More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.38

Awesome43.1%
Worth A Look: 6.9%
Average: 13.79%
Pretty Bad: 17.24%
Total Crap: 18.97%

2 reviews, 46 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Wannabes, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Stephen Groenewegen

"The Woggles"
2 stars

The Wannabes is a disappointing comedy misfire from producer-director-writer-star Nick Giannopoulos.

There's potential for fresh comedy when a gang of wannabe thieves pose as a kid's singing group to infiltrate a mansion. They botch the robbery of a precious jewel, but wind up an unexpected hit as subversive children's entertainers.

The film's best moments are the group's unlikely routines, but Giannopoulos squanders their comic possibilities in favour of a complicated and routine run-around plot, replete with kidnappings, mistaken identities, dodgy American accents, drag performances and shrill and offensive stereotypes.

Chantal Contouri has fun as Giannopoulos' mother and Russell Dykstra shines as the leader of the thuggish criminal quartet. Giannopoulos brings little charisma to his leading role and seems tired, as if he'd prefer to be spending all his time behind the camera.

I'd be surprised if The Wannabes can repeat the popular success of Giannopoulos' debut, The Wog Boy.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7665&reviewer=104
originally posted: 09/23/03 07:51:00
[printer] printer-friendly format  
For more in the Australian series, click here.

User Comments

8/28/08 Maria FUCKING SHIT! Giannopoulos is total crap. 1 stars
9/24/07 Derek Isla Fisher is good looking. But this film is definitly flat. Why is this being shown in US 2 stars
6/02/07 gina the best movie ever! so fricken funny! ryan johnson is hot also... 5 stars
11/11/05 WiggleGroove Very funny! (And this is coming from a Wiggles fan!) 5 stars
5/11/05 James The wog humour ain't funny anymore, and either is this piece of shit! 1 stars
5/11/05 Kev Giannopoulos should stick to the tried and tested wog movies. 1 stars
1/17/05 Film lover Someone stop Giannopoulos, before he directs again! 1 stars
1/14/05 Only non-plant I love how Giannopoulos himself keeps adding his own comments. Talk about desperate. 1 stars
11/22/04 Jessica Comtesse I (L) this movie! It is soooooo cool! Ryan Johnsen is lyk sooooooooooooooooo cute! (Hammer) 5 stars
11/08/04 Nia Very,very funny.Nick G is da man!!!! 5 stars
10/21/04 cailtin THIS FILF F##KIN' ROX!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/28/04 Natasha da best movie ever 5 stars
8/22/04 emma it is the koolest movie! 5 stars
7/17/04 sambo mcrambo tops! tops! tops! 5 stars
6/11/04 Moria Sela I think it was pretty funny. i love ryan johnson so much!! 4 stars
6/06/04 Mandy Tailor I thought the movie was funny, and Ryan Johnson is a HOTTIE 5 stars
5/08/04 Elisa ryan johnson is hot he is all mine 5 stars
5/08/04 jess ryan johnson is fuckin hot he is mine! i luv ryan 5 stars
3/31/04 Madison it was wicked!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/10/04 April Not bad... the songs are absolutely hilarious 3 stars
2/13/04 Ben movie wasnt too bad..parts funny 3 stars
2/11/04 Lauren funny 5 stars
1/30/04 kyle fuck you all, it was the funniest shit i've seen since scary movie! 5 stars
1/28/04 lozza i reckon the movie was a pissa! ryan johnson was definately a spunk! good on yaz 5 stars
1/25/04 carly me and my friend watched the movie twice in one day cos it was hilarious! ryan johnson is a 5 stars
1/22/04 coco Ryan is the hottie in the movie 5 stars
1/16/04 Bridget Ryan Johnson is soooo sexy!!!!!!! 4 stars
1/10/04 Johnno Awesome movie!! 5 stars
1/09/04 Zaharin Hamid aka The Movie Samseng Isla Fisher is HOT! The movie starts off strong but is downhill from there. 2 stars
1/07/04 emma ryan johnson is f****ing gorguz but crap movie 2 stars
1/06/04 sarah funny ryan johnson is sexyyyyy 5 stars
1/05/04 Katrina Awesome!! I would live to be hammered!!!!! 5 stars
1/03/04 reggie it was soooo crap!!!! 1 stars
1/01/04 Melissa A gotta see movie for everyone 5 stars
12/31/03 jade funny hot guys 5 stars
12/27/03 Peta Hammer is SOOOOOOO CUTE!! 4 stars
12/07/03 Natalie Great!!! Ryan Johnson is a major HOTTIE!!!! 5 stars
11/17/03 Didge loved it, Hammer (Ryan Johnson) is so hot! 5 stars
10/30/03 Jake Great! 5 stars
10/27/03 May B I demand a refund! 1 stars
10/27/03 Reedy Will Nick G appear at the Logies and demand the audience boo his low grosses? 1 stars
10/27/03 Mikey Truly a turkey for the ages 1 stars
10/27/03 Jason Atrocious! 1 stars
7/08/03 nr good 4 stars
6/17/03 amy two thumbs down! 1 stars
5/15/03 Nick Giannopoulos... ...is not very popular here, or very funny any more either... 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-May-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Sep-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast