More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.38

Awesome43.1%
Worth A Look: 6.9%
Average: 13.79%
Pretty Bad: 17.24%
Total Crap: 18.97%

2 reviews, 46 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Wannabes, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Funny flick from a funny country."
3 stars

Since Australia is so far away it may as well be its own planet, I had no idea who Nick Giannopoulos was before settling in for The Wannabes. I soon learned that Nick is a very popular comedian down under, and this news buoyed my spirits: I know a few Aussies, and every damn one of 'em is a funny bugger.

As trite as this sounds: comedy demolishes cultural boundaries. Sure, there's always some sort of local dialect or slang that may lose something in the international translation, but for the most part: funny is funny.

And The Wannabes is pretty damn funny.

Nick G. wrote, directed and quite capably stars in this broad and consistently entertaining farce. If it sucked across the board, he'd get the blame. Since the movie had me giggling all over the place, Nick gets the credit.

Giannopoulos plays Danny, a wholly untalented (and unemployable) young actor who's perpetually stuck in the early 1980s. Danny's only claim to fame is a howlingly inauspicious rendition of a Grease tune on a televised talent show. The sort of talent show that has a big gong right offstage.

Now all grown up, Danny spends his days teaching silly dance steps to senior citizens. His routine is altered when a group of rather intense-looking thugs hire Danny to 'tutor' them in the ways of musicianship. That the gang are planning on using their newfound skills of kiddie entertainment as a ruse for a massive heist should come as no surprise.

Danny, obviously, has no freakin' clue what's going on.

The first half of The Wannabes details Danny's ridiculous efforts at teaching the criminals how to sing, dance, and wear giant fluffy costumes. There's also a stunningly adorable love interest (as played by the stunningly adorable Isla Fisher) for Danny to stumble over, and a host of colorful goodballs (some friendly, mostly not).

The densely plotted insanity gets a bit wackier as we get to the big show: a posh mansion party for a bunch of snotty rich kids. The heist is (for lack of a better word) on.

The Wannabes is not much more than a big broad and gloriously silly comedy flick, and that's just fine by me. As you'll find in even the best farces ever lensed, a handful of the gags thud weakly, though I'd wager the flick's batting average is impressive enough.

Imagine Death to Smoochy meets Ocean's Eleven, only funnier than both of those. If this sort of movie is what Nick G. is generally known for in his native land, I'm looking forward to a few more imports.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7665&reviewer=128
originally posted: 05/14/03 11:56:12
[printer] printer-friendly format  
For more in the Australian series, click here.

User Comments

8/28/08 Maria FUCKING SHIT! Giannopoulos is total crap. 1 stars
9/24/07 Derek Isla Fisher is good looking. But this film is definitly flat. Why is this being shown in US 2 stars
6/02/07 gina the best movie ever! so fricken funny! ryan johnson is hot also... 5 stars
11/11/05 WiggleGroove Very funny! (And this is coming from a Wiggles fan!) 5 stars
5/11/05 James The wog humour ain't funny anymore, and either is this piece of shit! 1 stars
5/11/05 Kev Giannopoulos should stick to the tried and tested wog movies. 1 stars
1/17/05 Film lover Someone stop Giannopoulos, before he directs again! 1 stars
1/14/05 Only non-plant I love how Giannopoulos himself keeps adding his own comments. Talk about desperate. 1 stars
11/22/04 Jessica Comtesse I (L) this movie! It is soooooo cool! Ryan Johnsen is lyk sooooooooooooooooo cute! (Hammer) 5 stars
11/08/04 Nia Very,very funny.Nick G is da man!!!! 5 stars
10/21/04 cailtin THIS FILF F##KIN' ROX!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/28/04 Natasha da best movie ever 5 stars
8/22/04 emma it is the koolest movie! 5 stars
7/17/04 sambo mcrambo tops! tops! tops! 5 stars
6/11/04 Moria Sela I think it was pretty funny. i love ryan johnson so much!! 4 stars
6/06/04 Mandy Tailor I thought the movie was funny, and Ryan Johnson is a HOTTIE 5 stars
5/08/04 Elisa ryan johnson is hot he is all mine 5 stars
5/08/04 jess ryan johnson is fuckin hot he is mine! i luv ryan 5 stars
3/31/04 Madison it was wicked!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/10/04 April Not bad... the songs are absolutely hilarious 3 stars
2/13/04 Ben movie wasnt too bad..parts funny 3 stars
2/11/04 Lauren funny 5 stars
1/30/04 kyle fuck you all, it was the funniest shit i've seen since scary movie! 5 stars
1/28/04 lozza i reckon the movie was a pissa! ryan johnson was definately a spunk! good on yaz 5 stars
1/25/04 carly me and my friend watched the movie twice in one day cos it was hilarious! ryan johnson is a 5 stars
1/22/04 coco Ryan is the hottie in the movie 5 stars
1/16/04 Bridget Ryan Johnson is soooo sexy!!!!!!! 4 stars
1/10/04 Johnno Awesome movie!! 5 stars
1/09/04 Zaharin Hamid aka The Movie Samseng Isla Fisher is HOT! The movie starts off strong but is downhill from there. 2 stars
1/07/04 emma ryan johnson is f****ing gorguz but crap movie 2 stars
1/06/04 sarah funny ryan johnson is sexyyyyy 5 stars
1/05/04 Katrina Awesome!! I would live to be hammered!!!!! 5 stars
1/03/04 reggie it was soooo crap!!!! 1 stars
1/01/04 Melissa A gotta see movie for everyone 5 stars
12/31/03 jade funny hot guys 5 stars
12/27/03 Peta Hammer is SOOOOOOO CUTE!! 4 stars
12/07/03 Natalie Great!!! Ryan Johnson is a major HOTTIE!!!! 5 stars
11/17/03 Didge loved it, Hammer (Ryan Johnson) is so hot! 5 stars
10/30/03 Jake Great! 5 stars
10/27/03 May B I demand a refund! 1 stars
10/27/03 Reedy Will Nick G appear at the Logies and demand the audience boo his low grosses? 1 stars
10/27/03 Mikey Truly a turkey for the ages 1 stars
10/27/03 Jason Atrocious! 1 stars
7/08/03 nr good 4 stars
6/17/03 amy two thumbs down! 1 stars
5/15/03 Nick Giannopoulos... ...is not very popular here, or very funny any more either... 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-May-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Sep-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast