More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.6

Awesome73.29%
Worth A Look: 15.07%
Average: 10.27%
Pretty Bad: 0.68%
Total Crap: 0.68%

6 reviews, 110 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lion King, The (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Stare by Jay Seaver

DreadOut by Jay Seaver

S He by Jay Seaver

We Are Little Zombies by Jay Seaver

Lion King, The (2019) by alejandroariera

Darlin' by Jay Seaver

Astronaut (2019) by Jay Seaver

White Storm 2: Drug Lords, The by Jay Seaver

Vivarium by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Ed Wood
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Tim Burton's finest hour. And Johnny Depp's. And Martin Landau's."
5 stars

Tim Burton can be so hit or miss. Mars Attacks! is a miss of the highest order, but Ed Wood is the complete opposite end of the spectrum, managing to be funny, dramatic, sad and biographical all at the same time. Grand stuff.

Filmed totally in black and white, which probably gave the studio fits when it was decided, this film completely takes you back to the day of Wood, the 1950's bottomfeeder director responsible for such terribly made films as "Plan Nine From Outer Space" and "Glen Or Glenda". Wood was a nutbar, no doubt about it, but he was a nutbar with determination, managing to get a series of films produced that ae notable only due to their total and utter incompetence. They're fun to watch because you can laugh at them from start to finish.

Johnny Depp turns in an awesome performance as Wood, sliding down the razorblade of madness and genius without losing a testicle. Unbelievably, Depp's turn is outshone by the unbelievably good performance of Martin Landau as Bela Legosi. When Landau is gone, this will be the role that he'll be fondly remembered for, as it just drills through you from the first time you see him. As much as this film is titled Ed Wood, it's Martin Landau's film.

Sarah Jessica Parker, Bill Murray and (inspired casting) George 'The Animal' Steele are also great in their roles as Wood's cohorts. Murray in particular seems able to get a laugh at the most unfunny of times.

The dialogue is fantastic, the acting superb, the story simply rivetting and the whole thing an honest homage to a great... well, not great but famous, man.

Simply put, I love this movie.

Proof positive that Hollywood doesn't need to revert to formula or big budget to put together something that is awe-inspiring, ed wood is one to own.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=763&reviewer=1
originally posted: 08/29/98 13:55:48
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/03/19 Action movie fan Good period recreation provides some interest to this so so film 3 stars
4/27/10 PAUL SHORTT RICH, WARM AND FUNNY 4 stars
12/28/09 Dane Youssef A unique movie about a unique man by an even more unique man. Ed Wood deserves an Oscar. 5 stars
1/26/09 Pamela White quirky look at a quirky man, sad Bella. 3 stars
12/21/08 Samantha Pruitt funny movie, very good looking movie! 4 stars
5/05/08 Nate Haven't you heard of suspension of disbeleif? 5 stars
1/13/08 art it's like one big halloween party 2 stars
4/27/07 Double M Dark yet hilarious. Burton's best. Depp & Murray are great, but Landau is just mesmerizing. 5 stars
4/20/07 Adrian Inspiring in its own quirky Tim Burton kind of way. 5 stars
3/03/07 Vip Ebriega Superb Tim Burton movie. Emotionally excellent. 5 stars
2/23/07 R.W.Welch Funny, oddy affecting story of a man who could not stop making bad movies. B+ 4 stars
11/28/06 Billy Backstabber yep, fun flick. More enjoyable than the films Wood made..more interesting.Great att2detail 5 stars
8/03/06 Nicole Wierd but cool movie. Great preformances 4 stars
6/27/06 Criddic2 Anyone who's seen an Ed Wood movie will enjoy the reenactments; Depp, Landau are Great 5 stars
12/19/05 Bree Brilliant film. Depp looks his best in angora. 5 stars
10/31/05 missjie86 This movie is hysterical... I cannot recommend it enough... SEE IT!! 5 stars
10/16/05 Person It's hilarious and heartfelt. I need to see it a third time. 5 stars
9/05/05 C Vega Suprisingly A good movie that makes you want to see Ed Woods Bad Movies! ha ha ha! 5 stars
8/06/05 Zack Excellent biography! 5 stars
4/18/05 Abbath Very niche movie for a niche director. 4 stars
4/15/05 Veronika Boyd "Karloff is a cock-sucker!" 5 stars
4/13/05 Indrid Cold Very well done, but not incredibly entertaining. 4 stars
2/17/05 SAKURAZUKAMORI fdwnfgsdafgdsfgd 5 stars
2/16/05 Wilt Chamberlin . 5 stars
2/07/05 deep in Depp not bad at all, boring in places, good in others 4 stars
10/25/04 Tom Ciorciari Burton's best film by far; it wasn't even nomintaed the year Forest Gump won! 5 stars
10/22/04 Daniel burton's best-ed wood wasn't the crappiest director, and this homage does him justice 5 stars
8/20/04 DM You'd never in a million years expect to like a biography of the worst director of all time 5 stars
7/07/04 EricDSnider Burton+Depp=wonderful 5 stars
6/20/04 Daveman A quirky, lovable biopic of an artistic outsider. 5 stars
6/11/04 T. Maj Tim Burton's best film--nice cinematography 4 stars
5/18/04 gray no bad but not great 3 stars
5/02/04 David Fowler Landau literally IS Lugosi. One of the most TRULLY deserved Oscars ever given. Brilliant. 5 stars
3/22/04 Tito Fantastic! Classic Burton, all the way, 5 stars
3/21/04 Peter I loved this movie and can watch it over and over 5 stars
3/15/04 DeppFan4Ever Great film! Johnny Depp & Tim Burton always make the best movies 5 stars
3/06/04 Andrew Dunn Johnny Depp is the king. Plain and simple. 5 stars
3/04/04 jdogg touching and wonderful-and didn't show wood's descent into porno. 5 stars
3/04/04 Jack Bourbon Well, if you think you may like it, you'll probably love it. Wacky stuff. 5 stars
3/04/04 Jack Sommersby A bit rambling, but it's mammothly entertaining and splendidly acted. 4 stars
3/03/04 y2mckay one of Burton's best, Landau fantastic, but film loses emotional core when Lugosi dies. 4 stars
2/26/04 Kyle Come on everyone, REVIEW!!! Push dumbass AJ off the list! GO! GO!!! 5 stars
2/20/04 AJ Bag of Gay Shit 1 stars
2/19/04 MP Bartley Burton's one true masterpiece and Depp's best role 5 stars
1/15/04 Betty White Lavish production values and fun performances all around. 5 stars
12/06/03 ashley goodspeed it was a good movie except for jeffrey jones being in it that sucked, but johnny depp rules 5 stars
12/06/03 Agent Sands Terrific acting and writing, and the black-&-white is very apt. 5 stars
11/30/03 john rates with (or maybe even above) DAY FOR NIGHT as the best movie about movie making ever 5 stars
9/28/03 AD dam this was great 5 stars
9/24/03 JC Very much in the style of Ed Wood actually! Depp, Landau, and Burton are brilliant! 5 stars
7/11/03 eleftheria gooooood 5 stars
6/08/03 earl hoffert burton's very best film, has yet to top it 5 stars
5/15/03 George Jung One of the best films of the 90s, if not ever. 5 stars
5/04/03 sleepy amazing film 5 stars
3/16/03 Maegs Come on, its not THAT good 3 stars
3/07/03 Glenn cool johnny the best 5 stars
2/08/03 mr. Pink Terrific! One of Burton's best films! 5 stars
2/05/03 Silverline Not that great 3 stars
2/01/03 dionwr Okay, low-key effort from Burton 3 stars
1/28/03 The Aussie Film Reviewer A hilarious, dark and moody few hours. 4 stars
11/25/02 Mason Not burtons best work (Pee-Wee!) but honorary enough to be on the top 20 5 stars
11/22/02 Angel This movie is a true gem 5 stars
11/10/02 asina my favorite film.... 5 stars
9/22/02 Morally Sound I love this movie. 5 stars
9/21/02 Buddha It's funny, but it also takes a little liberty with the truth. 3 stars
8/23/02 Naomi A superb, well- crafted film. Depp is great, as always, but Landau's Bela steals the show. 5 stars
8/17/02 Scott Brilliant, very funny film 5 stars
7/30/02 The Little Cock-Smoking Tramp Modern black-and-white cinematography is so beautiful it makes me cry 5 stars
6/24/02 blake i loved it 5 stars
6/03/02 Poumpus and better than you Depp was Hilarious as Ed Wood! 5 stars
5/28/02 gj ty mmmmmmmmmm it was okkkkkkkkkkkk, perhaps a touch too weird 4 stars
5/20/02 siro My all-time favorite film.... 5 stars
4/02/02 lauren mccreight a movie for people who love movies 4 stars
2/24/02 Aiken Drum Every time I even think about this movie I cack myself. 5 stars
2/20/02 Andrew Carden Ok As An Autobiography, but Very Mediorce and Fourth Rate As A Movie. 3 stars
2/19/02 Goombah Landau is masterful, Depp fantastic, but the story is sometimes a little cartoony. 4 stars
1/26/02 Phil Z. Excellent, clever, moving. 5 stars
1/02/02 Foufie Cannot be explained : just watch it ! 5 stars
8/29/01 Gary Very funny and well made. Depp is magnificent. Parker is a great presence here, too. 5 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk The perfect tribute from a master of the craft. Beautiful and flawless. 5 stars
8/02/01 KC Au One of my favorite movies!! Very funny and some scenes were very touching. 5 stars
8/01/01 Michael S. Browne I wish there was a Beyond Fucking Awesome rating. This is the best movie I've ever seen 5 stars
7/26/01 Edgar Delicious, funny, incredible! I'd see it again and again! 5 stars
6/30/01 Monster W. Kung It's not a masterpiece, but the re-creation of Plan 9 is masterful. 4 stars
5/21/01 Ray McCoy An auspicious beginning to the second Burton era. 5 stars
3/28/01 Jesse L Depp is brilliant. Pass the angora sweater. 5 stars
12/15/00 viking The most human of Tim Burton's movies 5 stars
9/07/00 Gray Depp was perfect choice. Beautiful film. Fantastic. 5 stars
7/29/00 Jinx Depp is great, Wood was weird and sympathetically pathetic. Truth is stranger than fiction. 4 stars
6/10/00 Mike Farwell Very well directed, by the one and only TIM BURTON!!! 5 stars
6/03/00 PJ Absolutely beautiful, I absolutely loved it, Depp and Landau were perfect 5 stars
4/04/00 Casper A Burton masterpiece and one in which you'll laugh out loud! What a great movie!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/02/00 perverted pixie Watch this! Watch "Plan 9"! Watch "Glen or Glenda"! They all rule! 5 stars
2/27/00 Judy57 My favorite movie, so lovingly done. 5 stars
1/23/00 Dr. Dolittle A Masterpiece 5 stars
12/06/99 JonnyAngel I only saw it recently, boy was I missing out. 5 stars
9/05/99 Weird Andy Magnificent. 5 stars
6/21/99 Ed Wood I, of course, loved it 5 stars
1/03/99 Charles Dubé Absolutely hillarious and even touching film. Burton's absolute best. **** stars 5 stars
12/15/98 Binky What a great film. Depp and Landau are wonderful. 5 stars
12/05/98 tj oh dear lord this is good 5 stars
12/01/98 Mr.Pink SO BEAUTIFUL AND VERY FUNNY!! 5 stars
11/25/98 DrEvil Touching tribute to a man of skewed vision, whose determination exceeded his talent. 5 stars
11/17/98 little jerry this is a beautifully balanced film.Tender and strange. 5 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob You can see the love on the screen. 5 stars
10/24/98 Vincent Burton's best film- a treasure that will be remembered 5 stars
10/19/98 Kwyjibo Anyone who doesn't think this is a fine film is so clearly not thinking straight. 5 stars
10/01/98 {{{OZ}}} Fucking awesome film, especially for b-grade sci-fi freaks. Landau is incredible. 5 stars
9/24/98 Johny Oz is right. Depp and Burton's finest hour. 5 stars
8/29/98 Miss Stress i'm sorry, johnny depp didn't sell me on this one. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Sep-1994 (R)
  DVD: 19-Oct-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast