More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.3

Awesome60.27%
Worth A Look: 21.92%
Average: 6.16%
Pretty Bad: 10.96%
Total Crap: 0.68%

6 reviews, 110 user ratings


Latest Reviews

November Man, The by Jay Seaver

Hana-Dama: The Origins by Jay Seaver

Creeping Garden, The by Jay Seaver

Seventh Code by Jay Seaver

Me and You by Peter Sobczynski

Man in the Orange Jacket, The by Jay Seaver

Midnight Swim, The by Jay Seaver

Lucy by Daniel Kelly

White Storm, The by Jay Seaver

Giovanni's Island by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Crow, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Everything you ever wanted in a mindless revenge flick."
4 stars

A group of wackos break in to a city loft owned by a woman named Shelley (Sofia Shinas). Looking to evict her (the hard way) they beat and rape her, then trash the house. When her boyfriend Eric (Brandon Lee) comes home to interrupt the party, he’s stabbed, then thrown through a window to his death… but is he going to stay dead? Legend supposedly has it that when you die, a crow takes your soul to heaven, but sometimes, when a wrong needs to be righted, they bring one back. In this case, that returning soul would be our hero – the Crow.

Had Brandon Lee not been accidentally killed during the making of this top-notch action flick, it’s conceivable that he and director Alex Proyas could have kept The Crow alive for a multitude of critically and financially successful sequels. Though producers tried to catch lightning in a bottle with a couple of ill-conceived follow-ups to this film; City of Angels, Salvation and the TV series Stairway to Heaven. They all suffered from low budgets, bad actors, terrible scripting and a lack of understanding as to what made the original such a great film, driving the franchise into the dirt in the process.

But here, Alex Proyas’ gothic-based directing flair takes a one-dimensional story and makes it come alive in a way you’ve seldom seen before. Anyone familiar with his work on Dark City knows that in Proyas’ world, the sun never rises. In the world of The Crow, you could almost imagine the film being shot in black and white, with the only occasional color being a quick spray of blood breaking the monotone.

But just as Proyas turned a one-dimensional story into something that lives, so too did Brandon Lee take a one-note character and give him a stunning array of depth. With one snarl Lee can turn your blood cold, just as his father Bruce could. As The Crow he’s in his element, dishing out two-fisted fury, pumping bullets into the night and moving around with the agility and strength of a panther. Michael Wincott delivers an ominous performance as “Top Dollar” - the head honcho of the city’s crime gangs, complete with his delectable sidekick who likes to eat eyeballs (Ling Bai) and his pack of drugged out cronies.

Sadly, everyone else is pretty much crap.

Yep, The Crow, as good as it is, was saved from being a two star affair by only its star and director. The sequels, headlined by Mark “straight to video” Decascos and Vincent “who?” Perez, never reach even a tenth of the heights that the original soars to. In fact, the director of The Crow: City of Angels, Tim Pope, had never directed a feature film before that one, and hasn’t directed one since. His claim to fame in the directing world was having directed The Bangles music video, Eternal Flame. You think he came cheap?

But to hell with the sequels. So far as the real thing is concerned, if lightning quick action, great dialogue, some nasty bad guys and an ass-kicking soundtrack are your idea of a good movie experience, track down The Crow and figure out what millions of video renters found out long ago. And if action, dialogue, bad guys and soundtrack don’t interest you at all… check your pulse.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=754&reviewer=1
originally posted: 09/29/02 06:38:45
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/31/12 jcar a very good movie with good acting and compelling story, lee is great in the part. 4 stars
5/31/11 Nikki One of my favourite films of all time (and I'm a 34 year old woman, not a 15 year old boy). 5 stars
4/29/11 man one of the best comic book movies 5 stars
1/22/11 herzog how can you beat badass as this film is? 5 stars
1/21/11 Crow94 My favorite film. Check it out. 5 stars
1/13/11 raider fucking awesome 5 stars
3/07/10 Marc Kelly My favorite movie of all time...so romantic. 5 stars
3/04/10 PAUL SHORTT DARK COMIC BOOK ACTION WITH GOOD PERFORMANCES 3 stars
8/19/09 Jeff Wilder An exploitation movie with a heartbeat. Dated in spots. But still worthwhile. 4 stars
6/08/09 Garrett Dark, cheesy, self-involved 2 stars
9/26/08 Shaun Wallner One of my favorite all time films. 5 stars
7/31/08 georgia I liked it - was predictable though, but still worth watching! 4 stars
1/10/08 TERI Awsome,movie,good.good,movie,brandonlee,would,have,been,great,like,his,father 5 stars
10/06/07 Heretique The best. R.I.P. Brandon 5 stars
6/17/07 Lyrical Poet music,story, art direction, acting, cinematography, and action choreagrahpy are all perfect 5 stars
5/24/07 Dave excellent 5 stars
2/17/07 Punkstr2006 greatest movie ever made!!!! 5 stars
1/17/07 David Pollastrini not great, not terrible 3 stars
11/05/06 JOE Brandon Lee could have become agiant star, this performance, made him a Legend! I miss him! 5 stars
10/31/06 Justin dont fuck with the crow, asswipe 5 stars
8/05/06 nicklor24 great movie, if you haven't seen it, you're missing out 5 stars
8/01/06 bertram who ever wrote the fucked up line about the guitar solo kiss my ass you peace of shit 5 stars
5/13/06 ES I think Brandon Lee could have had an amazing career 5 stars
3/07/06 C Vega "It Cant Rain All The Time" DAMN Right!---One of the best movies i have seen 5 stars
10/26/05 Crumbcake A fucking classic and anyone who says otherwise gets a kick in the throat!!! 5 stars
10/22/05 james my fav movie of all time 5 stars
10/02/05 Nicole Love it 5 stars
9/29/05 Shari Terran It is one of the best films i have ever seen it never ages. 5 stars
9/16/05 drippy Completely and utterly amazing. 5 stars
9/07/05 JubJub Definitely a classic. 5 stars
9/02/05 Mailk A modern classic. The ultimate in gothic, baroque cinema. 5 stars
9/02/05 Edward This and DARK CITY are Alex Proyas' masterpieces...too bad I, ROBOT blew chunks. 5 stars
9/01/05 unlimited LONG LIVE BRANDON LEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/31/05 Christi Wilkins The original will always be the better... 5 stars
8/31/05 Vasquez best movie ever and very sad 5 stars
8/29/05 Blissful Johnny The Grinch sucks big monkey testicles...his opinion is shit...no one listen to him, okay??? 5 stars
8/28/05 Jabberjaw An out-and-out CLASSIC in every possible way. 5 stars
8/27/05 Rever_Bear-Trap Not what I expected but... GOTHIC TO THE CORE! POOR Brandon Lee! 4 stars
8/25/05 Copper A gothic, action, baroque masterpiece! Lee's performance is legendary! 5 stars
8/22/05 Rachel This movie ROCKS 5 stars
8/17/05 ES good movie, why does the Crow in all the sequels have to look like Brandon Lee? 4 stars
4/09/05 Bat Awesome fucking movie! 5 stars
2/21/05 mpg you're a fuckin retard grinch, this movies good,you revied it like a 10 year old 4 stars
2/13/05 Matt Fekete Great movie. Skip all the sequels, though. 5 stars
2/06/05 The Talking Elbow Compelling. 5 stars
11/19/04 Robert Phillips The Movie was awsome then and now 5 stars
10/17/04 Jennie Galvez The best movie on Earth!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/09/04 Denise Lee was awesome cool story 5 stars
9/27/04 y2mckay The Grinch's review was actually very funny - but I disagree 4 stars
9/07/04 Sugarfoot Great movie. Lee's best, although not saying much since he did do Showdown In Little Tokyo. 4 stars
6/29/04 DM the Grinch is a complete dumbass 4 stars
5/18/04 John better than expected 4 stars
5/17/04 Fernanda is the best movie ever! 5 stars
4/23/04 Agent Sands OK, but I almost forgot about it 12 hours after I saw it. Rarely happens. Not bad, though. 3 stars
2/04/04 Sammy Jo Jessie i find myself watching it over and over again 5 stars
1/26/04 Eric Damn shame about Brandon Lee.If he could have been in the rest they may have been better. 4 stars
1/25/04 Lexi This is the best dark movie ever! Brandon Lee was awesome! 5 stars
1/17/04 Richard Hooper Visually Stunning 5 stars
10/20/03 Josh Standlee The greatest revenge movie any human being could ever make! 5 stars
10/14/03 RUSS Great action film Lee could have been Neo. 5 stars
7/28/03 Boomer One of the greatest Love Stories ever!! Bruce & Brandon live on . . .-R.I.P.- 5 stars
7/24/03 Kit Simply put. Great movie. 5 stars
7/14/03 Samuel Justus Great Story!!!! if it could only happen in the real world!!! 5 stars
6/23/03 R.W. Welch Dark fantasy has some holes, but considerable flair and strong characterizations. 4 stars
6/23/03 Jack Bourbon Dumbest shit ever made! 1 stars
5/25/03 The Crow Best Movie I ever saw!!! 5 stars
5/10/03 PunkMime This movie just simply rocks. 5 stars
4/25/03 Jack Sommersby Great-looking but choppy and uninvolving. 2 stars
1/07/03 Jim Bleak and stylish tale of revenge, love, and even redemption 5 stars
11/29/02 Eric Draven The greatest actor ever ! The greatest movie ever ! The greatest graphic novel ever ! 5 stars
11/23/02 Mimi Lohr This movie has been and will always be my most favorite fucking movie in all of time 5 stars
11/21/02 Washington Irving Theres a reason its a cult classic... 5 stars
10/25/02 COF COOOOOOOOL MOVIE!!! 5 stars
10/07/02 Ashley LOVED IT !!....Everything you could want in a movie!..Hats off to Cast and Crew! 5 stars
9/30/02 TheBomb69 shame it had to be known for the death of Brandon Lee, solid flick!!! 5 stars
9/30/02 Charles Tatum Incredible film ruined by "the accident" 5 stars
9/29/02 Buddha It just oozes style and cool. 5 stars
8/10/02 Damien Raven The BEST MOVIE EVER 5 stars
8/05/02 Lexy Z. One of my favourites. 5 stars
3/07/02 Dave The most incredible love story of all time, dark, moody, stylish, in-fookin-credible 5 stars
12/12/01 slappy jacks brandon lee was really good despite being a hack performer(godblesshissoul) 5 stars
10/10/01 Cheyenne Rea This movie is awesome, and Brandon Lee, as well as the rest of the cast, did and outstandin 5 stars
5/21/01 The Bomb 69 well done all the way around, Lee would have been a star if lived through picture 5 stars
3/24/01 Casey top-notch, this movie had it all, great star (brandon lee, R.I.P), great plot, and killer m 5 stars
3/24/01 Alex For some strange reaso the love story got to me, this is one of my favorites 5 stars
2/21/01 Rocket Boy Exquisitely heart-breaking and action-packed 5 stars
2/15/01 The Rubber Possum This is by far the greatest movie i have ever seen and possibly the best action film ever! 5 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla Destined to be a cult classic, but don't watch the shitty sequels or the series 5 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin it's too dark and pointless 2 stars
5/22/00 Obi Wan One of the best cult films!! If only we could have gotten a real sequel!! 5 stars
4/24/00 Ryan fairly decent 4 stars
3/21/00 Laura I happen to be a comic freak who loves this comic movie. There are few better 5 stars
11/18/99 KTL this film is awesome because it is well-though, not solely because Brandon Lee was in it 5 stars
9/24/99 Cyanide Rush Awsome setting, wicked acting, justified murder, solid drama and a kickin soundtrack. 5 stars
9/03/99 Myra I've yet to stay awake past the 20 minute marker. 2 stars
6/25/99 Michelle It is the best movie ever!!! 5 stars
3/04/99 Rachel Loved this movie, curse #2 and the damn tv series. 5 stars
1/12/99 demon_shredder Alex Proyas kicks ass. 5 stars
12/21/98 angie d. it sucks that Bradon Lee is dead. 5 stars
12/11/98 Scion of Graveheart Great, but what can I say? 'Nuff said. 5 stars
11/25/98 Fred 1994, the golden age of fucking awesome movies. 5 stars
11/21/98 Slupet Very Very cool movie 5 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob Alex Proyas creates a world AND atmosphere for the characters to live in. 5 stars
10/25/98 Lord Of The Dunce Just a great fucking movie. If Brandon was still alive they'd be up to part 4 by now. 5 stars
9/20/98 Ky Well......how about.....the best movie I've ever seen??? Long live Brandon Lee!!!! 5 stars
9/17/98 cheryl_ann it captured the character from the o'barr's comic very well. lee did a great job as draven. 5 stars
9/02/98 f*r*o*s*t*y Darkness, great love story, action, all dat. 5 stars
9/02/98 J-Guy great flick, probably a little too trendy, though. 5 stars
8/31/98 Mister Whoopee Coolly gothic. Lee will be missed. Proyas knows how to go dark. 4 stars
8/29/98 Johny Atmospheric entertainer of the best sort 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-May-1994 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Jul-1994 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast