More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.46

Awesome: 18.8%
Worth A Look: 31.62%
Average33.33%
Pretty Bad: 9.4%
Total Crap: 6.84%

10 reviews, 57 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lion King, The (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Stare by Jay Seaver

DreadOut by Jay Seaver

S He by Jay Seaver

We Are Little Zombies by Jay Seaver

Lion King, The (2019) by alejandroariera

Darlin' by Jay Seaver

Astronaut (2019) by Jay Seaver

White Storm 2: Drug Lords, The by Jay Seaver

Vivarium by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Ronin
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Car go fast. Tyres screech. Oooh. Purty hair."
4 stars

If you're going to base a film around cast, you could do a lot worse than employ Robert De Niro and Jean Reno as your leads. But just to be sure, the producers of Ronin have employed a tactic last used effectively on The Dukes Of Hazzard - bombarding the viewer with car chases that turn the film into a theme park ride.

Sadly, though the formula is true, the execution is not. De Niro heads a group of mercenaries signed on to steal a silver case, containing... something, carried by... someone. The usual group of six is rounded up, all of differing skills and differing backgrounds, and inevitably there's a mole in the midst. But where past Reno films and De Niro epics have taken the viewer into the twisted minds of the protagonists, this one takes you the opposite way. Into schlock.

That's not to say it's complete crap. In fact, if crap is what you expect, you'll be pleasantly surprised. Ronin is brain-popcorn, but it's decent brain-popcorn. In the realm of "thngs-go-boom, words-unnecessary" thrillers, this is up there alongside your average latter day Bond flick. It's tough to hate, but just as tough to respect.

I have no idea where Jonathan Price disappeared to halfway through this flick. He was all set up as a big character, albeit a stupid one, and then... (snap) he's gone. Reshoot city? Test screening hell?

Natascha McElhone has good hair. That must be said.

If you have a big screen TV, grab some junk food, your other half, a big bunch of cushions, and a rental copy of Ronin. Put the brain into cold storage and stay away from the Gingko. Follow those rules with any Frankenhemier flick and you ought to have a fun time.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=76&reviewer=1
originally posted: 02/24/99 16:40:12
[printer] printer-friendly format  
This film is available for download or online viewing at CinemaNow.com For more in the CinemaNow.com series, click here.

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell decent no more no less 3 stars
5/16/10 the dork knight Stodgy and lethargic. I guess that makes it a "thinking man's" thriller, eh. 3 stars
8/28/09 Jeff Wilder Intelligent action film. A cut above standard issue crapola. 4 stars
4/17/07 action movie fan very good action thriller-genuine car chases insted of cgi 5 stars
9/30/06 ProSneakyD Boring and nothing but car crap chases 2 stars
8/16/06 Eric Rountree Features one of the all time best (REAL) car chases 4 stars
5/26/06 William Goss Not nearly as clever as it wants (or needs) to be, but those car chases! 4 stars
1/07/06 steve newman I still dont understand what happened under the bridge - otherwise good 4 stars
9/19/05 Robs It may have this flaws, but it's still a good action/thriller film. 4 stars
8/11/05 ES I hated car chases until i saw this film, stellar cast 5 stars
4/20/05 Indrid Cold Solid action, but nothing to write home about. 3 stars
10/23/04 UMER good action-good acting-good plot-good direction-good movie 4 stars
9/18/04 Anarchist_101 It's underrated... IT AINT ALL THAT BAD~! 4 stars
6/14/04 Rachit Vats Absolutely smashing movie 5 stars
6/04/04 R.W. Welch Overdoes the car chase stuff. Otherwise, reasonably effective. 3 stars
5/17/04 The More You Know Streamlined warrior tale "without the cuts and knicks of a blade." 5 stars
4/06/04 Agent Sands Mr. Hat's right. Action's good but a halfwit could write the whole script in about 2 hours. 3 stars
2/19/04 Vince Excellent action flick. Highly recommended. 5 stars
2/15/04 homer i thought it was rather entertaining myself 4 stars
1/07/04 Ron Excellent, realistic (from true experience) 5 stars
12/05/03 john a thinling man's action movie - powerful and with a good story and a great cast 5 stars
7/06/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back MoFos!!!) Rug-fiber-thin plotline, characters R flat, car chases & shootouts are pretty cool. 3 stars
4/10/03 ToDD This movie is a action packed monkey suit 4 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby Uninvolving, dull thriller. Cast is sleepwalking, and the chase scenes are lame. 1 stars
1/05/03 R.W. Welch Par for the course actioner; would have been better on a smaller budget. 3 stars
10/15/02 Charles Tatum I needed an interpreter just to plow through all the accents 3 stars
8/16/02 Scott DeNiro played his part well. Loved the chases. Highly Underrated 5 stars
3/02/02 Jake Took way too long to develop and I switched channels. 1 stars
6/04/01 Bront My advice to Guide2Film, go watch a fucking disney movie, one of the greatest thrillers eve 5 stars
3/31/01 Monster W. Kung One of De Niro's worst. If you wanna see him in a good movie, look elsewhere. 2 stars
10/30/00 maksim awsome fucking movie, really worth seeing 5 stars
10/29/00 steven hargreaves best car chases. If it had a shoot out like heat it would be a must see 4 stars
10/11/00 P. Rodriguez Dammit now I want and AUDI. If anyone's selling............ 4 stars
6/29/00 Terrie Smith DeNiro and Reno are good; McElhone is cold as ice. Good car chases. 4 stars
6/24/00 Naushad Khanji Better than Matrix.Chases are lame.Action is watered down 2 stars
4/07/00 Gremlin You guys suck, this movie kicked ass. Best car chases I've seen for a long time! 5 stars
10/11/99 Weird Andy Mamet sucks Satan's pecker again. Not a bad movie, though. Well crafted autopilot fun. 4 stars
9/13/99 Fast Mover This is an excellent action/plot twist video rental. The night guns purchase, ensuing gun b 5 stars
9/06/99 BBReBozo Car chases. Guns go boom. Deniro. Reno. Hot Irish chick. What the hell else you want? 5 stars
7/15/99 bridgette exciting at times 4 stars
5/08/99 Rudiger Fortesque III Good car chases, excellent shootings, okay plot 4 stars
4/05/99 Cool Thing Great cast wasted. What happened to that Irish guy? Disappeared. 3 stars
2/20/99 MR HOLLYWOOD!! Car-chases take over plot,originality and story,De Niro looks in need of sleep. 3 stars
2/20/99 Piz a Mission Impossible-esque film with plenty more action. What was in that box? 4 stars
1/19/99 donkey_dew ARE YOU GUYS NUTS? THIS MOVIE WAS AWESOME. DE NIRO IS AWESOME. AWESOME. 5 stars
12/05/98 tj great car chases...de niro is the man...but just doesn't quite have it 3 stars
12/03/98 Kirgo Incredibly disappointing. Tons of ideas fromother films don't make a compelling script! 2 stars
12/02/98 superkip its not great, but the car chases alone make it worth seeing 4 stars
11/24/98 Fred If you're gonna pop civilians, give the bad guys a really ingenious death, I always say. 3 stars
11/17/98 Jeff C. Hate to say anything bad about a movie with such a good cast but it really was very poor 2 stars
11/04/98 The Dude one of the best trillers I've seen in a long time 5 stars
10/25/98 BBReBozo Car chases, shmar shmases. The ending was the best part. 5 stars
10/23/98 Christ Monkey Fucking amazing car chases, and little else. 3 stars
10/23/98 Daddy Rich I thought it was pretty good. I loved the car chases. 4 stars
10/19/98 Dark Horizons "Ronin" just has cliched, cliched, cliched written all over it. 3 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz Tries so hard to be a controlled exercise in paranoia that it completely fails to entertain 3 stars
8/30/98 {{{OZ}}} An action film with a lot of plot twists. The thinking man's Lethal Weapon. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Sep-1998 (R)
  DVD: 09-May-2006

UK
  20-Nov-1998 (15)
  DVD: 01-Feb-2000

Australia
  04-Feb-1999 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast