More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.77

Awesome47.69%
Worth A Look: 15.38%
Average: 10%
Pretty Bad: 20%
Total Crap: 6.92%

4 reviews, 106 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Interview with the Vampire
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"That bitchy little girl rulz"
2 stars

Brad gets to whine whine whine. And Tom gets to be evil. And a small child actress gets to be a total spoiled brat.

Brad Pitt is Lois. his family dies. He's all depressed so he thinks it might be a good idea to become a vampire. On this extremely shaky ground is constructed a movie based on the tense relationships that develop when you live forever. Lestat (Tom Cruise) is the mentor Vampire that Brad grows to hate. At a low point in this movie, they actually go to france. *Barf*

The movie itself, I mean the writing is actually quite interesting and well done. Although I havn't read it, there is no doubt in my mind that the book is worth it. However, the characters themselves, simply put, suck. No one is whinier than brad in this movie, and almost all shots of him are gratuitous and self indulgent. I don't care how hot you think he is, he wasn't into his "acting" phase until 7 and 12 monkeys, so automatically we know he approached this role as standing around looking pretty and vulnerable. Which he does. He does get upstaged by the little girl. She's an excellent bitch. I like her. I saw her on celebrity Jeopardy, though and she's as dumb as a box of hammers.

The perfprmances are lacking all arund. Christian Slater's redeeming quality (in my opinon) is his voice, but he doesn't get to use it to its fullest excent here, because the director is pushing his teenybopper status. She's doing the same for Tom, whose redeeming quality is the sometimes ability to act, which he doesn't really employ here. But I think the real fault of this movie is the direction. The actors didn't even have the choice to do well because they decided early on to make this movie appeal to women and after all, women aren't interested in good film, they just want hunky guys with their long hair blowing in the wind wearing puffy shirts and looking sad.

Fuck the producers and Directors of this movie for being so damned condescending ANd making a crappy end product. 2 sporks.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=768&reviewer=6
originally posted: 09/06/98 15:27:20
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/30/10 PAUL SHORTT UNAPPEALING AND BROODING, DESPITE GOOD SET-PIECES 2 stars
2/05/09 Faraz J Excellent story and acting by the 3 leads. Kirsten was amazingly good, 5 stars
1/21/09 Anonymous. good creepy movie. :] 4 stars
1/19/09 Fruitcake angel Sumptuous, elegant vampire moviie. 4 stars
12/01/08 Tomi Great stuff 4 stars
11/09/08 Dr.Lao Not bad, but why is it supposed to be great? 3 stars
6/26/08 flora one of the bext vampire movies ever. pitt and cruise had chemistry! dunst was superb! 5 stars
5/26/08 Roz One of Tom Cruise's more impressive roles. Same for Kirsten Dunst too. 5 stars
5/01/08 art a very DIFFERENY VAMPIRE STORY TO SAY THE LEAST 3 stars
12/06/07 Pamela White typical goulish genre, tries to humanize vampires but hard to sell 2 stars
10/24/07 Ivana Mann Sterile, sexless adaptation of a stirring novel.Cruise & Pitt=no chemistry! 2 stars
2/18/07 Nick Maday This is one I've loved since the first time I saw it. Loved the cast. 5 stars
2/08/07 Raph Branca I loved the books and still didn't hate this movie. 4 stars
2/03/07 David Pollastrini didn't find it very scary. Liked the concept though. 3 stars
12/21/06 Bitchflaps Abysmal, pretentious film for pretentious people who read pretentious books. 1 stars
10/27/06 garcia, grace ann a. very impressing! 5 stars
6/02/06 LC Excellent movie! 5 stars
5/12/06 mr.seraph i found this movie was beautiful especialy with the lighting 5 stars
10/26/05 noops gr8 acting by cruise & brad pitt,a decent movie 4 stars
10/10/05 Agent Sands Fucking great. I know Anne Rice wasn't impressed, but I definitely am. 5 stars
8/31/05 Indrid Cold The dreary story feels longer than it is, several interesting moments though. 3 stars
8/26/05 ES Cruise was fairly decent as the comic relief, Pitt's acting is abyssmal, as usual 3 stars
8/25/05 Eden Well directed but boring and lifeless. Strangely homoerotic 2 stars
8/15/05 Aldo it doesn't really go nowhere....great cast thats it.. 2 stars
7/21/05 John what a bore 1 stars
2/15/05 J. Elaine Greenup Really Cool! 5 stars
2/02/05 CelticDawn Good movie, but a little freaky at times 4 stars
1/18/05 Steve Newman Heap of shit - what a disappointment (get the book its better) 1 stars
1/02/05 Samuel pretty good. 4 stars
12/15/04 Tom Benton The best vampire movie yet; wonderfully directed, with flawless production design. 5 stars
11/08/04 Birdie Amazing film... book was just a bit better 5 stars
8/08/04 McGraw Lush, fantastic, with Jordan's expert direction and Cruise's scenery-chewing preformance. 5 stars
4/11/04 valerie hart this was a touching film and all about lust and pain the story istouching 4 stars
4/11/04 christine this is the best movie ever 5 stars
4/06/04 jennifer this movie kicks ass 5 stars
3/30/04 vegeta999 I felt that the movie stayed true to the themes and mood expressed in the novel. Wonderful. 5 stars
2/08/04 ladeela alright movie but has THE BEST ending EVER 4 stars
1/25/04 Nanja I LOVE THIS MOVIE!! No really, I simply adore it. 5 stars
12/20/03 john giving this movie to Neil Jordan to direct is like giving "The Untouchables" to Bergman 1 stars
12/05/03 Phil A quality film noir 5 stars
11/25/03 Thiago Best vampire film ever. I love Anne Rice's novels, they should all become movies. 5 stars
11/01/03 I Would An incohesive story is not helped by this film's abundance of unintentional laughs 2 stars
10/14/03 jamie zeleniak I have seen this movie several times nd I love this movie! 5 stars
9/21/03 Darryl One of the FEW movies with Cruise that I actually think is okay. 3 stars
6/22/03 cochese boring 2 stars
4/23/03 Fergus boring as all hell. Horror my ass. Fight should've lasted longer b/w louie & santiago. 2 stars
3/07/03 Glenn Just blows me away, top 5 5 stars
1/26/03 helen boyd excellent film 5 stars
1/03/03 Empress of Misrule best Cruise role to date - still, wonder how he felt being out-acted by a 12-year-old? 4 stars
11/20/02 Casey C. Tom's Lestat sucked but the others were awesome (Pitt & Dunst)! 5 stars
11/09/02 Steve laughable 1 stars
11/06/02 Daniel This should be in the chick flick section, not the horror section. 2 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Rice was right the first time- Cruise is terrible 2 stars
7/27/02 I Can't Swim EVEN Tom is good in this one! Love him breaking Brad's balls! Dunst memorable too! 5 stars
5/11/02 Butterbean My favorite vampire movie. Pitt and Cruise were surprisingly brilliant in this. 5 stars
4/11/02 Sheila T. Awsome movie!! This movie tells about the more human side of the vampire 5 stars
4/02/02 Film Guy Diffrent look towards Vampires. a Good film 5 stars
3/02/02 Alex Ross I've directed high school plays that were far, far superior in all respects to this crap! 1 stars
2/26/02 Meryl K. The reviewers are quite obviously insane. Awesome version of an awesome book. 5 stars
2/22/02 mwildema some what interesting 3 stars
2/05/02 Frances Hey it's not so bad is it? I thought it was quite cool! 4 stars
12/19/01 Monya_t This movie is, by far, one of the most realistic interpretations of the so-called "vampire" 5 stars
11/27/01 KMG This is a very very good movie, beautiful love story...not a vamp flick at all. 5 stars
11/02/01 Andrew Carden Kirstin Dunst Is Good, but The Movie Is Overall A Bad Rehash Of The Classic Drac Films. 2 stars
10/02/01 stacey great movie 5 stars
9/23/01 Larry Smith A "different" vampire story! Worth seeing! 4 stars
9/01/01 Butterbean I never thought I would be turned on by homoerotica 5 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Believable period piece. One of the best vampire movies around. 4 stars
7/29/01 Jennifer Gaissert Cruise was miscast, the rest was quite good 4 stars
7/17/01 Piz take away Pitt, Cruise, Slater, and this movie gets shitty reviews...way overrated 2 stars
6/20/01 Dylan good 5 stars
6/20/01 houbara The best horror film ive seen- and oh that Brad Pitt! 5 stars
6/02/01 Basil Kirsten Dunst was excellent. 5 stars
4/03/01 NightRain Beautiful and sublte eroticism. And very realistic. Brad, Tom do another one! 5 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L This is a VERY good, and different, vampire movie, but its not Hammer films.... 5 stars
3/12/01 Jon Cotleur This movie's about to be blasphemized by its 'sequel.' Better honor it while I can. 5 stars
3/08/01 Sanja love the roles 4 stars
2/22/01 Amadeo Forever The Shadow Wraith(amadeoest) It is the best and most realistic vampire movie i have ever seen and I still watch it today 5 stars
1/25/01 Princess Lissa Brad is so hot, i don't think that the movie is that bad. i loved it! 5 stars
11/24/00 The Evil Penguin toooooooooooooooooooooooooo overrated 2 stars
11/10/00 Ben Very good start, but a cheap and self-defeating finish. 4 stars
9/26/00 Edwina Leavy This was one of the best movies that I think Brad Pitt and Tom Cruise has done together. 5 stars
7/19/00 Naushad Khanji So bad and utterly boring that you will scream in agony 1 stars
6/04/00 The Vampire Hojo Cruise is astounding. Dunst has one of the all-time best child performances. Flawless movie 5 stars
6/02/00 Wafer An awesome movie that I still watch all the time 5 stars
5/25/00 Elvisfan Dunst & her agression made the guys look like they were in a coma; Brad was good too 4 stars
4/24/00 Ryan By far... one of the best films ever made.... 5 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski On par with "Bram Stoker's Dracula"...KICKS ASS!!! 5 stars
1/18/00 Jedi15 Finally, the way vampires REALLY are! Give me this over Dracula any day! 5 stars
1/04/00 PervertedPixie Dunst is an absolute mistress! Cruise and Banderas are camp beyond belief! 5 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Easily the best vamp flick of all time. 5 stars
6/07/99 Elizaveta This film is character! Brilliant! I see why Anne Rice was pleased. 5 stars
5/29/99 MRHOLLYWOOD !! Great Directing/Casting & suspense,a timeless classic 5 stars
5/24/99 PurityJustBegs A metaphorical, involving film that entrances and provokes...brilliant and amazing! 5 stars
3/08/99 CanadianChica Dunst was very good, Brad was better. 4 stars
3/01/99 Spankey We love you Brad!! Kristen Dunst was amazing...could have been shorter 5 stars
1/07/99 Jo Mama a very human view of vampires 5 stars
1/03/99 Dasha I loved it. Much better than the novel. 5 stars
12/06/98 Ryan Meade Tedious in the extreme - I can't believe Jordan went on to direct the sublime Butcher Boy 1 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob Damn, I like this one. Just creeps in there, I guess. 5 stars
10/21/98 Sailor Moon Ate My Balls Screw this shit, vampires suck ass. If you like it, then you're just a dumbass suck, ok? 2 stars
9/29/98 katherine I like this film. i have an intererst in vampires. 4 stars
9/28/98 Heather I've seen this one over and over, and I always drool over the costuming! 5 stars
9/23/98 Patti Brad Pitt is hot, and the story is great. I will admit that the book was better though. 5 stars
9/13/98 BBReBozo I fell asleep, woke up and saw Banderas. I went back to sleep. 1 stars
9/02/98 J-Guy good film, again, too trendy. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Nov-1994 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Neil Jordan

Written by
  Anne Rice

Cast
  Brad Pitt
  Christian Slater
  Tom Cruise
  Antonio Banderas
  Kirsten Dunst
  Thandie Newton



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast