More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.88

Awesome: 10.99%
Worth A Look30.04%
Average: 19.41%
Pretty Bad: 14.65%
Total Crap: 24.91%

14 reviews, 189 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Revenge of the Green Dragons by Jay Seaver

Birdman by Peter Sobczynski

John Wick by Peter Sobczynski

Blue Room, The by Jay Seaver

Cat and the Canary, The (1927) by Jay Seaver

#Stuck by Jay Seaver

Fury (2014) by Jay Seaver

Book of Life, The (2014) by Jay Seaver

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

Maze Runner, The by Daniel Kelly

subscribe to this feed


Hulk
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Most likely the oddest superhero flick ever made."
4 stars

A scientist -- a mad, driven genius, who has already conducted illicit experiments on himself -- torments his baby boy in the crib and looks on, mesmerized, as the squalling infant's legs break out in a veiny rash of green. The baby grows up to be Bruce Banner (Eric Bana), a physicist unwittingly following in the career footsteps of his long-lost father; Bruce holds himself in tight, blocking himself off from close relationships, as if afflicted by sense memories of those crib days when anger led to physical deformity and misery.

What a strange and fascinating contraption Hulk is. This movie about repressed emotions and repressed memories is itself repressed: It withholds the main attraction -- the roaring green Id, the Hulk, smashing everything in sight -- for at least a full hour. The art-house director Ang Lee would seem, at first glance, an odd choice for a summer blockbuster about a green creature of rage. But repression has been Lee's dominant theme -- from the virtuosos locked in by duty in Eat Drink Man Woman and Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, to the would-be romantic and sexual adventurers thwarted by societal designs in Sense and Sensibility, The Ice Storm, and Brokeback Mountain. Lee approaches the decades-old Marvel Comics character as yet another wanderer in the void, denying who he is and what he wants.

Bruce, in the major change from Hulk canon as set down by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby in the comics, and then by Kenneth Johnson in the popular TV series, falls victim to gamma rays, which in themselves don't change him; test subjects have tended to explode in the lab under the gamma rays, and Bruce might have too, if not for the mutation he carries in his own genes. Screenwriter James Schamus, revising earlier drafts by John Turman and Michael France, adds a twisted father-son layer to the narrative -- the sins of the father, and so on. The father, David (a scraggly Nick Nolte), is a monstrosity of scientific inquiry -- the type of cold intellectual who tests his theories on his son. The elder Banner, just released from a 30-year stretch in prison, has been busy: He has three canine companions, vicious little things that get more vicious -- and huge -- after he doses them with a serum.

Some of the movie could be a little fresher. Bruce has a fluttery relationship with scientist Betty Ross (Jennifer Connelly), whose father is the blustering General "Thunderbolt" Ross (Sam Elliott); General Ross is in cahoots with slimy ex-officer Glenn Talbot (Josh Lucas) to claim Bruce's research for military purposes. Eric Bana, another Australian actor breaking out in America, manages to look both strong and weak -- close-cropped, wet-looking hair; pained soft eyes; features just this side of chiseled. He can't get much going on with Jennifer Connelly, who continues to come off as completely empty, and the various forces weighing on Bruce's mind result in a rather humorless performance from Bana.

Still, the movie gets one very important thing right: the essential sadness of the Hulk. As a child reading the comics, I used to feel sorry for both Bruce and his towering counterpart, each forever doomed never to know the other, bound together in fear and contempt and endless retreat from men with guns. The movie's Bruce, however, feels almost exhilarated by what happens when his Jekyll gives way to Hyde; the sexual impaction of this buttoned-down, fearful man letting himself rampage and destroy is hard to miss.

And what of the artificial Hulk, as far from a green-painted Lou Ferrigno (who gets a sly cameo here along with Stan Lee) as inhumanly possible? As with Gollum in The Two Towers, the computer-generated Hulk is too fantastical to achieve full realism, despite his designers' devotion to detail. We accept him, though, as a heightened projection of rage, and he's effective in his gentler moments. I can't deny the visceral thrill of watching the Hulk fling tanks around or literally spit metal at helicopters to bring them down, but this Hulk is more about the traumas that preface destruction. Nick Nolte and Sam Elliott, twin gray remote fathers warping their children and growling at what they've wrought, are the true dark stars of the piece.

"Hulk" climaxes on a phantasmagoric note that didn't quite do it for me -- it plays like an Off-Broadway father-son confrontation that morphs into a light show. Still, this jagged and highly unstable work, bubbling in a stew of Freud and crackpot science, is the oddest mix of concussive escapism and psychological duality since Tim Burton's "Batman." It may disappoint action fans, but it's not really for them.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7638&reviewer=416
originally posted: 12/28/06 13:18:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Marvel Characters: For more in the Marvel Characters series, click here.

User Comments

10/24/14 Jack Hello good day <a href=" ">bimatoprost ophthalmic solution 0.03 amazon</a> James Denaro, 4 stars
9/02/14 Jeff You've got to admit, the music was good 2 stars
7/29/14 rvvxvhkkmvi USA 3 stars
8/28/12 roscoe ok, but way too drawn out and not nearly enough action. too much story 3 stars
9/28/11 Dr.Lao What the $#@! did I just watch? 2 stars
7/02/09 Jonathan Birch Excellent SF and well thought out characterization of the Hulk. Poor father/son conflict. 4 stars
6/01/09 Jeff Wilder Ang Lee is a talented director. But comic book/art film hybrids tend to be unsuccessful, 2 stars
10/18/08 AshleyRockO Not bad. But save the story stuff for a more interesting Comic character like Batman. 3 stars
8/21/08 Shaun Wallner Great Action!! 4 stars
6/13/08 David V Just was too long and boring for a superhero movie. 2 stars
6/05/08 Che Great Movie!!!! 5 stars
5/18/08 PAUL SHORTT WATCHABLE 3 stars
3/20/07 dude good movie 4 stars
2/17/07 Vip Ebriega I don't know about you, but I hate it. 2 stars
12/29/06 del Stooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooopid!!! 1 stars
10/21/06 Tanya Grays They should have used Lou ferrigno instead of special effects 2 stars
10/13/06 David Pollastrini not horrible 3 stars
10/12/06 Bob Not Bad 3 stars
9/18/06 kliz super boring movie! 1 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist The ending was a bit perplexing, & it dragged slightly, but it was a good popcorn flick. 3 stars
7/30/06 Ray Ozi Giant green shit onscreen 1 stars
5/11/06 JM Synth Ambitious, Intelligent and Very Boring 2 stars
5/05/06 Cuenzie Wunzie Had good bits but paper moments. 6.6 / 10 4 stars
2/21/06 Striker garbage in the screen 1 stars
1/21/06 Mark Radburn I'm disappointed, I'd rather watch another CG movie than this gay shit movie 1 stars
12/15/05 R.W.Welch Big budget stuff, but in the end it's still a comic strip. 3 stars
12/09/05 bullit16 Wow ... wow ... it just ... sucks ... on SO many levels. 1 stars
11/21/05 Anthony G Good 4 stars
10/19/05 Quigley one of the biggest wastes of awesome CG I've ever seen. totally stupid movie 1 stars
9/28/05 peter u rull 1 stars
9/22/05 VMANIC1 Will have you asking yourself, " When will this movie end?", Very BORING 2 stars
9/21/05 Jonathon Holmes this movie sucks ass 1 stars
8/11/05 ES Wow! Ang Lee no my least favourite director. Way to blow it big guy! 1 stars
8/01/05 Daniel Trembath durka durka durka i h8 deoderant 5 stars
7/24/05 Carolyn Rathburn good rendition of this classic dark side tail 4 stars
7/19/05 Brandy Harrington This movie sucks, very stupid plot. 1 stars
7/14/05 RJ Newbold Not a great adaptation but definitely a fun attempt 4 stars
7/11/05 Brian Feiler Too many computer generated effects actually detract from a good storyline. 3 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma The Hulk looked like a cartoon instead of a CGI character 2 stars
7/08/05 Khedron Frank I don't care, I loved it 5 stars
7/05/05 Charlene Javier Ang Lee disappoints. 2 stars
7/03/05 Quigley makes spider-man 2 look like an oscar winner. ang lee needs to stop assaulting us with crap 1 stars
6/17/05 Kristina Williams took itself way too seriously 1 stars
6/10/05 Rock-Steady I love me a big green man! 1 stars
5/19/05 Total Crap Total crap 1 stars
5/01/05 Anthony G it was ok, could of been worse, 8mile for example? 4 stars
4/10/05 Feliciano ELI, screw you man 5 stars
3/03/05 jeff good special effects, drags, slow, lack of action!!! 4 stars
2/10/05 Feliciano back once & again 5 stars
2/09/05 Jeff Anderson What a big letdown! Sincere enough performances by Bana & Connelly can't save it. A SHAME!! 2 stars
12/09/04 ELI Worse than Gigli 1 stars
11/16/04 Dunce Tries so hard and fails even harder. I couldn't wait for it to end. Oh the pain. 1 stars
9/24/04 Agent Sands Underrated. Very inventive and enjoyable. 1st time I've heard Nolte with his throat clear. 4 stars
9/18/04 Joe Shants Would have been better if they had followed the comic instead of ripping off The Fly 2 1 stars
8/16/04 tatum A lot more entertaining than standard comic books onscreen 4 stars
8/02/04 Daveman Infinitely more unique and interesting than any other comic book film to date, quit whining 4 stars
8/02/04 Anthony G this movie sucks, very dumb plot 2 stars
7/02/04 Johnny Fay More un creative crap by hollywood...no where near as good as the Spiderman movie's 2 stars
6/11/04 Kevin Farkas CGI overdose! Why!?...I wanna know why!? So bad! 1 stars
5/17/04 Slappy Terrible film, almost as bad as the original Dawn of the Dead 1 stars
5/17/04 Samuel It was a decent movie all in all. I liked the ending very well. 3 stars
5/13/04 Me NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! 1 stars
5/12/04 The More You Know story goes all over the map, but Ang Lee creates smart fun. 4 stars
4/27/04 Daniel Bennison i love a big muscly man! 5 stars
4/26/04 Lord Jiggy Bana wasn't bad, movie was terrible. 2 stars
4/26/04 Denise Duspiva I liked Nick Nolte 4 stars
3/29/04 true review - correct review every time comic book Hulk is amazing, this movie has NOTHING to do with the comic book 1 stars
3/06/04 Joe Uglick This Movie Is HORIBLE 1 stars
2/24/04 frade-granger average in every way, missable 3 stars
2/10/04 HorrorScribbler Pretty good. Comic-bookie split screens annoying. Final battle kinda mystifying. 4 stars
2/08/04 Nixon what a SHIT movie. he doesnt even become hulk until like an hour! and j-co has a uni-brow 1 stars
1/26/04 American Slasher Goddess A dull and boring comicbook adapation. 1 stars
1/12/04 Nucleo A brilliant preformance by Jennifer Connelly's rack. 1 stars
12/14/03 stanley you know what's stronger than the hulk? the elastic band on his purple shorts..... 1 stars
12/08/03 Eloise boring, crappy, didnt like T3 or X-men2 either.zero stars. 1 stars
11/27/03 John worse than bad - the digital Hulk is ridiculous 1 stars
11/23/03 ozzy torch this fucking movie 1 stars
11/17/03 Dempster ... 1 stars
11/14/03 snowconehead Decent, but a little too deep in context 4 stars
11/10/03 alisha Were we watching the same movie?!? I liked this movie and think it has gotten a bad rap. 4 stars
11/09/03 I Would You morons. This kicked the crap out of X2 and Terminator 3. Why does everyone hate it? 4 stars
10/31/03 JohnnyXXX Boring, disturing, wannabe Batman Returns but didn't quite make it 2 stars
10/29/03 Killer Miller WORST MOVIE EVER so boring man it was torture! 1 stars
10/24/03 MIC Awful. Incoherent. Poodle monsters that understand English? Huge jellyfish? Magis pants? 1 stars
10/18/03 Hung Weil Lo Close to being the worst movie I have seen in 2003 1 stars
10/09/03 horror_blood Good, worth a look, but nothing can beat Spiderman when it comes to Marvel movies. 4 stars
10/08/03 Erik Van Sant Exciting at times...way too thoughtful at others...Nick Nolte looks like a drunken hobo. 4 stars
9/27/03 Donna Gelpigi the Hulk should be the Green Party candidate for Governor! 3 stars
9/26/03 The Quirkfetch Kid Jennifer Connelly again plays wife of troubled scientist; but this time it's just screwy. 3 stars
9/21/03 CAT BLUES it was okay.....i guess i liked the effects in all 3 stars
9/04/03 ChanceHead This was a green lump of shit that popped out of ang lees asshole! Fuck you Hulk! 1 stars
9/03/03 Shelley I thought the movie was great, i only went to go and see it because i had to but i liked it 4 stars
9/02/03 INCU What??? 6.2 at imdb.com, Worth A Look here??? This is the shittiest movie I've ever seen 1 stars
8/25/03 Laurian Diaconescu Hulk generally looks fake, but the story is pretty good, so is the soundtrack. 4 stars
8/18/03 palaboy101 Ang Lee took it too seroiusly, but added comic strip-style screens? what da? 4 stars
8/09/03 Ravi Madapati Hulk Kicks Ass 5 stars
8/06/03 Andrea I have one thing to say.....I WANT MY MONEY BACK! 1 stars
8/05/03 jonah boring dialogue. Great action sequences though. 3 stars
8/04/03 Joman Daredevil plus Terms of Endearment equals Crap 1 stars
8/02/03 I Would Good characterisation, good performances, cool CGI, where's the plot? 3 stars
7/21/03 Dee Geez! I thought something was wrong with ME! Horribe CGI, camera tricks and boring dialogue 1 stars
7/18/03 Jon Lyrik Decent, but a lot of the artistry falls flat. 3 stars
7/17/03 Nate Did anyone else notice the Hulk went from southern california to Moab Utah in a single jump 3 stars
7/16/03 your worst goddamn nightmare imagine everything that's cool about the Hulk, turning it to shit, then makin' the movie... 1 stars
7/14/03 Vin Diesal Wow he threw a tank!! that's as good as it gets, stupid camera work, no story :( 2 stars
7/14/03 Christian Harding 'Hulk" Rocks! Anyone who hates it must be nuts! 5 stars
7/11/03 Troy Butler Highly underrated, ... much more than just another superhero film!!! 4 stars
7/10/03 30 year Hulk fan The worst version of the Hulk in any medium. James Schamus couldn't write birthday cards. 1 stars
7/10/03 Jason Total POS : eric bana can't act, plot is STUPID, end fight scene is LAME. 1 stars
7/09/03 Bob Stupid, boring, long, gay, ugly, annoying. Stupidest ending ever. 1 stars
7/08/03 Alice I miss the old TV Series... That was what Hulk is all about 3 stars
7/08/03 T. Bizbam best superhero movie yet. Much more memorable than Xmen or Spiderman. 5 stars
7/08/03 Jin Lame 1 stars
7/07/03 Alex Very Very Disappointing, so much too work with but fucked it up!! 3 stars
7/07/03 Jason Wow. I was so impressed. Ang Lee shows once again that he's a force to be reckoned with. 4 stars
7/07/03 Tenlinkoz A great movie 4 stars
7/07/03 thejames What the fuck is with the stupid multi-camera angel shots? 2 stars
7/06/03 Ahnold SUCKED! 1 stars
7/05/03 Jill OK! This flick was TOTALLY overrated! The plot was boring, the grapics sucked..DON'T SEE IT 2 stars
7/04/03 KingNeutron I *knew* it would suck way before it came out. Good parts were J.Connelly and the very end. 2 stars
7/03/03 black leather jacket Biggest Hyped Boring Movie of the Summer!!...who really cares after seeing it? 1 stars
7/03/03 Dan Captured the spirit of the Hulk, but the script could have been reworked. Horrible ending. 3 stars
7/03/03 jada cgi job great, movie a little long 3 stars
7/02/03 your worse goddamn nightmare The plot was too convoluted and banal. A garbage movie except for Jennifer Connelly... 2 stars
7/01/03 Dag good. 4 stars
6/29/03 malcolm dogs looked like that dog in The Mask 3 stars
6/29/03 Micbang Pretty good 5 stars
6/29/03 Tipsy incredibly boring, with a plethora of uncharismatic characters. did bana a disservice. 1 stars
6/29/03 Sanity This movie sucked - no matter who or how many people invested in it. 1 stars
6/29/03 mortified This movie sucked all ass on so many different levels of ass 1 stars
6/29/03 David A. No supervillain, fakey animation, distortion of Hulk's origin! SUCKS BIG TIME ASS 1 stars
6/29/03 Koitus Script "too sketchy" - why did Dad release the dogs? Nuke at the end .. or not? Great CGI 3 stars
6/29/03 Andrew Carden Only Ang Lee Could Turn This Crappy Screenplay Into An Exciting Action Flick. 3 stars
6/28/03 Obi Wan Very good!! Too much plot, should have left that for more action. 5 stars
6/27/03 george mcswank Ang Lee has split-screen brain explosion 1 stars
6/27/03 Frank Habets Punchy poetry! A deft blend of style and substance. 5 stars
6/27/03 john allen spare me the repressed memory crap. Plays like a bad Springer episode 3 stars
6/26/03 jcjs as close to 'total crap' as a flick can get...a waste of actors...painfully slow and bogus. 1 stars
6/26/03 Erin Ang Lee over rated one again. This movie blows. 1 stars
6/26/03 Duckman Too much 1st year psychology in this flick 2 stars
6/26/03 Puny Human In Hulk 2, you people will be complaining about the lack of character development. 5 stars
6/26/03 gray good action way too much filler 2 stars
6/25/03 me frog as ok as a movie can be 3 stars
6/25/03 Baronvonhaha Good movie- horrorable comic movie. They changed Bruce's name. Good if you are a comic fan 4 stars
6/25/03 Jeff Garbage, bad Hulk animation, like I stepped in 1970's bad TV. Ang Lee destroyed a legend. 1 stars
6/25/03 Nessus Didn't like it. The story was too convoluted. Good action sequences, too much filler. 2 stars
6/25/03 Bruce Webster Well done -- would like to see Ang Lee's original cut 4 stars
6/24/03 LoudChris Great build up. Fantastic action. A true stress reliever. 5 stars
6/24/03 Gil Carlson 3 screen writers is a bad sign and it shows in the jumbled story, but you have to check it 4 stars
6/24/03 Shazia Fantastic film...just not a summer one 5 stars
6/24/03 Armando Loved the action and style of the movie!!Hulk is awesome!! 5 stars
6/24/03 Movie Expert The emotion, the artistic imagery all that in a summer movie Wow!! 5 stars
6/23/03 Obi Wan Very Good Adaptation! Ang Lee did it and very catchy camera work!! 5 stars
6/23/03 k oh how retarded... a green man.. yeah sure. 1 stars
6/23/03 SIEGE Great film! I was astonished. 5 stars
6/23/03 Darth Haggis Sucks Nuff Said 1 stars
6/23/03 movie-goer Stunk! Boring as all get out! 2 stars
6/23/03 jawsboy24 Pretty good! Decent CGI, decent acting, good cinematography and direction. Not bad!!!!! 4 stars
6/23/03 Human Shield The style is excellent for a comic book film. The moral is good on its own 5 stars
6/23/03 Proximus Criticed by those with out imagination!!! 5 stars
6/23/03 Dead Ringers FX Rule! This movie was fun. Before I got too bored the Hulk started throwing tanks what fun! 4 stars
6/23/03 Darren Shea The most introspective action film ever,it succeeds by way of inventive direction &good CGI 4 stars
6/23/03 Coolhand We are in a Golden Age for comic bood adaptations - Ang Lee is a genius. 5 stars
6/23/03 Captain Highcrime It's the kind of movie that you'll be able to enjoy after the kids get bored & walk out 4 stars
6/23/03 Hottie I thought this was a GREAT movie and the actors did great also! 5 stars
6/22/03 Jacob Spider-man was like the comics so whoever said Raimi should had thought of this should die! 2 stars
6/22/03 Uncle Salty Lame, cartoony, retarded ending, too long 2 stars
6/22/03 FLiK A little slow in the beginning, but overall pretty good. 4 stars
6/22/03 Mr. Do fuck hulk, fuck this fuckin' commercal fuck site 1 stars
6/22/03 Rrrrrr....HULK MAD!!! I bet Sam Rami saw how Ang Lee directed this and thought, why didn't I think of that? 5 stars
6/22/03 Hulk Yun-Fat Great flick. Ang Lee does it again. Josh Lucas needed more screen time tho. 4 stars
6/22/03 Flounder A good B-movie for parents as well as kids. 4 stars
6/22/03 Titus Needs a villain. Fun, but doesn't quite have its identify figured out. 4 stars
6/22/03 black leather jacket O please...No more hype...this movie sucks all ass 1 stars
6/22/03 Hooters gurl Another hyped movie that falls short of your expectations 3 stars
6/22/03 flyingshrapnel Instead of simple special effect and loud sound track this is a movie has depth and feeling 5 stars
6/22/03 Jack Bourbon One of the funniest death scenes I've ever seen. 4 stars
6/22/03 Jacob Rubinstein Too smart for modern audience.. not for the fast and dumb audience!like fast and the furiou 5 stars
6/21/03 Don This is the best of the new wave of comic book films. It works as drama and action. 5 stars
6/21/03 dredPhul Too much talk, not enough of the Hulk smashing 2 stars
6/21/03 Brian unique direction, but this is worse than daredevil...shame and more shame... 1 stars
6/21/03 MTV is Satan Another bad Marvel adaptation. Stan Lee's genius is being squandered by lazy scriptwriters. 1 stars
6/21/03 Elizaveta almost worth 4 stars, but too long...too painfully artsy. 3 stars
6/21/03 Joseph Gibson Best Comic book story told on screen 5 stars
6/21/03 Darth Haggis This movie Sucked!!! Watched the peoples faces coming out of the theater before you see it 1 stars
6/21/03 zach i fell asleep since i was so bored.. 2 stars
6/21/03 Vicious Excellent, unique direction with a solid story, cast, and great action. 5 stars
6/21/03 Ayatolla of Rockinrolla Worst Movie of the Year 1 stars
6/21/03 Daedalus Redeems the genre from DareDevil...almost. Still a damn good flick. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Jun-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 28-Oct-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Jun-2003


Directed by
  Ang Lee

Written by
  Michael France
  James Schamus
  John Turman

Cast
  Eric Bana
  Jennifer Connelly
  Sam Elliott
  Josh Lucas
  Nick Nolte
  Brooke Langton



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast