More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.36

Awesome34.69%
Worth A Look: 18.88%
Average: 13.78%
Pretty Bad: 13.27%
Total Crap: 19.39%

9 reviews, 142 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Wrong Turn
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Cochise

"Extremely creepy and realistic."
4 stars

"Wrong Turn" gives a whole new twist to the child's limerick, "A is for archer who shoots with a bow." Since I saw the film, I can't read that limerick without getting creeped out.

"Wrong Turn" gives a whole new twist to the child's limerick, "A is for archer who shoots with a bow." Since I saw the film, I can't read that limerick without getting creeped out.

"Wrong Turn" is one of the best horror/slasher films, I have ever seen. I say that even though a lot of reviewers rubbish this movie.

WARNING - In order to review this film and discuss its meaning, I have to reveal the ending. So . . . if you don't want to know what happens in the end, please don't read this until after you have seen the film.

What, to me, makes this movie so outstanding is the realism it has. (I'm not saying it is realistic in everything, but it has enough reality to be feel true.)

The evil characters (who are quite seriously disturbed individuals and also cannibals) seem believable. They are probably not very smart but have an uncanny ability to survive. Even though the cannibals are exaggerated for dramatic affect, they seemed like types who could, hypothetically exist in the forgotten back woods of America. (The evil ones in Wrong Turn are just much more in-bred and than those in Deliverance.)

I found the evil characters totally engrossing. They were like the terminator in that they "will not stop".

The archer was, to me, the most interesting character in that he was relentless and a really good shot. The marksmanship displayed by the archer in the film is unbelievably skillful.
The shot that killed the cop could not have been a easy one. (Unless he was shooting for the cop's chest, and missed, hitting the policeman's head - but it would still be a skilled shot.)

I think the archer is the key figure in the film. He dominated the chase scenes and shots of his quiver were shown many times. That made me feel the absolute menace of the character. His bow had a lot of penetrating power, and probably would be very hard for an ordinary person to draw. For example, in the scene where the victims stole the cannibal's tow truck to get away, and the guy who distracted the cannibals got shot with arrows when trying to get back to his friends, we see the skill of the archer and the power of his bow. (The archer fired three shots which were totally accurate: all closely spaced, and driving halfway through the person.)

One of the other evil characters was quite enthusiastic about pursuing his prey. He hooted, etc. when chasing the people. He seemed more mentally disturbed that the others.

I think the entire scene from where the victims stole the cannibals' truck to make their escape till the guy was shot with the arrows was well done. (It was a nice touch having the heroine drive the truck instead of a guy.)

One had to feel sorry for the victims. They were very naive in that they went to the evil guys' cabin expecting to simply use the phone and ask for help. Like some young people who may not have a lot of experience with the evil of the world, the victims were not frightened away by the appearance of the evil men's cabin.

There was two parts that I did find distracting. First, there was the part where one of the female victims insisted on finding a bathroom when she and the other victims were in the cannibal's cabin. I don't understand why her boyfriend didn't just tell her to go outside and squat. (Be that as it may, who would want to use the toilet in that cabin, stuff could be growing in it.) Secondly, from the number of vehicles stored near the cabin, the cannibals had probably been snatching and eating people for a long time. I think in the real world the cannibals would have been discovered and institutionalized long before they could have killed so many people. (Possibly a few less cars of former victims around the cannibal's cabin would make the story more realistic.) Maybe then one could believe that the bad guys hadn't been caught because they had been up to their bad business for a relatively short time.

The film had a high level of suspense and kept me wondering how the victims were going to save themselves. The story maintained my interest throughout.

Also, the film feels realistic to me because the landscape in which the story takes place is believable.

I was disappointed that the film ended in a way which left an opening for (most likely) a weak and pathetic sequel. I wish horror films wouldn't do that. (But I have learned to accept it.)

See this film. And buy it. I did, and was happy I did so. Any friends who came over and liked horror films would have to watch it. And I showed it to several different groups of friends. They all liked it and felt it was a unique horror film.

"A is for archer who shoots with a bow." That creeps me out now.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7721&reviewer=228
originally posted: 04/14/11 16:19:38
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell tense & grisly 3 stars
7/21/12 Sean Harrison Putrid attempt at horror. 1 stars
10/18/10 AlecM boooringgggg, watch the films it imitates instead. (TCM, deliverance, hills have eyes) 2 stars
8/19/10 PAUL SHORTT DERIVATIVE, ROUTINE GOREFEST 1 stars
2/06/10 brian Pathetic, insulting, cliched to the max, ignorant, ugly, hateful movie. 1 stars
7/27/08 Shelli Thought is was well done...enjoyed it a lot 4 stars
5/03/08 d satrana not that bad! if you're really bored n want to watch a movie.. this serves the purpose 4 stars
4/28/08 art IT SURE WAS A WRONG TURN 1 stars
7/24/07 taro characers are so unlikable, I wanted them to die. 1 stars
2/17/07 Ruby Saw it in a bar- was a captive audience wish i had that time back. 1 stars
12/06/06 Shamine Wright it a very cool movie 5 stars
12/03/06 David Pollastrini good gore. 5 stars
11/03/06 Hauzy might have been a wrong turn, but everything about this movie was right 5 stars
10/30/06 AJ Muller a solid slasher flick that totally earns its right to exist 3 stars
10/23/06 Seth Gunari ya way better than jeepers creepers 5 stars
10/19/06 katie trotman the best film in the world go to see so goood 5 stars
9/09/06 Sully I'd like to eat Dushku...does that make me an inbred W. Virg. cannibal....? 5 stars
7/31/06 Agent Sands Did what Cabin Fever didn't do right, but still didn't do it that well. 3 stars
7/30/06 Shaun Wallner this was pretty good 4 stars
6/28/06 Evil Wolfie Horrible and a waste of time 1 stars
6/25/06 MP Bartley Tick off the cliches one by one people... 2 stars
6/16/06 Michele fun and a little creepy 4 stars
6/08/06 Lisa Trees and nasty weapons don't mix!!! 5 stars
5/16/06 Amanda It scared the crap out of me. And I'm from Kentucky! ha ha 4 stars
4/12/06 Simon-ann Poombuh Totally vivacious! te critics who belittled this film are absolutely retarded. If you all 4 stars
1/19/06 Rachel Blevins One of the best movies ever !!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/23/05 Booby The sequel is going to be Called Wrong Turn Back 5 stars
10/27/05 chris not bad and not good either 3 stars
9/26/05 Priscilla Postlethwaite I sure hope John Denver went to a different part of Heaven than this almost is! 4 stars
8/25/05 Eden It's watchable but you've seen it a million times before 2 stars
7/29/05 mzukisi dwenene can you tell me about that three men in the forest eat human called cannibals 3 stars
4/26/05 E-FUNK If you enjoy cannibal-mutant-muppets grab-assing WB rejects, grab a spoon! 1 stars
12/06/04 K. Sear Ridiculous, commerical attempt to modernize "The Hills Have Eyes". 1 stars
12/04/04 Jawil Osbam Grrrrr! My luck would be to end up in the part of Heaven that this almost is. 4 stars
10/15/04 Don Eckert Good Effort with a quick pace. Not a classic but not bad either. 4 stars
9/02/04 Josh Standlee It rocks, and even thoug it makes me think of my ex-girlfriend, I still love it! 5 stars
8/24/04 American Slasher Goddess Nice, stylish horror flick with some good gore 4 stars
8/21/04 McGraw Instantly forgotten P.O.S horror schlock. LAME-ASS. 1 stars
7/04/04 True Review i thought this movie would suck like Cabin Fever but its way better, an entertaining horror 4 stars
6/24/04 Grady Davis It made no indication as to if the rednecks were monster, though they don't seem to die. 3 stars
6/03/04 i'm the director of the film what, oh WHAT was I thinking! Someone kill me for making such stupid, repetitive trash. 1 stars
5/24/04 Blakers a great film 5 stars
4/20/04 D77Spoony Intense! Ignore the critics until you've seen it! 5 stars
4/17/04 Michael Greenwaldt An excellent, intense, ride! One of the best horror films of its kind in awhile! 5 stars
4/16/04 Chawna M Movie was great....really scary...worth the watch!! 5 stars
4/11/04 valerie hart a great horror movie by far the best one this year!!! 5 stars
3/30/04 American Slasher Goddess Very well done,much better then the Chainsaw remake. 4 stars
3/21/04 Kayla nice nice movie.. desmond harrington is pretty hot.. id say!! 5 stars
3/19/04 Nancy Loved the movie; the 3 guys gave me nightmares. I'll drive down a dirt road alone again! 4 stars
3/16/04 Eliza Dushka I loved Making that movie, My Cousin had to dress up as one of the Canniballs. I laughed! 5 stars
3/09/04 Frank Miller Kicks ass and takes names... 5 stars
3/07/04 Zach G. A FUN movie. The cannibals were done by the same guy from Jurassic Park! 5 stars
3/02/04 Michael Stjames There are obviously a lot of stupid people out there that think they are credible critics. 5 stars
2/23/04 Naturezrevenge 1 star less than "sucks". Review above acurate. Enjoy watching screamy girls killed. Joy. 2 stars
2/22/04 LIAM JACKSON the character of 'three-finger' scared the shite out of me.such a loon. 5 stars
2/13/04 Kai Silly me, I actually thought that this movie might be decent. 1 stars
2/05/04 LIAM JACKSON good film. this is one reason why i never visit the south 4 stars
2/03/04 ghost nothing special 3 stars
12/30/03 re A GREAT FILM 5 stars
12/26/03 Sara Really Good!!! 5 stars
12/23/03 jeremiah martin I loved it was so awsome 5 stars
12/13/03 Chris A great horror movie! 4 stars
12/13/03 Karie I loved it!!! 5 stars
12/12/03 The killer Someone convinced me this was a true story, luckily later i found out it wasn't 5 stars
12/12/03 Leather_FAce Kicks ass! 5 stars
12/12/03 Captain Spaulding awesome backwoods splatter flick!! 5 stars
12/12/03 Charlie and the Chocolate FActory Great movie! 5 stars
12/10/03 tim great! 5 stars
12/10/03 re A GREAT FILM 5 stars
12/09/03 Samuel One of the best horror films this Decade!! 5 stars
12/02/03 matt much better than texas chainsaw remake! 3 stars
11/22/03 Sharon i liked it..much better than that shit house of 1000 corpses 5 stars
11/18/03 he a great film 5 stars
11/16/03 Alice Good acting,indeed no original story, but never boring!I liked it. 5 stars
11/13/03 FUCK HOLLYWOOD YOU MAKE SHIT AND CARE ABOUT NO ONE!! 1 stars
11/01/03 cinkcool your girlfriend is fucking dumb just like you! 1 stars
10/24/03 NBCraftsman Best special effect: Elizas' glaring white un-stained tank top... 2 stars
10/24/03 Boris Mind-numbingly average 3 stars
10/24/03 Kae Wasn't that great, Eliza Dushku was cool though, but the movie was NOT! 2 stars
10/21/03 Albie Better than most cheezy slasher flix...What should anyone expect from one of these? 3 stars
10/17/03 Josh Standlee Loved it, so did my girlfriend! 5 stars
10/15/03 culprit64 who ever thought this movie was awesome needs some serious pyschological help... 2 stars
10/15/03 Redpajammas THIS MOVIE WAS GREAT!!!!! 5 stars
10/14/03 Dushku Diver THIS MOVIE SUCKS SO MUCH ASS I CAN STILL TASTE IT FROM THE PREMIER! 1 stars
10/13/03 jITJIT sKEPHZUKKS Eliza Dushku finally shows talent, on eve of being stolen off bg scren by damned TV series! 4 stars
10/07/03 Samuel Justus Wrong Turn, House of 1000 Corpses, Cabin Fever, Cant wait for the Texas Chainsaw re-make!! 5 stars
10/07/03 Erik Van Sant Cannibal-mutant-muppets manage to be as scary as a Fraggle Rock episode. Unbelievably bad. 1 stars
9/24/03 Ingo Starts no so bad, but then it get's boring and badly acted. 2 stars
9/03/03 here THE BEST OF THE BEST 5 stars
8/24/03 stephen joyce it was awesome and would definitely watch it again 5 stars
8/18/03 h the best film 5 stars
8/15/03 The Velcro Warlock Taut thriller. But who the fuck are these Neanderthaloid villains? 4 stars
8/01/03 Dave M Whats wrong with you people ? A true classic. Keep givin good movies shit reviews as u do. 5 stars
7/31/03 aiken drum Obsenly stupid in parts, but its fun to watch them all die. 3 stars
7/31/03 nr GREAT I LOVED IT 5 stars
7/28/03 Collin You Want A Truly Scary Horror Movie Rent Wes Craven's New Nightmare Don't Wast Time On This 1 stars
7/26/03 Gary Fantastic 5 stars
7/18/03 Hottie great 5 stars
7/12/03 Joe GREAT 5 stars
7/11/03 nr GREAT I LOVED IT 5 stars
7/10/03 Gary A superb classic. 5 stars
7/09/03 Phil Of course this film isn't going to be anything we haven't seen before, but it's still great 5 stars
7/08/03 nr great i loved it 5 stars
7/08/03 Young critic Very poor movie. High cheese factor 1 stars
6/28/03 Giddy COOL 5 stars
6/27/03 john allen I respectfully disagree with your review. tense and well paced 5 stars
6/24/03 Chris It's awesome 5 stars
6/24/03 steve scary, suspenseful, but also a little too predictable 4 stars
6/21/03 Don Fast paced and suspenseful. Low budget and attitude make for a decent horror flick. 4 stars
6/21/03 tiffany the movie is awesome espicialy eliza who has the guts to show her real color! 5 stars
6/19/03 Jerry Stop insulting the film!!! 5 stars
6/19/03 Sauce Waste of time. It wasn't even scary. 1 stars
6/18/03 Chris GRREAT 5 stars
6/17/03 he great film scary 5 stars
6/16/03 caramel jenkins nice prrtty scary 5 stars
6/13/03 Jerry Really scary 5 stars
6/12/03 stud great film scary 5 stars
6/12/03 Jeff Tuttle Worth seeing. Semi-scary and humorous. 4 stars
6/11/03 Brannie Herez Brannie, This movie looks sooo bad that i wont even bother to pay for movie tickets. 1 stars
6/11/03 Hottie I thought this was a GREAT movie and the actors did great also! 5 stars
6/11/03 cheebs! Liked it so much the first time that I went again. :) 4 stars
6/10/03 Obi Wan Not too bad...movie knows what is it and doesn't try too hard 3 stars
6/09/03 Pam Rather a run-of-the-mill slasher film that reminded me of Jason Vorhees meets Deliverance. 3 stars
6/09/03 Kaylyn I saw the film last night and happened to like it very much. I suggest seeing it. 4 stars
6/09/03 Colin This Makes The Friday The 13th Series Look Like Shakesphere 1 stars
6/08/03 heeee great 5 stars
6/07/03 Mini-me ***** 5 stars
6/07/03 MEEE great 5 stars
6/07/03 .Choadushouse. The tree part was good. This is nothing like SCREAM. It's a decent horror movie... 3 stars
6/06/03 Horror films get lame Scream was an ok film, but its spawn is just awful. All these gore films look alike. 1 stars
6/06/03 Amy It was better than I expected. (I always keep my expectations low.) 3 stars
6/05/03 Erik Van Sant Cannibal-Mutant-Muppets aren't scary...Desmond Harrington's acting is. This movie blows. 1 stars
6/05/03 Hanky JESUS CHRIST!! Talk about a good film 5 stars
6/05/03 Nick Schneider If you're so tired of the horror genre, why keep going? 4 stars
6/04/03 Jack Bourbon Hee hee hee hee haw!!! Pretty amusing stuff. Great tree sequence. 4 stars
6/04/03 mee gre 5 stars
6/04/03 nik jesus christ on a vespa, did this blow! 1 stars
6/03/03 amazing scary 5 stars
6/01/03 Steven RIP-OFF of SO many better movies. Laughably bad and not the least bit terrifying. LAME 1 stars
5/31/03 Joseph Barale Better than Jeepers Creepers 5 stars
5/31/03 Worse Than You! WORST...MOVIE...EVER 1 stars
5/31/03 Meyeson It's like a dream come true episode of ROAD RULES, hooray for the cannibals! 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-May-2003 (R)
  DVD: 14-Oct-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  31-Jul-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast