More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.03

Awesome: 10.53%
Worth A Look: 5.26%
Average: 21.05%
Pretty Bad: 2.63%
Total Crap60.53%

2 reviews, 26 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Specialist, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Ack."
1 stars

Ack.

Sylvester Stallone seems more intent on showing off unnatural-looking muscles than acting, and Sharon Stone seems content to take off her clothes. Again.

Ack, I say.

Sly's the specialist in question. A hitman. Stone's looking to have members of Rod Stieger's family killed for some injustice he caused her when he was younger (he - or some of his men, it doesn't really matter - killed her family). She hires Sly from the internet, but he won't do it. They fall for each other. They have sex in a shower. She doublecrosses him. James Woods acts creepy. Stone and Stallone get back together and blow shit up. The End.

Ack, again, I say.

Wooden acting from the two leads, and Steiger does some bizarre, untraceable accent. Certainly not the best work of anyone involved. And how in the hell does Eric Roberts keep getting work?

It's lame. Devoid of suspense and action.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=773&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/10/98 01:34:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/13/15 Me Sharon stone smoking cigarettes...it's worth watching for that alone 4 stars
2/20/10 PAUL SHORTT TRASHY AND SILLY 1 stars
8/28/09 Jeff Wilder Entertaining but not intellectualy stimulating. 3 stars
7/12/07 #1 Fan! I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!!!! 5 stars
1/26/06 JM Synth Not great, but not boring 3 stars
9/05/05 Luis A. Arroyo I think that some people talk a lot of shit; that movie mas GREAT! 5 stars
7/29/05 tony ok i guess 2 stars
6/03/05 Indrid Cold Trashy exploitation, but some good-looking and exciting action. 3 stars
4/03/04 Chirag Very Excllent Nice Sharon Ass and Tight Tits 5 stars
3/02/04 Whatevr HOW COULD SALLONE SURVIVE THIS MOVIE? HE'S NOT HUMAN I TELL YOU! 1 stars
11/30/03 john clumsy boring and pointless 1 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby Atrociously scripted yet directed with flair. Woods makes for dynamic villain. 3 stars
1/06/03 R.W. Welch Far-fetched, mildly entertaing explosion fest. Would have helped if it made sense. 3 stars
2/07/02 Zargo It's bad... but, it's good 5 stars
2/03/02 Erikoll Laughably bad, one of the worst I have ever seen. 1 stars
9/03/01 Butterbean Not that bad....not that good. 3 stars
4/24/01 Spetters It´s stupid, lame, bad, almost offensive nonsense. And i laughed all the way!!! 3 stars
8/23/00 zall No wonder Arnie is more popular than Sly 1 stars
11/22/99 strike I enjoyde it in a ´so bad it´s good´kind of way. 3 stars
9/23/99 Matt Sharon Stone naked.... What a suprise! Same as Quick & the Dead but with dynamite!!! DUMB! 1 stars
7/16/99 ObiWan Would rather bang my head in the wall and see this rock-bottom excuse for a movie. 1 stars
11/23/98 Peter OK, not his best movie. But the action is ok. 4 stars
11/13/98 Bad Kosh This sucked more ass, only when they treated us like idiotic bastards. Sigh... 1 stars
10/30/98 Negative Creep The worst film I have ever seen in a theatre. Its pure pain.And it was filmed in myhometown 1 stars
10/24/98 Kwyjibo You could have seen me throw up if you were at the cinema when I saw this. 1 stars
9/06/98 Young Einstein What total shit. Sly looks like a thalydamide kid. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  07-Oct-1994 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Nov-1994 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast