More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.45

Awesome: 17.46%
Worth A Look: 5.56%
Average: 24.6%
Pretty Bad: 9.52%
Total Crap42.86%

6 reviews, 90 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Charlie's Angels: Full Throttle
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by wintermute

"The Sports Illustrated Swimsuit Edition of movies"
3 stars

I have often thought that, given an unlimited amount of money, McG would be able to conceive, execute and film some of the most eye-catching stunts in the history of cinema. Unfortunately, Hollywood has realized that such a film would probably most resemble the disjointed dreams of a schizophrenic, with a complete absence of narrative or structure. What led them to these conclusions? Films like Charlie's Angels 2: Full Throttle

Don't get me wrong - I enjoyed this film. It's always fun to spot the bright colours, whirling cameras and unnecessary slow motion that have become staples of McG's 'hipster' film making. You get the impression that he is the embodiment of Hugh Grant's character in About a Boy: someone who could tell you what cross trainers to buy, or what cd's are cool, but other than that, unable to offer any advice regarding the emotional or spiritual plane of human existence. McG's characters smile when they are happy and cry when they are sad, and at the end, there is a big group hug and everything is ok. Strip away the violence, loud music and skimpy clothing and in essence what we have here is an extended children's tv program, without the moral or safety lesson.

But is this a bad thing? Is it written in some rule book on some dusty shelf that all films must contain an elaborate subtext wherein the 'auteur' crams as much meaningful social, spiritual or political commentary as possible? Must we see a fully developed character arc? Is there no room for ass jokes in our modern multiplexes?

McG is certainly an auteur, but he is painting with a different brush. His characters are defined in short introductory vignettes and never deviate more than a few feet from their pre-destined path - the cheerful Angel is bubbly and airheaded, the sultry Angel is man hungry and sentimental, and the icey Angel is intellectual and detached. That's just how it is, and if you want to see a film where the cheerful Angel becomes self aware and the intellectual Angel learns to love, then write it and film it yourself. If you want to see a film where some detective chicks get to try on a lot of different costumes and blow stuff up, then you are in the right place.

McG excels at constructing elaborate set pieces and letting his characters lose to play in them. His ability to instantly set the tone of a scene, though suggestive colour, quick camera shots delineating the most important aspects of the new environment, and music allows him to corral his audience and tie them to his hyperactive point of view. Yes, his Angels get to change costumes more often than I shower in a given week, but every feather boa and leather pantsuit is another brick in the complicated architecture of McG's personal style, and every explosion is merely the exclamation point at the end of his sentence.

A note, however, on the most noticeable casting choice in the film. Bernie Mac is clearly out of his element. Whereas Bill Murray, one of the funniest beings born of a human mother, was more than capable of adapting his free-form funniness to the wacky antics of his Angel flock, Mac stutters and stumbles his way through his lines and is so self conscious I honestly thought he himself was going to yell 'cut' at any time. This is unfortunate, since he is such a gifted comedian. But if Robin Williams has taught us anything, it's that you've got to pick your roles.

McG should seriously consider branching out into travel documentaries. His incendiary colour choice and fast paced editing style could make even the state of Nebraska seem deadly, dangerous and exciting. And no one would complain if Nebraska had no plot.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7673&reviewer=321
originally posted: 07/08/03 01:25:40
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

10/12/10 simon loved the first one, hated this! it's insultingly stupid!!!! 1 stars
6/08/10 Flathead King Few films are worse than this one. 1 stars
5/11/08 drydock54321 just as bad as the first one 2 stars
12/26/06 johnnyfog With Sam Rockwell gone, all thats left is Demi pretending she's gay. SHIT 1 stars
10/30/06 Jimmey-Cheen Taking crap to a new level!!! If there was a 0 star selection I'd take it!!! 1 stars
7/21/06 Anthony Feor I am going to say pass 3 stars
5/26/06 William Goss Crosses the line between dumb fun and just plain dumb that made the first so entertaining. 3 stars
2/05/06 Shawn Gadberry What went wrong after such a great C.A.#1? Blah... 3 stars
10/17/05 Hamster W. Lung Gave me anal warts 1 stars
9/28/05 Jonathon Holmes Moore, Diaz, Barrymore and Liu cant save this mess 2 stars
9/01/05 ES Bernie! Why?!? Not even you could save this cretinous lump of crap 1 stars
6/25/05 Mr Fluffy What in God's name was that? 1 stars
4/26/05 E-FUNK A limp-dick end to a repulsive franchise hopeful. I'm actually glads this was made. 1 stars
3/03/05 Laurie Le Blanc Crispin Glove/Thin Man's cameo is the only reason to see this movie! 3 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams thank GOD I didnt pay to watch this. 1 stars
8/27/04 ranger4e Unless you are into T&A, avoid. 1 stars
8/01/04 DM Good Lord, what have I done? 1 stars
7/19/04 Kill Charlie Holy crap was this move godawful. One of the worst ever. Avoid avoid avoid. 1 stars
7/19/04 axe warped and on speed captain! zzzzzzz@!@!@!ssssssss 3 stars
6/12/04 DJ ERIC 88 the motorcycle scenes rocked! THE BEST OF THE2 MOVIES! 5 stars
5/29/04 person I thought the film was eye catching and fun! 4 stars
5/26/04 Daveman Painful 1 stars
5/15/04 Mortis None of these women can act enough to save their own lives! 1 stars
5/06/04 HorrorScribbler Amiable nonsense. I think it was a comedy ... 3 stars
3/21/04 Natalie's good a second time, but... Helen treats audience like toilet paper -- they hafta take lots of shit off Helen Zass! 1 stars
1/29/04 EIHFHIS I saw Cameron in a BIKINI!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/27/04 lonesome_whistle Unbelieveably stupid - someone owes me $8.50! 1 stars
1/24/04 esther the worst film i saw last year 1 stars
1/20/04 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne First was good in very silly way, but Drew Barrymore sucks her won turds this time. 1 stars
1/08/04 A F Ok Lucy I love you but, you can do better than this heap. 2 stars
1/05/04 beautie never seen so much shithole heaped together 1 stars
12/20/03 Johnny Fay anyone who likes this movie should be killed!!!!!!!! 1 stars
11/28/03 john how bad can a movie actually get? a new world record ladies and gentlemen! 1 stars
11/27/03 he a good film 3 stars
11/25/03 Thiago Cool movie, bu the first one was better. still, The angels are more comfortable now. 3 stars
11/23/03 Mary P-U Reinforced my dislike for Camer, disappointed in Drew's choice to be in this crapper. 1 stars
11/22/03 he a good film but not great 3 stars
10/11/03 !BoRiNg! Its was stupid and lame 1 stars
10/07/03 kizes_rose17@yahoo.com it was so fantastic movie!!great! 4 stars
9/25/03 Jenna Furr What a letdown that this is harpy vomit, after first was so delightfully absurd! 1 stars
9/15/03 Carrie Kohl First is stupid in a fun and funny way. This is just stupid. 1 stars
9/14/03 Monica I'd just as soon see a crocodile swallow Helen Zass whole! 1 stars
9/12/03 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne Wish I could bury more of Drew's shitty flicks. Only Natalie was good this time. 1 stars
9/03/03 here beter then the first one 5 stars
9/02/03 Kitty B. u shoulda kept bill murray 1 stars
8/19/03 JJ from da block Where is freakin Kate, Jacky and Farrah dammit 1 stars
8/16/03 Red great 5 stars
8/13/03 Troy Butler Poor movie, ... but then again, ... that's not why we went to see it, now was it?! (Yummy)! 3 stars
8/09/03 Azza Mind numbing crap at its worst. 1 stars
7/31/03 nr GREAT I LOVED IT BETTER THEN THE FIRST 5 stars
7/29/03 Casey and Krissy The Movie Rules Mother Fuckers 5 stars
7/29/03 Charles Townsend This dissapointed even me!!!! 2 stars
7/23/03 Kooler Incoherant, occasionally fun. 3 stars
7/23/03 Shadaan Felfeli Jam packed with ridiculous impossibilities. Very entertaining ! 3 stars
7/22/03 Graham I didn't want to hit the director, which is as good as it gets this summer. Fun! 4 stars
7/21/03 Zargo not as good as the original.. still fun though 4 stars
7/19/03 Hottie I thought this was a GREAT movie and the actors did great also! 5 stars
7/18/03 Althalus The best movie so far this year. Matrix suck my d...k. 5 stars
7/17/03 Katie Roberts The 1st was gd fun, but this is complete crap, it has no story line, basically no point all 1 stars
7/15/03 sneaker Brainless? Yes. Fun? My word! It's Vin Diesel for girls. Fair's fair. 4 stars
7/11/03 Danielle Ophelia Filmed in loud strobes and hiccups...and a bit TOO Cameron-centric. Vastly underwhelming. 2 stars
7/09/03 Uncle Salty Charlies Fuglies: Demi is decent only since she is now a cyborg. 1 stars
7/08/03 Harpreet lots of T & A, not much plot. But I had a great time watching it and not having to think. 4 stars
7/08/03 nr GREAT I LOVED IT BETTER THEN THE FIRST 5 stars
7/08/03 Young critic junk...bottom line 1 stars
7/08/03 Todd Fuck you McG! Fuck you Camron! Fuck you Luci! and Fuck you Drew! Worst movie ever!!!!!!!! 1 stars
7/07/03 Trevor Ashman I loved every minute of it 5 stars
7/07/03 Hottie I thought this was a GREAT movie and the actors did great also! 5 stars
7/07/03 Emperor's New Clothes? Nope. Just a Fat, Ugly, Naked, Guy. Maybe our worthy reviewers see something us regular ol' viewers don't? Maybe not. 1 stars
7/07/03 Mike Glorified music video. Visual style my ass, Snider. 1 stars
7/06/03 adhump sucked enough for me to think about leaving30 mins into it .... 1 stars
7/04/03 vkm007 I CANNOT BELIEVE I PAID MONEY 1 stars
7/03/03 rog bad 1 stars
7/03/03 John Linton Roberson Someday, "stupid" will not justify crap's existence. 1 stars
7/03/03 R. Elizabeth Caulfield This movie was excellent, very comedic, very predictable yet comedic and fun. 5 stars
7/02/03 black leather jacket Was a fun film! Crank on the serious side alittle and you'd get a better film! 5 stars
7/02/03 ddd great i loved it 5 stars
7/02/03 snowconehead McG needs a new McJob other than McDirecting 3 stars
7/01/03 KingNeutron This is a perfect example of how NOT to make an action movie. 1 stars
7/01/03 MJM103171 i enjoyed it (first was bettter though) 4 stars
7/01/03 Obi Wan no way!! 1 stars
6/30/03 Cameron Johnson This movie is nothing but mindless T and A with an absolutely motiveless plot. 1 stars
6/30/03 i know movies i loved it sooo much i dont no wut yall are talkin bout 5 stars
6/30/03 KCobain Horrid 1 stars
6/30/03 he I LOVED THIS FILM BETTER THEN THE FIRST ONE 5 stars
6/29/03 ken real bad 1 stars
6/28/03 lebron avoid 1 stars
6/28/03 fdgdfgfd First movie was pretty bad, but this movie was even worse! 1 stars
6/28/03 The Kid Hollywood drivel at it worst. Even with four hot chicks mostly naked it was hard to watch. 1 stars
6/28/03 syrius eeehhhhh 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-Jun-2003 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  03-Jul-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast