More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.01

Awesome: 12.04%
Worth A Look31.48%
Average: 25%
Pretty Bad: 8.33%
Total Crap: 23.15%

5 reviews, 78 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Stargate
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"Goldie who?"
4 stars

Yeah Kurt. Proving once again that he's hot and can kick butt. Maybe he thought we forgot how cool he is.

While this is basically a typical sci-fi action flick, it is so well done it set it apart from the norm.

Summary: An outcast genius Egyptologist (James Spader) figures out how to use a "star gate" that was discovered in the 40s. An expedition to see what is on the other side is formed, and Jack O'Neill (Kurt) heads it. Once on the other side, they find a very earth-like planet. They appear to be stranded, and have to stop an evil pharoah-like ruler from destroying earth.

As you can imagine, this is a pretty predictable movie. It's pretty obvious that the good guys win in the end. What makes the movie great it, once that is a given, the set, cinamtography, set, costuming, acting and special effects make it stand out from its peers.

This flick is definately worth it for action movie fans and sci-fi fans, but is a good run in the mud for others as well. Because Kurt is hot. Well, there are other reasons. Like the other soldiers. They are hot too. I jest. They aren't that hot.

I'm a joker. So I'm to the left of you. But seriously, this is definitely worth sporks.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=770&reviewer=6
originally posted: 09/04/98 02:23:49
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/06/14 Charles Tatum Just as cheesy as most of Emmerich's films 2 stars
7/29/10 Soni Much, much better than reviews say it is. 5 stars
5/29/09 xx- A nerd and some military fuck go to blow up some transsexual fag. WTF! 1 stars
5/07/09 true AWESOME! Little wonder it inspired a series. 5 stars
12/17/08 Man Out 6 Bucks Christofascism and gladiatorial sparring ruled by dull bureaucrats: A Caligula sequel 1 stars
4/27/08 Totir Alexandru Thanks to this movie I became a real Stargate fan. And I'm glad for this. 5 stars
1/01/08 Virgil Awful review, Scott, were you even paying attention? "Alien dog guys"? 3 stars
7/08/07 al smith solid sci fi.ryan arthur what a bell end 4 stars
4/17/07 Stevo The good: I laughed a lot. The bad: this isn't a comedy. stay the fuck away. 1 stars
3/22/07 45326 "bald weird guy"? ... this review is worth pennies. 4 stars
7/30/06 Ronin The colors provide nice atmosphere. Anyway not bad. 3 stars
5/31/06 Bryan McAllister love this movie..the series is even better 5 stars
3/10/06 Dk Its pretty good actually 4 stars
1/06/06 JM Synth So much wasted potential! The dull movie that spawned the neverending TV series 2 stars
8/13/05 ES Kurt Russell saves another almost terrible movie 3 stars
6/07/05 JD great idea but, movie a bit dissapointing, still worth seein once at least. 3 stars
5/15/05 Indrid Cold Feels exactly like a solid Sci-Fi channel movie. 3 stars
2/22/05 Captain Craig Good Sci-Fi for its time. 4 stars
2/11/05 Jeff Anderson STAR WARS LIKE QUIBBLES ASIDE, THIS IS ONE ENTERTAINING SCI-FI FILM WITH LOTS OF STYLE!!!!! 4 stars
2/03/05 Nick The show is better but the movie has better Jaffa in it. 4 stars
11/10/04 Westwood Incredible....Incredible... 5 stars
7/24/04 Valerie The movie is ok, but the TV series based on the movie, Stargate SG-1, is SUPERB! 3 stars
6/21/04 Rock Hound Ra! Ra! Ra! for the ancient Egyptians and their magical doughnuts! Exciting is not the word 2 stars
6/16/04 franknutz great movie see the directors cut and tv show 5 stars
6/05/04 alien assassin It may be silly, but it's nowhere near as bad as "Battlefield Earth" or "Waterworld" !!! 4 stars
4/27/04 Travis One of the best Sci-fi movies ever. Great plot, who else could have built the pyramids? 5 stars
1/19/04 jmsynth Don't know why I hate Stargate so much but I do. SG1 is even worse! 1 stars
12/06/03 john very boring sci fi movie - 1 stars
11/27/03 John if I can't sleep at night I put in this film and I'm snoring under the covers in 10 seconds 1 stars
8/05/03 I Would You don't feel any empathy for the lead characters, in fact I was rooting for Ra. 3 stars
7/25/03 Spunky001 An overall good sci fi movie for a family with young children 4 stars
7/01/03 francis So the millions years old alien is a petty, vindictive, spoilt brat! Right! 2 stars
4/23/03 R.W. Welch Nice premise but they didn't know what to do with it. 2 stars
3/12/03 The carpen excellent 5 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby Good start, familiar follow-through with guns a'blazin! Spader is only real asset. 2 stars
12/30/02 JCC Starts well - the idea is excellent, but Ra seems unconvincing. SG1 adds 2 extra dimensions 4 stars
12/18/02 snowconehead not quite a good movie, but a great idea 4 stars
7/29/02 O Justo A great idea wrongly put together. 3 stars
7/23/02 snowconehead it was a good idea at the time 4 stars
7/12/02 KMG BORING. Jaye Davidson sucks ass....literally 1 stars
6/16/02 Patrick Riley Stargate is all style and no substance 2 stars
2/20/02 Xaver It's fun. Interesting premise. Good character development. 4 stars
1/23/02 Doug Very good. 4 stars
1/10/02 Andrew Carden Nothing At All, Excpet For A Boring and Tasteless Sci-Fi Flick. 1 stars
12/30/01 Cracked head A big yawn of sci-fi crap. Not the worst crap ever, but close enough. 1 stars
12/02/01 Tim Bennetts I dont think Kurt Russell enjoyed himself! 3 stars
9/18/01 Margo Davidson It very good, but absurd. Jaye-Ra-best! 4 stars
8/11/01 IP_Freely this movie sucks,,,nuff said 1 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk I enjoyed it. Kurt Russell is cool and James Spader finally surfaces in Hollywood again! 4 stars
8/06/01 badfish Awesome. 5 stars
8/02/01 TLsmooth I wish Stargate was real and eliminate Spader and Russell for the sake of mankind. 1 stars
7/30/01 Bob jones Fun, different, okay 4 stars
7/28/01 Steve Don't buy it, rent it. Worth watching, had some good ideas, didn't carry them out well. 3 stars
7/09/01 Caligula Danielle Ophelia good fucking direction my ass, this movie blows 1 stars
6/03/01 Thrillhouse TV series was better 3 stars
5/13/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Good direction, decent acting...STUPEFYINGLY boring... 3 stars
5/08/01 Gracy Lionheart Worth seeing once. Gets old quickly though. 3 stars
4/28/01 R.W. Welch Rambling sci-fi fantasy that feels like they're making it up as they go. 2 stars
4/25/01 Scott G. Very good science fiction movie. Definately worth seeing 5 stars
4/19/01 Taja The movie sucks, but Jaye Davidson rules! 1 stars
4/08/01 Jes 2 hour twilight zone... 2 stars
3/25/01 Monster W. Kung 7 years ago everybody was talking about this movie. One year later 2 people... IT SUCKS! 1 stars
2/01/01 jordan not horrible but definitely not good. just plain boring. 3 stars
12/28/00 Viking this was never intended to be a great film 4 stars
12/04/00 Cristopher Revilla i loved the scientific part, in overall the movie was good, if you're in the right mood 4 stars
3/13/00 Paradox Great movie, as long as you just watch and don't think about it too much. 4 stars
3/11/00 JonnyAngel egyptian aliens are neato 4 stars
3/11/00 bullit17 So maybe it WAS the Egypt buff in me. I still liked this movie. 4 stars
1/10/00 Will oh come on that was fun! 5 stars
1/08/00 Doug Paulsen awesome 5 stars
10/25/99 Lame-Oh Kurt Russell! What have you done! 1 stars
6/11/99 JDC Pretty typical of Devlin/Emmerich: copy other movies but make everything crappier 1 stars
5/27/99 GothamDK Good plot. Could have been so much better. Makes a decent cable series, though. 3 stars
1/29/99 Angus It's a good looking movie with alot of potential but it just falls short 4 stars
12/04/98 Shadow Raider TV series is better. That shocks you? Screw this crappy movie! 1 stars
11/14/98 Rageboy Loved this movie! But it ain't for all. Much better in context of the books. 5 stars
9/02/98 J-Guy watched it in highschool and got kicked out of class for sleeping. fuck this movie. 1 stars
8/30/98 Johny Emmerich and Devlin's first movie sucks. That surprises you? 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Oct-1994 (PG-13)

UK
  06-Jan-1995 (PG)

Australia
  16-Feb-1995 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast