More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.55

Awesome: 28.1%
Worth A Look35.54%
Average: 8.26%
Pretty Bad: 19.83%
Total Crap: 8.26%

5 reviews, 91 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Swimming Pool
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Stephen Groenewegen

"Mme Morton takes a holiday"
4 stars

Although it features a murder, François Ozon’s Swimming Pool is more about a mystery writer than a mystery.

Charlotte Rampling is Sarah Morton, a middle-aged crime novelist who lives with her father and churns out bestsellers with such unlikely names as “Dorwell Wears a Kilt”. Stuck for an idea for another Inspector Dorwell adventure, and irritated at her publisher (Charles Dance) taking her for granted, Sarah accepts an invitation to stay at his holiday home in the south of France.

The house has a swimming pool, and the clear blue of the water possibly symbolises the French ideal of liberty. Not only does Sarah free herself of writer’s block, she slowly begins to unwind and shake off her inhibitions. She eventually finds fraternity - friendship from a most unlikely source - with Julie, her publisher’s apparently unruly teenage daughter (Ludivine Sagnier).

Ozon keeps the pace leisurely as he explores the cagey relationship between the two women. He’s worked with Rampling (Under the Sand) and Sagnier (8 Women, Water Drops on Burning Rocks) before and both actresses reward him with sharp performances. The crisply coloured images of cinematographer Yorick Le Saux reflect the precision of the uptight Sarah, before she is loosened by the free-living but vulnerable Julie. The death doesn’t occur till almost the end. Ozon teases us, briskly sidestepping the trappings of the detective genre so he can leave us with an enigma of his own.

Aided by Philippe Rombi’s caressing score, Swimming Pool has the inviting pull of a carefree holiday.

If the 50th Sydney Film Festival were a restaurant, Swimming Pool is a cool and refreshing draught of water.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7810&reviewer=104
originally posted: 06/24/03 13:30:26
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Edinburgh Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Edinburgh Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Sydney Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Sydney Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

7/12/16 Johnb274 you have a terrific blog here! would you like to make some invite posts on my weblog? aeaeg 5 stars
7/11/16 Johnc0 I really appreciate this post. I have been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I fo 5 stars
1/14/11 WYNN What a great site. Very impressive!!! Your site is an Internet resource. I'd like to put a 5 stars
9/29/10 aryan so nice 1 stars
12/31/09 name comment6, 4 stars
9/15/09 alexk570 Very nice site! 5 stars
1/15/07 David Pollastrini Ludivine Sagnier is hot! 4 stars
12/19/06 Charles Tatum Sagnier is a joy to look at 3 stars
12/04/06 Lynne Intriging but found the ending unsatisfying. 4 stars
6/27/06 popy xxx 5 stars
5/20/06 anil gurung it is fantastic 5 stars
12/19/05 Bree This movie looked so cool and was very disappointed. Ending was okay though. 2 stars
10/11/05 Morten A movie that demands action from the viewer (needs to be interoperated to make sense). 5 stars
8/09/05 kristen interesting film 4 stars
8/01/05 candence I got sucked in because it looked interesting but the ending gave NO closure! MEANINGLESS! 1 stars
5/27/05 mike sexy chick, captivating story 4 stars
5/26/05 Michael H. Korman Great movie, the performances are fabuous, the ending twists into what? 5 stars
4/30/05 Eleanor Pretending to be smart. But does't change the fact that it's crap. 1 stars
2/05/05 Cyn A. Matique Great story, great cinematography, and tons of female full frontal nudity...a must see! 5 stars
10/17/04 Pollo Good photography, boring movie, interesting final. 3 stars
10/11/04 Jim very good 4 stars
9/20/04 denny interesting; challenging 4 stars
9/20/04 Andy deGaust Excellent, thought provoking story line 5 stars
8/31/04 Jeff The ending cheats you out of what would otherwise be a nice movie-watching experience 1 stars
7/27/04 humpa very intriguing 5 stars
7/27/04 Lisa Lussier I liked it a lot 4 stars
7/19/04 Phil M. Aficionado It's pretty bad, actually, bad pacing, unbelievable plot twists. But Rampling is great. 3 stars
7/14/04 The More You Know everytime it's about to induce a coma, it flashes skin w/ the hyperbare-it shots. 3 stars
7/09/04 fanboy malcolm i didn't get it. probly deserves a 2nd look. lotsa nudity is always good though. 2 stars
6/14/04 XTC Over-rated Hollywood crap. The sight of Charlotte Rampling naked made me sick. 2 stars
5/14/04 Lori makes most people who watch it feel stupid at the end. Id like to bitchslap the WRITER 2 stars
4/21/04 someone it sucks 1 stars
4/11/04 Wildcarde1 I had heard so much and was expecting something special, i never got it 2 stars
3/26/04 morgan hayes Glorious,the best film i've seen this year. 5 stars
3/25/04 William Greene Excellent movie 5 stars
3/20/04 Candice Heath didn't understand the end! 4 stars
3/17/04 lodger16 slow, snobbishly overclever 3 stars
2/19/04 TheRealDude Bullshit Bullshit Bullshit. The last 2 minutes ruin a good film. 2 stars
2/07/04 Mike Ennis I liked the film, I just wish the ending would have been a little more complete. 4 stars
1/26/04 twodogs It's a better than average indy movie. 3 stars
1/25/04 Jason Entertaining, interesting story, well written, and some very nice nude shots of sagnier 4 stars
1/15/04 Betty White Rampling is powerful and convincing in this lavish film. 5 stars
12/30/03 helen delicious 5 stars
12/29/03 y2mckay Don't think I can say it much better than Childress - though that Sagnier has fine titties 2 stars
11/25/03 The Dude Meandering, pompus. 2 stars
10/25/03 Richard M. Cooper This film provoked good discussions. 4 stars
10/21/03 Rebecca what a special movie; hot! 5 stars
10/13/03 Helen Bradley Great acting and script. 5 stars
9/08/03 Bill Teommey Would you bury the body in your own back yard? 1 stars
9/05/03 Darlene Groetz Deux zombies des baguette tragique qui assassinent et couvrent le crime. Fort bien! 1 stars
9/02/03 Carl Huber Messes with your mind, figuring out what is meant to be "real". 4 stars
9/01/03 whatever i didnt get it AT ALL!!! 1 stars
8/30/03 Elias Copularus see this movie 4 stars
8/26/03 Amanda and Jovan Intriguing and stimulating to the mind and erotic senses! 5 stars
8/26/03 Bill Geftman I dont get the ending. others who viewed this movie were also confused. 3 stars
8/21/03 Priscilla Postlethwaite Would-be who-dun-it in search of an it. 2 stars
8/21/03 Jin This film will raise your bp and open your mind. 5 stars
8/20/03 Wayne Provocative ending. Was Julie real or imagined? 4 stars
8/20/03 Suzanne Sexy, thought provoking 5 stars
8/19/03 Charlotte Voyeuristic, good summer puzzle but little real substance 3 stars
8/16/03 tk made me think and made me horny...what else would you want? 5 stars
8/12/03 Kelly Was Julie for real? Did John really have two daughters? 4 stars
8/12/03 shelley stults i feel asleep 3 stars
8/11/03 Varun Subtle, yet satisfying 4 stars
8/11/03 Bill Halsey I thought of David Lynch 5 stars
8/11/03 aimee auby the ending made me think 4 stars
8/09/03 UnkleTim I love when I am still thinking of a movie days after I have seen it. This is one . 4 stars
8/09/03 jc i liked it 4 stars
8/09/03 Holly Beach I agree w/Patrik; bring your brains; it's not about the "plot" 5 stars
8/07/03 Rebecca Keeshen Beautiful film; loved the performances 4 stars
8/06/03 Johann Lots of sex, lots of tension, but promises made that were never fulfilled. 4 stars
8/05/03 Ishkabibble Slow, dull and boring. Was there really a mystery in there? 1 stars
8/04/03 Winston Beautiful girl makes the movie HAPPEN. 5 stars
8/04/03 Alan A bit slow at times but worth it in the end 4 stars
8/03/03 JD Boudacious Tah-tahs 3 stars
8/03/03 Charles Nettles It's a hoax. 1 stars
7/30/03 amir I enjoyed the film immensly here in Washington, D.C. I am curious, who sings the disco "Do 5 stars
7/29/03 Jean Perrin Twists and turns, Hitchcockian in tone 4 stars
7/29/03 Patrik Americans are too dumb to understand what this movie is about..... 5 stars
7/28/03 c.g Not bad 4 stars
7/28/03 bama didn't like the "say wha?" ending - other than that - excellent 4 stars
7/27/03 Kirsty Excellent, definitely worth watching, not stupid Hollywood, makes you THINK 5 stars
7/27/03 Linda Puzzling but fun. see with friends & decipher over dinner! 4 stars
7/17/03 MC it was good. kinda show, but worth the plot twists. 4 stars
7/16/03 Emperor's New Clothes Pfft. The French think they are sooo witty. Creme Brulee for the eyes. I hate Creme Brulee. 2 stars
7/13/03 Andrew like memento, there are many ways of interpreting the ending. see it. 4 stars
7/11/03 Jesus Relaxed but also disturbing in a believable fashin. Camera work is great. 4 stars
7/08/03 amanda Trailer was promising, but the film was disappointing and confusing. Missed the mark. 2 stars
7/07/03 bernieK Luxuriously sensual, slow paced. A wonderful summer adult film when so little is available. 4 stars
7/07/03 Lisa intelligent, fun, will make you rethink the film over and over 5 stars
7/06/03 rue the whirl cinematic masturbation. bring hand lotion. hbs sucks, too...heehee 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jul-2003 (R)
  DVD: 13-Jan-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Oct-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast