More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.33

Awesome: 21.12%
Worth A Look: 23.6%
Average27.95%
Pretty Bad: 21.74%
Total Crap: 5.59%

9 reviews, 107 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Gone Girl by Daniel Kelly

My Old Lady by Jay Seaver

Boxer's Omen, The by Jay Seaver

Come Drink with Me by Jay Seaver

Fearless Hyena, The by Jay Seaver

Treatment, The by Jay Seaver

Waste Land (2014) by Jay Seaver

I Am Trash by Jay Seaver

Equalizer, The by Brett Gallman

I Am Here (2014/II) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Bruce Almighty
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"I laughed. Then I felt dirty for having done so. Then I laughed more."
3 stars

May God strike me down for admitting it, but I actually found most of Bruce Almighty pretty funny. Yeah, yeah, I know I should be ashamed, and normally I would be, but darn it all if there aren't some decent snickers in this sometimes cutting, sometimes nasty, mostly frou-frou Jim Carrey comedy experience. Never before have I heard the F word used in a film about God, though I'm sure there were a few times in The Passion of the Christ when that Jesus fella was thinking it...

Bruce (Carrey) is a TV new reporter who is irked by the ridiculous nature of his job. as he spends his days putting together reports on "The Town's Biggest Cookie" and other assorted fluffery, he pines for something bigger - the role of TV anchorman. In true comedy formula however, Bruce has to compete with the office asshole (The Daily Show's Steve Carell) for the job, and when he doesn't get the position, our hero freaks out on camera, uses the F-word and begins the worst day of his life.

Which, of course, he blames God for. Because, seriously, that bearded mofo has been asleep at the wheel of late. What? He can turn stones into bread, yet he can't make my train run on time? That's just lazy work habits, Jesus.

So Bruce's trash-talking to the big guy results in him getting all manner of signs that God (Morgan Freeman) is listening, culminating in being invited to the Big Guy's offices, where the keys to God-dom are handed over in a bizarre case of 'nyah, nyah, nyah-nyah, nyah'.

Of course, when Bruce learns he can do anything he wants, he misuses his powers to benefit himself at the expense of others, including giving his girlfriend bigger hooters, blowing the skirts of passing women up and dragging the moon closer to Earth so that an evening of romance will be more romantic - to hell with the ensuing tidal waves such things cause.

Really, if you think too hard about Bruce Almighty's logic cramps, you're shooting fish in a barrel. I mean, shouldn't God know that Bruce is going to misuse his powers and mess up the lives of millions? Shouldn't he know that old chestnut that 'proof denies faith', and thus proving to Bruce that being God is a tough job is kind of inappropriate? And why would God even need to prove such things to anyone? He's GOD, for crying out loud! Feeling glum? Zap yourself a nice juicy T-Bone steak and watch Drew Carey reruns with a bottle of Jack - it's not like we're going to know.

Irrespective of plotholes, Bruce Almighty has some laughs. Not huge laughs, but decent laughs, and it allows Carrey to get a little ornery, regardless of the risk that the true believers would pull a Dogma boycott on the film and call it sacreligious. I mean, it's as if the makers of this film were really trying to get the biblebashers pissed, but nobody bit. A black God? (shock!) A false idol playing God for a weekend? (shock!) A God saying "fucker" and giving his girlfriend (Jennifer Aniston) a no-touch orgasm? (repent!)

Unlike the Fist Full of Nails crowd, Bruce Almighty seems to actually have a sense of humor about belief, and has at its core the desire to make people giggle, while maybe stopping to think about whether they could be better folks. There's a little too much preaching, and certainly an overdose of final act sugar-coating, but if you can get past the fact that this is a Jim Carrey film, it might even be an enjoyable hour and a half for you.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7702&reviewer=1
originally posted: 05/26/04 07:38:41
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/21/12 Sean Harrison Absolutely hilarious. 4 stars
9/11/11 pipesrussell Jim Carey, most overated un talented actor ever. 1 stars
8/12/11 Eric Ivins One of Jim Carreys best 4 stars
7/02/09 cindy LOVE this movie, I watch it frequently, never get bored of it. 5 stars
3/01/09 R.W. Welch The only guy who ever played God convincingly was George Burns. 3 stars
6/05/08 edareenda lyerak what is my name spelled backwards? oh yeha this movie was great 50 stars 5 stars
5/15/08 PAUL SHORTT NO THANK-YOU VERY MUCH! 1 stars
3/31/08 Gorp why is everyone only focusing on jim carrey being funny? maybe that wasn't the point 5 stars
10/17/07 Beau it was rather funny! 3 stars
10/17/07 mb Funny 3 stars
6/28/07 gr117 There are a few bits that still make me LOL. 4 stars
6/11/07 Dark Enchantress loved it, and it was funny! 5 stars
6/10/07 fools♫gold Not bad at all: I could probably even watch it again (just maybe). Tough to rate. 4 stars
4/19/07 Stevo UK How long will it take for Carrey to realize he's not funny any more? 2 stars
2/19/07 Nick Maday Better than I expected, but not great. 3 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Hilarious Jim Carrey movie. 3 stars
1/29/07 Lisa Craven This is such a feel good movie, very funny, kept me hooked even though it's a little hokey 4 stars
1/22/07 David A. It's funny, but it has a genuinely inspirational message. 4 stars
12/08/06 justin the movie rocks!!!!! 5 stars
11/30/06 Stanley Thai A funny comedy. 4 stars
8/26/06 Nanni I really love this movie, i've watched it like 100 times!!!!! 5 stars
7/19/06 Anthony Feor Carrey strikes again 5 stars
5/23/06 Agent Sands One of Jim Carrey's best movies. Doesn't beat Eternal Sunshine, but it's good. 4 stars
5/18/06 Roy kind of corny,but funny funny guy 4 stars
5/08/06 Indrid Cold Gets a little flimsy toward the end, but overall it's genuinely funny and entertaining. 4 stars
4/22/06 Poopy Woopy B-e-autiful 5 stars
4/03/06 JRE hysterical! for all skeptical christians, it doesn't make fun of good 4 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer First 1/2 was a comedy. 2nd 1/2 was a chick flick. What gives? 4 stars
8/30/05 Littlepurch Loved it then, still do now. And so does everyone I know. Really a feelgood film. 5 stars
7/24/05 C Vega Carrey is good and even though there are alot of laughs, the whole film is kinda corny 3 stars
6/07/05 JD Not bad but, not Carrey at hi best, it's somewhat funny. 3 stars
4/23/05 Quigley a hilarious Jim carrey triumph. it's not Dumb and Dumber, but it rocks! Jim is the best!!! 5 stars
4/18/05 Jeff Anderson Too selfish & smug for it's own good with a laugh every now & then. M. FREEMAN REDEEMS IT!! 3 stars
4/06/05 tatum Some laughs, but also some really sucky special effects 3 stars
3/28/05 Emma A funny film. 4 stars
3/09/05 ian it's gooooooooooooood... 5 stars
2/28/05 Dan I am not religious, but this movie is funny as hell! 5 stars
1/28/05 Jack Scallops I got the power to recommend it 5 stars
9/04/04 T.B. Nasty and not funny 1 stars
7/12/04 DM Steve Carell is the movie's highlight; stay home and watch "The Daily Show" instead of this 2 stars
6/19/04 Denise Duspiva funny 4 stars
6/12/04 Raymond Lee great laughs 5 stars
6/06/04 Jim Worth it to see Carrey make anchorman spout gibberish. Reminded me of "Modern Problems". 5 stars
6/01/04 Charlene Javier A blast! 4 stars
4/15/04 alice Started out OK but then he "overdid" it again. I hate that about Jim,he's funnier otherwise 3 stars
3/10/04 bsho76 Morgan Freeman is God...nuff said 4 stars
2/29/04 Ingo Cheesy and foreseeable. 2 stars
2/21/04 Littlepurch Bit mushy at end and not as gd as Liar Liar but still hilarious. All actors were brilliant! 5 stars
1/30/04 Matt Thiel Ugh. 2 stars
1/27/04 Katie Malone Heehee! Hilarious! Jim Carrey at his best! 5 stars
1/26/04 Rapunzel Gladstone Cinematic attempts at playing God can waste even the best of actors, Freeman in this case. 2 stars
1/16/04 Gecko Fanfoot A 21st century classic. Carrey is actually funny without overdoing it as usual. 5 stars
1/01/04 Katie Miller It was hilarious 4 stars
12/29/03 Agent Sands The rest of the movie's clever & funny, & Aniston is da bomb. Aaaaaaaahhhhhhh... 5 stars
12/21/03 Gingavitus It was gr8! I played God (but I'm not Jim Carrey or Morgan Freeman, u confused readers?!) 5 stars
12/18/03 * An Idiot Who Loves Jim Carey* AWESOME! jim carey is radical! i dont why u people stay it stinks.!WEIRDOS! 5 stars
12/10/03 re Awesom movie! 5 stars
12/09/03 Sarah This movie is one of the best films I have ever seen!! 5 stars
12/07/03 Dr xaivier "It is sure to be a Hit in Hell or at least the Toilet!" 1 stars
12/06/03 bender Did it have to be so serious in act 3? Good flick otherwise. 4 stars
11/28/03 Samuel Not as good as everyone made it out to be, but still very entertaining... 4 stars
11/22/03 ross hendrick crap, jim carrey's worst! 3 stars
11/01/03 Littlepurch Soppy ending but a very funny film overall. 4 stars
8/25/03 Heather Purplethorne Atheists might well find this a good basis for a reductio ad absurdum argument. 2 stars
8/21/03 Veronica Tatterworth Slow start; Good comedy when Bruce gets power. Then sinks to dumb theology and male bashing 2 stars
8/08/03 Troy Butler Nothing special, ... occasionally very funny, but tried too hard for a bit of drama!!! 3 stars
8/03/03 Farnq Y See this movie and really laugh out loud 5 stars
8/02/03 mark angelo enriquez tells people how to be GOD in one week 4 stars
8/01/03 Eric no words in the english langauge 1 stars
7/28/03 Harry Go to Bath after seeing this Great Movie 5 stars
7/23/03 Double G An okay movie, kinda boring at some parts. 3 stars
7/08/03 kz Jimmy C is back and funny as ever 4 stars
7/06/03 lee Funny & cute - take Jim C. movies for what they are or don't see! cried laughing at parts. 4 stars
7/06/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back MoFos!!!) What the fuck is w/ U guys & the trailer? The best parts weren't even in the goddamn thing! 5 stars
7/04/03 italian stallion Seen the trailer? ..... then u've seen the movie 3 stars
7/03/03 Jason It was funny. I was crying in spots. 5 stars
6/30/03 seldom scene not that good great bell and jennifer 2 stars
6/29/03 David A. Enough bathroom humor to be Jim Carey, but still has a senstive plot! 5 stars
6/23/03 Mike Jim Carrey making faces for 2 hours is NOT FUNNY !!! 1 stars
6/23/03 MJM103171 Slightly betterthan typical Jim Carrey 3 stars
6/18/03 Goofy Maxwell Goes to show--ya can't please everybody, nor would ya want to. 4 stars
6/17/03 Erin Everyone seems to like it so much I feel like i should to but I don't 2 stars
6/17/03 ^ZuLu^ All the good shots were shown in the trailer. Nothing funny left in the movie.Otherwise:ok. 3 stars
6/14/03 Darth Haggis Thought there would be more to it except what we saw on the trailer 1 stars
6/13/03 Markus Fuchs Great film, but the last fouth is too moral imho 5 stars
6/13/03 your worse goddamn nightmare It was funny with a few comedic twists. Just let yourself enjoy it... 4 stars
6/11/03 Brannie looks good, cant wait 5 stars
6/09/03 Hooters gurl Surprisingly amusing! I would reccommend it for a good summer popcorn comedy. 4 stars
6/04/03 Allen Geez, you people gotta lighten up! This was a cute, harmless comedy. 4 stars
6/04/03 movieboy Okay i thought it could have been funnier though 4 stars
6/03/03 Matt Good - liked it 5 stars
6/02/03 Mike C Predictable, boring and whiny. Promising idea, money grubbing execution! 1 stars
5/31/03 John "cute" 4 stars
5/31/03 Vince S'ok. Funniest part was Steve Carrell from the Daily Show. 3 stars
5/29/03 George Jung Slightly better than average summer crap. 3 stars
5/29/03 Blackops jim carrey does ok in this movie, but i would have thought it would have been funnier 3 stars
5/28/03 nick2k godammit! was this a disney film? sigh....it was fun here and there... 3 stars
5/28/03 malcolm bluestar Weak. Really weak. 2 stars
5/28/03 . LOL 5 stars
5/27/03 Hassan verry funny..... 1 stars
5/27/03 Danny B-E-A-U-tiful 4 stars
5/27/03 Tracy Awesome! U'll laugh all the way through, but it still got the drama!:) 5 stars
5/27/03 Jack Bourbon Eh is right. I can't believe how uncreative this movie is with Carrey playing God. 3 stars
5/26/03 ray laughed harder than I ever have in a movie 5 stars
5/26/03 bender funny stuff. 4 stars
5/25/03 Call me.....daddy ;-) I thought it was really good, the preachy stuff wasn't too preachy..forgot how funny JC was 4 stars
5/24/03 syrius eh.............? 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-May-2003 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  19-Jun-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast