More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.3

Awesome40.85%
Worth A Look: 4.23%
Average: 22.54%
Pretty Bad: 8.45%
Total Crap: 23.94%

2 reviews, 59 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Lizzie McGuire Movie, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"Breaking the mold from what made the TV enjoyable."
3 stars

Quick to capitalize on one of its assets, now that the 65-episode cap of “Lizzie McGuire” has been fulfilled, Disney has turned around and popped out a pay-per-view version.

Picking up where the show left off, the extension trails Lizzie and friend Gordo with graduation from middle school and a class trip to Rome. (The third friend, Miranda, has been mysteriously written out with the excuse that she’s in Mexico City.) In other words, a big screen adventure and a budget open up some new space in which to gambol. The threadbare plot in Rome has Lizzie meeting and falling for an Italian pop star, half of a former dyad, of whom she is a replica of the ex-member. (Only difference: one’s a blonde, the other’s a brunette.) While Gordo covers for her from the bulldog chaperone, Lizzie is being trained to perform in her double’s part, as the double. One of the problems that prevents The Lizzie McGuire Movie from working like its television counterpart is the extra space in which it has to roam. Lizzie’s world is no longer just that of home and school — already enough to ground the insecure goofball and her animated alter-ego — but now she’s out in the real world (well, a simplified, Disney-fied version of it), one that the lack of realism does not cover in all its broadness. A portion of her appeal is still there, but the ever-present fantasy elements are paramount, tilted and swayed from outside influences that pop the magic bubble of Lizzie’s inner-world, which is straying from the conspectus it tries to duplicate elsewhere. Another issue from TV show to movie (and, having young sisters, I am quite familiar with the show, and pleasantly enough entertained by it) is crucial in that established characters are ignored and missing. Sure, Gordo, Ethan and Kate have minimal roles, and even though the show and movie are titled for Lizzie, her solo effort does not fly alone — it’s a group effort. To throw that out is to throw out much of its charm, and in return for what? Hilary Duff to take on a double role and help launch her alternate singing career, a twinge of a variation on a more conservative and pop-youthy Madonna? And what kind of message is Disney emulating by Lizzie’s duplicity in sneaking off, her fraudulent behavior as “Isabella,” not only signing autographs in her name, but also willing to perform publicly as her? It merely takes a minor suggestion from her potential boyfriend before she goes running with it. (Italians can be slick, but not that slick, and the movie doesn’t portray them as anything but clodpates.) But I acquiesce; the actors do retain enough of their charisma for a mildly pleasant 90-minutes, perky and spry. And the kids (apparently, as well as some teens) who this is aimed for (see: naďve) will fittingly be satisfied, if for the wrong reasons, insomuch as the stretch it makes is not enough to snap the elasticity or break the mold. My sisters, notwithstanding their attention being asked for longer and without commercial interruption, enjoyed it with a minimum of questions. It would have been nicer if it could have better been in the spirit of the series. Though one can’t help but wonder what the director of Trick and the co-writers of There’s Something about Mary and Head Over Heels are doing with this Disney kid’s movie.

Directed by Jim Fall. With Adam Lamberg, Clayton Snyder, Ashlie Brillault, Jake Thomas, Robert Carradine, Hallie Todd, Yani Gellman, Carly Schroeder and Alex Borstein.

[See it if you must.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7574&reviewer=172
originally posted: 12/28/03 21:44:01
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

6/15/08 chill the movie was really great 5 stars
12/25/06 sam it is good 4 stars
11/27/06 sirina this movie sucked so bad it is not worth seeing i want my money back bad 1 stars
11/08/06 sara i would not watch it if it was not for hlary 1 stars
8/02/06 Winners Splendiferous Film 5 stars
5/24/06 john perfect hilary 5 stars
4/03/06 JRE why was this movie made? 2 stars
3/23/06 tabiya karim hlary duff what the 5 stars
2/06/06 Anthony Feor Whoever made this movie wanted to know how it feels to be a shit director 1 stars
7/20/05 Chris *pain* 1 stars
9/22/04 Holly The movie is the best ever!!!!!!!!! I watch it over and over again. Hilary Duff Rocks!!!!!! 5 stars
4/03/04 katrina Smith really gd film bt it 4 the young generation ages 8-16 4 stars
3/29/04 JAYCEE sCOTT ABSALUTLY BRILLIENT I WOULD LOVE TO HAVE THE OPERTUNITY OF SINGING LIKE THAT 5 stars
2/08/04 meghan hillary duff was wicked on her new movie tell her i said hi im probaly her #1 fan 5 stars
1/20/04 ash lizzie mcguire is preety cool 5 stars
1/15/04 Betty White For anyone who doesn't have a brain. 1 stars
1/03/04 J I hope Lizzi gets PUNK'D!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
12/30/03 Jen gkswghbg 5 stars
12/01/03 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! IT SOUNLD WIN AN AWARD!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/10/03 bryan i love all the girlg 3 stars
11/04/03 Kate It was an excellent movie. in fact im going to see it again. if hilary is there tell her hi 5 stars
10/24/03 Kae What a worthless piece of shit, once again Hilary Duff's fat ass fucks another shit. 1 stars
10/20/03 Ellie polasek i loved it so much i got it on dvd 5 stars
10/19/03 jessika rose I really like the consert and the rome thing 5 stars
10/14/03 megan scott i like you a lot. 5 stars
10/11/03 KERA DOUGHTY I THINK IT WAS A GREAT MOVIE 5 stars
10/11/03 Keenan this movie is boring 1 stars
10/10/03 Isabbela I think it was really good 5 stars
10/08/03 niki kale amazing movie.....lizzie looks a baby bombshell......like that innocence and cute looks 5 stars
10/07/03 amanda stender its cool 5 stars
10/05/03 Cristina Claudio Can here hilry duff song 5 stars
9/15/03 Jitjit Skephzukks Hilry Duf's a real babe. Dserves betr movie. Toobad ther's no Walt Disny for her generation 3 stars
9/14/03 stephanie i hate his movie 2 stars
9/12/03 Tawny Hillary duff is just a show off freak. 1 stars
9/04/03 Emily noonan hillary is Awsome will you Come see me please 5 stars
9/03/03 hilary smith it was awsome!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/01/03 Kitty B. duff cant sing dance or act if her life depended on it 2 stars
9/01/03 Emily noonan hilry duff is someone i want to meet so much 5 stars
8/31/03 shane cool 5 stars
8/30/03 Des i luved the movie make another 5 stars
8/29/03 kath =( what a waste of a movie. EricDSnider is right. Where's the even stevens movie? 2 stars
8/27/03 Carolyn Ellis The movie was total shit. Hilary Duff is the most sorry excuse for an actress. 1 stars
8/21/03 lisa faust hilary duff is cool 5 stars
8/15/03 Jitjit Skephzukks Hilry Duf's a real babe. Dserves betr movie. Toobad ther's no Walt Disny for her generation 3 stars
8/15/03 Suzanne Foster Worst movie about a trip to Italy since JUST MARRIED. 3 stars
8/13/03 It's just me GOD HELP ME! I didn't think it was possible to make sucha shitty movie. Hilary Duff SUCKS!! 1 stars
8/03/03 Zaharin Hamid aka The Movie Samseng Absolutely pathetic! All the characters are simply forgettable. 2 stars
8/01/03 Double G just like tv show, juss stop making lizzie mcguire shows, they get krappier every time!!!!! 1 stars
7/27/03 catherine yuck 1 stars
7/13/03 Ally V O M I T ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! 1 stars
6/22/03 Tess anyone who goes to this movie by choice should be shot. i was ready to projectile vomit. 1 stars
6/17/03 Ghetto Smurf Hilary Duff is fucking hot! But she sucks at acting. 2 stars
6/04/03 movieboy What a waste of time and money. That was the the worst movie i ever saw in my life. 1 stars
5/13/03 olivia great+ 5 stars
5/04/03 JOY KELLY IT WAS GREAT A FEEL GOOD MOVIE FOR ANY AGE 5 stars
5/03/03 Amiliyah Ramirez It was such a cool, funny movie! 5 stars
5/03/03 Andrew Carden It May Appeal To Young Girls, but Why Do Us Adults Have To Sit Through This Agony? 1 stars
5/03/03 Amber Graves It was better than i thought. 4 stars
5/01/03 me great movie! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Mar-2003 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Jun-2003


Directed by
  Jim Fall

Written by
  Susan Estelle Jansen

Cast
  Hilary Duff
  Adam Lamberg
  Robert Carradine
  Hallie Todd
  Jake Thomas
  Alex Borstein



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast