrew Lovely Kathleen in a lovely role 5 stars
7/24/04 MCGUIRE worth a look 4 stars
5/16/04 Idiot's Mouth Turner=HOT! Very mannish. Waters=suckass. Very uninspired. Movie=decent. Suburban decay,etc 3 stars
3/19/04 da hood "listen to your filthy mouth you fuckin whore!" 5 stars
3/18/04 LIAM JACKSON good film. i've always wanted to murder someone in a horrible way! 5 stars
12/07/03 Samuel Matthew Lillard plays the same part here as in 'Scream' 3 stars
11/13/03 jimmy d cool but i got shot at the theater. 4 stars
6/08/03 earl hoffert one of waters' best mainstream efforts 5 stars
4/29/03 Buko Kathleen is at her best! This movie is simply super comic! 5 stars
2/12/03 brentley 1of the few Waters flicks I like. If u don't like that comment, then you're a pussy face! 4 stars
11/11/02 Vicious Toy/Electric Crotch Best post-Hairspray John Waters flick. Kathleen Turner is excellent in this black comedy! 5 stars
5/17/02 Jake "Ohhhwee...Ohhhwee" K. Turner is scary! This movie was bittersweet fun. 4 stars
3/13/02 Betty Samson She probably thinks that trick-or-treat's an airplane! 3 stars
2/01/02 Don Hite Surprising hilarious! I laughed my ass off! 5 stars
9/29/01 Andrew Carden Very Funny, 100% Dark Comedy. 4 stars
8/14/01 Bada Bing Crosby The most egregious piece of shit ever committed to celluloid 1 stars
6/09/01 Serial_Monk_the_Jawbreaker Mouth clasping / rolling-in-the-aisles FUNNY! Great sense of humor and gore is always a +! 5 stars
5/03/01 MJTAustin Kathleen Turner should have been nominated for a few awards for this role. 5 stars
4/17/01 viking maliciously funny. "Brady Bunch" meets "Psycho" !!! 4 stars
3/20/01 contrite deity This is the BEST movie I have ever seen.ANYONE should check it out,by far the funniest film 5 stars
2/21/01 Rocket Boy Exquiste bad taste, yet tamer than most of Waters' films. 4 stars
6/26/99 hum black and funny. 4 stars
4/11/99 Alonzo (alc311@hotmail.com) pretty good movie, funny courtroom seen, not exactly waters' best 5 stars
1/25/99 Chloe Marie Elestenogoph (clatter@hotmail.com) Aaauuugh, this sucks!! 1 stars
11/23/98 little jerry Waters LITE but very likable & worth seeing just for Kathleen Turner.What a woman! 4 stars
9/16/98 Lonatic If you like dark comedy then this one is 'killer'! 8+ outa 10 for me. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Apr-1994 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast