More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.9

Awesome: 7.46%
Worth A Look: 13.43%
Average: 2.99%
Pretty Bad: 13.43%
Total Crap62.69%

3 reviews, 49 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Dumb and Dumberer: When Harry Met Lloyd
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Let's hear it for truth in advertising!"
1 stars

Hey, you have no one to blame but yourself if you find the words "One for Dumb and Dumberer please" coming out of your mouth. Now, nobody loves a good stupid laugh as much as I do...but this movie's all stupid and no laugh. The original worked effortlessly; the creators of this biblically unnecessary prequel simply show no effort.

Just so you know that I wasn't gunning for this movie right from the get-go: I go on record as stating that Eric Christian Olsen's performance in Not Another Teen Movie had me rolling with peals of laughter. I'm completely serious. Rent the flick again and pay attention to the "pretty white bread" guy and tell me that's not a funny actor working hard.

So when I heard that Olsen was cast as a young version of Jim Carrey, I thought "Heyyyyyy...OK, this is a funny guy! That's a good choice!" and now that I've seen the Dumb and Dumberer I don't necessarily think less of Olsen - I just think he needs to find some better roles or a new agent.

Olsen plays the Lloyd Christmas character created by Carrey in the 1994 original, and Olsen has J.C. down to the smallest and stupidest little affectation. This is a funny young actor who's working his hardest.

Now that I got those compliments out of the way, here's the straight dope:

Olsen's the only one who's even TRYING. So limp and tiresome and phoned-in are the slapstick antics of this film that I found myself yearning for the subtlelty of a Charlie Callas or a ball-peen hammer to the forehead.

Inasmuch as 'enough story to fill a 90-second trailer' can be considered a "plot", here's a synopsis:

Two blithering idiots become friends in high school. The devious principal (a slumming Eugene Levy) and a conniving lunchroom lady (an astoundingly underused Cheri Oteri) hope to build a class of "special needs" students around the amazingly dumb Harry & Lloyd. Why? So the evil bastards can steal the endowment money!

Someone got paid six figures to write this script.

This plot is ignored whenever director Troy Miller feels the need to indulge in one of several clumsy sequences of slapstick, silliness or outright stupidity. If hearing Bob Saget scream "there's shit on my walls" over and over represents your own personal pinnacle of hilarity, you'll have a ball.

Why New Line Cinema feels the need to churn out such flimsy in-name-only sequels (or prequels or whatever) in between our annual Lord of the Rings masterpieces is a question best left for the geniuses up on high. One can only assume that if the best non-Hobbit fare they have to offer is Dumb and Dumberer and The Real Cancun - they'll soon be offering Peter Jackson 2 billion dollars to direct The Hobbit for them. So maybe a Dumb and Dumber 3 would be a good thing after all!

Just make sure it's not your eight bucks they swindle.

Including a parcel of strained bloopers at the finalé, the flick clocks in at about 81 minutes. Hell, even DISNEY would have the decency to release this crap directly to video.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7775&reviewer=128
originally posted: 06/14/03 18:24:34
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/08/09 *Holy_J@lapeno* I loved the origional D&D. This movie was a utter dissappointment. Stay away...FAR AWAY! 1 stars
4/17/07 Cliff Bad movie, Rachel Nichols is beautiful however. 2 stars
7/12/06 Marty despite bob saggett i will never forgive this movie, ever 1 stars
3/02/06 chris f this movie disgusts me i cant bear to wtach this trash again 1 stars
9/02/05 ES Not that bad, the guys really did a good job playing Harry and Lloyd, some funny moments 4 stars
6/07/05 JD The 1st one was funny, this movie is an insult. 1 stars
4/03/05 fhf even unfunnierer than the original. 1 stars
3/24/05 indrid cold In retrospect, has come to be appreciated as almost as good as "Mary." 4 stars
1/15/05 Jeff Anderson Unfunny, pathetic garbage. Why they made this poor excuse for a prequel, I'll never know. 1 stars
7/18/04 Nobody The name says it all 1 stars
6/22/04 Joellen Miller it was terrible the first was my favorite by far. I watched the first one over 100 times 1 stars
6/09/04 The More You Know The original's retardeder clone. 2 stars
5/08/04 paul robinson its the greatest movie in all the land 5 stars
3/22/04 Elena This movie recognizes that it's bad, but it is funny as hell. It's a classic. 5 stars
1/22/04 your mom it sux !!!! 1 stars
1/03/04 J Oh no!!! The retard are not funny! Dumb and Dumber is funnier! 1 stars
12/26/03 steve irwin the first one was hilarious, but the second one was absolute garbage, i don't know how they 1 stars
12/20/03 Kent Stay away from this crap 1 stars
12/19/03 Ryan Moore Fairly good, and critics have no right to dump it. 4 stars
12/18/03 alien assassin excruciatingly unfunny. Stay home and watch your Mr. Bean DVD's instead !!!!! 1 stars
12/03/03 danielle little its ok some of it is lame but its realy funny 4 stars
11/30/03 jmsynth A couple of laughs, but feels like it lasts forever and just really, really bad 1 stars
11/24/03 Samuel Definetly not better than the first, but all in all a sorta funny movie... 4 stars
11/21/03 Hartley Spurlock It SUCKED 1 stars
10/22/03 Boris Smtih I saw T3 soon after seeing this. T3 was funnier, and wasn't even a fucking comedy! 1 stars
8/29/03 smart enough not to watch this! crappest movie of our time 1 stars
8/16/03 jim scott the greatest movie of our time 5 stars
8/05/03 JonBenet Ramsey's Ghost Earlier later set movie was better. Still some laughs here; remarkable look-alike leads. 3 stars
7/23/03 Double G OHHH, HARRY LLOYD guess whats harry, hahahahahahah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/21/03 George Jung Even Jack Sommersby doesn't suck as this movie! 1 stars
7/06/03 Terrance Rogers Funny as HELL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/30/03 Scott Ross Funny movie, Better then Dumb & Dumber 4 stars
6/29/03 David A. Lloyd and Harry were pitiful, rather than funny as in the original. It needed Jim Carrey 2 stars
6/22/03 israel ruiz this movie has so many f**k ups in it,it sucked ass 1 stars
6/20/03 Danog damn are all you people stiffs, the jokes kept on rolling in through the whole movie 4 stars
6/20/03 gone blind so hell is being chained to a movie theatre seat watching dumb and dumberer 1 stars
6/20/03 CWX Worth seeing only so you know just how bad a movie can be... 1 stars
6/17/03 RIP This movie is so terrible that my best friend died in the movie theater while watching it!! 1 stars
6/17/03 Matt Everyone keeps saying it's terrible...but if you like stupid humor, you WILL laugh 4 stars
6/17/03 Flounder One of the biggest pieces of excrement that has ever graced the silver screen! 1 stars
6/17/03 Maxx Worst Movie Of 2003! 1 stars
6/17/03 Justin Osborne A failed attempt at recreating one of the best comedies of all time, but i still laughed. 3 stars
6/16/03 How What a piece of c**p!! The only reason I went is my kid took me on Father's Day. Even he wa 1 stars
6/16/03 dave Brenner should have both hands cut off so he can never write again. 1 stars
6/15/03 bobbuttons 2nd worst movie ever made. Tomcats takes that title 1 stars
6/15/03 Earl Dittman, Wireless Magazine The few people laughing when I saw this were lighting their own farts in the back row 1 stars
6/14/03 Darth Haggis Top Ten Worst 1 stars
6/14/03 Jack Bourbon That critics ganged up on this movie is shame. Lot's of good characters and dumb jokes. 4 stars
6/13/03 Jake Totally retarded! 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Jun-2003 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  11-Dec-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast