More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.01

Awesome: 12.04%
Worth A Look31.48%
Average: 25%
Pretty Bad: 8.33%
Total Crap: 23.15%

5 reviews, 78 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Stargate
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"Good Idea, Bad Execution, But No Vomit."
3 stars

One of the things that me and my dad were attracted to this movie was the interesting theory that this film lays out as it's main idea for it, since of course, me and my dad are science fanatics. The only problem is that this film turns sour and almost awful, due to some embarrassing and stupid moments that hamper this promising film, still, it's an interesting film to watch; that is if you can stick through the bad parts and enjoy the good ones.

Dr. Daniel Jackson, who is a brilliant, but broke archaeologist and linguist, gets an offer from a mysterious old lady called Catherine (Viveca Lindfors), to come to Colorado and help on a military project that consists of deciphering hieroglyphs and other weird symbols on a cover stone, which of course is the key to open the Stargate. As time goes by we get to see that Catherine is the daughter of an archaeologist that discovered the gate back in 1928 (hence the intro), and we are also introduced to Col. Jack O'Neil (Kurt Russell), who’s the project leader, and has recently lost his kid. So Jackson deciphers all those symbols that are constellations, and soon he helps to open for the very first time the Stargate, then a team is assigned for a reconnaissance the other side of the gate, which leads to a distant planet with similar conditions in Earth, and Jackson and O'Neil are assigned to it, and there's where the story takes off, since they find out about the evil alien Ra, and his intentions of destroying planet Earth and all that shit, that these guys in the end have to stop.

The first part of the film comes out strong, since the theory of the Egyptian pyramids really nails the interest of any Egyptian buff. Of course this theory is highly possible, and is discussed throughout the first part of the film. That was the best moment of the film.

The praise ends there, and when our heroes go into the other side of the gate, that's when everything starts to crumble. Sure the rest of the story is believable, but then it gets all thrown off when we discover that O'Neil is carrying a secret nuclear bomb. And then we realize about O'Neil's order, which signals the downfall of the film. Track down any signs of danger I have to blow up the Stargate. I also asked myself, now why the fuck would anyone would do that. If the military acted like this, there wouldn't be so much shit about UFOs surrounding and biting their ass. The step that the film makes at that point is downright ridiculous, it would be illogical EVEN for the military to do something like that since they're the most dedicated people in the research of the unknown. Sheesh.

The alien costumes were cool, but unfortunately I was annoyed by the costume of the Sun God Ra (Jaye Davidson), the little fuck looks more like a Las Vegas Showgirl or plainly, some fucking faggot. That was annoying, and he definitely looked weak for a GOD, so that was kind of amusing. But the film's later action sequences and the final scene also leave something to be desired, and in fact, the last part of the film was pretty much dull. Sure the ending is pretty cool but doesn't make up for much, well; at least the fight was ass kicking.

In the end, if you want to see this film go see it at your own risk, it's entertaining and very interesting up towards the first half, but unfortunately loses it's touch in the end, but it's still viewable. Well, that's speaking for the half that likes movies, but the Egyptologist buffs; I guess this one’s for you.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=770&reviewer=235
originally posted: 07/29/01 10:47:28
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/06/14 Charles Tatum Just as cheesy as most of Emmerich's films 2 stars
7/29/10 Soni Much, much better than reviews say it is. 5 stars
5/29/09 xx- A nerd and some military fuck go to blow up some transsexual fag. WTF! 1 stars
5/07/09 true AWESOME! Little wonder it inspired a series. 5 stars
12/17/08 Man Out 6 Bucks Christofascism and gladiatorial sparring ruled by dull bureaucrats: A Caligula sequel 1 stars
4/27/08 Totir Alexandru Thanks to this movie I became a real Stargate fan. And I'm glad for this. 5 stars
1/01/08 Virgil Awful review, Scott, were you even paying attention? "Alien dog guys"? 3 stars
7/08/07 al smith solid sci fi.ryan arthur what a bell end 4 stars
4/17/07 Stevo The good: I laughed a lot. The bad: this isn't a comedy. stay the fuck away. 1 stars
3/22/07 45326 "bald weird guy"? ... this review is worth pennies. 4 stars
7/30/06 Ronin The colors provide nice atmosphere. Anyway not bad. 3 stars
5/31/06 Bryan McAllister love this movie..the series is even better 5 stars
3/10/06 Dk Its pretty good actually 4 stars
1/06/06 JM Synth So much wasted potential! The dull movie that spawned the neverending TV series 2 stars
8/13/05 ES Kurt Russell saves another almost terrible movie 3 stars
6/07/05 JD great idea but, movie a bit dissapointing, still worth seein once at least. 3 stars
5/15/05 Indrid Cold Feels exactly like a solid Sci-Fi channel movie. 3 stars
2/22/05 Captain Craig Good Sci-Fi for its time. 4 stars
2/11/05 Jeff Anderson STAR WARS LIKE QUIBBLES ASIDE, THIS IS ONE ENTERTAINING SCI-FI FILM WITH LOTS OF STYLE!!!!! 4 stars
2/03/05 Nick The show is better but the movie has better Jaffa in it. 4 stars
11/10/04 Westwood Incredible....Incredible... 5 stars
7/24/04 Valerie The movie is ok, but the TV series based on the movie, Stargate SG-1, is SUPERB! 3 stars
6/21/04 Rock Hound Ra! Ra! Ra! for the ancient Egyptians and their magical doughnuts! Exciting is not the word 2 stars
6/16/04 franknutz great movie see the directors cut and tv show 5 stars
6/05/04 alien assassin It may be silly, but it's nowhere near as bad as "Battlefield Earth" or "Waterworld" !!! 4 stars
4/27/04 Travis One of the best Sci-fi movies ever. Great plot, who else could have built the pyramids? 5 stars
1/19/04 jmsynth Don't know why I hate Stargate so much but I do. SG1 is even worse! 1 stars
12/06/03 john very boring sci fi movie - 1 stars
11/27/03 John if I can't sleep at night I put in this film and I'm snoring under the covers in 10 seconds 1 stars
8/05/03 I Would You don't feel any empathy for the lead characters, in fact I was rooting for Ra. 3 stars
7/25/03 Spunky001 An overall good sci fi movie for a family with young children 4 stars
7/01/03 francis So the millions years old alien is a petty, vindictive, spoilt brat! Right! 2 stars
4/23/03 R.W. Welch Nice premise but they didn't know what to do with it. 2 stars
3/12/03 The carpen excellent 5 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby Good start, familiar follow-through with guns a'blazin! Spader is only real asset. 2 stars
12/30/02 JCC Starts well - the idea is excellent, but Ra seems unconvincing. SG1 adds 2 extra dimensions 4 stars
12/18/02 snowconehead not quite a good movie, but a great idea 4 stars
7/29/02 O Justo A great idea wrongly put together. 3 stars
7/23/02 snowconehead it was a good idea at the time 4 stars
7/12/02 KMG BORING. Jaye Davidson sucks ass....literally 1 stars
6/16/02 Patrick Riley Stargate is all style and no substance 2 stars
2/20/02 Xaver It's fun. Interesting premise. Good character development. 4 stars
1/23/02 Doug Very good. 4 stars
1/10/02 Andrew Carden Nothing At All, Excpet For A Boring and Tasteless Sci-Fi Flick. 1 stars
12/30/01 Cracked head A big yawn of sci-fi crap. Not the worst crap ever, but close enough. 1 stars
12/02/01 Tim Bennetts I dont think Kurt Russell enjoyed himself! 3 stars
9/18/01 Margo Davidson It very good, but absurd. Jaye-Ra-best! 4 stars
8/11/01 IP_Freely this movie sucks,,,nuff said 1 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk I enjoyed it. Kurt Russell is cool and James Spader finally surfaces in Hollywood again! 4 stars
8/06/01 badfish Awesome. 5 stars
8/02/01 TLsmooth I wish Stargate was real and eliminate Spader and Russell for the sake of mankind. 1 stars
7/30/01 Bob jones Fun, different, okay 4 stars
7/28/01 Steve Don't buy it, rent it. Worth watching, had some good ideas, didn't carry them out well. 3 stars
7/09/01 Caligula Danielle Ophelia good fucking direction my ass, this movie blows 1 stars
6/03/01 Thrillhouse TV series was better 3 stars
5/13/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Good direction, decent acting...STUPEFYINGLY boring... 3 stars
5/08/01 Gracy Lionheart Worth seeing once. Gets old quickly though. 3 stars
4/28/01 R.W. Welch Rambling sci-fi fantasy that feels like they're making it up as they go. 2 stars
4/25/01 Scott G. Very good science fiction movie. Definately worth seeing 5 stars
4/19/01 Taja The movie sucks, but Jaye Davidson rules! 1 stars
4/08/01 Jes 2 hour twilight zone... 2 stars
3/25/01 Monster W. Kung 7 years ago everybody was talking about this movie. One year later 2 people... IT SUCKS! 1 stars
2/01/01 jordan not horrible but definitely not good. just plain boring. 3 stars
12/28/00 Viking this was never intended to be a great film 4 stars
12/04/00 Cristopher Revilla i loved the scientific part, in overall the movie was good, if you're in the right mood 4 stars
3/13/00 Paradox Great movie, as long as you just watch and don't think about it too much. 4 stars
3/11/00 JonnyAngel egyptian aliens are neato 4 stars
3/11/00 bullit17 So maybe it WAS the Egypt buff in me. I still liked this movie. 4 stars
1/10/00 Will oh come on that was fun! 5 stars
1/08/00 Doug Paulsen awesome 5 stars
10/25/99 Lame-Oh Kurt Russell! What have you done! 1 stars
6/11/99 JDC Pretty typical of Devlin/Emmerich: copy other movies but make everything crappier 1 stars
5/27/99 GothamDK Good plot. Could have been so much better. Makes a decent cable series, though. 3 stars
1/29/99 Angus It's a good looking movie with alot of potential but it just falls short 4 stars
12/04/98 Shadow Raider TV series is better. That shocks you? Screw this crappy movie! 1 stars
11/14/98 Rageboy Loved this movie! But it ain't for all. Much better in context of the books. 5 stars
9/02/98 J-Guy watched it in highschool and got kicked out of class for sleeping. fuck this movie. 1 stars
8/30/98 Johny Emmerich and Devlin's first movie sucks. That surprises you? 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Oct-1994 (PG-13)

UK
  06-Jan-1995 (PG)

Australia
  16-Feb-1995 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast