More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.89

Awesome: 20.37%
Worth A Look: 14.81%
Average: 14.81%
Pretty Bad33.33%
Total Crap: 16.67%

3 reviews, 36 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Airheads
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"Brendan Frasier is hot, but rent George of the Jungle instead."
2 stars

This movie is retarded. But with a name like "Airheads", really, what were you expecting?

Possibly the most interesting thing about this movie is that Kramer has a bit part. And he's really bad. Oh, and amazingly, Adam Sandler is not amusing in the least.

The setup: a loser band can't get signed. So they take over a radio station and stick it to the man! Yeah! That's pretty much it. Brendan Fraser is the hapless leader, Steve Buscemi is the mean one, Adam Sandler is the dumb one, there are a couple villains, and that dumb blond who was on the first season of Melrose Place until they dumped her dumb ass is the bitter girlfriend who really loves him, honest.

All the acting sucks. Or maybe it's the writing that's so godawful no one can carry it off. I like to think it's both.

The plot is retarded and predictable. However, it is important to point out that in no way were the makers of this film going for an academy award. This movie was specifically designed for cheap laughs and predictability. There is nothing inherently wrong with that. But as a fan of film, it forces me to trash it. You understand, I'm sure.

And so I give it 2 sporks. It doesn't get the 1 because it does an average job of accomplishing its goal. There have been many movies made for cheap laughs that do it better. So it's a below average movie. Even for its genre. Have a nice day.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=760&reviewer=6
originally posted: 10/18/98 04:38:44
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/02/14 josie cotton is a goddess Hit and miss 3 stars
1/30/10 PAUL SHORTT DULL-WITTED COMEDY WITH DIM-WITTED CHARACTERS 1 stars
3/02/08 SamanthaPayntr i thouhgt this movie was really funny! sure it was dumb, but it was dumb-funny! 4 stars
7/08/06 NS It is bad... 2 stars
5/02/06 Anthony Feor The adjective to use for this film is Terrible 1 stars
8/17/05 ES entertaining, on the same level as empire records 4 stars
1/30/05 Jeff Anderson Really funny. Fraser, Buscemi, & Sandler are delights. Amy Locane is a HOT STUNNER!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/22/04 James This movie was so freaking funny and I watch it everytime its on tv and I bought it. 5 stars
10/26/03 Samuel The Lone Rangers ? How can the be Lone if their is 3 of them ? ha ha 3 stars
4/25/03 mr. Pink for a Sandler movie, it was okay. Buscemi en Fraser made it watchable 3 stars
4/07/03 Jack Sommersby Lacks an edge, but it's painlessly passable. Locane really shines as Fraser's girlfriend. 3 stars
9/06/02 Chancey Thunderpants Okay movie. I found Sandler to be at his least annoying here. 2 stars
3/20/02 Aborted Gently Not much I can say. It was just a sad attempt... 2 stars
3/03/02 Butterbean A surprisingly funny movie! Buscemi seems to fit in anything he does 4 stars
2/10/02 Cat This Movie Was Fucking Great! 5 stars
12/07/01 john smith its a cool movie 5 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat Kinda funny, but listening to the soundtrack is like clogging your ears w/ elephant shit. 3 stars
7/28/01 Riff Randall Fucking excellent movie, very funny !!!! 5 stars
7/27/01 Chazz Rock and Roll at it's best 5 stars
6/07/01 King Jackass I dont care what you think of me, but I liked this movie! 4 stars
5/10/01 Mike Well, it didn't offend me at all, and I laughed more than once. Why hate it? 4 stars
3/26/01 seth it is funny 5 stars
1/22/01 Dov Haselkorn Fucking Awesome, Man!! 5 stars
9/29/00 Peter Joseph Johnson I thought it was pretty O.K. 4 stars
9/10/99 Jason Kinsey i laughed a few times. not great, tho'. 2 stars
7/26/99 kj adam sandler is such a cutie! 5 stars
4/18/99 jimmy jam A little slow but I thought it was still pretty funny. Good for a rainy day 4 stars
3/18/99 Madcap Lemmy was editor of his school newspaper?? scary 3 stars
12/07/98 Shadow Raider Blech. How humiliating. Why do this? 2 stars
10/24/98 Negative Creep The Lone Rangers Kick ASSĄ Too bad this Movie didnt ;) Even had a boring soundtrack. 3 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor Adam finally has a personality, not a board anymore. 5 stars
9/12/98 kanatcha hey i like it! 5 stars
9/09/98 Johny Pretty lame for the most part, tried to be too hip I guess. 2 stars
9/01/98 cheryl_ann buscemi doing a movie like this....that just scared me. 3 stars
8/31/98 MikeF I liked it. it was funny. 4 stars
8/29/98 Mister Whoopee How embarrassing. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-Aug-1994 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1995 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast