More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.89

Awesome: 20.37%
Worth A Look: 14.81%
Average: 14.81%
Pretty Bad33.33%
Total Crap: 16.67%

3 reviews, 36 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Birdman by Peter Sobczynski

John Wick by Peter Sobczynski

Blue Room, The by Jay Seaver

Cat and the Canary, The (1927) by Jay Seaver

#Stuck by Jay Seaver

Fury (2014) by Jay Seaver

Book of Life, The (2014) by Jay Seaver

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

Maze Runner, The by Daniel Kelly

Art and Craft by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Airheads
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"In a word - hokey."
2 stars

Okay, what we have here is a great cast, a not too foul premise and a really really bad case of execution. I mean, shit, it's Adam Sandler, it's Buscemi, it's Encino Man, it's the dude from Spinal Tap... So what went wrong?

Well, just about everything. The producers clearly figured that if they made a movie about "rock and row-all" that the mindless teens would "dig" it without looking too deeply, but I guess the mindless teens might have had the last laugh.

Of course, at the same time this guff was released, the "teens' were watching smart films like Heathers and Clerks, so faced with competition that was clearly smarter, funnier and better, Airheads sank like a stone into the realm of Sunday afternoon cable TV. Just as it deserved to. The amazing thing is though, Michael Lehmann, the director of this hokum, also directed Heathers. I guess everyone has a stinker in them.

Then again, he also directed Hudson Hawk. And Meet the Applegates. Maybe everyone has one decent film in them.

So the deal is, a rock band that nobody cares about decides it needs to take extreme measures to get heard by a record exec, so they sneak into a radio station and pretend they're packing heat. Word gets out, the cops surround the building, Sandler gets laid, some smarmy guys get their asses kicked, Chris Farley says two lines, big rockin' blow-out concert, end.

Sandler, to his credit, is funny in this role. This is a good thing, since Buscemi is not. Brendan Fraser is trying too hard throughout and seems to think this is a drama, the support cast are a little too into their "rock and row-all" personas (the DJ especially) and the whole ending just plods along like a lobotomised homeless guy with no pants.

It does have it's moments, but I felt very ripped off that they were all shown in the trailer. If you're a Sandler fan, you have to see it just to say you've seen everything he's ever done. Then of course you'd go out to a bell tower with a rifle and slay countless people in the streets below, all the while crying at the cruel hand life dealt you.

But if you're no Sandler fan, there's nothing here for you but the soft, sweet knowledge that everything will be okay. Go rent Clerks and rejoice in mental health.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=760&reviewer=1
originally posted: 12/04/02 14:03:40
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/02/14 josie cotton is a goddess Hit and miss 3 stars
1/30/10 PAUL SHORTT DULL-WITTED COMEDY WITH DIM-WITTED CHARACTERS 1 stars
3/02/08 SamanthaPayntr i thouhgt this movie was really funny! sure it was dumb, but it was dumb-funny! 4 stars
7/08/06 NS It is bad... 2 stars
5/02/06 Anthony Feor The adjective to use for this film is Terrible 1 stars
8/17/05 ES entertaining, on the same level as empire records 4 stars
1/30/05 Jeff Anderson Really funny. Fraser, Buscemi, & Sandler are delights. Amy Locane is a HOT STUNNER!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/22/04 James This movie was so freaking funny and I watch it everytime its on tv and I bought it. 5 stars
10/26/03 Samuel The Lone Rangers ? How can the be Lone if their is 3 of them ? ha ha 3 stars
4/25/03 mr. Pink for a Sandler movie, it was okay. Buscemi en Fraser made it watchable 3 stars
4/07/03 Jack Sommersby Lacks an edge, but it's painlessly passable. Locane really shines as Fraser's girlfriend. 3 stars
9/06/02 Chancey Thunderpants Okay movie. I found Sandler to be at his least annoying here. 2 stars
3/20/02 Aborted Gently Not much I can say. It was just a sad attempt... 2 stars
3/03/02 Butterbean A surprisingly funny movie! Buscemi seems to fit in anything he does 4 stars
2/10/02 Cat This Movie Was Fucking Great! 5 stars
12/07/01 john smith its a cool movie 5 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat Kinda funny, but listening to the soundtrack is like clogging your ears w/ elephant shit. 3 stars
7/28/01 Riff Randall Fucking excellent movie, very funny !!!! 5 stars
7/27/01 Chazz Rock and Roll at it's best 5 stars
6/07/01 King Jackass I dont care what you think of me, but I liked this movie! 4 stars
5/10/01 Mike Well, it didn't offend me at all, and I laughed more than once. Why hate it? 4 stars
3/26/01 seth it is funny 5 stars
1/22/01 Dov Haselkorn Fucking Awesome, Man!! 5 stars
9/29/00 Peter Joseph Johnson I thought it was pretty O.K. 4 stars
9/10/99 Jason Kinsey i laughed a few times. not great, tho'. 2 stars
7/26/99 kj adam sandler is such a cutie! 5 stars
4/18/99 jimmy jam A little slow but I thought it was still pretty funny. Good for a rainy day 4 stars
3/18/99 Madcap Lemmy was editor of his school newspaper?? scary 3 stars
12/07/98 Shadow Raider Blech. How humiliating. Why do this? 2 stars
10/24/98 Negative Creep The Lone Rangers Kick ASSĄ Too bad this Movie didnt ;) Even had a boring soundtrack. 3 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor Adam finally has a personality, not a board anymore. 5 stars
9/12/98 kanatcha hey i like it! 5 stars
9/09/98 Johny Pretty lame for the most part, tried to be too hip I guess. 2 stars
9/01/98 cheryl_ann buscemi doing a movie like this....that just scared me. 3 stars
8/31/98 MikeF I liked it. it was funny. 4 stars
8/29/98 Mister Whoopee How embarrassing. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-Aug-1994 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1995 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast