More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.54

Awesome81.4%
Worth A Look: 4.88%
Average: 5.49%
Pretty Bad: 2.74%
Total Crap: 5.49%

4 reviews, 304 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Pulp Fiction
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Yeah, it's derivative, but it seemed to reinvent the wheel at the time."
5 stars

Late in 'Pulp Fiction,' the brutally witty classic by Quentin Tarantino, two hit men -- Vincent (John Travolta) and Jules (Samuel L. Jackson) -- find themselves rolling up their expensive shirt sleeves to scrub up a sickening bloody mess.

Vincent, you see, had been talking to some small-time flunky in the back seat of Jules' car, and Vincent's gun accidentally went off, reducing the kid's head to a fine red mist. Is this funny? Not especially (though Travolta's reading of his line "I just shot Marvin in the face" is worth the ticket price by itself), but its aftermath is, if only because movies don't usually make time for this sort of candor. Vincent and Jules grunt and wince as they scour the gore and brains off the inside of the car. "I will never forgive your ass for this shit," says Jules to Vincent. "This is some fucked-up repugnant shit." It's as if Vincent had done nothing more serious than puking on Jules' upholstery.

Pulp Fiction, like Tarantino's previous Reservoir Dogs, is all jokes, all movie. It's about something serious (the themes are loyalty and the consequences of one's actions), but its tone is as far from serious as a film can get. The movie turns its own genre on its head and examines what falls out of its pockets. One of the things that fall out is the action genre's hidden homo-erotic subtext (always there, always denied). Tarantino fills the movie with gags about insertion, violation: a hypodermic, a gold watch, a "dickless piece of shit" "keying" Vincent's Camaro, even Pop-Tarts (which are shoved into a toaster and then pop up, like an erection, prompting an ejaculation of bullets).

Then, of course, there's the anal rape. In one of three stories the movie tells, mob bigwig Marsellus Wallace (Ving Rhames) is after washed-up boxer Butch Coolidge (Bruce Willis) because Butch refused to throw a fight he'd been paid to throw. After a comically prolonged chase, the two antagonists end up in a pawn shop, whose twisted proprietors lock them in their dungeon. The scene involves a character called the Gimp, and ... well, let's just say it's the best make-guys-squirm sequence since Ned Beatty squealed like a pig. In terms of the action genre -- the apotheosis of machismo -- the most undignified thing that can happen to a man (taking it up the ass) befalls one of the captives. This, Tarantino seems to be saying, is the bare bones of what action movies are about. The guy with the biggest dick dominates. What's so fresh about Tarantino is that he giggles at the conventions of pulp, but he giggles appreciatively. The numbing formulae of action flicks amuse rather than offend him, and I prefer an amused artist to an offended, condescending one.

Pulp Fiction, bless its postmodern heart, plays by the rules of the genre. It's violent, it deals in stereotypes, it's stuffed plump with machismo. (I love how Vincent backs down from a confrontation with a powerful man he's never met before: "I respect you an' all, I just don't like people barkin' orders at me." How can Vincent "respect" someone he's just met? Here, "respect" is code for "I'm scared of you because you're tight with my boss," which Vincent would never admit.) But you have to know the rules in order to break them, and Tarantino does. The movie keeps galloping off into wild, unpredictable areas. It's an intricate essay on popcorn entertainment, and it's deeply funny. When Vincent accidentally blows Marvin away (you can hear Tarantino cackling as he sets up the scenario), the movie's thesis on violence snaps into focus. The mess has to be cleaned up, and the two glamorous bad-asses have to do it. "This is some fucked-up repugnant shit."

In another story, Vincent, who works for mob boss Marsellus, is assigned to take the boss's wife Mia (Uma Thurman) out on a date. "It's not a date," Vincent insists when everyone reminds him of how violently possessive the boss is of Mia. "I'm gonna chew my food with my mouth closed," he elaborates, "laugh at her fuckin' jokes..." On the way, Vincent crests on a heroin high supplied by his dealer friend Lance (Eric Stoltz, whose annoyingness works in his favor for once). Tarantino gives us a dreamy montage of Vincent fixing -- it's like a pro-drug commercial. By the end of the evening with Mia -- a magical sequence destined to become a Tarantino classic (Travolta dances again!) -- Vincent is reduced to lecturing his reflection in Mia's bathroom mirror: "You're gonna finish your drink, go home, jerk off, and that's all you're gonna do." Meanwhile, Mia, rooting through Vincent's coat, finds what she thinks is coke, and .... Well, Vincent never gets to finish his drink. The action ends up back at Lance's rat-trap apartment, and involves a hypodermic big enough to sedate an elephant. Tarantino never shows needle entering flesh, but the sequence is excruciating and harrowingly funny, viciously refuting the earlier romantic image of Vincent's blissful heroin daze. Tarantino may not be a boringly "responsible" director, but he's not irresponsible, either. Actions have consequences. Pulp Fiction illustrates the point again and again.

Tarantino's freshman effort, the notorious Reservoir Dogs, came wrapped in controversy about its sadism. Here was a film, a black comedy, in which a cop was tortured to the bouncy tune of "Stuck in the Middle with You." The humor there was in Tarantino's naked desire to film the ultimate torture scene, wedded to an incongruous pop ditty. Many people got up and walked at that point; they wondered what sort of sick mind would dream this up and expect us to find it funny. Others, like me, simply found it funny: At the crucial moment, when Michael Madsen is about to slice the cop's ear off, the camera tilts up and to the left, as if it couldn't bear to watch. Like Oliver Stone, who used Tarantino's script as his blueprint for Natural Born Killers, Tarantino anticipates our reaction to his work; but because he's the most eager audience of all, he also reacts for us -- he knew we were going to look away, so the camera looks away. (I think what really upset people about the scene was its aftermath, when the bloodied cop and the gore-drenched Tim Roth have a long, agonized conversation.) Tarantino plays with the very experience of watching a movie. His knowingness, not his alleged sadism, is what gooses a laugh out of you. In short, if you find Tarantino's work funny, you're not sick.

In Pulp Fiction, Tarantino even plays with our normal, continuous sense of narrative. He must have read Syd Field's Screenplay and then decided to break all of Field's boring commandments. The three stories bounce off one another, comment on each other, and Tarantino shuffles the plots. A major character who dies in the middle story returns, healthy as a horse, for the third story -- which turns out to take place, chronologically, before the second story. The effect isn't continuity but simultaneity. Characters from different storylines are linked in ways they don't understand. (Tarantino's script for 1993's True Romance was also non-chronological, but director Tony Scott put the scenes in order.) Tarantino is clearly the most adroit young screenwriter now working -- his directorial style, by contrast, isn't actually all that showy or original (there's a heavy dose of Kubrick in those long, static takes) -- and he has a fantastic ear for the music of words. The characters babble endlessly about trivia, but the trivia turns out to be a key to understanding these marginal lowlifes. (This gabby method of characterization is what Whit Stillman generally succeeded at in Metropolitan but fumbled in Barcelona.) Jules, the righteous killer who likes to quote from Ezekiel 25:17 before pulling the trigger on someone, comes to a greater apprehension of the Biblical words near the end. Patiently, he explains to some dumb thief (Tim Roth again) why he can no longer be part of "the tyranny of evil men." It's a beautiful scene without a scrap of unearned sentiment.

Sometimes Tarantino's reach exceeds his grasp. It still remains to be seen whether he can write women. (Maria de Medeiros, as Butch's oversensitive girlfriend, wears out her welcome in about two minutes. It's not the actress's fault; Tarantino writes her as a nuisance.) You may ask yourself why Butch, who risks his life going back to his apartment to retrieve his precious gold watch even though Marsellus' crew is gunning for him, wastes time in the kitchen to pop in those Pop-Tarts -- is he that hungry? Even allowing for visual hyperbole, I don't get the function of the Gimp -- and why do his keepers leave him so vulnerable by chaining him to the ceiling? If their captive gets free, what's the Gimp supposed to do about it? When the hit men have to clean up the mess, they call in a big gun -- "The Wolf" (Harvey Keitel), who specializes in "solving problems." Marsellus calls the Wolf in the morning, and he's in a tux, with elegantly dressed people milling around his house. What kind of social wingding is this guy throwing at eight in the morning? Must be a really long, really good cocktail party.

But those are minor flaws, unlikely to occur to you as you're watching. Pulp Fiction is great American entertainment, a stylish and foxy comedy of errors, and Tarantino continues his superb work with actors. As the cold but inquisitive Vincent, John Travolta weighs in with his best adult performance since Blow Out. Vincent's self-satisfied lightness (he always seems to be in repose, even when aiming a gun) matches perfectly with his partner Jules' righteous professionalism. Jules is a guy who makes sure he washes all the blood off his hands before he dries them, so that his host's bathroom towels "don't look like no fuckin' maxi-pad." Samuel L. Jackson has done many small roles in small movies (or small roles in big movies like Jurassic Park), at least one great role in a so-so movie (Jungle Fever), but this is his arrival. He takes Tarantino's dialogue and gives it both classical weight and street rhythm. Jules is the best character Tarantino has written and possibly ever will write, and Jackson bites into it like a Big Kahuna burger. Terrific as these men are, they didn't surprise me as much as Bruce Willis -- who's never been a bad actor, just recently a journeyman star stuck in a lot of shit. Here, playing a man who's not nearly as sly as he thinks he is, Willis looks more comfortable than he ever has. There's still a little too much action-flick opacity in his demeanor -- he must know that Tarantino is using him as much for his blockbuster aura as for his talent -- but there's no denying that he rises to the material and the company he's in.

And Tarantino fills the screen with first-rate performers casually slipping in for vivid cameos. Rosanna Arquette shows up as a body-piercing devotee (her stoner friend is Bronagh Gallagher, one of the Commitmentettes); her brother Alexis, in another corner of his life a drag queen who appeared in Last Exit to Brooklyn, plays the poor bastard hiding in the bathroom who comes out blazing. Julia Sweeney drops in as Keitel's girlfriend (this is her real future in movies, not It's Pat), and Peter Greene, the villain of last summer's The Mask, is one of the hillbilly rapists. The most talked-about cameo will certainly be Christopher Walken as the Vietnam vet who delivers a solemnly hilarious monologue setting up the gold watch. (Walken, who made similar magic in last year's True Romance, should only do Tarantino scripts from now on.) Tarantino also gives himself a funny cameo as Jimmy, the nervous guy whose garage is the temporary haven for the bloodied car. Watching Tarantino's Jimmy conferring with Keitel's Mr. Fix-It is the best in-joke in the movie if you remember that Keitel was the executive producer as well as the star of Reservoir Dogs, and that without Keitel's name attached to that script in both capacities, the movie -- and Tarantino -- might not have happened.

Quentin Tarantino joins the ranks of international filmmakers -- Pedro Almodovar, John Waters, Sam Raimi, John Woo, Peter Jackson -- whose names guarantee a buffet of disreputable fun. Their work will offend or dismay some people; you can't make an omelet without breaking some eggs, and you can't make a hard-driving work of art without bruising some sensibilities. Devouring the movies he loves and spitting the mouthfuls onto his canvas, Tarantino is a mesmerizing talent still in development. His best work, I presume, is yet ahead of him. I'll be watching, and so should you -- at the moment, Tarantino IS the movies.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=771&reviewer=416
originally posted: 01/27/07 12:31:39
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/27/16 Ken Highly unique; essential movie viewing. 5 stars
2/19/15 hhshjjsjj rubbish film. dont watch it because it waste your time 1 stars
1/07/15 Robert Tschinkel Can watch this movie over and over, very original 5 stars
3/24/14 Justin R. Superb and stylish. 5 stars
9/17/12 roscoe travolta & jackson are great, but there are no stories. i didn't care for parts 2 & 3, 4 stars
7/21/12 Sean Harrison Brilliant movie, but not for everyone. 5 stars
2/09/12 stanley welles inventive and thoroughly original classic 5 stars
11/27/11 joshuaprater1979 Tarantino's best film. 5 stars
7/16/11 Jeff hhmmhmm, this is a tasty hamburger... 5 stars
6/02/11 Simon A very COOL movie, but take it easy otherwise. Might sound smart but it's just gratuitous 3 stars
4/01/11 Lee James's 10/02/09 commentary shows who likes the movie... is this the end of civilization? 1 stars
3/19/11 jessica edwards a classic 5 stars
2/17/11 Narda Cool and amazing. Tarantino strikes again. 5 stars
1/24/11 bill norris loved this movie, 1 of my all time favs. A+ 5 stars
10/29/10 Rickyt Awesome movie 5 stars
6/08/10 Flathead King Perhaps the most overrated movie ever made 1 stars
6/01/10 User Name Tarantino successfully makes a conversation about foreign french fry toppings interesting. 4 stars
4/09/10 PAUL SHORTT WELL ACTED, CLEVER, VIOLENT CELEBRATION OF JUNK CULTURE 3 stars
11/11/09 Dynamite Amazing Movie. Tarantino's Best Movie 5 stars
10/02/09 James This movie is the shit fuck the haters 5 stars
8/15/09 Jeff Wilder A modern masterpiece 5 stars
6/12/09 Debbie Sue If I was allowed to would watch at least 2 x wk 5 stars
10/13/08 Ball Sock Loved it! 5 stars
10/13/08 Dix Napkin Best movie ever made. 5 stars
10/01/08 Shaun Wallner Boring!! 1 stars
9/22/08 don Tarantino sucks 1 stars
7/09/08 Quigley Great script, great cast, great acting, great direction, great movie. 5 stars
2/18/08 cdmtx Never gets old ... 5 stars
2/03/08 JV35 The Best!!! 5 stars
12/13/07 davidbobo20 WAY OVERRATED! Watch The Professonal instead. 1 stars
10/24/07 sinick perverse and psychotic gangsta fun for adolescent 'shock' fans high on beer or worse. 1 stars
9/24/07 Truth I think Chef ADOGG should graduate high school prior to writing reviews 1 stars
6/11/07 al smith best written and coolest movie ever tarantino is a genius 5 stars
5/29/07 hell yeah fucking awesome. This will always kick ass 5 stars
5/17/07 Yamis pretty good, not wonderful though 4 stars
5/11/07 yeah thx it good 5 stars
5/03/07 john This is one of the few movies that gets better every time I watch it. It's also hilarious. 5 stars
4/27/07 Double M Oh, I'm sorry. Did i break you concentration? 5 stars
4/23/07 Tracey Chambers without a doubt. my fav movie of all time 5 stars
3/22/07 Alireza Salahshoori The greatest film of all times 5 stars
2/24/07 Eric Best movie I have ever seen. 5 stars
2/19/07 Nick Maday Definitely one of the best multiple-perspective movies I've ever seen. 5 stars
2/15/07 I Gluck One of my top ten....very cool 5 stars
2/13/07 johnnyfog It doesn't feel dated, either 5 stars
2/07/07 The chode Best movie ever made, hands down. 5 stars
1/16/07 David Pollastrini very confusing but great 5 stars
12/11/06 Iggy For all those who hate this movie, go fuck yourselves. This is the best movie EVER. 5 stars
10/10/06 Indrid Cold OK, honestly. Why the hell is it supposed to be such a masterpiece? 3 stars
10/02/06 Lisa Craven i never get tired of seeing this movie, travolta and jackson at their best 5 stars
8/26/06 Josh Racine Probably the coolest movie ever made. 5 stars
7/26/06 dan one of the all time great films if you havent seen it you must! 5 stars
7/18/06 David Cohen America's favorite exploitation movie 1 stars
6/25/06 Quagmire I fell asleep... 2 stars
6/05/06 Thomas is it overrated.HELL YEAH 1 stars
5/11/06 Agent Sands Why am I even commenting? Doesn't everyone already know how otherworldly it is? Damn... 5 stars
3/31/06 kerry Can you say ''Overrated'' 1 stars
3/20/06 Anthony G BEST MOVIE EVER MADE. 5 stars
3/18/06 MP Bartley Great, great comedy. "Well let's not start sucking each other's dicks just yet" 5 stars
2/12/06 Josh Standlee Motherfuckin' hilarious! I am obsessed with this film! I quote it everyday! 5 stars
2/04/06 Echud SEE IT. 5 stars
2/04/06 ronald THE FUCKING GREATEST.HELL YEAH 5 stars
1/17/06 Planted Never gets old 5 stars
12/03/05 Gene Carmean AWESOME 5 stars
11/12/05 alice Iam THE movie-addict and this one stays my numbero uno 4 stars
11/02/05 Jonathan Fuckin' great. 5 stars
10/10/05 Agent Sands A classic if there ever was one. Hard to think of people who've not seen it. 5 stars
10/09/05 goobs i dont c wat all the frikken fuss is about 3 stars
9/29/05 Michael Blower Oh yes this is total pleasure 5 stars
8/25/05 Eden Gets better everytime i see it 5 stars
8/23/05 Anthony G Best movie ever made. 5 stars
8/23/05 gene great 5 stars
8/16/05 ES Ah the beginning of the end, a great movie that reformed Mr. Travolta's career= God help us 4 stars
7/30/05 urworstnightmare cool ass kicking 5 stars
7/23/05 ty mills the screenplay rocks,the directing rocks,the acting rocks my favorite movie by far 5 stars
7/21/05 Naruto Tarantino is definitely crazy but PF is gr8! No one can beat it. A special movie! 5 stars
7/19/05 DM "The one that says 'Bad Motherfucker' on it." Great dialogue. 5 stars
7/14/05 Brandy Harrington A very fantastic movie. best of the 90's. 5 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma Amazing and enjoyable flick 5 stars
7/07/05 Isaac Baranoff Awesome 5 stars
7/03/05 jimmy it shits all over the shawshank redemtion (god that crap is so overrated) 5 stars
6/11/05 me it ain't the best, but fucking great. MASTERPIECE. 5 stars
6/07/05 Anthony G The best movie ever made, period. 5 stars
6/04/05 Hack-SAW THIS RATING SAYS IT ALL...!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/25/05 Jake A masterpiece. My # 1 favorite movie 5 stars
5/25/05 The shizz Best Movie ever. AMF your a faggot, suck a dick queer 5 stars
5/17/05 what? best movie of the 90's. Sin City was retarded AMF, you faggot. 5 stars
5/13/05 Jennifer Regan Gets better each time you watch it 5 stars
4/29/05 Anthony G Fucking Brill, nothing even compares 5 stars
4/08/05 haha your a fucking idiot, they completely different dumbass,you cant compare 2 different things 5 stars
3/15/05 Ando By far, the greatest fucking movie ever made 5 stars
3/13/05 Kristina Williams what's in that fucking suitcase, Quentin, you tease! 5 stars
3/12/05 Mr. Slave Awesome Tarantino flick. 5 stars
3/09/05 Jake Slave Quentin Tarantino's best movie. 5 stars
2/24/05 Rock-Steady The best fucking movie I have ever seen, period. 5 stars
2/23/05 lol !emosewA 5 stars
2/21/05 Abbath I have yet to meet anyone who doesn't love this. Incredible. 5 stars
2/18/05 dbx if you haven't seen this film go fuck yourself. 5 stars
2/06/05 Tom Benton Undoubtedly one of the very best films ever; flawless and unendingly fuckin' awesome. 5 stars
2/05/05 Lucas Classic 5 stars
2/03/05 haha A Fucking Masterpiece, stomps retard forrest into the fucking ground. 5 stars
1/28/05 New Jersey Rules The best movie of the 1990's. Beats Forrest Gump & Shawshank by a mile. 5 stars
1/25/05 sarah jones fucking brill. best thing i have seen this year!!!! 5 stars
12/07/04 Kurt Cobain Tarantino's Masterpiece; Pure gem of the 90's and no one can deny it. 5 stars
12/05/04 Kristina Williams The royale with cheese of '94 5 stars
12/03/04 Sebastian Rumpole Forrest Gump?!! No chance!! 5 stars
12/01/04 lolalaloca13 1 of top 5 fave films 5 stars
11/14/04 X $ % & ! better than The Shawshank Redemption, WAY BETTER 5 stars
10/25/04 UMER tarantino has to be the next most original director since scorsese 5 stars
10/14/04 lewis "Antoine shoud have better fuckin known better" the most badass motherfucker of the 90's 5 stars
10/11/04 Chris "I'm a mushroom cloud layin' motherfucker, motherfucker!" 5 stars
9/03/04 Naka Hands down one of the ten best American films of all time. 5 stars
8/30/04 Moviefan1980s Totally gnarly! 5 stars
8/16/04 Peter James One of the best movies ever 5 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G josh is gay 5 stars
7/04/04 Josh worst movie ever made, the theatres put heroin in people's pepsi to get them to like it 1 stars
6/28/04 Detroit Pistons Fan Hit'em UP! 5 stars
6/28/04 Feliciano this is what i call CREATIVITY 5 stars
6/15/04 T. Maj Aren't we clever? Nope 2 stars
6/06/04 anthony sharp i 5 stars
5/31/04 jesus bennet outstanding 5 stars
5/25/04 C Vega tarantino once again proves that he is one of the best in the businees with this classic 5 stars
5/25/04 Ray OK 5 stars
5/23/04 Mitch Screw "Forrest Gump" and its Oscar-thefts. Without question the greatest film of its time. 5 stars
5/15/04 arlon if u think the movie's bad, go jump off a bridge 5 stars
5/09/04 john bale Brilliant cast, laconic dialogue, Tarantino at his best will blow you away. Happy Thriller 5 stars
4/21/04 S.F. The opening credits blew me away, awesome film..lays the groundwork for Kill Bill. 5 stars
4/17/04 Morally Sound Tarantino is the master of dialogue. 5 stars
4/01/04 Samuel kicks alot of ass! 5 stars
4/01/04 y2mckay yes, KB was better. This one still kicks ass. Only sucky part was Butch and frog girlfriend 5 stars
3/18/04 Umbrella Corporation. KILL BILL WUZ BETTER....................................................................... 3 stars
3/13/04 ladeela one of the best, classic, hilarious 5 stars
3/07/04 Jose the most inane,impropable, over-rated crock of goat tripe ever concieved by man 1 stars
2/25/04 Tobes Original and Brilliant 5 stars
2/17/04 Igor I SAID...GOD DAMN. This is some good shit. 5 stars
1/24/04 CC Will be a classic 5 stars
1/12/04 Nucleo Not even Tarantino can make something this good again. 5 stars
11/27/03 John not nearly as good as its reputation - gets tedious 3 stars
11/23/03 Mary Hated it, especially the male rape scene!!!! 1 stars
11/08/03 Agent Sands (previously Mr. Hat) There are many different ways to look at this brilliant, amazing movie. So many great ones. 5 stars
11/05/03 ND swear to GOD, this should've won BEST PICTURE in Oscar. It was more deeper than Forest Gump 5 stars
10/21/03 Curious George snubbed for the oscar 5 stars
9/18/03 Samuel Justus Tarintino is Fucking Brilliant!!! 5 stars
7/30/03 Goofy Maxwell Sui generis, genre-bending standard by which all Gen X films are judged--it's 1 bad mutha! 5 stars
7/26/03 alien assassin The most overrated film of the 90's !!!!! 2 stars
6/24/03 candy Sex, Drugs,Rock-N-Roll AND Violence - A Must See Movie! 5 stars
6/22/03 cochese I saw it in the theatre 5 times and I rule, so that should tell you something. 5 stars
6/10/03 JoeSco seen it yet again - the best ever dialogue and great performances from Travolta, Jackson 5 stars
5/21/03 Ryan F. Good...not Quentins best...Reservoir Dogs was a film that he probably will not top 4 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik 2 those who hates PF: I shall strike down upon thee with great vengence, and furious anger. 5 stars
4/09/03 Jon A must see cornerstone film noir, Fuckin' Awesome!! 5 stars
2/10/03 David Nylocks This is one of the finest films ever made Quentin has a felling for dialouge. 5 stars
2/06/03 123 maybe not everybody likes this but this is truly a revolution in modern filmmaking 5 stars
1/28/03 Pinkline Jones POOP Fiction! Vile, foul-mouthed unclever garbage 1 stars
1/11/03 Barry Jule's "what" conversation and bible speech... classic. 5 stars
1/09/03 Crimson Matrix Great 5 stars
12/31/02 Jack Sommersby Entertaining, but not nearly as savvy as it portends. 3 stars
11/29/02 Buddha Riveting stuff, couldn't take my eyes off it. 5 stars
11/28/02 Zack W. Young I would have cried if I hadn't been puking my brains out. 5 stars
11/16/02 CVJ Excellent !!!! Just simply Excellent 5 stars
11/15/02 CONNIE JO COULD NOT TAKE MY EYES OFF THE SCREEN! 5 stars
10/17/02 Charles Tatum Tarantino is a joke now, but this was great 5 stars
10/14/02 Monster W. Kung Thought it was great when I first saw it, saw it again recently and doesn't hold one bit. 3 stars
9/29/02 Fuze44 First movie I actually went to see multiple times 5 stars
9/26/02 Morally Sound I know what's in the briefcase!!!! It's Marcellus Wallas' SOUL!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/04/02 Joe Zappa Qt deserved that Oscar. This movie is really clever, funny, and action-packed. 5 stars
8/25/02 Mike My favorite movie of all time. 5 stars
8/15/02 Cleo would somebody tell me whats in the suitcase? 4 stars
7/29/02 artemishia my all time favorite movie. i have every word of it memorized 5 stars
7/18/02 Cris Abisale One can hardly find words for this masterpiece.Must be seen 2 or 3 times. 5 stars
7/12/02 KMG Overrated 3 stars
7/01/02 Film Dude My favorite movie EVER. Go see this if you haven't already! 5 stars
6/10/02 Me Samuel L. Jackson steals the whole movie! My all-time favorite. 5 stars
6/02/02 sdjfsdkjf the entire "what" conversation between Jules and Brett. A fucking pisser! 5 stars
5/24/02 Kyle My favorite movie of all time. 5 stars
5/19/02 Dark Barøn What a darn fucking good movie. Do you really think that God came from Heaven and POW!! 5 stars
5/01/02 stoolie-bird i watch 100's of shitty movies every year....movies like this make it worth while. 5 stars
4/24/02 maximal01 "Pulp Fiction". Buy it. Rent it. Steal it. It's still with you the morning after... 5 stars
4/02/02 lauren mccreight a masterpiece!! 5 stars
3/05/02 Alan Smithee Perfect in every way. 5 stars
3/02/02 Unagiboy Check out the big brain on Brad!! Jackson has the absolutely best lines ever! 5 stars
2/09/02 Jay Fox Quentin Tarantino's influential masterpiece that has inspired me to write in his style. 5 stars
2/06/02 MJ Not the greatest thing I've ever been privy to seing 3 stars
2/03/02 Erikoll All movie references and "natural" dialogue, OK as entertainment, but far from great. 3 stars
1/24/02 Andrew Carden I Don't Know...I Just Love John Travolta. 5 stars
1/18/02 Scottish Kilt Fantastic , am a mushroom cloud laying mother fucker. 5 stars
1/11/02 Iain Anglin My Third Favorite Film. Tarantino is a genius 5 stars
1/03/02 Scream-Mania This movie has the best lines I've ever seen 5 stars
12/18/01 Monday Morning Always has been & always will be bull-bitchin'. 5 stars
12/09/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) A classic. Quentin Tarantino is a master. 5 stars
12/02/01 travis r. sorensen travolta and jackson give career best performances. shoulda won best picture 5 stars
12/01/01 Mark Conway Whos bike is this, Its not a bike its a chopper, Whos chopper is this, Zeds Whos Zed, Zeds, 5 stars
10/25/01 Bill Gains Stop crying, Smokey. Cruel is good. Cruel is funny. And Cruelty has a point (in this movie) 5 stars
10/19/01 steve granger the greateat movie of all time 5 stars
10/16/01 jawsboy I agree with monster. 4 stars
9/06/01 spaceworm Sure wish Mr. Blond would take care of teen movie critic. 5 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean Guy Ritchie can never be Quentin. So stop trying and just stay Madonna's male whore.. 5 stars
8/29/01 Monster W. Kung One of the most overrated movies ever. Entertaining, well done, but superficial. 4 stars
8/10/01 E-Funk Tarantino's finest film. Funny, sick and completely original. 5 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa Kinda fucked up the third time you see it, but the first 2 times are cool. 4 stars
8/02/01 KC Au I agree! Incoherent mess! And a waste of time! 1 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg Pure brilliance 5 stars
6/23/01 Tommy Best script, best dialouge, gets better every time you see it 5 stars
6/15/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe An American classic that might be all QT has to offer..hope not...! 5 stars
5/13/01 Mary Jane Rottencrotch The "pair of pliers and a blowtorch" line comes from 'Charley Varrick.' See it. 4 stars
5/13/01 The Moorhen Good - except for the first scene and the last scene coz the woman doesn't say same thing 4 stars
5/07/01 Desert Eagle wow 5 stars
5/07/01 Mikko Salminen Good, but a bit overrated. 4 stars
5/04/01 roby lafon one of tarantino's best 5 stars
4/08/01 Andrew Deikun Perfect blend of violence, great writing, intense scenes. My favorite movie ever 5 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L Could use some editing...great flick though 4 stars
3/21/01 bterry Love it!! 5 stars
3/20/01 TNT-6 Very well directed, although socially and psychologically not that deep. 4 stars
3/17/01 Scott Nobody speaks, intimidates, or yells like Sam Jackson, period. 5 stars
3/08/01 Sanja unusual movie and that's why it's best! 5 stars
2/22/01 trashstar Over-rated, boring and shallow. Not a bad movie, just not great. 3 stars
2/18/01 Soggy Bottom Boy This was one helluva fun movie - although I still like Reservoir Dogs better. 5 stars
2/16/01 Michael Nicholls Dizzling,dazzling-Pulp Fiction has stood the test of time... 5 stars
2/12/01 Richard Wright Brilliantly written, directed and acted, this is an undeniable masterpiece. 5 stars
2/12/01 Jake What a treat! One of the most unique films I have ever seen. 5 stars
2/07/01 Skip a lot of fun. 5 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog This movie is awesome!! Killer fuckin' film!! 5 stars
1/13/01 The Evil Penguin a little long, but it still rocks 4 stars
12/04/00 Cristopher Revilla one of the wiierdest movies, but also one of the best 5 stars
11/18/00 The Bill Head One of the top 10 Best Movies of the 90s! Writing, acting, director..great..best of 94' 5 stars
11/17/00 Chap This movie is bloody and chaotic. That's just one reason why it's so much fun. 5 stars
11/10/00 bruno criminals just arent cooler than these guys 5 stars
10/29/00 Jon S. If you don't like this movie, you suck. 5 stars
10/29/00 steven hargreaves what can you say. FUCKING EXCELLENT 5 stars
10/18/00 Dan Couldn't be better. Funny, thrilling, just awesome. 5 stars
10/11/00 P. Rodriguez ROSALIE- A word of advice- get a gimp you sad person. 5 stars
9/10/00 Jon Combs Love It 5 stars
9/02/00 Rosalie Coleman I asbolutely hated this movie. What a waste of time. 1 stars
8/30/00 Chris Drake Ignore miracles at your peril-brilliant dark comedy shines w/truth 5 stars
8/19/00 Bender A lot of awesome dialouge, but also a lot of pointless spots. 3 stars
8/13/00 Cidec Stark I love this movie. It's a classic. 5 stars
7/12/00 Daren Redmond WONDERFUL! WONDERFUL!..Copenhagen??? 5 stars
7/11/00 J. Andrew Hefner Titanic got more Academy Awards than this? What the fuck?! 5 stars
5/24/00 Mike - "Uh, the metric system?" - "Check out the big brain on Brad!" STUPENDOUS FLICK! 5 stars
5/16/00 Hieronymus fantastic 5 stars
5/11/00 PJ The Greatest Movie of our generation, this and Goodfellas, period!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/04/00 movieman totally re-defined moviemaking, a trluy great film 5 stars
4/01/00 Bruce The most influential movie of the 1990's 5 stars
3/07/00 Matt This is the best fucking movie ever made! Funny as hell, Tarantino kicks ass! 5 stars
2/22/00 Bozo not many movies are responsible for an entirely new genre; deserves all this praise & more 5 stars
2/21/00 Kyle Broflovski Didn't so much push the envelope as kick that bastard right off a cliff. 5 stars
2/10/00 Ed Wood HELL YEAH!!!! 5 stars
2/07/00 steve layne Overrated, but not bad 3 stars
1/30/00 P.S.O.K why the fukk isn't this on the top 20! 5 stars
1/24/00 Casey Jarzabek SAMUEL L IS THE FUNNIEST ACTOR I KNOW 5 stars
1/23/00 Dr. Dolittle A very good movie 5 stars
1/20/00 ripley amazing 5 stars
1/17/00 k.tomkowski A lot of swearing and mindless violence and not much else. Very overrated. 3 stars
1/17/00 victor great 5 stars
1/12/00 dr.d amazing!! 5 stars
1/10/00 dr.d a truly great film 5 stars
12/31/99 Anthony B. One of the best films ever! 5 stars
12/22/99 mutherfucker the most original film of the decade 5 stars
12/08/99 dog i liked uma barefooted 5 stars
12/04/99 PervertedPixie "Pulp Fiction" fucked with my head. And I liked it! 5 stars
10/27/99 Pat Lawlor See "In China they eat dogs" instead, THAT'S a great movie 3 stars
10/26/99 Karahde Khan Maybe the best film of the '90s. Definitely in my Top 5 ever. 5 stars
10/10/99 SJKelley Still Tarantino's masterpiece. 5 stars
9/23/99 Matt Damn...if only there could be a part 2 that would be just as good!!! 5 stars
8/23/99 Michael Grimm Great, but if you want to see better watch Resevoir Dogs 5 stars
8/22/99 Doc JTR Chef better not be talking about my review, but the movie is sensational 5 stars
8/20/99 Japtalian The best ass fuck scene since deliverance. 5 stars
8/02/99 Physh "Tarantino changed my taste in movies forever with Pulp. Cant watch it just once!!" 5 stars
7/19/99 Chef ADogg Good movie, but this review sucks all ass. 5 stars
5/03/99 The Bomb 69 Speechless!! 5 stars
4/28/99 the DUDE Greatest Movie ever made-Should have won a shit load of Oscars-Christopher Walken speech- 5 stars
4/21/99 lucas jackson a great twisted movie,fucking exciting 5 stars
4/20/99 Tim Ezekiel 25:17 enough said 5 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson Can't say it any better than Superfly 5 stars
4/10/99 Shelley confusing at first but i still loved it 5 stars
4/05/99 Matt Hand me my wallet... the one that says "BAD MOTHER FUCKER" 5 stars
2/20/99 Piz One of the most well-acted films ever. A great mix of everything, could see it 100 times. 5 stars
2/05/99 Vick Di Brecci I was quite taken despite the ramming of it down my throat 5 stars
1/27/99 Bishop Johnson Great faux hip crime film, Great dialogue! 5 stars
1/24/99 donkey_dew This movie was so fucking cool. Loved every single second of it. 5 stars
1/03/99 Dasha I didn't think I'd like it, but I did. 5 stars
12/24/98 Lou Pine, Jr. Indulgent bullshit. Reservoir Dogs far superior. Bruce Willis segment partially redeems it. 3 stars
12/07/98 Shadow Raider The ultimate bomb of 'em all! If you hate it , then you're a smartass mutha. 5 stars
12/04/98 Matthew J. Soucy The seminal film of the decade: Tarantino has revolutionized cinema. 5 stars
11/27/98 G possibly the best movie ever. definitely my favourite. great everything 5 stars
11/24/98 Mr.Pink One othe essential movies of all time 5 stars
11/19/98 Johnny Childish This movie is Tha ShiT!!! 5 stars
11/18/98 MinxxDaShorty I'm going to make my great grand kiddies watch this!! Jym "far Q". 5 stars
11/14/98 Jules As good as a 2 hour long orgasm 5 stars
11/06/98 Lord Of The Dunce Seriously brilliant filmmaking. Oh, how Quentin has lost it since. 5 stars
11/06/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! Shocking,Un-Censored and Hilarious!!,what else could you want ?,Its a fuckin CLASSIC. 5 stars
10/31/98 Silent Rob It's like a wax museum with a pulse! 5 stars
10/19/98 Kwyjibo Cult cool. The best performance of all concerned. 5 stars
10/18/98 Tuxedo Steve So goddamn cool. Get a rush every time I hear that opening music. 5 stars
10/13/98 jym tarantino is way too overrated--good actors ,bad acting, useless violence, usually good-no 1 stars
9/28/98 Heather Tarantino is a god. See this one now! 5 stars
9/23/98 Jason Rosenbaum This is better than Citizen Kane. Buy two tapes, you might break one watching it. 5 stars
9/18/98 Christian This is my all time fav. flick...Every violent and drug filled scene is funny...I love it! 5 stars
9/16/98 TakeAimDead Along with Miller's Crossing, one of the best "dialogue" films of the last 15 years 5 stars
9/08/98 Young Einstein Original in that Hollywood doesn't make these films at all. 5 stars
9/07/98 Damien It was good, but it was to overrated, Quentin T. isn't the greatest though 3 stars
9/07/98 BBReBozo I still watch it once a month. 5 stars
9/04/98 Badass Simply one of the very best constructed movies ever made. Awesome entertainment. 5 stars
8/29/98 Mister Whoopee Tarantino ripped off other films here, but it still rocks the house. Awesome. 5 stars
8/29/98 Johny No explanation needed really 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Oct-1994 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast