More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.56

Awesome: 7.41%
Worth A Look: 11.11%
Average: 28.4%
Pretty Bad35.8%
Total Crap: 17.28%

3 reviews, 63 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Star Trek: Generations
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Speak for yourself sir, I plan to live forever."
2 stars

Bleah. Too much for fans, not enough for everyone else.

This was what was supposed to be the kickoff to the second half of the franchise? This was supposed to be the one? The one to make us forget about "The Final Frontier?"

Please.

An unworthy film (it's odd numbered, so you already know it's a little bit inferior) in an average franchise.

So Kirk dies. Quietly, almost in a subtle way.

Well, whoopty shit, Crow.

It starts off where Kirk dies once, when some sort of energy field rocks the ship and he gets tossed into space. Apparently he's all right, though, but more on that later. Malcolm McDowell comes aboard. He's Dr. Soran, and he's absolutely got to get back onto some planet and be there for the energy field. Right.

Jump ahead some 75-80 years. Picard (Patrick Stewart) and his Enterprise crew go on a rescue mission to an observatory, and hey, what do you know, there's Soran again, wanting to be in that field. Why, you ask?

Well, Whoopi Goldberg (she's apparently the expert, despite being only the ship's bartender) explains that the energy field, called the Nexus, bathes whoever gets caught in it in "joy." Um, right. It's like cosmic Prozac, or something. Soran will do anything to get into that Nexus, including blow up planets and stand on rickety old platforms, waiting for it to roll over him like a lame special effect.

Picard must stop him, so the countless numbers of people who live on the planet won't die just so Soran can get his jollies. But he can't do it alone...he needs SuperKirk!

Well, just Kirk, who's alive and well and living in bliss (he got sucked into the Nexus). Picard brings Kirk out of retirement to fight in a completely boring three-way Texas death match with Soran. Kirk dies (his last words? "Oh my."). Picard gets misty, saves the day, you know the rest.

Oh, and Data (Brent Spiner) gets his emotion chip. Lame stuff, kids.

As the big screen intro for the Next Generation cast, it stunk. As an odd numbered Trek film, it was par for the course.

There are better Trek films to see. This ain't one of 'em. Rent Wrath of Khan or First Contact if you need Trek movies.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=767&reviewer=7
originally posted: 12/12/98 02:01:01
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

10/04/13 Danielsan Best of the odd # Trek movies. Kirk was sent off proper. 4 stars
5/27/13 Jeff Wilder Good to see Kirk and Picard team up. But it's emotionally inert overall. 2 stars
12/28/09 sam wilson Nothing about this movie works. 1 stars
9/08/09 the dork knight nice set pieces, but the weaker overall plot is embarassing 3 stars
8/30/09 matt Boo hoo. Kirk dies. This is an atrociously underrated movie, one of the best Trek films 5 stars
5/17/09 Sam Anticlimactic. Mediocre "action" scenes. KLINGON CLEAVAGE. YIKES. 3 stars
7/30/08 the dork knight Red alert. This movies blows 1 stars
10/18/07 Wendell O. Maness All Star Trek stuff is B.S. junk fiction trash, i hate it all! 1 stars
8/11/05 ES Given all the time travel the franchise should be called 'Time Trek' 1 stars
6/21/05 Indrid Cold As usual with Trek movies, the plot is weak and strange. Pretty satisfying though. 3 stars
6/08/05 Drew Peltier The Fuckers Killed a Legend! 4 stars
5/18/05 Pippin007 Story doesn't make sense. Star Wars is better 2 stars
7/08/04 Stevo Ugh. Warp to the next installment. 2 stars
4/24/04 Easter Lemming 2 1/2 Needs a Script Doctor 2 stars
2/14/04 malcolm OK, if being in the Nexus is so great, why is it so easy to get someone to leave? 3 stars
1/28/04 taryn mccoy kirk is dead noooooooo i miss him so much "cry cry cry" 5 stars
12/17/03 Tim Triangle Oddest star trek film a bit surreal and the most forgettable. 3 stars
6/29/03 Matt Thiel When an outsider (Nick Meyer) respects ST than its own producer, then something's wrong 2 stars
3/24/03 Jeff Good movie overall 5 stars
2/19/03 Matthew Jones Would've been 5 if Kirk hadn't died 4 stars
12/10/02 Zefram Mann Worst use of Malcolm McDowell outside the live action "Fist of the North Star" movie. 2 stars
11/23/02 Charles Tatum Almost as good as Part II 5 stars
10/18/02 Red Shirt Guy Rick Berman is killing Trek. A pathetic death for Kirk (Chewbacca died better in a book!) 2 stars
8/19/02 P.Rodriguez Worst movie of the franchise 1 stars
2/23/02 Mark Lloyd The whole film is one big plot hole. Premise dies in the first five minutes 1 stars
12/16/01 Kenneth E. Carper Lame but watchable. Better than those shitfests 4 & 6. That aint saying much! 3 stars
8/09/01 KC Au Good until Kirk disappears. After that...zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz 2 stars
8/01/01 TLsmooth Who lets them keep making Shit Trek movies? They should be dipped in shit and lit on fire. 1 stars
7/15/01 Rampage Hey Avenger Girl, get a room! Thank God Kirk died! 1 stars
7/15/01 Tiberius1983 The most piss-poor Trek movie of all time 1 stars
6/23/01 Dean Oh God... Kirk is a legend and it dies like FUCKING THAT? Why oh WHY!?!?! 2 stars
6/01/01 Roy Smith Really bad way to start the Next Gen movies. 2 stars
5/07/01 Gracy Lionheart B is for...Boring, Bad, Bluh. In other words, I was not impressed. and I am a fan of S.T. 1 stars
4/11/01 Emperor Matthew I Killing Kirk by dropping him off a cliff was very piss-poor if I may say so! 1 stars
2/16/01 James Pointless, lackluster story. Only good thing is that Kirk died! 2 stars
2/04/01 Avenger Girl Total ShITE..Trekkies need to get a life and grow up 1 stars
2/01/01 jordan don't like the next generation very much and i really don't like kirk's anticlimactic death 4 stars
1/03/01 fifu a good movie with great acting from roddy(kirks dead worst thing ever) 4 stars
12/13/00 Emperor Websterus Dropping Kirk off a bridge is not a good way to kill him. 1 stars
11/02/00 viking Come on, it wasn't all that bad. "The Final Frontier" is by far the worst in the series 4 stars
10/09/00 Ground Zero I'd rather see Sorbo shoot his way through Andromeda. Worst ST movie I've seen 2 stars
7/30/00 Digitalus Go see Galaxy Quest 2 stars
6/26/00 Michael Eternity I walked out speechless, lost in the profundity this movie reflects. Amazing 5 stars
4/17/00 BB-15 The Klingon space battle saves this film from getting a "Total Crap" rating. 2 stars
3/09/00 Mr. Kramitall Horrible beyond recognition. Coulda been better, but good effects and acting. 2 stars
2/23/00 mss great entertainment 5 stars
1/19/00 Jedi15 What a bunch of horse shit! This makes V look like a classic! Good effects, though. 2 stars
1/10/00 Will flawed at best. 2 stars
10/24/99 Scarface This should be cut into 50 minutes and be made into the last episode of TNG 2 stars
10/17/99 Mr. Invincible WTH?! HOT DAMN THIS TRASH! 2 stars
10/07/99 sophia962 Kirk w/o Spock? NO NO NO! And a sorry ass bad guy. Weak 2 stars
10/03/99 Joe Schmoe Oh my God, you killed Kirk! You bastards! 2 stars
6/07/99 Elizaveta Great Ideas! I think I love McDowell's character more than Jean-Luc! 4 stars
5/10/99 Arkansas Jon Nice transitional movie. Entertaining but not epic. 3 stars
5/02/99 Michael Grimm Not a trekkie, but not bad 3 stars
3/30/99 youngm_sisko Not Good. Better To See First Contact. 2 stars
1/25/99 Yo Momma Not a fan of the show, but fairly good. Not much of a great movie. 3 stars
1/08/99 Jo Mama lame plot. Kirk went out like a...BIATCH! 2 stars
12/04/98 Shadow Raider Great chessy death scenesand time travel... Kirk's dead!? Oh boy... 3 stars
11/05/98 Bad Kosh Too bad Kirk died. And the Enterprise got downed forever... sigh... 3 stars
10/24/98 grunter Continues 2 Trek traditions: time travel and cheesy death scenes. 4 stars
9/02/98 J-Guy I dug it, I'm a fan of the show, though. It keeps up with the show in quality. 4 stars
8/30/98 Johny Bored me to death 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Nov-1994 (PG)
  DVD: 07-Sep-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  30-Mar-1995 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast