More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.56

Awesome: 7.41%
Worth A Look: 11.11%
Average: 28.4%
Pretty Bad35.8%
Total Crap: 17.28%

3 reviews, 63 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Star Trek: Generations
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"Kirk is dead! wooHOO!"
3 stars

MAJOR SPOILERS! But I don't care: because Kirk dies! YAY! Finally! WooHOO! Let there be merriment!

I was raised on Star Trek. And I mean the real thing, baby. My Dad has every episode on tape. He actually likes Kirk. I always hated that fuckerhead.

This movie is based on the events which led to the demise of Kirk. In the 23rd Century, Cameron from Ferris Bueller's Day Off is all grown up and captain of the Enterprise B. Guests aboard the maiden voyage include the aformentioned Admirable Kirk, Checov, and Scotty. When a crisis situation develops in which two ships are lost in a weird energy ribbon, Kirk takes over and saves some of the people (including Whoopi Goldberg), but dying in the process. Time passes. The same energy ribbon is a problem again when one of the survivors is going to extreme lengths to get back inside it. Because the producers wanted to make Picard less cool, he has to enlist the help of none other than the deceased Kirk. I won't reveal how he comes back or anything...cause that's the part Whoopi is in and thus the coolest part.

The movie is not the best. It won't be too exciting for non-fans. (Unlike First Contact which is great for anyone, as is Star Trek IV) And fans might be offended by how the glorify Kirk (whom everyone knows always sucked ass anyways) at the expense of Picard.

It's interesting and all, but lacks in every other category, so only 3 sporks.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=767&reviewer=6
originally posted: 09/06/98 06:53:19
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

10/04/13 Danielsan Best of the odd # Trek movies. Kirk was sent off proper. 4 stars
5/27/13 Jeff Wilder Good to see Kirk and Picard team up. But it's emotionally inert overall. 2 stars
12/28/09 sam wilson Nothing about this movie works. 1 stars
9/08/09 the dork knight nice set pieces, but the weaker overall plot is embarassing 3 stars
8/30/09 matt Boo hoo. Kirk dies. This is an atrociously underrated movie, one of the best Trek films 5 stars
5/17/09 Sam Anticlimactic. Mediocre "action" scenes. KLINGON CLEAVAGE. YIKES. 3 stars
7/30/08 the dork knight Red alert. This movies blows 1 stars
10/18/07 Wendell O. Maness All Star Trek stuff is B.S. junk fiction trash, i hate it all! 1 stars
8/11/05 ES Given all the time travel the franchise should be called 'Time Trek' 1 stars
6/21/05 Indrid Cold As usual with Trek movies, the plot is weak and strange. Pretty satisfying though. 3 stars
6/08/05 Drew Peltier The Fuckers Killed a Legend! 4 stars
5/18/05 Pippin007 Story doesn't make sense. Star Wars is better 2 stars
7/08/04 Stevo Ugh. Warp to the next installment. 2 stars
4/24/04 Easter Lemming 2 1/2 Needs a Script Doctor 2 stars
2/14/04 malcolm OK, if being in the Nexus is so great, why is it so easy to get someone to leave? 3 stars
1/28/04 taryn mccoy kirk is dead noooooooo i miss him so much "cry cry cry" 5 stars
12/17/03 Tim Triangle Oddest star trek film a bit surreal and the most forgettable. 3 stars
6/29/03 Matt Thiel When an outsider (Nick Meyer) respects ST than its own producer, then something's wrong 2 stars
3/24/03 Jeff Good movie overall 5 stars
2/19/03 Matthew Jones Would've been 5 if Kirk hadn't died 4 stars
12/10/02 Zefram Mann Worst use of Malcolm McDowell outside the live action "Fist of the North Star" movie. 2 stars
11/23/02 Charles Tatum Almost as good as Part II 5 stars
10/18/02 Red Shirt Guy Rick Berman is killing Trek. A pathetic death for Kirk (Chewbacca died better in a book!) 2 stars
8/19/02 P.Rodriguez Worst movie of the franchise 1 stars
2/23/02 Mark Lloyd The whole film is one big plot hole. Premise dies in the first five minutes 1 stars
12/16/01 Kenneth E. Carper Lame but watchable. Better than those shitfests 4 & 6. That aint saying much! 3 stars
8/09/01 KC Au Good until Kirk disappears. After that...zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz 2 stars
8/01/01 TLsmooth Who lets them keep making Shit Trek movies? They should be dipped in shit and lit on fire. 1 stars
7/15/01 Rampage Hey Avenger Girl, get a room! Thank God Kirk died! 1 stars
7/15/01 Tiberius1983 The most piss-poor Trek movie of all time 1 stars
6/23/01 Dean Oh God... Kirk is a legend and it dies like FUCKING THAT? Why oh WHY!?!?! 2 stars
6/01/01 Roy Smith Really bad way to start the Next Gen movies. 2 stars
5/07/01 Gracy Lionheart B is for...Boring, Bad, Bluh. In other words, I was not impressed. and I am a fan of S.T. 1 stars
4/11/01 Emperor Matthew I Killing Kirk by dropping him off a cliff was very piss-poor if I may say so! 1 stars
2/16/01 James Pointless, lackluster story. Only good thing is that Kirk died! 2 stars
2/04/01 Avenger Girl Total ShITE..Trekkies need to get a life and grow up 1 stars
2/01/01 jordan don't like the next generation very much and i really don't like kirk's anticlimactic death 4 stars
1/03/01 fifu a good movie with great acting from roddy(kirks dead worst thing ever) 4 stars
12/13/00 Emperor Websterus Dropping Kirk off a bridge is not a good way to kill him. 1 stars
11/02/00 viking Come on, it wasn't all that bad. "The Final Frontier" is by far the worst in the series 4 stars
10/09/00 Ground Zero I'd rather see Sorbo shoot his way through Andromeda. Worst ST movie I've seen 2 stars
7/30/00 Digitalus Go see Galaxy Quest 2 stars
6/26/00 Michael Eternity I walked out speechless, lost in the profundity this movie reflects. Amazing 5 stars
4/17/00 BB-15 The Klingon space battle saves this film from getting a "Total Crap" rating. 2 stars
3/09/00 Mr. Kramitall Horrible beyond recognition. Coulda been better, but good effects and acting. 2 stars
2/23/00 mss great entertainment 5 stars
1/19/00 Jedi15 What a bunch of horse shit! This makes V look like a classic! Good effects, though. 2 stars
1/10/00 Will flawed at best. 2 stars
10/24/99 Scarface This should be cut into 50 minutes and be made into the last episode of TNG 2 stars
10/17/99 Mr. Invincible WTH?! HOT DAMN THIS TRASH! 2 stars
10/07/99 sophia962 Kirk w/o Spock? NO NO NO! And a sorry ass bad guy. Weak 2 stars
10/03/99 Joe Schmoe Oh my God, you killed Kirk! You bastards! 2 stars
6/07/99 Elizaveta Great Ideas! I think I love McDowell's character more than Jean-Luc! 4 stars
5/10/99 Arkansas Jon Nice transitional movie. Entertaining but not epic. 3 stars
5/02/99 Michael Grimm Not a trekkie, but not bad 3 stars
3/30/99 youngm_sisko Not Good. Better To See First Contact. 2 stars
1/25/99 Yo Momma Not a fan of the show, but fairly good. Not much of a great movie. 3 stars
1/08/99 Jo Mama lame plot. Kirk went out like a...BIATCH! 2 stars
12/04/98 Shadow Raider Great chessy death scenesand time travel... Kirk's dead!? Oh boy... 3 stars
11/05/98 Bad Kosh Too bad Kirk died. And the Enterprise got downed forever... sigh... 3 stars
10/24/98 grunter Continues 2 Trek traditions: time travel and cheesy death scenes. 4 stars
9/02/98 J-Guy I dug it, I'm a fan of the show, though. It keeps up with the show in quality. 4 stars
8/30/98 Johny Bored me to death 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Nov-1994 (PG)
  DVD: 07-Sep-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  30-Mar-1995 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast