More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.28

Awesome66.2%
Worth A Look: 15.49%
Average: 2.82%
Pretty Bad: 11.27%
Total Crap: 4.23%

1 review, 65 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Bad Eggs
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Stephen Groenewegen

"Rotten"
2 stars

Mick Molloy continues his unlikely career as Australian movie star in Bad Eggs, the directorial debut of fellow comic Tony Martin.

After a promising start, Bad Eggs quickly becomes a shambles of over-plotting, lacklustre pacing, overworked gags, predictable villains and clashing acting styles. Several of the jokes have an exuberant nuttiness, such as the 1980s courtship of police operatives played by Molloy and Judith Lucy (complete with zany Kajagoogoo hairdos), but the jokes generally extend past breaking point.

Failing to grasp that you need some recognisable reality for the variety of satire heís attempting, Martinís police corruption story collapses under a succession of increasingly ludicrous plot twists. Robyn Nevinís brief appearance demonstrates all too clearly the benefit of casting actors in a comedy, as well as comics.

As a director, Martin needs confidence enough to let situations and characters develop and breathe, and not try to fill every pause with juvenile swearing or explosions.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7769&reviewer=104
originally posted: 08/15/03 14:02:11
[printer] printer-friendly format  
For more in the Australian series, click here.

User Comments

11/01/06 Damian Very good Australian film. Half comedy, half drama. Worth finding. 4 stars
6/27/06 chienne I wish it had done better @t'box office, Tony's brilliant. D-Gen r legends!! 5 stars
6/12/06 Mogos You either get this or you don't. I think it's brilliant. 5 stars
4/30/06 Gareth So fuckin' American? Brett obviously doesn't get it at all. Pull another bong, buddy. 5 stars
4/22/06 sugar truly believe Stephen G doesn't have a clue, cannot trust his reviews 5 stars
4/21/06 Brett Piece of shit Aussie film that is so fuckin' American,such a shame. 1 stars
9/27/05 drew great 4 stars
5/12/05 Adrian Martin My brother's finest work to date 5 stars
1/16/05 Suzy Not what I was expecting. Very well done, once you get the style of it. 4 stars
1/14/05 Rudy G Don't worry, the same reviewer bags Newsfront! But likes Take Away! 5 stars
1/14/05 Linus Reviewer insane. Nevin only actor? What about Hunter? Napier? Bell? Swain? Vidler? Brough? 5 stars
11/22/04 Archanist_101 This might have to be the best Australian film ever made!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/20/04 pissed off guy the guy who rated this is a F*** WIT!!!!! 5 stars
1/05/04 Animal I apologise for my comment below. I am a right cunt. Seriously. Iam. 5 stars
1/05/04 Stavros What a corker! 5 stars
12/29/03 Natalie. Well worth the money I paid to see it! I would definately go see it again. 5 stars
12/14/03 Animal Worst film I've seen in a long time 2 stars
10/27/03 Peaches Wonderful 5 stars
10/12/03 STEVO Pissed myself! 5 stars
10/12/03 Jools Bill Hunter is a legend! 5 stars
10/12/03 Macy Bob Franklin: an underrated genius. Mick Molloy: Can actually act! 4 stars
10/12/03 Arch Not a Molloy or Lucy fan, but this was terrific. Bob Franklin (and the computer guy) great! 5 stars
10/12/03 Sel Great opening scene, great closing scene. Rest good too. 4 stars
10/04/03 Mavis Most amusing. Better acting than you usually get in this kind of film. Bravo. 5 stars
10/04/03 Potto Classic! The reviewer above has his taste in his arse. Along with his boyfriend's fat dick. 5 stars
10/04/03 Rod Read the SMH review and stayed away. Big mistake. This is near fucking genius! 5 stars
10/04/03 Holly More invention in 5 minutes than in all of Japanese fucking Story. 5 stars
10/04/03 Mace Massively underrated. 5 stars
9/10/03 Elso A great comedy! Ignore Gaywagon, he liked Danny fucking Deckchair! 5 stars
8/29/03 dark_pheonix SHAUN MICALLEF!! *yay* 5 stars
8/16/03 Tayesha Pope Bloody Brilliant Stuff - Pure Hilarity 5 stars
8/15/03 Hursty I hope Groenwegen remembers to "develop and breathe"...as he takes one up the arse! 5 stars
8/15/03 Shelbyville And read Groenwegen's on-line Abba stuff! I'M free!!! 3 stars
8/15/03 Hank Groenwegen also writes for the GAY DR WHO PAGE!!! Check it out. I'm not making this up! 5 stars
8/15/03 Mello Yello The Nugget! He liked The Nugget! And his favourite actor is JOEL f***ing Edgerton! 4 stars
8/15/03 Wells Check Groaners review of Can't Stop the Murders! 4 stars! Did ANYONE see that turd? 5 stars
8/15/03 Emmett Groanwagon LOVED Danny Deckchair! That tells you all you need to know! Bad Eggs is great! 5 stars
8/15/03 Curtis K. Explosions Groenwoegen? There's exactly one. This movie (and the cast) are superb. 5 stars
8/15/03 Paul Dempsey Rottern Eggs. Comedians are not actors!!!! 2 stars
8/12/03 Stan Magro Sensational. Funniest movie in years 5 stars
8/11/03 Olivia Ross Absolutely brilliant. Best Australian film ever 5 stars
8/04/03 AfC Why was the boom mike in shot for almost hlaf the film? 3 stars
8/03/03 ben eb great aussie comedy 5 stars
8/01/03 Alex Double G's at total d***wad, the movie itself is excellent!! 5 stars
8/01/03 Double G i hate rotten eggs why movie bout eggs 1 stars
8/01/03 jason kamasz tony martin is a genius 5 stars
7/30/03 Elicia Reyes Very good - a few good laughs in it. 4 stars
7/30/03 Elicia Reyes Very good - a few good laughs in it. 4 stars
7/30/03 P.J. Wicked 5 stars
7/29/03 David Hamilton Oozing with style and very entertaining - I'm going to see it again 5 stars
7/29/03 Dale Dunbar Best damn Aussie Comedy ever. 5 stars
7/29/03 Baby Goddess FUNNY! 4 stars
7/27/03 psyc Where'd he get a barrel? 5 stars
7/27/03 Matt A Must See 5 stars
7/26/03 Renko Great opening scene, great final scene. Rest not bad either! 5 stars
7/25/03 Rich Sensational Buggerlugs 5 stars
7/25/03 Rae i nearly died laughing, my sides my sides !! chukachow 5 stars
7/24/03 rk very good 4 stars
7/22/03 Bellfry Bloody funny and kind of exciting as well. Top flick 5 stars
7/21/03 danielle very funny +very clever marriage of thriller+comedy, layered with jokes+ subversive commen 5 stars
7/21/03 Ghetto Smurf Aussie films usually suck. This one almost doesn't! 5 stars
7/12/03 Pellmell Excellent! Not like an Australian film at all. 4 stars
7/12/03 Mako Unbelievably good...what a surprise. 5 stars
7/10/03 tim lebowski wheeew! What a stinker!!! 1 stars
7/07/03 Bad Egg Ten times better than crackerjack. Best Aussie movie so far. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  N/A

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-Jul-2003 (M)


Directed by
  Tony Martin

Written by
  Tony Martin

Cast
  Mick Molloy
  Bob Franklin
  Judith Lucy
  Alan Brough



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast