More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.22

Awesome53.49%
Worth A Look: 28.68%
Average: 8.53%
Pretty Bad: 5.43%
Total Crap: 3.88%

3 reviews, 111 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Legend of the Lone Ranger, The by Jack Sommersby

Finding Vivian Maier by Jay Seaver

Dom Hemingway by Jay Seaver

Game of Death, The (2000) by Charles Tatum

Blue Ruin by Jay Seaver

That Demon Within by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Brett Gallman

Amazing Spider-Man 2, The by Daniel Kelly

Hysteria by Jack Sommersby

Congress, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Dumb & Dumber
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Bob, Lord of Evil

"' Just go man. Just go.'"
4 stars

I give this flick credit where credit is due. I saw it when I about 11 or 12, and I said I would never stop loving it. I have seen it maybe four or six times a year since then. I still haven't stopped laughing.

I guess that's the thing about comedies- They stop being funny eventually. Sometimes you laugh at a part but you start laughing before it happens because you've seen it so many times. I myself crack up the second the Black Knight appears in Monty Python and the Holy Grail. Animal House still makes me laugh like a madman, but it's so familiar at this point it can't help but seem familiar.

Well Dumb and Dumber, like Airplane!, is one of the few flicks to seem fresh each time I see it. I laugh as loud now at " It's okay! I'm a limo driver!" as I did when I first saw it. It's insane but it's how it is.

What makes this movie very cool is the rest of the world is normal. It's all Lloyd(Carey) and Harry's (Daniels) bizarre freak show. Everything that they touch turns insane and it's nothing short of hilarious.

Lauren Holly has headlights, Harland Williams makes funny noises, and... that guy stood there... well.... C'mon, the first dead bird since Python! C'MON!!!

Pretty bird! Pretty bird!

"T... T.... Heh... T-heh...." " The."

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=775&reviewer=150
originally posted: 10/21/99 10:36:41
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/03/13 Marty Those claiming only toilet humor here need to listen closer. And totally redeem themselves! 5 stars
3/24/12 Monday Morning Every once in a while, you NEED to watch a movie like this. 5 stars
2/21/10 Jeff Wilder Amusing in spots. But overall the humor never ventures far beyond the toilet. 3 stars
11/16/09 Reality Of Films THIS IS THE BEST MOVIE IN THE HISTORY OF MANKIND! IT IS HILARIOUS! 5 stars
7/08/09 *Holy_J@lapeno* Endless laughs. My fiancees brother and I still shout out D&D quotes all the time!!!! 5 stars
5/14/09 Chris Unbelievable 5 stars
3/28/09 Total Crap "No food, no jobs, our pets heads are falling off!" 5 stars
3/28/08 Renzo Not funny 2 stars
3/08/08 Pamela White dumber than dumb 2 stars
12/05/06 yasmin bought the uncut version just for Charles Rocket's last interview,laughed all way through. 4 stars
12/03/06 Anthony G One of the best movies ever made. DAVID IS GAY 5 stars
10/05/06 David Cohen The title says it all. Can Carrey do anything besides make irritating noises? 1 stars
7/26/06 Sepi53 did not like it! 2 stars
5/09/06 Jonathan Powell SERIOUSLY THE FUNNIEST MOVIE EVER MADE 5 stars
4/23/06 Simon best comedy of our time. not even kidding. 5 stars
4/07/06 Colin This movie rules. 5 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer The One and Only "GREAT" Farrelly Bros. movie. TOO DAMN FUNNY!!! 5 stars
3/02/06 chris f funnyst movie ever !!!! 5 stars
2/14/06 Two Gun The quotes from this movie can be used from now on...could watch it weekly 5 stars
2/12/06 Indrid Cold Approaches Naked Gun in # of gags attempted and # of gags successful. 5 stars
2/10/06 Monday Morning So stupid it's brilliant 5 stars
1/02/06 cody a great comedy with good actors, funny from beginning to ending 4 stars
9/13/05 bbbr yes good one 5 stars
8/26/05 ES Not as good as Ace but still hilarious, the dream sequences are the best 4 stars
5/27/05 Quigley its genius almost makes it too funny. an absolute classic. one of the best films ever made 5 stars
5/25/05 The shizz hilarious, when I think of this movie while taking a shit i have projectile diarrhea! 5 stars
5/11/05 Simon Blends in both stupid and clever humor to make an endlessly hilarious model comedy. 5 stars
4/08/05 Clubber Lang Funny, but completely one-note. 3 stars
3/03/05 jeff 1 in a million???!!! YES 5 stars
1/15/05 Jeff Anderson The laughs are hit or miss, but Jim Carrey and Jeff Daniels are hilarious and a scream. 3 stars
9/04/04 T.B. I liked the begin it funny 3 stars
7/18/04 Nobody Probably the best of Farelly bros. 4 stars
5/10/04 person its funnier than funny 5 stars
5/01/04 Adam What was all that one in a million talk???? 5 stars
4/14/04 Kev My favorite movie ever made. It's just too damn funny. 5 stars
3/22/04 Elena So shamelessly funny, but a little too gross (the piss in bottles-- man!) 4 stars
12/10/03 re A GREAT FILM 5 stars
11/30/03 jmsynth Somehow, I laigh throughout this movie every time I see it 5 stars
11/24/03 Samuel I watch it almost everytime it comes on tv, the weird thing is I have it on VHS too!! 5 stars
11/20/03 Ross Woah, so good 5 stars
11/18/03 mack the best movie ever 5 stars
6/21/03 Geo78665 Funny, but overrated. 3 stars
6/15/03 gddfgdfg Hilarious movie. Don't see Dumb and Dumberer. It sucks ass! 5 stars
5/21/03 spectreman Horrible waste of my life energy!!! 1 stars
5/01/03 Johnny Boy Greatest comedy Carrey ever made ever!!!!! 5 stars
4/11/03 R.W. Welch Lots of klutzy humor, some of which works. 3 stars
4/05/03 Jack Sommersby Good fun, but it bogs down at times. 4 stars
4/03/03 Zach Great 5 stars
4/02/03 Mr. Do yep. This one's a favorite of mine. 5 stars
3/31/03 shnad THE BEST COMEDY OF ALL TIME!!! 5 stars
3/28/03 Nevz "I dunno Lloyd, the French are assholes!" 5 stars
3/24/03 Dave A good example of genuinely hilarious comedy. 4 stars
1/30/03 NWO4LIFE Sometimes too obvious, sometimes funny, occasionally very funny. 3 stars
11/17/02 Nevz Totally mad 5 stars
10/27/02 MarktheShark6 It's hard to find a good Carrey movie anymore (I despertly wanna make love to a school boy) 5 stars
10/16/02 Charles Tatum The Farrellys like to substitute poopy jokes for actual humor 2 stars
9/15/02 Eric Stocklmeir Possibly the best comedy ever! 5 stars
9/03/02 AshFan Very funny past the toilet humor. "Bird, sing! Sing, sing!!" 5 stars
9/01/02 Justin Too funny! 5 stars
8/30/02 Interrog8 Wore out the reel on my first copy. "Boy this party really died." Funniest movie ever! 5 stars
8/17/02 Film Guy Funnier and Funnier every time i watch it 5 stars
8/08/02 Nevz I never get bored of this film 5 stars
8/04/02 shawn I love this movie,jim carey is hillarious, never gotten tired of it 5 stars
6/12/02 franky rodriguez it was stupidly funny 5 stars
6/06/02 Kyle Hilarious! I've never gotten tired of it. 5 stars
5/27/02 Nicole Disgusting & hilarious 4 stars
5/11/02 koogles One of the funniest road trip movies ever- right up there with Lampoon's Vacation,Tommy Boy 5 stars
4/18/02 Film Dude Dislike this movie and die. FUCK YOU, ANDREW CARDEN. 5 stars
2/05/02 Tiffany Thunderhurst Proof positive that Jim Carrey & Lauren Holly should've stated together! 5 stars
11/29/01 KMG Jim Carrey singing "Mockingbird" in that fat guy's ear is hilarious! 3 stars
11/15/01 Monday Morning So dumb it's brilliant. The pinnacle of American culture. 5 stars
10/10/01 jawsboy good sssssstuf!! better than me myself and irene 4 stars
9/18/01 Butterbean HIL*FUCKING*LARIOUS!! 5 stars
8/27/01 jon This is one of the funniest movies of all time!!!!! 5 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Hilarious movie. Jeff Daniels is surprisingly the funnier of the two retards. 5 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa I have seen this movie a total of 49 times! It goes w/o saying that I love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/07/01 King Jackass BOB THE LORD OF EVIL IS RIGHT! YOU WILL NEVER GET TIRED OF THIS MOVIE! 5 stars
6/07/01 K.B. Cooper AWESOME!! FUNNY!!!! DO NOT MISS!!! 5 stars
5/27/01 BrainPan Jeff Daniels rules the pools, fools! 5 stars
5/10/01 Indra dumb movie, that what it is 4 stars
4/18/01 Kristen Haa Booya! This movie is pee in your pants hilarious! 5 stars
4/01/01 Monster W. Kung The usual idiotic slapstick crap with no brain you would expect from Hollywood. 2 stars
3/28/01 Jesse L This is a really funny movie.. 5 stars
3/22/01 Deirdre Flaherty I thinking it is absolutely hilarious 5 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog Very funny movie, Carrey is too f__king funny!! 4 stars
12/27/00 Turtle Hilarious! Jim Carrey at his best! 5 stars
12/20/00 Speedy Quite possibly the funniest movie of the last 20 years. 5 stars
11/29/00 Mindy Morgan I love this movie!!!!! 5 stars
11/28/00 Scott Rosier Funniest movie ever made, if you watched it every day, it would still not be enough 5 stars
11/14/00 The EVIL Penguin Not that funny 3 stars
10/03/00 Monday Morning The smarter you are, the more you like it. 5 stars
9/14/00 Elvisfan A title was never so true...and its true of you if you like this insipid tripe 1 stars
9/08/00 Gray If frozen tongues and broken toilets are supposed to be funny, I'd laugh at an Ernest movie 1 stars
3/09/00 David Rogers Jim Carrey is hillarious, and he proved it in this. 5 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Mary, Schmary. This is the ORIGINAL "gross-out" comedy! 4 stars
2/04/00 arnold really fucking oringinal 5 stars
11/04/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster Good , but Carrey tries way to hard sometimes , i think Daniels is funnier in it . 4 stars
10/23/99 The Bomb 69 hit and miss comedy, mostly hit 4 stars
7/05/99 David Keech Unfunny, and manipulative. Why did Jeff Daniels ever agree to do this piece of shit? 1 stars
6/15/99 Dylan That toilet scene!!! 4 stars
5/02/99 Whitney Lots of Bathroom humor, but pretty damn funny 4 stars
2/25/99 Viral Messiah SWEEET! 4 stars
1/24/99 Hannah Somebody please tell me what's so funny about this stuff. 2 stars
1/11/99 Frenchie the Frenchman Carrey: he's a GENIUS! Forget Monsieur Lewis. Jerry Lewis...MANGE MOI! 5 stars
11/24/98 {{{OZ}}} Some great moments but a lot of "duh" comedy. For the people who cant do crosswords. 3 stars
11/06/98 David Torpey Great but gets to you after a while. 5 stars
9/27/98 katherine this movies so funny!` 4 stars
9/19/98 Jonny Be BAD Spork,we meet again. How you can denounce the most elloquent work in film is beyond me..... 5 stars
9/15/98 Negative Creep Dumb and Dumber? it only gets worse from here for the creators of this film, Avoid the rest 3 stars
9/12/98 kanatcha jim carey... what more can i say? 4 stars
9/02/98 J-Guy slapstick crapstick, not a carrey fan. wouldnt suggest it to you. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Dec-1994 (PG-13)
  DVD: 03-Jan-2006

UK
  07-Apr-1995 (12)

Australia
  N/A (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast